More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.32

Awesome40.28%
Worth A Look: 17.36%
Average: 1.39%
Pretty Bad: 15.97%
Total Crap: 25%

7 reviews, 102 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Waking Life
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"A film the enjoyment of which is no doubt enhanced by a little pot."
4 stars

“Waking Life” is an unusual and intriguing film full of philosophy and social theories. It’s the sort of thing goateed, coffee-sipping college students tend to like, and the sort of thing film buffs are often impressed by.

Written and directed by Richard Linklater, the movie is about an unnamed young man (played by Wiley Wiggins) who awakens from a dream only to discover he’s still dreaming. Then he wakes up again, this time for real ... except no, wait, he’s actually still dreaming. He can’t escape the dream world, because maybe the dream world IS the real world, or maybe someone else is dreaming him, or maybe we’re all just the dream of someone living in 50 A.D. (among other theories presented over the course of the film).

Whoa, dude. Trippy.

But I have placed too much emphasis on the plot, which I shouldn’t do, because plot is the very last thing focused on in the movie. As the boy wanders around, he encounters a variety of people who share their philosophies with him. Some of these ideas are highly interesting to listen to; others are not, which is where you might tune out for a minutes. Come back, though, because if you don’t care for what’s being said now, whatever happens in the next scene is bound to be more up your alley.

The movie was filmed first, then animated on top of it. As a result, people look like real people, even as backgrounds and inanimate objects sometimes behave unrealistically. The animation is more than an expensive gimmick, though. It effectively conveys a sense of being both realistic and fantastic, just like a dream. We’re not able to grasp “reality” any more than the protagonist is, because even though everything takes place in the world we’re familiar with, it seems detached from it, too. It’s rather beautiful, in a way.

A few celebrities appear as unnamed philosophers, Ethan Hawke and Steven Soderbergh among them. One suspects they were eager to be involved in a project so thought-provoking and unique. Viewers will be just as glad to have seen it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4879&reviewer=247
originally posted: 11/16/01 10:34:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/13/09 Roland this is a great movie not for everybody but i love it. 5 stars
6/03/09 Jinxed Cheese I disagreed with the film many times but I can't say it wasn't interesting. Poetic ideas. 4 stars
9/21/08 Man Out 6 Bucks The real joke is physics is ruled by the mind, but many minds decide to be ruled by physics 4 stars
5/29/08 vicky It was truly great, with philosophycal discussion 5 stars
4/07/08 Anonymous A tiresome, pseudodocumentary whose only moderately redeeming value is its visual style 1 stars
12/04/07 Angel Waking Life was excellent. i think some ppl just dont know what art is. 5 stars
11/01/07 Total Crap Philosophy and acid trips. What if death is an everlasting dream? Strange, but worth a look 4 stars
10/21/07 Andrew Bizzare and Trite while simultaneously captivating thought provoking. 4 stars
9/16/07 Derek Anderson duuuuhhhhh me sooo stoopid 2 stars
7/21/07 Bitchflaps Irretrievably lodged up its own fundament, but there are some fun ideas here. 2 stars
7/04/07 Max M I had to stop this after 20 mins. The pretentiousness was unbearable. 2 stars
6/14/07 pat mustard will please pretentious types who think they are above others. fun & well made though 4 stars
6/12/07 Geo Fernandes for the unimagionative, it will quickly get boring. sorry stupid, no explosions. 5 stars
6/03/07 scutter28 i dont understand what thr big deal is. meaning to life? work/pay bills/put up with crap!!! 2 stars
5/28/07 Glenn Truly awesome, and a slight introducer to Lucid Dreaming as well, can't get any better. 5 stars
5/25/07 fools♫gold Everyone speaks the same things, and everyone's a hypocrite. But people grow. 5 stars
5/15/07 Hate hate hate hated hated this film Only made it through first half hour - so awful - like a bad day at the coffee shop 1 stars
5/01/07 Cor Tonsoris Awful. Had a devoted philosophy class struggling to maintain consciousness within 20 mins. 1 stars
3/16/07 obese beats this review was ponderously pointless..open your mind android 5 stars
2/02/07 X Way to miss the entire point of the movie you dipshit. 5 stars
1/23/07 thekidyoupickedon so parts were belabored...who cares? the MUSIC...the SOUL...only the arrogant stay annoyed 5 stars
1/23/07 sdf the movie is deff only for smart ppl 1 stars
11/04/06 Matt a movie to make stupid people feel smart. 1 stars
10/02/06 GnarMilla this movie can make an open minded person curiously content. look too hard and your done 4 4 stars
9/26/06 w not everybody needs to love it, it's actually a pretty nice experience if you get into it 5 stars
7/13/06 Agent Sands The most arrogant movie I've ever seen. In every way. Really. 3 stars
5/02/06 Dane Angotti So talk about things that suck....Waking Iife is among the firsts things that comes to mind 1 stars
2/28/06 sarah a good film to refresh our motives, look away from catagorizing this movie. 4 stars
12/15/05 Thom B Never been so captivated! Occasionally irritating, but flows so soothly. Very funny, too. 5 stars
12/02/05 Adam Good film should be an EXPERIENCE, as this definitly is. 5 stars
10/13/05 K. Sear Super pretentious but entertaining never the less. 4 stars
8/08/05 yuko i loved it! 5 stars
3/28/05 indrid cold The definition of "worth a look" while not really being great by any standard. 4 stars
3/06/05 Josh Bizarre, trippy, intelligent, banal, tedious, mesmerizing, brilliant, visually amazing! 4 stars
2/09/05 Dr Hock existential euphoria- film, not a movie. 5 stars
12/10/04 jeff there is a plot idiot : the guy died, he's getting prepared for the other world, its amazin 5 stars
12/09/04 bigdick suck balls 5 stars
10/11/04 Jen this movie gives u a great insight on philosiphical terms 4 stars
9/01/04 drfardook a pathetic ripoff of linklater's own film. slacker didn't need to be remade. 1 stars
8/08/04 robby if you didn't like this movie, stop having sex. we do not need your type to breed anymore. 5 stars
6/04/04 MyGreenBed Despite being more visually arresting, it was better the first time around...as "Slacker". 2 stars
5/20/04 FLB All the characters and their philosophical ramblings were truly irratating 1 stars
4/24/04 star overwhelming at first 5 stars
4/14/04 Zach This film isn't for everyone, it's a very individual film. Highly reccomended. 5 stars
2/17/04 Mauricio Vaca Amazing 5 stars
11/01/03 Ingo A must. To be seen more then once. 5 stars
10/15/03 Suzanne Vogt amazing 5 stars
10/01/03 Me Contradictory to the title, it was yawn-inducing 2 stars
8/31/03 Arch-vile I wanna drive and spend all day in coffee bars quoting philosophers at random too, cool! 1 stars
8/27/03 Tristan Superb medely of perspective driven conversation 5 stars
4/12/03 John Pure drek. Fore pseudo-intellectuals only! 2 stars
4/08/03 James Bull Only people that use their brains will understand this movie. Simply brilliant! 5 stars
3/11/03 .Choadushouse. Most visually amazing & confusing thing I've ever seen. Plot can be boring, but INTERESTING 4 stars
1/30/03 pomba even if disagree w/ back &forth rambling (it's a dream) it's beautiful 4 stars
1/21/03 Wake up Wow, this reivew is one of the worst. Guess you only like dumbed down hollywood crap. 5 stars
12/25/02 elroy Beautiful. But you have to actually know the truth to appreciate this film. 5 stars
12/22/02 Monster W. Kung Great visual impact, poor story with a lot of tired wannabe-philosophical mumbo-jumbo. 2 stars
12/11/02 jmyles I can see how you wouldn't like this. If you can't fucking think. Without drugs, too. 5 stars
10/09/02 Peter Lovisek many boring parts, but many very interesting things too 3 stars
9/21/02 Kelly Painfully tedious rambilings 1 stars
9/19/02 Cuisinarthatrack how can a movie with an obtuse point inflict so much damage? ExquisiteExcruciatingBoredo 1 stars
8/03/02 Dr. Fardook All the overblown bullshit of a college lunchroom after philosophy 101 gets out 1 stars
7/08/02 zeitgeist "Slacker" with a brain 5 stars
7/02/02 Phil M. Aficionado A weird excursion into psycobabble and mind-bending contradictions. Alas, little substance 2 stars
5/26/02 ssvenn Well-animated and intelligent 5 stars
5/22/02 officer 412/l a big puddle of wank fluid 1 stars
5/20/02 The Bomb 69 animation was great, story was ??????????? 1 stars
5/15/02 SIGB I guess you need some brains to enjoy this movie... but it's also an awesome piece of art. 5 stars
5/15/02 RobMur Excellent! 5 stars
5/10/02 spyguy2 Loved it. Ambitious attempt to cause the viewer to question their world perspective. 5 stars
4/26/02 ^Elendil^ A hit and miss affair. 4 stars
4/23/02 Danielle Ophelia Different. Experimental. A few hiccups pertaining to incidentals, but nowhere near vile. 4 stars
4/07/02 natasha art in motion 5 stars
4/01/02 Elsie Dee It's about time someone made a movie like this! More, please... 5 stars
3/07/02 ZenMasterFlash Fine if you enjoy listening to pretentious college students vomit up their philosophy texts 1 stars
2/21/02 luda hoe it's different, for those of you who said it sucked all ass, you suck all ass 4 stars
1/24/02 Paco Pedantic and boring. Go find some stoned college students instead 1 stars
1/15/02 Clive Hampton Like being beaten over the head with a 1st year psychology textbook. Basic and boring. 2 stars
12/30/01 sarafina Its sad that people are so close minded 5 stars
12/22/01 emiliano visually, intellectually, and conceptually stimulating 5 stars
12/15/01 Mr Math Painful. Pretty, but then... so is Gretchen Mol. That don't make a movie. 1 stars
12/13/01 M. Brenna Great experimental flick. Lighten up, assholes. 5 stars
12/12/01 Anne Donaldson ouch 1 stars
12/06/01 Timothy R. Britt, Fellow of American Film Institute Warning: Intellect required to enjoy this film. If you are a dumb-ass please do not watch. 5 stars
12/04/01 hexenhaus Sucked the ass of the ass! Sophmoric pilosophy combined with gimmick "animation" horror 1 stars
12/04/01 David Blanton mesmerizing, creative road trip into the soul 5 stars
12/04/01 slappy jacks YOU must BE A DREAMER TO ENJOY IT! 4 stars
12/02/01 Chris Mandel Best movie I'v encountered since 'The Wall' 5 stars
11/15/01 john bedolla pretntious, boring, empty, devoid of an animating principle 1 stars
11/13/01 liz i was quite impressed -- full review at www.popkornjunkie.com 4 stars
11/12/01 Mr. Shmegma In 20 years everyone is going to claimed they loved it, too. 5 stars
11/11/01 John If you've ever spent a little too much time thinking about life, this is the movie for you. 5 stars
11/10/01 Artist Freak This movie was incredible. Every shot, every word. If you don't like it go watch Titanic... 5 stars
11/10/01 daniboy pretencious and boring (great animation though) 2 stars
11/08/01 The Alter Ego Except for the art direction, this movie truly does suck all ass. 1 stars
11/05/01 Kevin Kraus Requires concentration... but worth the effort. Fantastic amination. 5 stars
11/03/01 Paco I could've just gotten a philosophy student drunk. It would've been the same thing. 1 stars
10/23/01 Movie Freak I've shared this same dream. The right film at the right time for me. Oz, chill, man! 5 stars
10/21/01 Senor Pescolido Requires thought? It's Slacker with funky animation. Gee, groundbreaking... 1 stars
9/16/01 coryboyd i thought this movie was provocative and beautiful. 4 stars
4/10/01 Jake Daily Actually really outstanding. Maybe you guys were hoping for more tits or explosions? 5 stars
2/16/01 Klute Bleargh 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Oct-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Mar-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast