More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.52

Awesome65.57%
Worth A Look: 25.41%
Average: 6.56%
Pretty Bad: 0.82%
Total Crap: 1.64%

8 reviews, 74 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Alien Abduction (2014) by Charles Tatum

Nightcrawler by Peter Sobczynski

Before I Go to Sleep by Peter Sobczynski

Fury (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Babadook, The by Daniel Kelly

John Wick by Greg Ursic

Jinxed! by Charles Tatum

Wait Until Dark by Jay Seaver

Happy New Year (2014) by Jay Seaver

Revenge of the Green Dragons by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Amores Perros
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"Seemingly uneven, Questionably overlong, Indisputably intriguing"
4 stars

AMORES PERROS is one of those Tarantino-esque slice-of-life films that seems to proudly boast in every frame: HECHO EN MEXICO (that’s “Made in Mexico” for all you complete whitebread gringos). And while the three principal tales do not always blend perfectly, they are definitely tales worth watching.

The film is divided into three acts, in which we are introduced to three sets of characters and then are shown how their disparate lives intersect. First we are introduced to Octavio (The fantastic Gael García Bernal of Y Tu Mama Tambien), who is trying to steal his hot cuñada Susanna (the unbelievably cute Vanessa Bauche) away from her abusive asshole husband, who is Octavio’s older brother Ramiro (Marco Pérez). Even though Susanna has a newborn and is already pregnant with another, he is determined to raise enough money to take her and the little bundles of Ramiro’s joy away. He decides to enter his rotweiler in the lucrative luchas de perros (dogfights), after the dog puts a back alley ass whooping on the dog of a local thug.

Meanwhile, across town, Magazine editor Daniel (Álvaro Guerrero) has just moved out on his family and in with supermodel mistress Valeria (Goya Toledo). But a sudden tragedy, and the disappearance of Valeria’s beloved pooch, leaves the future of her modeling career and their relationship in jeopardy.

Finally, we make the acquaintance of El Chivo (Emilio Echevarría), an old man who keeps several stray dogs and walks around like a homeless person (although he is in fact neither homeless nor carless) and becomes involved in shady assassination deals. In the meantime, he tries to force reconciliation with his daughter, now a successful young businesswoman who thinks him long-dead. His attempts to reach her are as sad as they are disturbing, as he exhibits creepy stalker behavior.

Throw them all into the Pulp Fiction blender and you have Amores Perros. It’s an ambitious narrative that commands attention, but that occasionally finds its grasp exceeded. The three acts are not given equal time, and yet all three of them go on for much longer than they need to, resulting in a bit of a rambling 153 minute running time. However, the excess is forgivable, considering that it is director Alejandro González Iñárritu’s first time directing a feature film. All things considered, he did a more than competent job, and the inclusion of a kick-ass cast like this one, especially powerhouses like Garcia and Echevarria, can hide a multitude of pecadillos.

Members of PETA (or as I like to call them, “those whiny-ass bitches”) will probably find AMORES PERROS an affront with its extended and vicious dogfight sequences and numerous images of dead and bloody pooches – hey, they claim that no animals were harmed in the making of . . . but it all depends on what your definition of “harm” is, doesn’t it? Still, if you find your stomach strong enough for the canine gore, then you may find the meat of AMORES PERROS seasoned to your liking.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4941&reviewer=258
originally posted: 09/02/03 14:00:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/21/14 PAUL SHORTT BRUTAL, HARROWING AND PUNISHINGLY OVERLONG 2 stars
1/02/10 Norm Descoteaux A film for the ages 5 stars
4/29/08 victor l have not watch the film 5 stars
4/14/08 mr.mike Good , not great. 3.5 out of 5 stars. 4 stars
11/16/06 David Intense and gripping film. 5 stars
9/16/06 Christopher No animals were harmed in the making of this movie? As far as we know…However dogs were in 1 stars
8/28/06 Sonia Strashun Stories that stay with you. 5 stars
5/30/06 kelly blackwell Gael Garcia Bernal...Super Hunky!!!! 5 stars
3/24/06 luis wow no mames......................chida, chida ,chida, sin comentarios 5 stars
12/05/05 Gene Carmean Outstanding 5 stars
9/13/05 ray mero Spellbinding in its imagery and intersecting stories. its beauty and depth. 5 stars
8/11/05 LIZ THAT CRAP WAS RAW 5 stars
7/20/05 Chris Interesting 5 stars
6/13/05 Agent Sands IN-CRED-IBLE!!! 5 stars
10/30/04 María P. Película altamente recomendable... 4 stars
10/27/04 Oscar fue una pelicula gran que me cautivo hasta el final como se unieron las historias 5 stars
10/17/04 Mandy it's just VERY good! 5 stars
8/11/04 Jen esa pelicula esta chingonsisima 5 stars
8/06/04 Maureen Don't miss it! 5 stars
7/31/04 Dave Reed Very entertaining 5 stars
7/17/04 patricia rogosich so fucking awesome. a must see 5 stars
5/25/04 Ian Ratcliffe Great film - imensely intelligent 5 stars
5/20/04 Elizabeth Lozano Great Movie from a mexican director 5 stars
4/17/04 Morally Sound Amazing! 5 stars
12/23/03 smartmusician a brutal yet powerful film. I was Blown away by its greatness and realism 5 stars
12/17/03 Jonny Sycamore Best latin american film ive seen yet 5 stars
8/16/03 Headhunter the best movie i have ever seen 5 stars
7/06/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back MoFos!!!) Extremely arresting, very powerful, full 3-D characters & story, and EXCELLENT direction!!! 5 stars
5/13/03 marienil jo z. ballozos i did'nt understand tha ending. 5 stars
3/27/03 Krishna Sadasivam average movie - interesting characters, but suffers from excessive length. 3 stars
3/18/03 Maegs I adored this movie 5 stars
2/25/03 Ana Mar In order to appreciate the movie, the viewer has to see beyond the dog fights and violence 5 stars
2/22/03 Goofy Maxwell All the temerity and turpitude of a rabid mongrel, all the logic of a dog playing poker. 4 stars
1/01/03 Andy Todes greg (usually the voice of reason), what are you talking about here, man? 5 stars
12/03/02 shikita you dont see stories like this to often, it rocks!!! 5 stars
12/02/02 Saul A person with a true understanding of film will understand whi I gave it "awsome".. 5 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Wow. Awesome filmmaking. 5 stars
11/15/02 nikita super!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/12/02 assassin. it is real. 5 stars
11/02/02 liz lost not only did i like the fact that Gael was in it, but it was a nice theme, well made 5 stars
10/09/02 mirko lujan a film I sure respet after "fight club" with edwart norton and brat pitt! 5 stars
6/25/02 Robbie Banfitch I like pizza. 5 stars
6/12/02 natasha animal lovers beware: realistic, bloody dogfights 4 stars
4/03/02 Reini Urban Deeper and more serious than Pulp Fiction 5 stars
3/23/02 Milagros Gael is fucking Fine oh man he is orgazmic i got an orgazm just looking at his picture 5 stars
3/13/02 Faith Bernal has made it, cynic. 5 stars
3/07/02 Alan Smithee One of the move amazing movies that I've seen in recent memory. 5 stars
2/12/02 Jen Big WOW 5 stars
1/19/02 Daniel Orgasmic. 5 stars
12/28/01 Robert Classic 5 stars
12/13/01 Dominik Duprelle Full blooded, a masterful story superbly told, a real surprise-highly recommended 5 stars
12/04/01 slappy jacks fucking awesome 5 stars
10/01/01 The Bomb 69 great storytelling, intertwining stories have been before but this was done well 5 stars
7/23/01 David Seddon Wonderful - falls into a similar camp as 'Magnolia'. 5 stars
7/22/01 ^Elendil^ It's been a long time since I forgot that I was just watching a movie. 5 stars
7/16/01 bilal karaman great movie. it can't be told just see it. 5 stars
7/04/01 Paul Brilliant, especially in sustaining three stories with equal interest 5 stars
6/23/01 Ian Barr Rivetting filmmaking. An exceptional debut feature 5 stars
6/14/01 Ulysses Ramirez Best Movie I've ever seen in my life 5 stars
6/03/01 Blubberbot Some parts are good others bad. Too long. Super violent. 3 stars
5/21/01 skye great debut. fine flick 5 stars
5/07/01 kanji Unique! Non-Hollywood film! Real Life. 5 stars
5/06/01 Heather Similar to Tarantino, Run Lola, well worth looking out for 5 stars
4/28/01 gerardo the best movie in many years 5 stars
4/24/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Excruciating at times (particularly the deaths of the dogs), but intricate and intelligent. 4 stars
4/22/01 Yvette Fantastic 5 stars
4/19/01 Jessica Romero Spectacular! Best movie I 5 stars
4/17/01 Mr. X Pretty good stories. But it is one of the most horrific films I've seen recently. 4 stars
4/15/01 rafael any comparison w/pulp fiction is stupid!!! 5 stars
4/07/01 Jose A. Contreras It is a very good film. But I totally agree: The second story is not as interesting as 2. 4 stars
4/06/01 gabriela amazing film! 5 stars
4/04/01 Michelle Munro I recently got a chance to see this film at the FIU Miami Film Festival. I enjoyed it. 5 stars
4/04/01 Monday Morning Anything involving cruelty to animals, especially dogs, gets a hearty "fuck you" from me. 1 stars
4/02/01 Aya Must see - as painful and beautiful as life is sometimes 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Apr-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Apr-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast