More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Worth A Look: 34.29%
Average: 11.43%
Pretty Bad: 11.43%
Total Crap: 2.86%

1 review, 29 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Tehran Taboo by Rob Gonsalves

Final Portrait by Rob Gonsalves

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story by Jay Seaver

Before We Vanish by Jay Seaver

Dear Dictator by Peter Sobczynski

Tomb Raider (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Darken by Jay Seaver

Early Man by Jay Seaver

Beyond Skyline by Jay Seaver

Agent Mr. Chan by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

Mr. Holland's Opus
[] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"No, it's NOT about the 'Bloom County' penguin."
4 stars

It's another "teacher-influences-his-students" film. But this one, Mr. Holland's Opus, is an enthusiastic and touching effort.

We follow Mr. Glenn Holland (Richard "Jaws" Dreyfuss) through his family life and his entire career as music teacher/band director at Kennedy High School in Portland, Oregon. The film makes one stop in every decade: 1957, 1968, 1975, 1981, and 1995. Mr. Holland is always at odds with vice principal Mr. Wolters (William H. Macy) over his teaching techniques, such as using rock and roll as a learning aid. He's also got a few students with problems ranging from low self-esteem to learning disabilities.

At the same time, Mr. H has got his own troubles at home to think about... especially problems communicating with his hearing-impaired son, Cole (Nicholas John Renner, Joseph Anderson and Anthony Natale). He also has put together a little composition of his own, although unfinished for years.

Throughout it all, Glenn's compassion for his students and his desire to bond with his son carries him through his troubles, and actually pays off for him at the end, when he sees what has become of his beloved pupils. His "opus", therefore, is actually the legacy of his accomplishments throughout his tenure at Kennedy High.

Dreyfuss's performance is truly Oscar-worthy. The rest of the cast is excellent as well. While there are many cliches in the script, the story overall is heartwarming.

Julian Lennon sings during the closing credits. And you thought he was dead.

link directly to this review at
originally posted: 09/02/98 01:00:44
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/12/09 RLan a well done film about a teacher and his impact on his students. 4 stars
2/04/08 Pamela White Dreyfuss great as a redeemed hardass 5 stars
6/25/07 gheLi very touching. 5 stars
10/03/06 Joanna Visaya a must-see movie, especially to educators and aspiring/future educators 5 stars
9/09/06 JeromeBosch Dreuyfuss and his fucking pussy flicks, give me Tin Men ! 1 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Poignant drama. Good acting by Dreyfuss et. al. 5 stars
2/19/04 me grear 5 stars
12/29/03 Ivana Remarkable, unique, must see! 5 stars
4/02/03 joesco Seen several times - A moving musical life journey - Dreyfuss excellent as he often is 5 stars
3/26/03 Jack Sommersby Manipulative but very touching and entertaining. Dreyfuss is brilliant. 4 stars
2/03/03 scott GREAT 5 stars
12/21/02 sledgehammer I never get tired of it. Dreyfuss/Headley are stellar. the score's as great as the script. 5 stars
12/02/02 Kandy Korn Some 20th century tear-jerkin' movie that touches your heart - and rips it out in the end 4 stars
5/18/02 Brian I like music 2 stars
5/18/02 Jenny Tullwartz Feel-good movie that doesn't really feel so good. Heavy things lightly dismissed at times 3 stars
4/20/02 Jim boring 2 stars
1/14/02 Andrew Carden Almost Unwatchable. Good Script, but Totally Unrealistic Dramatic Sequences. 2 stars
12/20/01 Richard Plourde Life is what happens to you when you're busy doing something else. 5 stars
11/09/01 R.W. Welch Crackerjack performance by Dreyfuss as a kind of updated Mr. Chips. 4 stars
7/18/01 d j 2 stars
3/05/01 Sandra It was a wonderful movie, all around. Nuff said! 5 stars
11/15/00 salvo toscano Dreyfuss is one of the most undervalued Us actors. The film'nice 4 stars
10/05/99 rob Great film, beautifully acted. I loved every minute of it. 5 stars
8/19/99 Matthew Bartley Bit long,a bit sentimental but Dreyfuss is excellent. Good film 4 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Sentimental shit, but somehow entertaining thanks to Dreyfuss. 3 stars
11/24/98 Fred My asshole school superintendent should see this! 5 stars
10/01/98 katherine i really like this film a lot. its great 4 studets 2 watch this movie 4 inspiration. 5 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress way to fuckin long. 3 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  19-Jan-1996 (PG-13)



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast