More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.15

Awesome55.77%
Worth A Look: 23.08%
Average: 3.85%
Pretty Bad: 15.38%
Total Crap: 1.92%

2 reviews, 40 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Brothers, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"This just in: Black people have sex. Film at 11."
4 stars

"The Brothers" is a movie about sex. It deals some with relationships and the overall experience of being black in America. But it's mostly about sex. And it has little new to say on the subject.

Similar to "The Best Man" both in style (ensemble comedy focused more on characters than plot) and subject matter (the lives of upper-middle-class African-Americans), "The Brothers" follows four successful career men in their various encounters with women.

At the center is Jack Smith (Morris Chestnut), a pediatrician with serious commitment phobias: He keeps dreaming of being shot by a woman in a wedding gown. He meets Denise (Gabrielle Union), who seems to be perfect for him, and she gets a lot of advice from his no-nonsense mother (Jenifer Lewis).

Then there's Terry (Shemar Moore), who has just announced his engagement, much to the chagrin of marriage-hater Brian (Bill Bellamy), a lawyer who has sworn of black women and decided to date white chicks instead.

Finally, we have Derrick (D.L. Hughley), the only married man of the bunch. He's having troubles, though, because of certain sexual practices his wife refuses to engage in.

Much of the dialogue is shockingly frank in its sexuality, and I don't know that it's useful. (I mean, how much discussion on oral sex do we still need? Haven't enough other movies already talked about it?) The ensemble is good, though, and even the female half of the group -- admittedly not the film's primary focus -- is enjoyable. (Jenifer Lewis, who plays Jack's mother, has a great, sassy attitude that earns several laughs.)

The film moves slowly -- as mentioned, it's the overall lives of the characters that are the focus -- and that may deter some viewers.

African-Americans in particular should find it true-to-life, however, and audiences in general would be charmed by honest performances and engaging characters.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4937&reviewer=247
originally posted: 03/30/01 12:26:30
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/07/06 alexiss the only withe woman is a gorgeous blonde who kik the other woman ass very hard. wow! 4 stars
7/30/04 Kristy Tyrrell THIS MOVIE SHOW THE REAL MEANING OF TRUE FRIENSHIPS. 5 stars
7/07/04 Jessica Morris Chesnut is so damn sexy!!! 5 stars
10/31/03 Jai let the white folks know that aint always about them 5 stars
9/19/03 me morris chesnut is an a++++++ soooo sexy luck lady his wife is 5 stars
9/18/03 Tiffany The bomb. Whoa! Don't Morris look Good?! 5 stars
8/01/03 Golddie great movie 5 stars
3/01/03 ME A GREAT FILM 5 stars
1/03/03 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng I love this movie. Sweet and funny. Go D.L.! You rock! So does the rest of the cast. 5 stars
1/03/03 brittinie fish i luv morris chesnut 5 stars
12/10/02 Little Black Princess Morris is GORGEOUS. Who ever is the lucky ladyshe should be happy.( not just hs looks) 5 stars
12/09/02 ebony-sugar-n-spice The movie's highlight was actor Morris Chesnut. His acting skills shined. 4 stars
12/04/02 Norman He is a good looking brother 5 stars
11/17/02 me tight as fuck 5 stars
11/03/02 REMIE_RED I LOVE MORRIS CHESNUT.HE IS A GOOD ACTOR AND SURE AIN'T BAD TO LOOK AT.he is great to look 5 stars
7/18/02 Laura Chestnut Why y'all hatin on my man Morris?The movie can relate to ALL audiences. Black, white, 5 stars
5/25/02 jaquata kinnard this film was very good. 5 stars
5/23/02 Ms. Parker I have been a fan of Morris Chestnut since Boys N the Hood.Morris Chesnut is beautiful 5 stars
5/11/02 Reese I think that it was o.k.,but the way the women were portrayes pissed me off! 3 stars
3/10/02 Ms.Chesnut01 Dont Hate! Once my man Morris is up in it then you know #1 its hot 2 death and u want more. 5 stars
2/22/02 Kristi Morris Chesnut is sooooo beautiful!! *DROOL* 5 stars
1/12/02 LIL_BREAST I LOVE MORRIS CHESNUT.HE IS A GOOD ACTOR AND SURE AIN'T BAD TO LOOK AT.MMMM................ 5 stars
11/19/01 Nicole WAlker This shows that all black male aren't 5 stars
9/21/01 Cathy Mosley(Sexy302000) I LOVE IT(FOR THE CRITIC,IF YOU HAVEN'T LIVE THIS LIFE THEN YOU WOULDN'T UNDERSTAND) 5 stars
9/04/01 MEA MEA FINE ASS NEGROS 5 stars
8/30/01 Monday Morning Bite on, brudder! 1 stars
8/22/01 Lil Shorty I don't how you talkin bout how this film is pretty bad.Don't hate cuz you can't relate. 5 stars
8/08/01 Sara It was good, but they shouldn't have shortend the movie like they did 4 stars
8/06/01 MONICA JOHNSON IT WAS GOOD, GLAD THAT YOU PICKED SEXY MEN TO PLAY THE ROLES 5 stars
7/19/01 Xiera could have used more professional writing & directing something just lacked... 3 stars
7/19/01 La'Shania sexy men in the movie 5 stars
4/25/01 Jane The picture stunk - mindless sex, vulgar language, no real rhyme or reason for it all 2 stars
4/04/01 suad ali funny and hilarious. worth seeing! 4 stars
4/02/01 Tiffany Chestnut all brothers in the US can yake a lesson from this movie-Stay true to your color! 5 stars
3/29/01 Stephie I really liked the movie. It's no "Best Man" or "love jones" but a good flick overall.. 4 stars
3/27/01 ender judging by the names of the other reviewers, i'd say they actually *liked* the stereotypes? 2 stars
3/27/01 Antoinette Motley The movie was excellent! Down to earth movie. 5 stars
3/27/01 Tariq The movie was funny and a wonderful chance to relax. 5 stars
3/26/01 Cheri Cofer-Tutt I really enjoyed the move. Regardless of what the critics say! 4 stars
3/25/01 Mart Dawg This movie was dope as hell, D.L was funny as fuck. it was a good date movie 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Mar-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  31-May-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast