More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.97

Awesome54.24%
Worth A Look: 15.25%
Average: 5.08%
Pretty Bad: 23.73%
Total Crap: 1.69%

3 reviews, 41 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Ice Storm, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Oh, please."
2 stars

Am I the only one who didn't get all the hype?

Two words:

Preeeee. Tentious.

Technically, that's one word. But I'm emphasizing it. Pretentious. Pretentious from establishing characters to the death of a character (like you didn't see it coming). I'll probably get skewered for disliking a critical darling of 1997, but I can't understand what the fuss is about.

A group of would-be swinging couples during the Watergate years. Kevin Kline doing drama (badly), Jamey Sheridan and Joan Allen looking relatively comatose, and Sigourney Weaver playing some sort of ice queen that's bored to tears. All the while in 70's clothes.

*Shudder*

The ice storm outside is a (metaphor? symbol? analogy?) for the lives of the people inside. Thanks for striking me over the head with it. Repeatedly. The adults are sleazy. It's the 70's, man! Free love! Wife swapping! Whatever.

The adults are limited to sleeping around and looking pained. It's the kids who are worthwhile. Strong performances from the younger side of the cast, including an excellent Tobey Maguire and Christina Ricci (going from creepy to oddly sexual), plus solid turns from Elijah Wood, David Krumholtz, and the kid from Little Man Tate. Dawson's Creek fans take note: this movie also has Katie Holmes' feature film debut.

I'll say it again: pretentious. You'll probably disagree with me, and that's fine. But if you don't know what's going to happen at the film's end, then maybe this film's for you. It wasn't for me, though.

Skip it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=488&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/10/98 00:05:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/06/14 PAUL SHORTT UNPLEASANT, OFF-PUTTING AND FORCED 2 stars
11/03/09 Carrie too mch sex 1 stars
6/01/09 Jeff Wilder One of the best films of the 1990s 4 stars
6/09/07 fools♫gold I thought this was a B-list flic b4Gonsalves'review. Whatdecadeitis doesn't change a thing. 5 stars
2/03/07 David Pollastrini very well done 3 stars
12/01/06 Brad Bourland Few films are as bad as their detractors say they are or are perfect as their best fans pro 4 stars
6/06/06 Dave Webber Totally agree - the worst art-house ripoff I've seen in a long time! 2 stars
2/23/06 jp pretty good 4 stars
1/07/06 Jin A film of true beauty and depth. Acting is top notch. 5 stars
10/05/05 Jesse Taylor Deserved more critical acclaim. An amazing movie, one of the best of 1997! 5 stars
1/05/04 cwlg420 I suggest watching it once if your into the artzy thing, otherwise stay away from this 2 stars
11/18/03 he a great film 5 stars
9/08/03 Kyle Good, but uneven. 4 stars
7/26/03 nr great 5 stars
5/23/03 mr. Pink Quietly chilling and occasionally funny. Great acting especially from Weaver and Ricci. 5 stars
4/01/03 Jack Sommersby Elijah Wood dry-humping Ricci is only inspired moment in another Ang Lee wank-fest. 2 stars
9/25/02 movie guy GREAT 5 stars
8/08/02 Jack Thompson Wow. Just...Wow. 5 stars
8/06/02 KMG I liked the atmosphere 4 stars
6/02/02 stud good 5 stars
4/28/02 R.W. Welch Some sort of existentialist thing, I think, about people who don't have enough to do. Slow. 3 stars
11/16/01 John American Beauty had to have stolen its plot from this movie. 5 stars
10/18/01 Henry Ginsberg Kevin Kline was great in this film 5 stars
10/15/01 Adam Interesting and entertaining. Strong script and acting. Well set.Overall above average. 5 stars
4/18/01 Jesse L Enjoyed only by the massively hard up - 2 stars
2/24/01 Marie I wanted the freaky swingers to die in the storm, but they didn't? 5 stars
1/10/01 Rob Banfitch Leaves you stung. 5 stars
8/16/00 Drew Vogel Excellent. American Beauty with depth. 5 stars
8/08/00 Rue the Whirl Ice makes me RANDY! 5 stars
6/24/00 Aaron White Solid drama. Attention to detail goes beyond trotting out period cliches. 4 stars
2/14/00 Erna Rosemond Hard to tell whether it was supposed to be comedy or a drama 2 stars
11/04/99 hum dull and pradictable 2 stars
11/02/99 Bozo hated it the first time; saw it three more times & now its brilliant 5 stars
8/15/99 Kate It was great...Especially Elijah Wood. 5 stars
7/11/99 Daria I was led to belive it was one of the best films of the year. It WASN'T. 3 stars
5/29/99 kmk interesting characters, but moved a little too slow. 4 stars
3/01/99 Spankey I fell asleep...need I say more?! 2 stars
2/19/99 Bruce Hedge Loved it, my era ,Sigourney turns me on!!! 5 stars
11/28/98 Mr.Pink A. Lee is a man who understands relationships.Story IS clichéd but not in the way it's told 4 stars
9/14/98 Keith Griffith Great job capturing many of the things I remember about that time. Cop-out ending though! 4 stars
9/05/98 Badass It breaks the ice on what we inherent from our parents and what elements we mimic of them. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Sep-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast