More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.3

Awesome26.32%
Worth A Look: 22.37%
Average: 17.11%
Pretty Bad: 23.68%
Total Crap: 10.53%

5 reviews, 46 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


U-Turn
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Calm down, Oliver."
3 stars

Jennifer Lopez. Woohoo.

This movie plays like a student film gone horribly amok.

Whereas Natural Born Killers was just short of a violent psychadelic joyride, U-Turn is merely a ride. Oliver Stone goes from color to black and white. He goes from 35mm to 16mm to Super 8. He goes from a normal (or what passes for normal) shot to a scene that appears to be framed in some sort of weird "walleye vision." NBK showed the craziness of death and of media frenzy, and the frantic camerawork there enhanced a thin story about violence and the media. U-Turn has the same sort of visual style, but it falls short here, and an already shaky plot suffers.

What saves this movie, what makes it an interesting - if nothing else - 2+ hour sit, are the characters. Forget the story: it's a rip off of John Dahl's superior Red Rock West. But this movie has quite a cast who make it worthwhile: Billy Bob Thornton, Sean Penn, Powers Boothe, Nick Nolte. And Jennifer Loez. Rowr.

But Clare Danes and Jouaqin Phoenix steal what movie there is as a pair of young redneck lovers. Danes is a hoot.

Clare: I just looooove Patsy Cline. I wonder why she don't put out no more records?

Sean: That's probably 'cause she's dead.

Clare: Oh my. Well, that's sad. Don't you think that's sad?

Sean: Yeah, well, I've had time to get over it.

U-Turn is a frantic, violent movie. If not for the cast, it'd be unwatchable.

An interesting little diversion.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=486&reviewer=7
originally posted: 08/25/98 01:51:47
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/16/17 morris campbell weird & boring 1 stars
4/07/13 Monday Morning Offbeat, weird, campy and very entertaining 4 stars
12/16/10 PAUL SHORTT OVERBLOWN AND UNPLEASANT 2 stars
12/05/07 dingo Watchable 4 stars
11/11/07 reddye5 For some reason I liked this one. Penn is great, but style outweighs the story too often 3 stars
2/13/07 ES Not just boring, ugly boring 1 stars
6/27/06 Criddic2 Despite the cast, a waste of film; It is pointless, uninspired; Disappointing! 1 stars
9/23/05 Indrid Cold An all-American near-classic. The plot is just too scattered though. 4 stars
6/21/05 Tom quibell it's weird that's what I like about it 5 stars
12/04/04 Steven Loori Ham-faced/fisted/acted. End-to-end rehash. Awful set/sound design. Canned dog barks!?! 1 stars
11/12/04 jellica it was a good movie goood acting 5 stars
9/08/04 Douglas Reese I LOVED THIS MOVIE!!! Very well made. Deserved Best Picture Oscar nominee nod. 5 stars
6/06/04 John tries to make obvious moral points but has no story or charachters you care for 1 stars
12/13/03 Agent Sands I agree whole-heartedly with Ryan A, but I was a bit more entertained. 4 stars
9/15/03 Donna Gelpigi A nightmarish thriller that even Jennifer Lopez can't spoil! 5 stars
9/06/03 john awesome, fun 5 stars
7/28/03 francis Bizarrely interesting, but can we really care about what happens to these wackos. 3 stars
5/07/03 Geirn YEAHH awesome 5 stars
4/23/03 Bill go see freeway instead. 1 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Scattershot plot points fire away at the helpless cast. 2 stars
1/27/03 R.W. Welch Sets up well enough but eventually becomes almost ludicrous. 2 stars
11/09/02 Steve Twisty and funny. Lopez and Phoenix are especially good. 4 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Stone proves he doesn't have to rewrite history to make a stupid movie 1 stars
7/12/02 KMG Ho-pez before she got ghetto 3 stars
8/10/01 E-Funk Interesting little 'wrong place at the wrong time' story. Lopez looks delicious. 4 stars
8/04/01 eminem eminem_eminemf@hotmail.com 5 stars
6/22/01 Reini Urban best camera and technic this year, plot almost blood simple. much better than out of sight. 4 stars
3/19/01 Shawn I really dug this film! Sex, violence, drama, comedy, suspense, it has it all! 5 stars
2/17/01 Jake Good plot and music, way too long. Red Rock West had same plot and was way better! 3 stars
9/21/00 Mike Great cast but the plot gets pretty lame. WAY too long, Mr Stone(d)! 2 stars
8/13/00 Cidec Stark fucking awesome 5 stars
1/07/00 PervertedPixie A mix of "Romeo is bleeding", "Pulp Fiction" and "Gilbert Grape". Great stuff! 5 stars
9/21/99 Tina Liked it- nice twists- everybody dies! 4 stars
6/14/99 Dylan Oliver Stone is a fucking genius and this film rocks. thats it. 5 stars
5/27/99 GothamDK Stone trying to pull a Lynch. Jennifer Lopez is the only highlight of this lost film. 2 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Why more people don't like this movie I don't know, but I do know I like cake. 5 stars
3/17/99 The Dude Fucking funny ending I loved this fucking movie 5 stars
1/23/99 Arthur fuck this shit 2 stars
12/05/98 tj usually i hate oliver stone...but this is an amazing movie...and jenn. lopez looks so good 5 stars
11/25/98 Fred Nick, think back to Cannery Row, and kick your own ass. I want Jenny. 3 stars
10/13/98 Johny No NBK or JFK, but very watchable 4 stars
9/22/98 Pat_Sicox Crack Film 3 stars
9/07/98 Damien Highly underrated, I thought it was cool and disturbing 4 stars
8/29/98 Mister Whoopee This one lost me way early. Claire Danes rocks, but otherwise... 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Jen Lopez = sex --- Nick Nolte = lame. 3 stars
8/23/98 Superfly Great, if you like dark comedies. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-Oct-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-Dec-1997




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast