More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.45

Awesome: 4.49%
Worth A Look: 12.36%
Average: 23.6%
Pretty Bad42.7%
Total Crap: 16.85%

7 reviews, 47 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


54
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Charles Tatum

"Disco Beat"
3 stars

A young man dreams of leaving his dead end town and moving to the big city, where he can make it big. I wish I could do the same, and I would if I looked like Ryan Phillippe.

Shane (Ryan Phillippe) lives in New Jersey and longs for the New York City skyline just a short distance away. He and his friends go to the same bars and try to lay the same girls, but in 1979 his world is collapsing under the leadership-challenged Jimmy Carter and life seems hopeless.

Shane finally gets some gumption and heads to Studio 54, the most exclusive club in New York. Taking off his shirt for owner Steve Rubell (Mike Myers), he gets let in. There, his senses are overwhelmed with drugs, sex, and music, three of the lacking ingredients in his life. Shane gets an interview and begins bussing at the club, meeting struggling singer/coat check girl Anita (Salma Hayek) and her busboy hubby Greg (Breckin Meyer). Greg covets the cherished bartender positions, but he does not have the right look. Shane does.

The main reason Shane sought out Studio 54 is because of his crush on soap opera actress Julie (Neve Campbell), who he glimpses briefly here and there before diving crotch first into all the loose sex and drug abuse. He moves in with Anita and Greg, but things begin to unravel as Rubell comes under the interest of the I.R.S., and Greg realizes he will never be a bartender, but there is plenty of money in drug dealing. 1980 comes in with a bang, and changes everyone.

Ryan Phillippe is very good as Shane in one of his best performances. He has a very young look about him that is completely right for the role. Writer/director Mark Christopher does a nice job with his actors, and the casting is outstanding. Shane is obviously more hunky than Greg, and Meyer does a great job of conveying disappointment about not getting the bartending gig. Salma Hayek is beautiful but not too flighty as Anita, who puts her burgeoning singing career above her marriage and friendships.

Neve Campbell, while okay, is not given a very good role here. Christopher holds off on Shane getting too close to her until it is too late, and by the time an hour (of the film) has gone by, we really do not care if these two get together or not. Mike Myers is outstanding as Rubell, I thought Christopher should have concentrated more on him than Shane. Myers has a great scene where he propositions a straight Greg for sex in order to get the bartending job, and Myers makes Steve a pathetic and sympathetic character in the span of just a few minutes.

If you thought this year's "Crash" has a lot of coincidences, get a load of "54." Not to give too much away, Julie and Shane meeting in a New Jersey restaurant isn't the worst, that honor goes to the climax of the film where everything seems to happen on one predestined night.

Christopher does capture the look and feel of 1979 hedonism very well. Some of his characters' choices make little sense, though. Shane knows where Studio 54 is, that soap actress Julie hangs out there, but has no clue who ANY of the other celebrities there are. For someone who frequents gossip columns, he should have been more tuned in to his clientele. Also, for all the sex and drugs going on, none of the characters seem very happy, and Christopher beats us over the head with redemptive moments.

The "54" soundtrack is a lot like the film, and the club. Some familiar filler that is really great while it happens, but becomes instantly forgettable when it ends. I have always liked techno and dance music over anything else, but "54" barely manages a blip on the screen.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=51&reviewer=325
originally posted: 05/10/05 23:56:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell dull & sleazy 1 stars
2/20/14 Wayne This film was HEAVILY edited before it came out--that's why it makes no sense. 1 stars
6/27/10 PAUL SHORTT DREARY, BLEAK DRAMA 1 stars
12/28/05 Jeff Anderson Mike Myers' performance is the ONLY great thing in this cliched & anachronistic fiasco! 1 stars
5/22/05 Cham Boring. 1 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus Why didnt they make a 'Waynes World 3' ?? oh why... 3 stars
6/08/03 james what the hell was this movie about? 1 stars
4/25/03 mr. Pink Ugh, where's the story, the glamour, the glitz, the sex. Where's everything !? 1 stars
3/21/03 May Q. Horney Bad news: MM& SH most forgettable I ever saw them. Good news: NC&RP were likewise. 2 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee Mike Myers performance was great, and Neve was hot, but the movie blew chunks. 2 stars
2/01/02 Andrew Carden Worth Watching For Good Performances and Retrospective On The Club. 4 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean This movie didn't bother dramatizing how the REAL celebrities partied at 54? Fuck that! 2 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Mike Myers is good. Other than that, this movie sucks donkey penises. 2 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L Boogie Nights was stupid soft porn...this is just stupid 1 stars
3/06/01 Jake I found it entertaining and much more enjoyable than Boogie Nights 4 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla watch this if your horny, if your intelligent, dont watch this shit 1 stars
10/21/00 Terrie Smith Nothing really to get excited about; Campbell & Myers make the most of it. 3 stars
5/27/00 Elvisfan I was born the same place & year as Shane & moved to NYC when he did 4 stars
3/10/00 Kyle Broflovski Meyers redeems it somewhat...I just wanted to eviscerate Phillipe, and that's not like me. 3 stars
2/12/00 Lame-Oh Neve and Myers were great. The rest was garbage. 2 stars
11/05/99 Anthony Ellis This movie was a poorly-crafted mess. No character development. Woefully awful!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
9/05/99 Elizaveta hahahahahahahaHA. 1 stars
7/19/99 Chef ADogg Watery...perked up whenever Neve or Myers was on screen 2 stars
5/10/99 Ah Dooey A poor, unnecessary rehash of Boogie Nights and Grease 2 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn I just about died with boredom...stupid, dumb, a no brainer and dull,,,, 2 stars
3/14/99 Love Donkey Beyond rotten 1 stars
3/08/99 CanadianChica I loved it, i felt like dancing afterwards. Besides, Phillippe is nothing to frown upon. 5 stars
10/31/98 Bad Kosh Is it some kind of disco shit or does it get any worse? 2 stars
10/24/98 Vick Di Brecci A poor, unnecessary remake of Boogie Nights 2 stars
10/18/98 natalie It was alright. Neve Campbell 3 stars
10/13/98 grunter disco scrubbed clean for "hets" and the "family values" crowd - lies, all lies. 1 stars
9/28/98 John Hawkins I hate disco but I really loved this movie! 5 stars
9/27/98 The Canadian Beaver Eh Sherry Stringfield can suck my dick anytime!! 5 stars
9/24/98 Red02 OK I know it wasn't supposed to be but it was hillarious to me! 4 stars
9/20/98 katherine igo 2 see neve. shes in it 4 2 secs. the rest was ppl siting around smoking dope. big wow. 2 stars
9/15/98 Gamma Mike Myers was AWESOME. Proves he can do drama 3 stars
9/15/98 jhanu the het-washing of disco continues 2 stars
9/15/98 zeek pretty lacklustre but worth it to watch salma hayek ;-) 3 stars
9/14/98 Keith Griffith Did I misunderstand recent history? Wasn't disco something to do with gay people? 1 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Myers ... stick to comedy. You're a nobody and a stranger in the world of dramatic movies 2 stars
9/13/98 Daniel Eskin Stunk like an old goat after being puked on 2 stars
9/09/98 Young Einstein Breckin Meyer rules the school. Ryan Phillipe is a nobody. 3 stars
9/05/98 Marsha It sucks! Ryan Philippe sucks more. Neve is alright. 1 stars
8/31/98 edicius 54...the only movie where you get to hear Mike Myers say, "I want to suck your cock." 4 stars
8/29/98 Miss Stress Drugs and Disco....do we really wanna remember polytester suits and the bustop????? 3 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee I really liked it, but I'm a disco-freak. Myers was great. A real departure for him. 5 stars
8/14/98 {{{OZ}}} I forget 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Aug-1998 (R)
  DVD: 06-Jul-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Nov-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast