More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.45

Awesome: 4.49%
Worth A Look: 12.36%
Average: 23.6%
Pretty Bad42.7%
Total Crap: 16.85%

7 reviews, 47 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


54
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Who's Errol Flint?"
4 stars

Disco, disco duck...

Oh, it's not as bad as all that. Actually, 54 is a decent flick, and you really don't even have to be big on 70's nostalgia or disco music to enjoy it. But don't let the previews mislead you: it's more about Mike Myers' and Ryan Phillipe's character's job there (and ultimately about the demise of the club) than about Phillipe and Neve Campbell. But that doesn't take away from the film. In fact, it's on the basis of Myers' performance that I'd recommend this movie.

Myers plays Steve Rubell, one of the owners of the famous Studio 54 nightclub in New York. Rubell has a tendency to have sex with his male employees and wallow in drugs. He's also on the take, skimming money so he won't have to report as much to the IRS (that's where the club's demise comes in). Myers plays him with the limp-eyed look of a user, at times hopped up on goofballs and giddy as a schoolgirl, other times merely drunk and stoned and trying to come on to bartenders. It's a great performance, a long way from the smirkiness (although it is still there) of a Wayne Campbell or an Austin Powers.

Phillipe is supposedly the center of the story, the young Jersey kid who makes it to Studio 54 in hopes of hitting it big. Problem is, Phillipe sucks. It's a lifeless performance, lacking any real energy or depth. Phillipe mumbles and stumbles through in a monotone. He's obsessed with Neve Campbell, a Jersey girl who made good on a soap opera. When they finally do hook up (sort of: it seems more platonic with occasional displays of affection, rather than a relationship), we never quite buy into it. Campbell's fine, although you wish there was more to her part.

Breckin Meyer (the skateboarder from Clueless) and Salma Hayek aren't bad, either, as a married couple working at the club, with him aspiring to be a bartender and her aspiring to be the next disco diva.

But again, it's Myers' movie, and he gives a standout performance.

The music will grow on you, too.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=51&reviewer=7
originally posted: 08/31/98 12:32:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell dull & sleazy 1 stars
2/20/14 Wayne This film was HEAVILY edited before it came out--that's why it makes no sense. 1 stars
6/27/10 PAUL SHORTT DREARY, BLEAK DRAMA 1 stars
12/28/05 Jeff Anderson Mike Myers' performance is the ONLY great thing in this cliched & anachronistic fiasco! 1 stars
5/22/05 Cham Boring. 1 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus Why didnt they make a 'Waynes World 3' ?? oh why... 3 stars
6/08/03 james what the hell was this movie about? 1 stars
4/25/03 mr. Pink Ugh, where's the story, the glamour, the glitz, the sex. Where's everything !? 1 stars
3/21/03 May Q. Horney Bad news: MM& SH most forgettable I ever saw them. Good news: NC&RP were likewise. 2 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee Mike Myers performance was great, and Neve was hot, but the movie blew chunks. 2 stars
2/01/02 Andrew Carden Worth Watching For Good Performances and Retrospective On The Club. 4 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean This movie didn't bother dramatizing how the REAL celebrities partied at 54? Fuck that! 2 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Mike Myers is good. Other than that, this movie sucks donkey penises. 2 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L Boogie Nights was stupid soft porn...this is just stupid 1 stars
3/06/01 Jake I found it entertaining and much more enjoyable than Boogie Nights 4 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla watch this if your horny, if your intelligent, dont watch this shit 1 stars
10/21/00 Terrie Smith Nothing really to get excited about; Campbell & Myers make the most of it. 3 stars
5/27/00 Elvisfan I was born the same place & year as Shane & moved to NYC when he did 4 stars
3/10/00 Kyle Broflovski Meyers redeems it somewhat...I just wanted to eviscerate Phillipe, and that's not like me. 3 stars
2/12/00 Lame-Oh Neve and Myers were great. The rest was garbage. 2 stars
11/05/99 Anthony Ellis This movie was a poorly-crafted mess. No character development. Woefully awful!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
9/05/99 Elizaveta hahahahahahahaHA. 1 stars
7/19/99 Chef ADogg Watery...perked up whenever Neve or Myers was on screen 2 stars
5/10/99 Ah Dooey A poor, unnecessary rehash of Boogie Nights and Grease 2 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn I just about died with boredom...stupid, dumb, a no brainer and dull,,,, 2 stars
3/14/99 Love Donkey Beyond rotten 1 stars
3/08/99 CanadianChica I loved it, i felt like dancing afterwards. Besides, Phillippe is nothing to frown upon. 5 stars
10/31/98 Bad Kosh Is it some kind of disco shit or does it get any worse? 2 stars
10/24/98 Vick Di Brecci A poor, unnecessary remake of Boogie Nights 2 stars
10/18/98 natalie It was alright. Neve Campbell 3 stars
10/13/98 grunter disco scrubbed clean for "hets" and the "family values" crowd - lies, all lies. 1 stars
9/28/98 John Hawkins I hate disco but I really loved this movie! 5 stars
9/27/98 The Canadian Beaver Eh Sherry Stringfield can suck my dick anytime!! 5 stars
9/24/98 Red02 OK I know it wasn't supposed to be but it was hillarious to me! 4 stars
9/20/98 katherine igo 2 see neve. shes in it 4 2 secs. the rest was ppl siting around smoking dope. big wow. 2 stars
9/15/98 Gamma Mike Myers was AWESOME. Proves he can do drama 3 stars
9/15/98 jhanu the het-washing of disco continues 2 stars
9/15/98 zeek pretty lacklustre but worth it to watch salma hayek ;-) 3 stars
9/14/98 Keith Griffith Did I misunderstand recent history? Wasn't disco something to do with gay people? 1 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Myers ... stick to comedy. You're a nobody and a stranger in the world of dramatic movies 2 stars
9/13/98 Daniel Eskin Stunk like an old goat after being puked on 2 stars
9/09/98 Young Einstein Breckin Meyer rules the school. Ryan Phillipe is a nobody. 3 stars
9/05/98 Marsha It sucks! Ryan Philippe sucks more. Neve is alright. 1 stars
8/31/98 edicius 54...the only movie where you get to hear Mike Myers say, "I want to suck your cock." 4 stars
8/29/98 Miss Stress Drugs and Disco....do we really wanna remember polytester suits and the bustop????? 3 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee I really liked it, but I'm a disco-freak. Myers was great. A real departure for him. 5 stars
8/14/98 {{{OZ}}} I forget 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Aug-1998 (R)
  DVD: 06-Jul-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Nov-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast