More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.25

Awesome: 11.36%
Worth A Look43.18%
Average: 15.91%
Pretty Bad: 18.18%
Total Crap: 11.36%

3 reviews, 26 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Edge, The (1997)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by rotten f. milk

"Rent This Movie. It's Mamet"
4 stars

Amazing. A good movie without 'splosions.

No, it's a movie of survival. Hopkins is a know-it-all rich guy and his sidekick, Alec Baldwin plays a big time photographer. Now, after this badassed plane crash, the two are forced to survive in the wilderness. They must overcome freezing weather, wild animals, starvation and whatnot.

It's a trial of the human will. And indeed, it's very interesting. The tension between the two leads is dynamic indeed. However, Elle MacPherson, I must say, was horrible. Sure, she's a looker, but she doesn't contribute much to the movie.

In conclusion, the film in general: I like. Elle MacPherson: I like. Elle's acting: I don't like. Rent this movie. It's Mamet.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=490&reviewer=3
originally posted: 09/09/98 05:49:12
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/14/11 PAUL SHORTT ENJOYABLE THRILLER WITH GOOD PERFORMANCES, EXCITING ACTION SEQUENCES AND SPLENDID SCENERY 4 stars
3/27/08 Monday Morning Good movie....great bear. 5 stars
5/11/07 steve newman Scenery was fantastic - film was ok, 30 minutes too long and predictable 3 stars
2/24/06 TB Great Lost movie 4 stars
11/17/05 ALDO Overlooked badass survival movie. People who don't like it can whack off to Citizen Kane 5 stars
10/06/05 Gavin Liked it very much.Good story & good acting by Hopkins and Baldwin in magnificent scenery 5 stars
8/30/05 ES CGI landscape? Baldwin and Hopkins in a movie that tries too hard to be epic 3 stars
7/28/05 Quigley The bear was insane! Hopkins totally rules in this good survival movie 5 stars
4/08/04 da hood in real life, that bear would have fucked them all up! horseshit! 1 stars
3/22/04 john fighting a Bear with sharpened sticks? Mamet obviously Mamet doesn't get out much. 2 stars
1/31/04 john bale Tony & Alec Survival Flick, Hopkins tries hard with nature, in this pedestrian thriller 3 stars
8/31/03 R.W. Welch None too likely survival-in-the-wild tale. Hopkins does what he can with it. 3 stars
5/12/03 Jack Bourbon I thought it was purty. 4 stars
4/08/03 Mystique I love nature! 4 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby Spectacular scenery can't overcome a sodden screenplay. Acting is no more than functional. 2 stars
5/10/02 puviko very good 3 stars
6/06/01 I love movies The Brother Always Goes First 1 stars
11/03/00 Terrie Smith Nice cinematography but the film is predictable. Nothing new here. 3 stars
2/10/00 Ed Wood I thought it was terrific 5 stars
11/14/99 Jerry Good Movie 4 stars
8/02/99 beachlovr9 I thought it was pretty good. 4 stars
4/30/99 Lucas jackson This movie had good acters doing a shitty job and those ski lifts and trails were shitty 1 stars
8/30/98 Matt I was cheering for the bear 1 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee I'd kill a guy to snatch Elle, but that doesn't mean this was a good film. Fair to middling 3 stars
8/25/98 Pete This movie kicks butt. Mamet wrote it, and Hopkins and Baldwin deliver his lines. 4 stars
8/23/98 Superfly Does shutting the movie off 20 minutes in count as seeing it? 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Sep-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast