More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.64

Awesome84.38%
Worth A Look: 4.69%
Average: 3.13%
Pretty Bad: 6.25%
Total Crap: 1.56%

4 reviews, 40 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Assassinaut by Jay Seaver

Dead Don't Die, The by alejandroariera

Dead Don't Die, The by Peter Sobczynski

Shaft (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Men in Black: International by Peter Sobczynski

Chasing the Dragon 2: Wild Wild Bunch by Jay Seaver

Hole in the Ground, The by Jay Seaver

Knife+Heart by Jay Seaver

Booksmart by Jay Seaver

Dark Phoenix by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Beautiful Girls
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Everyone I know hates this film, but I don't care. Nat rocks."
5 stars

Sometimes a movie hits a chord with you and you're the only one who get's it. Every person you talk to tells you how they hated that movie and you keep it to yourself that you watched it three times back to back.

Well, I'm coming out of the closet. I fucking loved Beautiful Girls. There. It's out. No more secrets.

Why?

Two words.

Natalie Portman.

Okay, so they're not words, but they'll do.

Natalie Portman is just so good, *SO* good, in this film that when Showtime played it again I called up my buddies and told them I couldn't come out drinking. I watched this film three times in two days and dug it more each time.

Okay, so it's full of big names who I could care less about. Uma Thurman, Mira Sorvino, Rosie O'Donnell, Timothy Hutton, Michael Rapaport, Matt Dillon, Lauren Holly, yada, yada, yada.

And story is a little too "Big Chill" when you get right down to it, with it's ensemble setting and everyone having their 'issues' to work through.

But Nat Portman is so good it doesn't matter. Never seen a girl so young deliver lines with such intelligence, emotion, talent and humor. It was like watching Jimmy Dean for the first time. Felt like I was watching something that will one day be looked back on as a special time in film history.

I know it won't be. I know this film will be lost in the reams of weekly videos before too long, if it hasn't been already. Won't change it for me. If there's any justice in Hollywood, Portman will own the place before too long.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=514&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/31/98 00:19:49
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/27/15 harry potter the tittle is beautiful B*TCH 1 stars
4/17/10 PAUL SHORTT WELL OBSERVED WITH A GOOD CAST 3 stars
6/16/07 dls Ted Demme Rules! 5 stars
4/29/07 Double M Beautiful, realistic, honest drama/romance with some hilarious moments and fine acting. 5 stars
3/30/06 aaaa i want 5 stars
9/24/05 Ben A Natalie Portman did indeed soar above the rest of the fine cast. Such promise! 5 stars
9/09/04 janet I keep on watching this, over and over! 5 stars
3/21/04 eirik absolutely fantastic - my favourite film 5 stars
9/21/03 Chuck This movie surprised me with how good it was, especially the dialogue. 5 stars
7/07/03 Adani I can't stop putting the movie in and fast-forwarding to all of Natalie's parts. So amazing 5 stars
1/17/03 Don Adams Natalie Portman's early promise 5 stars
11/28/02 Kelli Nat Portman is awesome 5 stars
7/02/02 ha minh huy very happy 2 stars
8/24/01 eka saputra ohhhh natalie 5 stars
4/25/01 naserhemmati naserhemmati@yahoo.com 5 stars
2/19/01 shan good 2 stars
2/09/01 Bodhi Movie for sad blokes to empathise with.Spose I'm a sad bloke,then... 5 stars
2/01/01 yousaf hi there!!!!!! 5 stars
1/19/01 Marty Plum A GREAT movie. It made me look at my own life and my friends in a different way. 5 stars
1/03/01 Jarred This is one of those movies that you can sit back afterwards and say wow that was awesome! 5 stars
7/02/00 Politicsman Timothy Hutton is one of the most under-rated actors out there! 4 stars
4/12/00 Chartsy I can watch this movie a hundred times and find something new to like each time. 5 stars
2/14/00 hello Awesome movie, Natalie Portman is the cutest, most intelligent actress there is. 5 stars
10/25/99 The Bomb 69 Natalie Portman is wise beyond her years and looks great too 5 stars
10/20/99 Aleksi Reenpää Best movie I've seen. 5 stars
7/01/99 John N One of my favorite movies of all time. 5 stars
4/18/99 jimmy jam rapaport is GREAT!!!"You let her behind the curtain didn't ya" 5 stars
3/02/99 Rachel Rosie's monologue made the film... that and I'm a big Martha Plimpton fan. 4 stars
12/13/98 Binky Un. Fucking. Believable. 5 stars
11/27/98 G how could anyone not like this movie. The acting and dialogue are outstanding. For real. 5 stars
11/13/98 Shawna I thought that young girl was cool, but the rest of it sucked. 2 stars
10/23/98 Joseph O'Brien Natalie Portman's superb acting saved this film. 5 stars
10/19/98 Kwyjibo A crappy stpry, but a great script and some huge performances 5 stars
10/13/98 joseph portman outshines the rest---matt dillon i cant stand 2 stars
9/30/98 cheryl_ann natalie was good, but thats about all i can say. i didnt like it. 3 stars
9/16/98 Chuck-D I've loved this film so much, not just cause of natalie, but she's a big help. Really good 5 stars
9/09/98 MikeF OZ is so right. Natalie Portman is so good looking too. I'd see anything with her in it. 5 stars
8/25/98 Pete I love this flick. Good, if a bit underused, cast. Well written. Great soundtrack! 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Made me want to break laws that don't exist in Arkansas. 4 stars
8/23/98 {{{OZ}}} Say what you will, but I loved this movie. Portman is phenomonal. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Feb-1996 (R)
  DVD: 20-Apr-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast