More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.24

Awesome26.11%
Worth A Look: 22.17%
Average: 18.23%
Pretty Bad: 16.75%
Total Crap: 16.75%

7 reviews, 161 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Austin Powers in Goldmember
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by MP Bartley

"He's still got his frickin' mojo working."
4 stars

In 'Scream 2' they have that oh so self-aware discussion about whether sequels can be better than the original or not. While the usual culprits like 'Godfather Part 2' or 'Aliens' are batted around no-one makes any comment about the third sequel (usually the horribly bad franchise killer). Ignoring serial franchises like the Bond movies, third sequels usually stink and undo all the good work the first two did. 'Scream 3', 'Alien 3', or 'Batman Forever' anyone? But now comes the exception that proves the rule.

The third installment in the 'Powers' series feels like the one where Myers had the most fun. The first was an experiment to see if anyone would like the concept and the second an attempt to see if it had the legs to run. Happily it did and Myers is now running riot across the screen adding a fourth character (Goldmember) to his established repertoire of Powers, Dr. Evil and Fat Bastard.

Plotwise, Dr. Evil has returned from space and has a new plan to crash a meteorite into the Earth. This involves bringing Dutch villain and disco-freak Goldmember back from 1975 and also entails the kidnapping of Austins father (Michael Caine). Austin sets out to foil the plan this time accompanied by 70's detective Foxy Cleopatra (Beyonce Knowles) which even involves a trip back to Austins childhood and his schooltime clashes with Dr. Evil (or master Evil as he was known then)

But obviously the plot is second place to the (many) comic highlights. Indeed the times that the film drags are the times that the plot has to move along. However apart from those scenes, it's mostly a riot. The much-lauded opening sequence is justly so and shows that the 'Powers' series has the unique position of being a franchise that the public seemingly loves and a franchise the industry also highly regards.

After that it's the comfort of being back in with familiar characters. The three way struggle between Dr. Evil, Mini-Me and Scott is as funny as ever and develops itself as Scott begins to charm his way more into his fathers affections at the expense of Mini-Me. Seth Green as Scott shows some considerable comic chops here and justly gets more to do.

However that, coupled with new characters such as Nigel Powers, Goldmember and The Mole (Fred Ward), means the running time cramps out some characters. Frau gets one decent scene while I honestly can't remember anything of Number 2 after the first ten minutes. Surprisingly even Goldmember gets little to do.

Ultimately every other character not played by Myers is deservedly second billed. While Caine keeps it the right side of hammy and Knowles is get down on all fours and drool like a dog sexy, it's Myers show and he knows he's running it. He's long been compared with Peter Sellers which I've been loath to do. In an age when it's all too lazy to compare like for seemingly like (Martin Lawrence! He's the new Will Smith! Um, no.), I've still yet to be convinced. Comic genius as he undoubtedly was Sellers was also a damn fine dramatic actor and had many characters to be proud of. Myers has Powers, Evil and maybe Wayne and that's it. So far. However what they do share is the ability to completely dissapear into a character. No matter if Eddie Murphy plays a talking donkey, a cop or a neurotic film star it's still Eddie Murphy. But not Myers. Despite having four roles you never see the real Myers or any similiar traits in any of them.

And Dr. Evil is now surely a comic creation up with the greats like Inspector Closeau, President Mervin Muffley, the Spinal Tap crew and Dr. Rumack. Every scene he's in is a highlight and guarantees at least two good laughs as he tries to conquer the world and solve his family squabbles. Dr. Evil is now firmly the star of the series (he's much funnier than Powers). Myers also succeeds where he failed in the last sequel and makes Fat Bastard funny. Perhaps by limiting him to a cameo it makes his appearance stronger and seems to be one of the few occassions where Myers is letting his strong improvisational skills loose.

But Goldmember makes little impact apart from his skin-eating habit and the accompanying great revulsion from Dr. Evil. Even Sellers only managed three characters in 'Dr. Strangelove'. But no matter. For every joke that falls flat (the 'Hard Knock Life' song) or is repeated too often (the 'Mole' gag) there's three that work brilliantly.

If you liked the first two odds are you'll like this one with Myers in full spin. If you didn't it certainly won't convert you and I'm not going to hound anyone who doesn't like it. Comedy is a very personal choice and some will find it slightly less funny than stomach ulcers. But to concur with someone Very Famous at the beginning 'My little friend here, thinks it's fine the way it is'

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5101&reviewer=293
originally posted: 09/03/02 00:40:18
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/01/10 User Name It's hard to laugh at the jokes when you're too busy trying to figure out the confused plot 2 stars
3/04/08 Pamela White Mike does it good as always 5 stars
3/02/08 SamanthaPayntr laugh out loud funny, with some really hilarious moments! Mooooole 5 stars
4/24/07 David Risser Interesting twist at the end, I would like to see Scott Evil be the main villain. 5 stars
4/13/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 3 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Continues the comic laughs of the series. 4 stars
1/23/07 del Definitely the weakest of the three, hands down. 3 stars
12/01/06 Browncoat This movie smells bad.Something must have died in it... like Mike Myers' "acting" career. 1 stars
11/13/06 Trent You have to be in a good mood to watch this i almost pissed myself 5 stars
10/08/06 isis I hate intolerance, and the Dutch 4 stars
9/14/06 Booksworm This movie stunk so badly I maxed out 3 credit cards on Febreeze 1 stars
9/08/06 date movie sucks worst one 1 stars
8/19/06 Beau i loved the beginning i thort it was funni, i loved the laughing toothless guy 4 stars
4/27/06 poo The most disapointing movie in 2002 2 stars
4/01/06 Anthony Feor If fart jokes make you laugh, then this is your film 3 stars
11/04/05 Indrid Cold Unfunny rehash of 2, whereas 2 was a funny rehash of 1. 3 stars
7/14/05 Sully this movie sucked on it own goldmember 1 stars
6/26/05 ryan I love goldmember. movie was good. 3 stars
6/24/05 tony Can the movie be any dryer? well funny at times but ending very crap 3 stars
5/18/05 Pippin007 Laughed a lot. Its OK 4 stars
1/19/05 Keaton the Black Jackal Okay, I'm not into potty humor, but I haven't laughed so hard at a movie in a long time. 5 stars
10/26/04 ELI This one was ok, but the other two were a lot better 3 stars
10/25/04 Chelsea This is the love of my life. 5 stars
10/04/04 DM This series has been officially mined for all of its good jokes now. 2 stars
9/10/04 jeff people find this movie either halarious or stupid, i love gooooooold 5 stars
9/01/04 A upton I likee a lot,,,,i`m a simple man. 4 stars
7/13/04 kitfo1 unfairly maligned. Beyonce surprises as the best Austin foil, and the Dutch get theirs 4 stars
5/20/04 kektex failed to find a single funny moment in this film.its sad what the US passes off as comedy 1 stars
5/11/04 tatum The series is getting worse as it goes along 3 stars
5/02/04 J It's funny but not hilarious like the other 2! Needs Work! ** 1/2 3 stars
4/14/04 Cat & De The movie was funny & great because we new the words!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/08/04 chloe it is the best 5 stars
2/29/04 Littlepurch Really original and by far the best of the 3. All the actors and joke were hilarious! 5 stars
1/27/04 Chloe Brody Fat Bastard did you just soil yourself?! Maybe... 5 stars
1/21/04 Bemused Often A commercial failure...overproduced and enough wretched humor to really piss me off. 1 stars
12/09/03 Peter Having loved the first two Austin Powers films, was disappointed greatly w/ this garbage!!! 2 stars
10/09/03 BEN SALLUSTIO awesome movie 5 stars
10/09/03 BEN SALLUSTIO awesome movie 5 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus Why didnt they make a 'Waynes World 3' ?? oh why... 3 stars
9/16/03 Ghetto Smurf You guys only say it sucks because it's a sequel. You're just going along with the crowd. 5 stars
8/31/03 Tyler This movie rocks 5 stars
8/02/03 Scott young YEAH BABY! YOU ROCK YOUR MY HERO AND FAVOURITE ACTOR! 5 stars
7/17/03 kyle i liked it alot and i think it is sick how goldmember eats his skin 5 stars
7/08/03 jodan it was great 5 stars
6/26/03 cochese Enough Already! 2 stars
4/28/03 leon %%0qwe ozzy osbourne was right we already have seen this one 2 many times 2 stars
4/23/03 scarer baihn it is sooooo awesome!!! I ted it on DVD and I counted 100 times that I watched it . 5 stars
4/11/03 Jack Bourbon Lots of crap, lots of pants-pissers. 4 stars
3/23/03 Winthrop J Applesmythe III it wasn't very good. it wasn't that bad. IF they make another one, i hope it's better. 3 stars
3/18/03 Mike If they're smart they'll stop with this one 3 stars
3/17/03 Peter This movie certainly lives up to the first two. Beyonce was the only person who didn't fit. 5 stars
3/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik One hilarious scene, a few sporadic mild laughs, and that's it. Blah!! 1 stars
3/09/03 Film Dude THIS FILM IS NOT FUNNY. WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH YOU PEOPLE? 1 stars
3/02/03 Dean my winkie 5 stars
2/19/03 y2mckay Moments of hilarity, but this shit is SO played out. Love them Fook twins, tho! 2 stars
2/03/03 Movie Madness It so rules- Beyonce Knowles is faboulous . Anyone who hates this should be subitted to sp 5 stars
1/27/03 blah beyonce sucks. someone should shoot her. 3 stars
1/27/03 JUN Absolute bore! Don't waste your hard earned money! 1 stars
1/16/03 Jon Shmoke and a pancake anyone? 5 stars
1/12/03 Trying to leave looser heaven but you guys are NOT helping...good god whats wrong wit 1 stars
1/10/03 HoTtGuRl best fuken movie ever, i know the whole script by heart 5 stars
1/09/03 shiloh worse than the first 2, if that is, in fact, possible 1 stars
1/01/03 Sabine In my eyes it contained just as much creativity as its predecesors, bring on the 4th one 5 stars
12/31/02 John Aster Habig crude but a nice clean up from the second 4 stars
12/19/02 J. Long I thought is was just great mindless humor. Great movie to rent on a rainy day. 4 stars
12/19/02 max zhang I laughed once. Then I ass raped the wife because it was more fun. 3 stars
12/09/02 J. Chusing Laughed my bleeping ass off. 5 stars
12/09/02 Bluto My god, it was just painfull 1 stars
11/25/02 cinkcool good 5 stars
11/23/02 Kyle Utter SHIT. Recycled crap that wasn't all that funny to begin with. 1 stars
11/12/02 keenan its so funny i loved dr evil's rap!!! go and see it 5 stars
11/09/02 Stevo I laughed once. Fat Bastard & Goldmember are dreadful characters. At least there's Dr Evil. 1 stars
11/01/02 chrisbeckett gold member was good 5 stars
10/28/02 Robyn Jamil-Walid Best of series, although I wished Heather Graham was back 4 stars
10/23/02 uter The next Peter Sellers, my ass. Completely void of wit. 1 stars
10/22/02 Settle The first one was good, the second one had me hooked, but this one was just..... bad 1 stars
10/22/02 Jiz I'm with Steph. Total letdown, boring recycled shit. Did I mention Fat Bastard isn't funny? 1 stars
10/21/02 josh cool 5 stars
10/18/02 jason penny quite funny 4 stars
10/14/02 chris even more stupid than the first sequel bu still very funny at times 4 stars
10/10/02 Cat It wasn't even a movie just a bunch of skits put together... bad plot same old jokes 1 stars
10/09/02 Steph The recycled jokes from 1&2 werent funny & the ending sucked. The 2nd movie was the best. 1 stars
10/09/02 Britney Tailor The most awesome and funniest movie ever 5 stars
10/07/02 Sheridan The usual over-hyped crap that deserves to be burnt 1 stars
10/07/02 Nevz Enough already, this is getting boring! 1 stars
10/06/02 Incubassist Myers, stop it. Good, to bad, to "i want to die". STOP IT!!!!!!!! 1 stars
10/05/02 Zargo sometimes good, sometimes bad 3 stars
9/30/02 CrowEater Not anywhere near as funny or clever as the other Austin Powers movies, please kill it now. 3 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock Mind numbing poo jokes for morons 1 stars
9/27/02 Metalboy How about Don't Myers.. 3 stars
9/27/02 Digi LOL 5 stars
9/26/02 JUN Just like a cold pizza of yesterday 1 stars
9/26/02 Dom Corleone Damn You Myers! 1 stars
9/23/02 Notsobookworm Was silly and brainless, but good fun 4 stars
9/23/02 syrius I TRIED to laugh, but just couldn't do it 2 stars
9/23/02 Eloise Make it stop.....please make it stop! 1 stars
9/22/02 Anarchy Azmi ugig 4 stars
9/21/02 spacecowboy "how about NO...." 3 stars
9/19/02 dlsag` fwep[f 5 stars
9/12/02 laron chapman FUNNY AS HELL THE BEST OF THE 3 5 stars
9/11/02 SadFan Sucked the big floppy donkey shlong 1 stars
9/10/02 David A. The peeing scene was great! Yeah, baby! 4 stars
9/09/02 Movie guy A GOOD FILM 4 stars
9/05/02 Dominik Duprelle Its MONEY FOR OLD ROPE isn't it? But then there are funny bits, howabout something new? 3 stars
9/03/02 PeterGibbons The worst kind of crap. There wasn't even a story. Meyers, the corporate schill. 1 stars
9/02/02 AshFan This is my favorite one! Mike Myers is 4 people!!! See it again and again!! 5 stars
8/25/02 Shane Meritt Yeah Baby! 5 stars
8/24/02 Natasha the best part was when Britney Spears' head exploded, most of the audience was cheering!!! 3 stars
8/19/02 Butterbean Meyers is a genius for making a shitload of money from just rehashing his old scripts. 2 stars
8/18/02 The Bomb 69 funniest of the bunch, even the repeated jokes were good!!! 5 stars
8/15/02 tim A movie to entertain you after seeing the disapointing attack of the craps! 4 stars
8/13/02 Cannibus Loved that hilarious beginning! (Go Spielberg!) Sporadic laughs throughout. Hated GM char. 3 stars
8/12/02 masin wolliams so bad that i went straight home and threw the first two austin powers dvds in the garbage 1 stars
8/07/02 Punk_Ass Fook Mi? no Fook Yu!! Funny fucking movie. 5 stars
8/06/02 sarahfar88 never laughed so hard in my life, loved the prison rap with the song from Annie, very funny 5 stars
8/06/02 Big B Jam-packed & clever, like they actually worked hard on this one. Some jokes pushed too far. 5 stars
8/05/02 Lexy Z. Funny. 4 stars
8/05/02 Edler Not too good. Needs a strong producer to shut down the inside jokes, etc. 2 stars
8/04/02 jarrod_101 sort of a rehash of the first two..had just enough charm and laughs to make it worth while. 4 stars
8/02/02 David When you laugh, you laugh hard, spend the rest trying to stay awake.... 3 stars
8/02/02 bullit17 Definitely the dumbest of the three AP movies. But quite possibly the funniest. 4 stars
8/02/02 gw bush if u liked the first two, you'll love this one. 5 stars
8/02/02 M mmmm.. more drivel 2 stars
8/02/02 Ashley M.M is hysterical! 5 stars
8/02/02 Crunchyfrog Disappointing baby, YEAH!! 2 stars
8/01/02 Gibbo Purile and revolting (except the opening scenes) 1 stars
8/01/02 loaded1200 ended INCREDIBLY weakly! Seems to be a theme in AP movies... 4 stars
7/31/02 Roy Smith It's a Mini-Comedy with 1/8 the humor of the others 3 stars
7/31/02 Matt Take it for what it is, and you will love it. 4 stars
7/31/02 Art Richardson Fucking Ausome 5 stars
7/31/02 davebo approximately 1/18th as funny as the first, a few laughs 2 stars
7/31/02 Christopher Decent 3 stars
7/30/02 Paul This is a great, fun movie, but don't be expecting Shakespeare. 5 stars
7/30/02 Lauren Not a good as the second but still better than half the other crap out there! 4 stars
7/30/02 Blubberbot This movie is for the dumb. I loved the first 2. 1 stars
7/30/02 Pit It's a very good comedy film 4 stars
7/30/02 Butterbean Mike was just going through the motions 2 stars
7/29/02 Nick2k not original, but it was still funny. i have no faith in AP4 though. time to retire austin. 4 stars
7/29/02 patrick I think the movie was great I especially liked foxy cleopatra and fat bastard 5 stars
7/29/02 Obi Wan I was very disappointed, Not even close to 2nd one and about same as 1st one. 2 stars
7/29/02 Girl 9 If you don't laugh out loud in this one you have no sense of humor. 5 stars
7/29/02 CooterJoe It's not the worst best I've seen, but after a few beers it made me chuckle a bit. 3 stars
7/29/02 The Truth The first two were inventive but this one doesn't have a single original or funny joke. 1 stars
7/29/02 Burp This film leaves cinematic skid marks. Total crap... 1 stars
7/29/02 Film Guy Funny as hell. The second best in the series, 4 stars
7/29/02 Ramblin' Wreck This series keeps getting funnier and funnier.....Bring on AP4! 5 stars
7/28/02 erick better then second, worst then first, worth a watch 4 stars
7/28/02 K brittneys head explodes..other than that.. it sucked 2 stars
7/28/02 Law Mike Myers is a comic GOD!! 5 stars
7/28/02 Kyle Better then one might expect. First hour is absolute crap, though. 4 stars
7/28/02 BrodieMan More erratic than the first two, but just as funny. And that's what counts. 5 stars
7/27/02 Anders Much funnier than AP2, but this should be the end of the line. 5 stars
7/27/02 Benjamin Leatherman A bit too frenetic, but still funny and better than the last one. Kill the series now. 4 stars
7/27/02 bob first 5 min are funny, rest okay, don't pay full price, better than MIB2 4 stars
7/27/02 I love gooooold Better than the other two, everyone in the audience loved it 5 stars
7/27/02 dixie nourmous good ol' potty humor 4 stars
7/26/02 AgentDS Damn! I've never seen these many cameos! 4 stars
7/26/02 Y2JChicago Very Very Funny. Tons of jokes, most work 4 stars
7/25/02 Superdave Fricken Hilarious, Baby 5 stars
7/24/02 Sideshow VERY funny at times - fans will NOT be disappointed 5 stars
7/23/02 The Talking Elbow NA NA NA NA NA NA... RECYLED JOKES!!! NA NA NA NA NA NA... RECYLED JOKES! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Jul-2002 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  19-Sep-2002


Directed by
  Jay Roach

Written by
  Mike Myers
  Michael McCullers

Cast
  Mike Myers
  Michael York
  Seth Green
  Beyonce Knowles
  Michael Caine
  Verne Troyer



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast