More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.78

Awesome: 28.57%
Worth A Look: 6.12%
Average: 14.29%
Pretty Bad: 16.33%
Total Crap34.69%

1 review, 43 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Cruel Intentions 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Reissue formula, but Adams stands out from the mess."
2 stars

Originally designed to be a primetime TV extension of the movie “Cruel Intentions,” the now-direct-to-video prequel banally entitled “Cruel Intentions 2” (the TV series was to be called “Manchester Prep,” the stiffly upper-class prep school the devious teens attended) is nothing more than the footage filmed for the pilot, along with the wanna-be masturbatory nudie footage thrown in to add spice.

At least that was its intention. While the reintroduction to younger versions of Sebastian (now played by Robin Dunne, to Ryan Phillippe’s version) and Kathryn (Amy Adams, to Sarah Michelle Gellar) is supposed to give us insight to what happened before all the hullabaloo of “Cruel Intentions,” although I could see myself occasionally sitting down to watch the show, as a movie, it functions as nothing more than a recycled version of the first. Again, written and directed by Roger Kumble, using the same formula, even the same outline of the predecessor, it goes as far as to replicate the Swoozie Kurtz scene (about her daughter) but now with Sebastian’s principal and his wife. Or the lesbian kissing scenes. Or the exact extraction of Selma Blair’s naïve horny virgin character, into Keri Lynn Pratt’s rendition. Or the alteration of Reese Witherspoon’s character into the same type (with a slight twist at the end) by the diffident Sarah Thompson. Kumble’s biggest aberration from the “definitive” version, is that for the majority of the movie, we’re supposed to believe that Sebastian wants to be good and is likable. But that goes against what has already set up. The con at the end was a cheap blow, and makes everything before that irrelevant. Dunne is very much a subtraction as Phillippe’s replacement, and not only does his terrible acting make it annoying to watch and hard to stomach, but it becomes impossible to supposedly “like” the character for any brief period of time. On the other hand, Adams’ bitch compared to Gellar’s, is so much more wicked, evil, bitchy, and well-done. Adams also is superior in beauty, and uses it as a beneficial tool.

Final Verdict: D.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4910&reviewer=172
originally posted: 06/03/01 10:30:37
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Direct To Video Sequels series, click here.

User Comments

10/15/15 David Hollingsworth awful, stupid and just bad 1 stars
10/28/09 cruel intentions II SUCKS! well that was an hour and a half i'll never get back. terrible acting, terrible storyline. 1 stars
5/27/09 art AN AMUSING PREQUEL,ALMOST LIKE THE FIRST ONE! 2 stars
1/28/08 CruelIntentions2isSoftporn_and_it_is_plain_bad See how idiots gave it 5 *s, movie was dumb mostly bc of ending kath. & danielle are Lesbos 1 stars
10/31/06 tm terrrrrible; took points from cs1 then ruined them 1 stars
6/16/06 Cal Words can't describe this abomination! 1 stars
11/24/05 cr a lousy prequel to the sexy original and everthing was boring besides the shower scene 2 stars
9/19/05 tony worse than the first!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
10/22/04 irfan its a movie one must watch amazing 5 stars
5/02/04 Furqee it was sexy. i musterbate after i watch it 5 stars
4/18/04 valerie hart its ok ut not as cruel and exciting as the first one 3 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt Cheesy, but highly entertaining! A real guilty pleasure! 5 stars
2/29/04 vegeta If you thought the first one was good, than you will LOVE this one. 5 stars
1/06/04 George i like it alot 5 stars
7/31/03 Schautek Boooooring. I couldn't watch the whole thing 1 stars
7/20/03 amy It was crap. Sebastian was an ugly troll compared to Ryan. Uuuughhh! 1 stars
3/19/03 marco it's nice and cool 3 stars
1/15/03 chantal i like it but it reminded me too much of the 1st, which makes it kind of crap. 3 stars
10/23/02 palaboy101 I'd give it an A for effort 3 stars
7/29/02 barely legal Cruel 1 was great, this is just plain crap 1 stars
6/01/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi ppppffff... 3 stars
3/04/02 Alex CI is my fav movie... CI2 is almost exactly the same story.. just a million times worse 1 stars
2/27/02 Farrukh Bhati Nice Movie !! 4 stars
2/21/02 Daemon Very good movies and it is very hot ummmmm 4 stars
1/12/02 hd was one of the stupedist movies ever coudlnt even get sarah michelle gallar and ryan philla 1 stars
9/10/01 indra good movie 5 stars
9/09/01 Josh vire cam hunger for truth 5 stars
8/28/01 rey very good movie 5 stars
8/24/01 asdf cool. 5 stars
7/10/01 Brown For the love of god, make it stop..... (except for Ms. Pratt) 1 stars
7/08/01 linday best movie ever sarah thompson is hot 5 stars
7/07/01 Steph this movie was amazing, it was funny as hell 4 stars
5/12/01 WickedWitch this movie sucks harder than a hoover! 1 stars
4/27/01 Keiry Nieves i haven't seen it but i know is the bomb...Just like paqrt one!! 5 stars
4/18/01 Mandy Marie---->(One thumb Up and One BIG thumb Down for the movie This one seemed like a porn! Those sisters in the shower looked and sounded like porn stars 3 stars
4/18/01 eric none 5 stars
4/16/01 Fenix great movie 5 stars
4/14/01 LiL Well, crap actors looking for a break have to start somewhere 1 stars
4/07/01 Maarten Is not to bad but the first one was Better 3 stars
4/05/01 jacquelyn sucked 1 stars
4/05/01 Steve good movie 5 stars
2/17/01 Loober Crap 1 stars
2/15/01 Michael Nicholls Don't hesitate to leave the cinema... 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Jan-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Feb-2001 (M)


Directed by
  Roger Kumble

Written by
  Roger Kumble

Cast
  Amy Adams
  Robin Dunne
  Sarah Thompson
  Keri Lynn Pratt
  Deanna Wright
  Mimi Rogers



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast