More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.24

Awesome26.11%
Worth A Look: 22.17%
Average: 18.23%
Pretty Bad: 16.75%
Total Crap: 16.75%

7 reviews, 161 user ratings



Austin Powers in Goldmember
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Third time's the charm."
4 stars

The trouble with the last Austin Powers spy-spoof film, "The Spy Who Shagged Me," was that it squandered all its cleverness on gross-out gags and sexual references. Those jokes work once, if you're not too embarrassed to laugh, but they can't propel a film to the level of quality that can stand up to multiple viewings.

The new film, "Austin Powers in Goldmember," has its share of bodily function-based humor, but not nearly as much of it. The grossest moments, in fact, seem out of place because they required no imagination. (Austin Powers in a basket full of sumo wrestlers' jockstraps? Anyone could think of that.) The others, you sort of forgive, because at least some creativity was involved.

And creativity is in great supply in "Goldmember," possibly the funniest film of the series and certainly the most loopy, anarchic and manic. It begins with a glorious parody involving several celebrity cameos, then quickly re-establishes what fans already know: Madman Dr. Evil is the funniest character here, far surpassing swinging British spy Austin Powers himself, who plays straightman in his own film.

Mike Myers plays both roles, along with the plus-sized Fat Bastard and a new character, a limber Dutch villain named Van Der Smut, nicknamed Goldmember (don't ask why). Myers has found a fun new thing to do when delivering his lines: He occasionally drops down a few octaves to speak one word in a low, whispery voice. There is no real reason for this to be funny, but the fact that it spreads among all four of his characters tickles me.

Myers, for all his mugging and pandering knows his way around a joke. He even finds fresh new comedy in the age-old bit where someone has an abnormality -- in this case a huge, hairy mole on the face of Fred Savage -- and everyone else tries not to mention it.

The plot has Dr. Evil, bent as ever on world domination, finding a way to cause a meteor to crash into the earth, thus melting the ice caps and causing a global flood. He is still accompanied by the non-verbal clone/son/plaything Mini-Me (Verne Troyer) and his more traditionally conceived son Scott (Seth Green), who is beginning to display signs of evilness.

Family relations are what this installment is all about, with Austin's absentee father Nigel (Michael Caine) involved -- he's a spy, too -- as well as Dr. Evil's own father-abandonment issues.

But it is all just an excuse for a merry series of parodies, references, and good old-fashioned goofiness, all maintained while keeping only half an eye on the plot. There are parodies of videos by Jay-Z and Michael Jackson, allusions to "Silence of the Lambs," and a hysterical moment where Frau Farbissina (Mindy Sterling), in full white-trash regalia, visits lover-boy Dr. Evil in prison.

Some bits are recycled from the other films. This ought not to have happened, because Myers (who co-wrote the script with "Spy Who Shagged Me" writer Michael McCullers) and director Jay Roach clearly have enough new ideas up their sleeves. Witness the enjoyable sequence where a Japanese man's English subtitles convey the wrong meaning due to some of the letters appearing against a white background. (For example, when he suggests Austin eat some shitake mushrooms, the "-ake mushrooms" part is obscured.)

The parody of '70s blaxploitation films -- including Beyonce Knowles as Austin's new love Foxxy Cleopatra -- is short-lived, which is a shame, considering the wealth of material available there. Many jokes fall flat, too, but a surprisingly high number of them succeed.

It's a boy's movie, for sure, but Myers no longer seems self-indulgent and hammy. He seems to have made this one for the audience, rather than for himself and a few friends.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5101&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/26/02 09:30:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/01/10 User Name It's hard to laugh at the jokes when you're too busy trying to figure out the confused plot 2 stars
3/04/08 Pamela White Mike does it good as always 5 stars
3/02/08 SamanthaPayntr laugh out loud funny, with some really hilarious moments! Mooooole 5 stars
4/24/07 David Risser Interesting twist at the end, I would like to see Scott Evil be the main villain. 5 stars
4/13/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 3 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Continues the comic laughs of the series. 4 stars
1/23/07 del Definitely the weakest of the three, hands down. 3 stars
12/01/06 Browncoat This movie smells bad.Something must have died in it... like Mike Myers' "acting" career. 1 stars
11/13/06 Trent You have to be in a good mood to watch this i almost pissed myself 5 stars
10/08/06 isis I hate intolerance, and the Dutch 4 stars
9/14/06 Booksworm This movie stunk so badly I maxed out 3 credit cards on Febreeze 1 stars
9/08/06 date movie sucks worst one 1 stars
8/19/06 Beau i loved the beginning i thort it was funni, i loved the laughing toothless guy 4 stars
4/27/06 poo The most disapointing movie in 2002 2 stars
4/01/06 Anthony Feor If fart jokes make you laugh, then this is your film 3 stars
11/04/05 Indrid Cold Unfunny rehash of 2, whereas 2 was a funny rehash of 1. 3 stars
7/14/05 Sully this movie sucked on it own goldmember 1 stars
6/26/05 ryan I love goldmember. movie was good. 3 stars
6/24/05 tony Can the movie be any dryer? well funny at times but ending very crap 3 stars
5/18/05 Pippin007 Laughed a lot. Its OK 4 stars
1/19/05 Keaton the Black Jackal Okay, I'm not into potty humor, but I haven't laughed so hard at a movie in a long time. 5 stars
10/26/04 ELI This one was ok, but the other two were a lot better 3 stars
10/25/04 Chelsea This is the love of my life. 5 stars
10/04/04 DM This series has been officially mined for all of its good jokes now. 2 stars
9/10/04 jeff people find this movie either halarious or stupid, i love gooooooold 5 stars
9/01/04 A upton I likee a lot,,,,i`m a simple man. 4 stars
7/13/04 kitfo1 unfairly maligned. Beyonce surprises as the best Austin foil, and the Dutch get theirs 4 stars
5/20/04 kektex failed to find a single funny moment in this film.its sad what the US passes off as comedy 1 stars
5/11/04 tatum The series is getting worse as it goes along 3 stars
5/02/04 J It's funny but not hilarious like the other 2! Needs Work! ** 1/2 3 stars
4/14/04 Cat & De The movie was funny & great because we new the words!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/08/04 chloe it is the best 5 stars
2/29/04 Littlepurch Really original and by far the best of the 3. All the actors and joke were hilarious! 5 stars
1/27/04 Chloe Brody Fat Bastard did you just soil yourself?! Maybe... 5 stars
1/21/04 Bemused Often A commercial failure...overproduced and enough wretched humor to really piss me off. 1 stars
12/09/03 Peter Having loved the first two Austin Powers films, was disappointed greatly w/ this garbage!!! 2 stars
10/09/03 BEN SALLUSTIO awesome movie 5 stars
10/09/03 BEN SALLUSTIO awesome movie 5 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus Why didnt they make a 'Waynes World 3' ?? oh why... 3 stars
9/16/03 Ghetto Smurf You guys only say it sucks because it's a sequel. You're just going along with the crowd. 5 stars
8/31/03 Tyler This movie rocks 5 stars
8/02/03 Scott young YEAH BABY! YOU ROCK YOUR MY HERO AND FAVOURITE ACTOR! 5 stars
7/17/03 kyle i liked it alot and i think it is sick how goldmember eats his skin 5 stars
7/08/03 jodan it was great 5 stars
6/26/03 cochese Enough Already! 2 stars
4/28/03 leon %%0qwe ozzy osbourne was right we already have seen this one 2 many times 2 stars
4/23/03 scarer baihn it is sooooo awesome!!! I ted it on DVD and I counted 100 times that I watched it . 5 stars
4/11/03 Jack Bourbon Lots of crap, lots of pants-pissers. 4 stars
3/23/03 Winthrop J Applesmythe III it wasn't very good. it wasn't that bad. IF they make another one, i hope it's better. 3 stars
3/18/03 Mike If they're smart they'll stop with this one 3 stars
3/17/03 Peter This movie certainly lives up to the first two. Beyonce was the only person who didn't fit. 5 stars
3/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik One hilarious scene, a few sporadic mild laughs, and that's it. Blah!! 1 stars
3/09/03 Film Dude THIS FILM IS NOT FUNNY. WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH YOU PEOPLE? 1 stars
3/02/03 Dean my winkie 5 stars
2/19/03 y2mckay Moments of hilarity, but this shit is SO played out. Love them Fook twins, tho! 2 stars
2/03/03 Movie Madness It so rules- Beyonce Knowles is faboulous . Anyone who hates this should be subitted to sp 5 stars
1/27/03 blah beyonce sucks. someone should shoot her. 3 stars
1/27/03 JUN Absolute bore! Don't waste your hard earned money! 1 stars
1/16/03 Jon Shmoke and a pancake anyone? 5 stars
1/12/03 Trying to leave looser heaven but you guys are NOT helping...good god whats wrong wit 1 stars
1/10/03 HoTtGuRl best fuken movie ever, i know the whole script by heart 5 stars
1/09/03 shiloh worse than the first 2, if that is, in fact, possible 1 stars
1/01/03 Sabine In my eyes it contained just as much creativity as its predecesors, bring on the 4th one 5 stars
12/31/02 John Aster Habig crude but a nice clean up from the second 4 stars
12/19/02 J. Long I thought is was just great mindless humor. Great movie to rent on a rainy day. 4 stars
12/19/02 max zhang I laughed once. Then I ass raped the wife because it was more fun. 3 stars
12/09/02 J. Chusing Laughed my bleeping ass off. 5 stars
12/09/02 Bluto My god, it was just painfull 1 stars
11/25/02 cinkcool good 5 stars
11/23/02 Kyle Utter SHIT. Recycled crap that wasn't all that funny to begin with. 1 stars
11/12/02 keenan its so funny i loved dr evil's rap!!! go and see it 5 stars
11/09/02 Stevo I laughed once. Fat Bastard & Goldmember are dreadful characters. At least there's Dr Evil. 1 stars
11/01/02 chrisbeckett gold member was good 5 stars
10/28/02 Robyn Jamil-Walid Best of series, although I wished Heather Graham was back 4 stars
10/23/02 uter The next Peter Sellers, my ass. Completely void of wit. 1 stars
10/22/02 Settle The first one was good, the second one had me hooked, but this one was just..... bad 1 stars
10/22/02 Jiz I'm with Steph. Total letdown, boring recycled shit. Did I mention Fat Bastard isn't funny? 1 stars
10/21/02 josh cool 5 stars
10/18/02 jason penny quite funny 4 stars
10/14/02 chris even more stupid than the first sequel bu still very funny at times 4 stars
10/10/02 Cat It wasn't even a movie just a bunch of skits put together... bad plot same old jokes 1 stars
10/09/02 Steph The recycled jokes from 1&2 werent funny & the ending sucked. The 2nd movie was the best. 1 stars
10/09/02 Britney Tailor The most awesome and funniest movie ever 5 stars
10/07/02 Sheridan The usual over-hyped crap that deserves to be burnt 1 stars
10/07/02 Nevz Enough already, this is getting boring! 1 stars
10/06/02 Incubassist Myers, stop it. Good, to bad, to "i want to die". STOP IT!!!!!!!! 1 stars
10/05/02 Zargo sometimes good, sometimes bad 3 stars
9/30/02 CrowEater Not anywhere near as funny or clever as the other Austin Powers movies, please kill it now. 3 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock Mind numbing poo jokes for morons 1 stars
9/27/02 Metalboy How about Don't Myers.. 3 stars
9/27/02 Digi LOL 5 stars
9/26/02 JUN Just like a cold pizza of yesterday 1 stars
9/26/02 Dom Corleone Damn You Myers! 1 stars
9/23/02 Notsobookworm Was silly and brainless, but good fun 4 stars
9/23/02 syrius I TRIED to laugh, but just couldn't do it 2 stars
9/23/02 Eloise Make it stop.....please make it stop! 1 stars
9/22/02 Anarchy Azmi ugig 4 stars
9/21/02 spacecowboy "how about NO...." 3 stars
9/19/02 dlsag` fwep[f 5 stars
9/12/02 laron chapman FUNNY AS HELL THE BEST OF THE 3 5 stars
9/11/02 SadFan Sucked the big floppy donkey shlong 1 stars
9/10/02 David A. The peeing scene was great! Yeah, baby! 4 stars
9/09/02 Movie guy A GOOD FILM 4 stars
9/05/02 Dominik Duprelle Its MONEY FOR OLD ROPE isn't it? But then there are funny bits, howabout something new? 3 stars
9/03/02 PeterGibbons The worst kind of crap. There wasn't even a story. Meyers, the corporate schill. 1 stars
9/02/02 AshFan This is my favorite one! Mike Myers is 4 people!!! See it again and again!! 5 stars
8/25/02 Shane Meritt Yeah Baby! 5 stars
8/24/02 Natasha the best part was when Britney Spears' head exploded, most of the audience was cheering!!! 3 stars
8/19/02 Butterbean Meyers is a genius for making a shitload of money from just rehashing his old scripts. 2 stars
8/18/02 The Bomb 69 funniest of the bunch, even the repeated jokes were good!!! 5 stars
8/15/02 tim A movie to entertain you after seeing the disapointing attack of the craps! 4 stars
8/13/02 Cannibus Loved that hilarious beginning! (Go Spielberg!) Sporadic laughs throughout. Hated GM char. 3 stars
8/12/02 masin wolliams so bad that i went straight home and threw the first two austin powers dvds in the garbage 1 stars
8/07/02 Punk_Ass Fook Mi? no Fook Yu!! Funny fucking movie. 5 stars
8/06/02 sarahfar88 never laughed so hard in my life, loved the prison rap with the song from Annie, very funny 5 stars
8/06/02 Big B Jam-packed & clever, like they actually worked hard on this one. Some jokes pushed too far. 5 stars
8/05/02 Lexy Z. Funny. 4 stars
8/05/02 Edler Not too good. Needs a strong producer to shut down the inside jokes, etc. 2 stars
8/04/02 jarrod_101 sort of a rehash of the first two..had just enough charm and laughs to make it worth while. 4 stars
8/02/02 David When you laugh, you laugh hard, spend the rest trying to stay awake.... 3 stars
8/02/02 bullit17 Definitely the dumbest of the three AP movies. But quite possibly the funniest. 4 stars
8/02/02 gw bush if u liked the first two, you'll love this one. 5 stars
8/02/02 M mmmm.. more drivel 2 stars
8/02/02 Ashley M.M is hysterical! 5 stars
8/02/02 Crunchyfrog Disappointing baby, YEAH!! 2 stars
8/01/02 Gibbo Purile and revolting (except the opening scenes) 1 stars
8/01/02 loaded1200 ended INCREDIBLY weakly! Seems to be a theme in AP movies... 4 stars
7/31/02 Roy Smith It's a Mini-Comedy with 1/8 the humor of the others 3 stars
7/31/02 Matt Take it for what it is, and you will love it. 4 stars
7/31/02 Art Richardson Fucking Ausome 5 stars
7/31/02 davebo approximately 1/18th as funny as the first, a few laughs 2 stars
7/31/02 Christopher Decent 3 stars
7/30/02 Paul This is a great, fun movie, but don't be expecting Shakespeare. 5 stars
7/30/02 Lauren Not a good as the second but still better than half the other crap out there! 4 stars
7/30/02 Blubberbot This movie is for the dumb. I loved the first 2. 1 stars
7/30/02 Pit It's a very good comedy film 4 stars
7/30/02 Butterbean Mike was just going through the motions 2 stars
7/29/02 Nick2k not original, but it was still funny. i have no faith in AP4 though. time to retire austin. 4 stars
7/29/02 patrick I think the movie was great I especially liked foxy cleopatra and fat bastard 5 stars
7/29/02 Obi Wan I was very disappointed, Not even close to 2nd one and about same as 1st one. 2 stars
7/29/02 Girl 9 If you don't laugh out loud in this one you have no sense of humor. 5 stars
7/29/02 CooterJoe It's not the worst best I've seen, but after a few beers it made me chuckle a bit. 3 stars
7/29/02 The Truth The first two were inventive but this one doesn't have a single original or funny joke. 1 stars
7/29/02 Burp This film leaves cinematic skid marks. Total crap... 1 stars
7/29/02 Film Guy Funny as hell. The second best in the series, 4 stars
7/29/02 Ramblin' Wreck This series keeps getting funnier and funnier.....Bring on AP4! 5 stars
7/28/02 erick better then second, worst then first, worth a watch 4 stars
7/28/02 K brittneys head explodes..other than that.. it sucked 2 stars
7/28/02 Law Mike Myers is a comic GOD!! 5 stars
7/28/02 Kyle Better then one might expect. First hour is absolute crap, though. 4 stars
7/28/02 BrodieMan More erratic than the first two, but just as funny. And that's what counts. 5 stars
7/27/02 Anders Much funnier than AP2, but this should be the end of the line. 5 stars
7/27/02 Benjamin Leatherman A bit too frenetic, but still funny and better than the last one. Kill the series now. 4 stars
7/27/02 bob first 5 min are funny, rest okay, don't pay full price, better than MIB2 4 stars
7/27/02 I love gooooold Better than the other two, everyone in the audience loved it 5 stars
7/27/02 dixie nourmous good ol' potty humor 4 stars
7/26/02 AgentDS Damn! I've never seen these many cameos! 4 stars
7/26/02 Y2JChicago Very Very Funny. Tons of jokes, most work 4 stars
7/25/02 Superdave Fricken Hilarious, Baby 5 stars
7/24/02 Sideshow VERY funny at times - fans will NOT be disappointed 5 stars
7/23/02 The Talking Elbow NA NA NA NA NA NA... RECYLED JOKES!!! NA NA NA NA NA NA... RECYLED JOKES! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Jul-2002 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  19-Sep-2002


Directed by
  Jay Roach

Written by
  Mike Myers
  Michael McCullers

Cast
  Mike Myers
  Michael York
  Seth Green
  Beyonce Knowles
  Michael Caine
  Verne Troyer



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast