More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.62

Awesome78.81%
Worth A Look: 13.84%
Average: 1.69%
Pretty Bad: 2.26%
Total Crap: 3.39%

18 reviews, 246 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Memento
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jack Sommersby

"Best Left Forgotten in the Morning"
1 stars

Tries to rest on its artsy laurels by trotting out a catchy story premise to carry the show. But the bland characters and uninvolving plot developments fail to enitce, and there isn't so much as a whisper of sustained tension to be found. A classic example of manner over matter.

Imagine, if you will: Reading a crime novel in reverse-chronological order, beginning with the very last chapter and concluding with the first one, while taking the time in between to go back (or forward, in this particular case) after each read chapter to re-read the first few pages of the one right after (or the one you read right before) to shed some light onto the just-read one. Admittedly, this doesn't come off as anything even remotely enjoyable, yet, just maybe, an interesting time could have been had from it -- that is, if the novel had been written so the motivations and incidents leading up to the violence were as startling as the violence itself. However, if the context is underwhelming then this unorthodox method of mental absorption won't be able to do a whole hell of a lot for the novel overall -- it's still going to be underwhelming.

Writer/director Christopher Nolan has ambitiously attempted to apply this storytelling method to Memento, basing his screenplay on his brother Jonathan's original idea for a short story. The way this plays out, the film starts out with a murder and then works its way back from that point, detailing how the trigger-pulling protagonist arrived at this course of action. In doing so, Nolan has set up Memento to function as a whydunit rather than a whodunit. But for a challenging exercise such as this to work, three cinematic basics need apply: first, the protagonist, whose eyes we see the story through, should be captivating enough to sustain interest throughout; second, the plot turns need to incite, build, and sustain story momentum; third, the direction need be agile and inventive so the overall story schema not come off as a mechanically measured plot sketch. Alas, Memento fails on all three counts because it reveals itself to have been an empty-headed excursion from the get-go, where its catchy narrative structure was expected to carry the day, to elevate the paper-thin material to a much higher plateau it's simply incapable of ascending to.

What there is of the story consists of insurance investigator Leonard Shelby (played by L.A. Confidential alum Guy Pearce) doggedly tracking down his wife's killer. Leonard himself sustained serious brain damage while trying to defend his wife in their home, rendering him unable to retain any further short-term memories. Initially intriguing, this. For how does one make progress in solving a complicated case when whatever derived clues can be forgotten no sooner than a few minutes after being discovered? It becomes not only the case of trying to find a needle in a haystack, because the hero can all too easily forget which haystack he's supposed to be sifting through at any given time. As a remedy, Leonard keeps extensive mementos of his progress: ranging from pictures, scribbled notes, and tattoos all over his body. Not remembering the number of your motel room can be bothersome, but retaining the correct name and location of the motel itself can present an even bigger hassle. And matters can't be complicated any more than not being able to remember the people you've talked to no more than five minutes before.

You'd think Leonard's woeful plight would make for a sound taking-off board for a story told through a straightforward narrative. The audience being with Leonard 'at the moment' throughout would be difficult to get through, certainly -- the plot propulsion would be stunted, to say the least, lurching forth unsteadily in numerous fits and starts -- yet slowing down our sense of realization would be absolutely essential in getting us fully into Leonard's handicapped mind, where the remembering and deciphering of even the simplest clues would be more of a luxury than a given. In 1990's phenomenal After Dark, My Sweet, director James Foley expertly brought us right into the contorted mental midst of a punch-drunk boxer; not knowing whether or not he was smarter as assumed gave the well-plotted story a great deal of jazzy unpredictability. But the way Christopher Nolan has laid things out here, we find ourselves distanced from Leonard more often than not.

(Guy Pearce is an honorable actor, and he manages to bring some suggestions of depth to the role. But he's a character actor, not a leading man -- his inability to bring variety and magnetism to Leonard is a severe liability in that we have neither an emotional stake in him nor the film. Of course, the character hasn't been written all that well, but Pearce is too contained and unforceful; he's not inept, but just unable to vivify and fill in the unwritten gaps. I did, though, feel sympathy for Pearce in his one unplayable scene -- a recitation of a mawkish monologue while sitting up in bed alongside a hooker that's so overstated you feel like hurling things at the screen.)

Either the labyrinth mystery surrounding Leonard needs to act as the underlying reason for our involvement, or the character himself needs to. Neither does. And not just because the mystery turns out to be disappointingly tepid, nor that Leonard comes off as more a walking-and-talking concept than a three-dimensional human being, but due to the fact that it's the film technique -- the needless cutting back and forth between one happenstance after the other -- that's the predominating narrative force at work here. Right when a fair amount of interest has been worked up in the film's favor, and we start to feel a wee bit of stake in the story, Nolan cuts to another previous segment, and then, right after that plays itself out, we linger for a couple of minutes more on the segment we just got through watching right before that -- a method that's more infuriating than enlightening because, unlike Leonard, most of us have functional short-term memories, so we feel dumbed-down by the all the redundancy.

For the first thirty to forty-five minutes we're willing to give Memento the benefit of the doubt. Accustomed to chronologically told films, this is a new experience for most of us (unless you saw that dreadful 1983 adaptation of playwright Harold Pinter's Betrayal) as much as Leonard's newfound condition is for him. But what's revealed to us during the course of the film simply fails to grip. It's not that we're preened for immediate payoffs right and left, but (gosh forbid!) we are geared-up for a thriller, and Nolan, seeking so badly to come off as a true original, neglects to satisfy with some of the basic rudiments that make thrillers fun or, at the very least, consistently involving.

There are two main supporting characters who keep popping up: a sulky barmaid (the wooden Carrie-Ann Moss of The Matrix) and some sleazy small-time underworld type (the game but wasted Joe Pantoliano, also of The Matrix), who are intended to add color and texture and a sense of danger to the proceedings; neither, though, holds nary a shred of interest. They're simply ciphers of the plot and appear to have been written in for the sole sake of giving Leonard a couple of people to constantly sound off of. A vicious drug dealer figures into the equation also, yet all this leads to is an awkwardly staged shootout, as if Nolan felt a clear-cut antagonist was needed to spice this already-bland stew up. And I don't know what demon on Earth possessed him to bring in two totally irrelevant characters -- a homey husband and wife, with the former apparently suffering from the same condition as Leonard (aside from blatantly ripping off David Fincher's Fight Club where a character is revealed to be highly delusional, transferring his pent-up angst onto imagined creations). These scenes are shot in B/W, are related to us in the form of flashbacks, and throw us right out of the film every single time; they feel fishy initially, and you just know Nolan used them to add variety to things, as if he just knew the paper-thin story conception just wasn't going to cut it in a feature-length format.

Memento is constantly at cross-purposes with itself. Instead of having the guts to follow through with what he started with, by actually developing and then deepening the material, Nolan bends his own made-up rules to accomodate any immediate need for a cheap effect or plot convenience. Sometimes Leonard manages to go ten to fifteen minutes before relapsing into forgetfulness; other times, it's clearly been closer to a half-hour. When Nolan desires to get more information across by speeding up the developments, Leonard's relapses are put off; but when opportunity for a zinger arises, the intervals and durations shorten. And from what I can see, he hasn't even remotely thought the material through enough to get proper mileage out of it. Given, there's a finely milked scene where Leonard explains to a front-desk man at his motel that he's sorry about having to keep reminding the man of his condition, but others are simply trite, like a scene in a bar where a beer's been spit into right in front of Leonard just so he can take a big 'ol slurp of it immediately after a relapse. (Maybe a frat boy snuck onto the set and inserted this into the shooting script.) And Nolan isn't even creative enough to have Leonard relapse in the middle of that dumb shootout, so he wouldn't know what hellish situation he'd happened into.

I'll admit to having been amused at a couple of sarcastic lines aimed at Leonard's forgetfulness, and the location shooting is always coming up with something fresh, placing us in areas and abodes that suggest a lot more sleaze and tawdriness than Nolan's been able to deliver. But Memento simply fails to deliver on the screenplay level. It's not enough that the plot points, which serve as catalysts for the ensuing violence, fail to fascinate or provide any kind of kick, but the conclusion that's arrived at through them is hopelessly banal. Christopher Nolan set out to make a film too soon without knowing why he was making it, except to exploit a catchy story premise for those eagerly seeking something they can readily proclaim as "art." Allow me to quote critic Stanley Kauffmann of The New Republic who, in a review dated back to 1973, surmised the following of director Arthur Penn's handling of the pole-vaulting segment in the Olympic documentary Visions of Light:

"...to appreciate how Penn used his head before he used his camera, how he was attracted to his subject, how he found the kinetic core of what he wanted to catch, how he presents it without neither affectation nor cliche, how he makes us perceive more in a subject than we may have thought exhausted."

Nolan hasn't come within a thousand yards of hitting this kind of mark. Rather, he's simply skimmed the surface of his subject, assuming the dedicated audience starved for original art would grasp and devour the slim pickings of its potential, reading a lot more into things than what's actually present. What's really sad about this is that, judging by the critical raves and favorable audience responses, Nolan's myopic aims won out.

I've read pieces alluding to Alan Parker's phenomenal Angel Heart, linking its amnesia-ridden protagonist to the character of Leonard, whereas both discover information through an infected mind, which is simply ludicrous. In Angel Heart, private eye Harry Angel was unaware of his affliction on a conscious level -- he was in the dark as much as the viewer -- so the jaw-dropping surprise ending had plenty of resonance. But in Memento, Leonard is perfectly aware of his affliction; it's the condition, not a third party, that's pulling his strings. As for the film being cited as "brilliantly edited," shivers run down my spine at the mere implication. Given a slide ruler and some push-pins, any competent editor could have fashioned a similar complete whole on a humongous bulletin board. The editing is certainly smooth, but it's also too mechanical and impersonal to really hurtle us along. Memento is more complicated than complex, but its originality has been mistaken for something special, which has elevated it to a grossly overrated state. An ambitious filmmaker is undoubtedly a fine thing, but when he or she winds up unable to make good on their promise, it becomes a sad statement of our time when audiences start filling in the creative gaps for them, thus propelling a grandiose but shallow film to a more respectable level than it even remotely deserves.

Sadly, this attempt at art was myopically viewed as an automatic achievement of it by countless gullibles. Shame, shame.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4848&reviewer=327
originally posted: 12/15/02 04:57:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell cool challenging film 4 stars
8/14/17 Louise Thanks Jack Sommersby - though I was the only one who didn't 'get it'. 2 stars
4/01/16 Aj wales Great. watch once only type of movie. 4 stars
5/22/15 stanley welles a brilliantly told mindbender 5 stars
9/01/12 Sean Harrison Absolutely brilliant, my favorite Nolan film. 5 stars
8/31/10 RLan An amazing piece of film making. A must see!!! 5 stars
8/01/10 Sam Christopher Nolan's best film 5 stars
7/18/10 allan hovland wonderful stuff 4 stars
4/17/10 Omar An amazing film that has to be viewed more than once or twice. 5 stars
8/30/09 CTT Spectacular, fascinating stuff 5 stars
6/15/09 Tram interesting 4 stars
4/02/09 Dane Youssef "Memento" is unforgettable. I know that's a cheap pun, but you've gotta give me that one. 5 stars
3/04/09 Norbert Terrifically original & mind-boggingly complex.A wonder to behold. 5 stars
5/28/08 MP Bartley Much more than a novelty; there's a tragic layer of manipulation that bears repeat viewings 5 stars
5/20/08 PAUL SHORTT A BLEAK DIABOLICAL PUZZLE 1 stars
5/07/08 aeneas23 I watched the movie a couple of minutes ago, i alredy wana watch it again... This was great 5 stars
1/04/08 Bozofreak If you ask me, Memento is the most overrated movie, of any genre, ever made. 1 stars
12/02/07 davidbobo20 excellent movie! 5 stars
9/10/07 gamma one of the best you will ever see 5 stars
9/02/07 Double M Original, intelligent, confusing mindf*ck that gets better every time.. Utterly brilliant. 5 stars
3/28/07 fools♫gold I'll say the same for this movie as I did for "The Last of Sheila". 5 stars
1/02/07 Jiz This movie did not suck. 5 stars
11/17/06 J.Pet One of my favorite films. Revolutionary! 5 stars
11/16/06 David Pollastrini great concept 4 stars
11/02/06 Jeff this critic is way off the mark 5 stars
9/22/06 Pritchett Told straightforward, it's a bore. 2 stars
8/17/06 Stanley Thai An original plot and a great movie. 5 stars
6/23/06 Guy Winston Such... Such a good film. 5 stars
3/31/06 kerry Overrated.The plot is nothing much once the backwards gimmick is gone,Suspects is better 1 stars
3/24/06 Dick Requires effort to watch..but refreshing and exciting all around 5 stars
2/25/06 ronald along with usual supects,these 2 are the ultimate mindfucks of all time 5 stars
11/16/05 Adrian Requires patience and understanding, but the outcome is totally worth it. 5 stars
10/10/05 Agent Sands A genuinely brilliant thriller. Truly deserving of its classic status. 5 stars
9/10/05 Taylor Fladgate A classic that set the bar high for future mystery/mind benders. 5 stars
7/27/05 CJ Unbelievable. Most intellegent film i've ever seen 5 stars
6/15/05 CHEESENACHOS thriller/mystery/suspense/drama......this is one hell of a mind-f*ck, go see it right now 5 stars
5/28/05 Indrid Cold Brilliantly disorienting, mind bending, and intriguing. 5 stars
5/27/05 Lord Haw Haw Brilliant. Simply brilliant. 5 stars
5/10/05 kevin r absolute thriller, watch it over and over 5 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Intelligent and thoughtful film! Every twist keeps you guessing. 5 stars
2/04/05 D.J.O'Keefe A twisted tale that is a straight-up masterpiece 5 stars
1/21/05 das stupid 5 stars
8/01/04 Brad One of my favorites. 5 stars
7/20/04 Ionicera you see, i have this condition... 5 stars
7/10/04 Aaron Excellent movie, finally a movie I can enjoy beyond the previews 5 stars
7/08/04 Spinz BEST MOVIE EVER 5 stars
7/07/04 karen loved it, we need more movies that make you think 5 stars
6/22/04 Dick Logan Totally original, with an awesome cast. Loved it. 5 stars
6/13/04 Mitch Absolutely among of the best films to come along in twenty years or more. 5 stars
6/10/04 zeitgeist Great, yes, but you'd think that he'd invest in a camcorder or a tape recorder 5 stars
3/31/04 sansho Sharp, intriguing and head-spinning 4 stars
2/13/04 Kai An excellent breath of fresh air when one is suffocating in the stench of most films 5 stars
1/30/04 Benjamin Spicher genius! 5 stars
11/23/03 Mary, Brain Injury Survivor Excellent, oh, wait did I already comment? : ) 5 stars
11/07/03 Capt' Fox If you have a brain, and can think while watching you'll love it! Fantastic! 5 stars
9/20/03 Linda Sullivan This movie is amazing - when it's over, you can't believe what you just saw 5 stars
8/19/03 AD overrated piece of shit 1 stars
7/15/03 snowconehead Watch it with director commentary, Nolan is the most boring human being on earth 5 stars
5/25/03 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng One of the best movies I've ever seen. I love it! I recommend this to everyone! 5 stars
5/14/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back Mo'Fos!!!) FUCKING BRILLIANT! BRILLIANT, original, and cool. Great directing and writing. 5 stars
5/02/03 Taylor Fladgate You'll be thinking about this film for months afterwards! 5 stars
4/26/03 Scapegoat fun and original 5 stars
4/26/03 The Talking Elbow A truely unique experience at the movies, not perfect but it's ingenious 5 stars
4/24/03 GWB original amazing 5 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Creative and intelligent. 5 stars
3/22/03 Skankin' inThePit took me forever to figure out who killed who i think i got most of it but still confused! 5 stars
3/14/03 Jon A moving piece that'll mess (in a good way) with your mind the first time u see it 5 stars
3/02/03 Rob P S Astonishing 5 stars
2/25/03 WestcoastPunk Holy shit what a great movie. One of the best movies ever made 5 stars
2/17/03 R.W. Welch Inventive, but retro chronology saps momentum & is sometimes hard to track. 4 stars
2/05/03 123 great script, plot and twists, the flashback style makes me as confused as Lenny 5 stars
2/04/03 phiber_optik the best film ive ever seen 5 stars
1/26/03 Lord David Pretty cool & inovative - a minor classic 4 stars
1/21/03 LessThanColleen Awesome, has some confusing twists which is good and i like the whole backwards thing 5 stars
1/20/03 snowconehead original, very very original. 5 stars
1/05/03 Ben Simply the greatest film ever made. 5 stars
1/04/03 Josh One of the greatest films ever made. A dark, backwards and brilliant tale. 5 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby ...and an incisive brain to reject its pretentiousness. 1 stars
12/27/02 Sara A film that requires a brain to watch it. 5 stars
12/16/02 Matt Thiel Hollywood: make good movies like this one. I will pay to see them 5 stars
11/24/02 patrick MAMA MIA! god damn! now there's some fine cinematography 5 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted BEST FILM OF 2001! 5 stars
11/14/02 I'm not telling Mark Adnum is full of crap 5 stars
11/03/02 George Nedelchev One of the best movies since The Usual Suspects and Sling Blade 4 stars
10/31/02 Lenny i cant rember it :/ 5 stars
10/29/02 G. Parker the editing, and script are genious 5 stars
10/27/02 Monic Great movie, makes you think. It''s a cerebral film. 5 stars
10/25/02 Casey Harrison I'm going to be Lenny for Halloween 5 stars
10/22/02 Naomi I thought it was a briliant film, and if you don't think so, you havn't understood it. 5 stars
10/02/02 snowconehead One tattoo short of best movie, needed definiton of his condition, how else would he know? 5 stars
10/01/02 Jason A true film masterpiece 5 stars
9/10/02 Ken Mark Adnum is elitist yet clueless. Loved Showgirls and Van Wilder, hated Memento? 5 stars
8/26/02 SteveG Yet another fantastic Buddhist flick (6th Sense, Fight Club, Seven...) about clinging. 5 stars
8/19/02 Mr. Hat (I'm Back!) See rating. 5 stars
8/14/02 Bryan Brooks An instant classic 4 stars
7/27/02 sdjfsdkjf Brilliant and at long last, ORIGINAL stuff. 5 stars
7/26/02 Fulcrum One of the best movies of all time! A god-damn masterpiece! 5 stars
7/19/02 Kyle What the fuck? "Underrated"? Everybody loves it. Dumbass. 5 stars
7/12/02 snowconehead the most underrated movie of all time 5 stars
6/23/02 steve This film rules ass, period 5 stars
6/22/02 Doc Shock First movie I've seen in a while that made me sit up and pay attention. 5 stars
6/10/02 BrodieMan I can't believe I missed this in the theaters. Shame on me, SHAME ! 5 stars
6/01/02 The Man Mark is a homo. The backwards device is necessary, it wouldn't be suspenseful otherwise. 5 stars
5/31/02 katy lawrence this movie is a piece of art. i still watch it from time to time! 5 stars
5/24/02 Amy Mark must be on crack. This movie and Guy P are great! 5 stars
5/15/02 hbotis@hotmail.com Missed the hype- disappointed. Guess the young ones love it 4 stars
5/11/02 Brian Mark Adnum's a fool. This movie is brilliant! 5 stars
4/13/02 Spam-handler with a vengeance Great fucking movie, I almost fucking loved every fucking moment of the fucking movie 5 stars
4/05/02 Edfink Lombardo Undeniably one of the best movies of the year! Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant 5 stars
4/02/02 El Talboto There were some logic flaws, but eaily made up for by the great method of plot progression 5 stars
3/30/02 Leonard You can be my John G! 5 stars
3/29/02 Nicole Initially confusing as the plot is moving backward, but so awesome once you get the flow 5 stars
3/24/02 Les Suranyi As a neurologist, I've met people exactly like Leonard. 5 stars
3/23/02 Guy Forssman It seems the academic guy's also have only short term memory! Shame Shame 5 stars
3/20/02 Mister Char i agree with rebecca, why does gosford park get any nominations! 5 stars
3/10/02 Rebecca the acamemy must have forgotten about memento, but i didnt 5 stars
3/02/02 Nomargin I know I saw this I just can't remember! 5 stars
3/02/02 Sam Tuthill Most psychologically and cinematically relevant movie ever. 5 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee Easily one of the most original and entertaining movies that I've ever seen. 5 stars
2/17/02 Leonard Do we really make up our own truth to make our selfs happy? 5 stars
1/31/02 Deanna GUY PEARCE! GUY PEARCE! GUY PEARCE! (you get it, I like Guy Pearce ;) 5 stars
1/18/02 Scottish Kilt u hav to watch it bout 5-6 times to understand it fully, guy pearce is great though. 4 stars
1/14/02 Flick Chick damn good movie - wait, what film did i just see? LMAO 5 stars
1/08/02 Spyguy2 Hands down the top release of 2001, nothing else comes close 5 stars
1/07/02 Kurt Schmidt good for people who have a brain 5 stars
1/03/02 Scream-Mania This is a true masterpiece u MUST-SEE...!! 5 stars
12/21/01 Tom Westinghouse My favorite film of all time... it's that good! 5 stars
12/21/01 Mister Char Amazing to say the least. Be ready for multiple imitators in the future 5 stars
12/21/01 Tinka Amazing. Just .. amazing. 5 stars
12/19/01 Russell Liston Erik, creative little review. 5 stars
12/07/01 Dominik Duprelle a Narrative masterclass. We'll be watching this in 20 years time. 5 stars
12/03/01 Jean Finochetti Makes you question your own memory and what to believe 5 stars
12/01/01 Jeff Wilson Whos rating me? this movie. Oh wait, im rating it. Fucking awesome 5 stars
11/23/01 Farzad Ghods Challenging your memory! 5 stars
11/16/01 John If this film doesn't win best picture, the Academy should disband. 5 stars
11/14/01 Zizzerzazzerzuzz Gets better with repeated viewing - there's no way to take in everything the 1st time thru. 5 stars
11/12/01 phil m. afficiando Like riding a roller coaster backward without having taken your antidepressant medications. 4 stars
10/18/01 Catherine Schneider I never once got bored!!! 5 stars
10/17/01 Kieran Belshaw Simple yet clever impressively good! 5 stars
10/13/01 Bevan R. Clark The hands down best film of 2001. Guy Pearce is a revelation. Plus he's totally hot! 5 stars
10/12/01 mcj yep 5 stars
10/08/01 Calabro There isnt a movie made in the last year that even compares to this FUCKING MASTERPIECE 5 stars
10/02/01 bobbuttons its really really good 5 stars
10/02/01 Phoenix The best film of 2001. Ingenious and well put together. 5 stars
9/21/01 TLsmooth A movie that challenges the mind in 2001.........Amazing. 5 stars
9/19/01 Brian Go rent this now! Don't just sit there. Go now I say! 5 stars
9/17/01 Kyle Wow... 5 stars
9/11/01 mike tyson gives you something to chew on 5 stars
9/11/01 Monday Morning Thanks for giving us credit for having brains. Hollywood & TV, take note. 5 stars
9/09/01 Jeff and the greatness Almost like a really fucked up mystery, this film simply kicks ass 5 stars
9/06/01 The Bomb 69 astounding, total mindfuck, have to watch it again to truly understand 5 stars
8/28/01 spaceworm Nominate THIS, Academy, not another piece of cringe-inducing dreck. 5 stars
8/25/01 Obi Wan Whoa!!! A complete Mind Fuck!!! Loved it all three times I saw it. DVD out Tuesday 9/4. 5 stars
8/19/01 Roy Smith Bring your brain and a box of rubbers for the best mindfuck this year! 5 stars
8/18/01 Edwin Menguin Fascinating 5 stars
8/03/01 Xalt Gave me the disease just by watching it. Great stuff! Love it when movies provoke thought. 5 stars
8/01/01 Elendil What fun! You will give it your full attention, if just for the guessing games. 4 stars
7/25/01 malcolm even better the second (almost essential) time around 5 stars
7/05/01 Suzz run don't walk to the nearest theater 5 stars
7/04/01 Steve Rowsell An excellent film, the smartest movie I've seen in ages. 5 stars
6/26/01 Gary Best movie I have seen in a while... 5 stars
6/23/01 stranded on the Island Best movie so far of '01. Will make you think and want to see it over and over again! 5 stars
6/23/01 Ian Barr Believe the hype- This is the best thriller of the past decade 5 stars
6/16/01 zeitgeist If you hate having to use your brain, this movie isn't for you. Go see Driven or something. 5 stars
6/09/01 Jeff Tamer My new favorite movie of all time; I can never see it enough! 5 stars
6/09/01 Obi Wan Saw it again last night...the movie's still got it. Still loved it!!! 5 stars
6/08/01 Phillip good not great, but better than crap mystery/independent s like Sling Blade or Fargo. 4 stars
6/07/01 Jake Miles away from ordinary. Falls short of greatness. Overrated. 4 stars
6/06/01 Jason S. Kotz Great movie, a definite must see! 5 stars
6/05/01 Psyko Doug Incredible film- must see. 5 stars
6/02/01 Hanky boy I thoroughly enjoyed this film. Definitely will get your money's worth, which is rare. 4 stars
6/01/01 Mach_5 Going for seconds asap 5 stars
5/30/01 Bud Interesting premise but fails to deliver. A real disappointment. 1 stars
5/29/01 tainted_goose Gritty and damnably intense 5 stars
5/28/01 lezerzan my head's still spinning...who's on 1st? 4 stars
5/27/01 Gizzy Would have to see it a second time to wrap my head around it 4 stars
5/25/01 Will lacked a truly interesting sub-plot. no great insights beyond 'you can't trust your memory' 4 stars
5/25/01 natasha if you love movies, you must see this... 5 stars
5/24/01 Drisc WOW! One really SMART FILM! I Cannot remember the last time I've seen a film this good. 4 stars
5/24/01 bluebeena Best movie I've seen in a looong time... 4 stars
5/24/01 zeitgeist i let my bladder swell to an immense size just so i wouldn't miss 2 minutes of this movie. 5 stars
5/24/01 malcolm kind of confusing at times, better go to the bathroom and get popcorn BEFORE going in 4 stars
5/23/01 viking One of the most innovative and original movies of 2001 5 stars
5/21/01 Superkaty1@aol.com Help me figure this out! 4 stars
5/21/01 skye great premise, good flick 4 stars
5/21/01 davebo one incredible movie, amazing 5 stars
5/21/01 studmaster Comparable to the Usual Suspects -- although not identical. 5 stars
5/20/01 Will sweet merciful crap, that was absolutely amazing. 5 stars
5/19/01 joh Whoa! 5 stars
5/18/01 Bada Bing Crosby It didn't make me as thrilled as most of you, not even close 4 stars
5/17/01 Maso Interesting ideas and great acting 4 stars
5/14/01 Graeme Flanagan Innovative, intriguing, intelligent (my 80 year old mother hated it). 5 stars
5/13/01 Monster W. Kung Impressive and very well thought, although doesn't hold up on the social-political level. 4 stars
5/12/01 ExorciseTheDemons Close your eyes and make the world go away. 5 stars
5/11/01 Finity this movie was fucking great 5 stars
5/09/01 puckfreak Great movie, origional, makes you think 5 stars
5/07/01 TheRock A movie that makes you think. I love it! 5 stars
5/07/01 Suzz this is definitely a do not miss film 5 stars
5/06/01 Bboobo ok 5 stars
5/05/01 Daniel Bradley disconcerting, draws you into a world without memory 5 stars
5/05/01 Richard Rowe Undoubtedly the best film of 2000 (UK), bar none 5 stars
5/04/01 SteveH Excellent review, excellent film. 5 stars
5/03/01 Wendy !see must A 5 stars
5/01/01 Brett Anderson Clever, Thought Prevoking and full of Originality. Best film of the year! 5 stars
4/30/01 Roger the Shrubber A touch disappointed by the ending (beginning), but the rest was genius. 5 stars
4/30/01 rue the whirl !!!!!emosewa gnikcuf 5 stars
4/25/01 Daniel J. Flynn film some awe 5 stars
4/24/01 Pierce Lanson I'll have to see it again to get all the twists-CONCENTRATE, and don't go tired 4 stars
4/23/01 christine excellent 5 stars
4/19/01 Chris Shigihara Unique edginess,Great twist ending(actually beginning),concentration definitely required 5 stars
4/19/01 Laura Absolutely coooool! 5 stars
4/17/01 WOW! interesting, dramatic, very suspensful, has different twist every few minutes 5 stars
4/17/01 brent young this was just incredible...fucking awsome says it all... 5 stars
4/17/01 Peter Rinzler Amazing, somehow larger than itself 5 stars
4/17/01 Louis very good 4 stars
4/14/01 Lauren Definetly better than all the other crap out in theaters and definetly worth owning 5 stars
4/14/01 KEYSER SOZE anyone have all the answers? email me to chat at keyser_98soze@yahoo.com 5 stars
4/14/01 Mistermovie Excellent! See it twice! 5 stars
4/13/01 tom wow! 5 stars
4/13/01 Obi Wan Holy shit!!! Never seen anything like it. Great Great Great!! When's the DVD out? 5 stars
4/11/01 Jessie H. Ahroni Unique 5 stars
4/11/01 Brian May be best noir of the decade; great structure. Sammy Jankins best fiction s.Keyser Soze! 5 stars
4/10/01 Mic Pure brilliance 5 stars
4/10/01 Zaw trying remember what was at the begeining of the movie!@#! Great Suspriseing flick! 5 stars
4/09/01 Krystal Will see this one over and over 5 stars
4/06/01 Brian Saw it while visiting in San Francisco. Was worth the trip out there for this film alone. 5 stars
4/05/01 Christy I absolutely LOVED this movie! I can't get it out of my head; can't wait to see it again 5 stars
4/05/01 Michael If you figure it out at the end, you are brilliant, lying, weren't paying attention. 5 stars
4/04/01 martel finally, a film to challenge our minds 5 stars
4/03/01 Leslie Baker Boston 5 stars
4/03/01 goblinfart mind blowing 5 stars
4/02/01 ianb This one is going to stay with me for a long, long time! I was blown away! 5 stars
4/02/01 Thor-Leo Masterful direction. Great script. Couldn't really figure it out until the end. Brilliant! 5 stars
3/31/01 chemikillgod drove to LA from Phoenix just to see this movie. Worth the $9 and the 6 hour car ride!! 5 stars
3/29/01 Phil SImon Absolutely amazing. Impossible to figure out. You'll want to see it again right after. 5 stars
3/28/01 tnt one of the most interesting films I have ever seen 5 stars
3/24/01 Emile Hurts your memory in an estestical way. 5 stars
3/23/01 JB A great movie. An un optimistic hollywood film. 5 stars
3/17/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) We might be able to salvage 2001 after all... 5 stars
3/16/01 Spetters If you loved the Usuual suspects, youŽll love this too!!!!! 5 stars
3/14/01 Bionic Booger You better have some intelectol or any memory pill to put the puzzle together. 4 stars
3/13/01 judy weiss Brilliant. Can't wait to see it again 5 stars
3/13/01 Paperplate UFO Haven't seen it. Or have I? 5 stars
1/31/01 Jo Wouters It's fantastic, but I'm going to see it a 2nd time 5 stars
1/26/01 sez Fantastic film which has done really well in the UK even though it's hardly been advertised 5 stars
1/24/01 Erik De Vocht Awesome! I can't get it out of my mind... and I've seen it a week ago! Brilliant! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Mar-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Apr-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast