More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.64

Awesome84.38%
Worth A Look: 4.69%
Average: 3.13%
Pretty Bad: 6.25%
Total Crap: 1.56%

4 reviews, 40 user ratings


Latest Reviews

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

Almost Coming, Almost Dying by Jay Seaver

Blade Runner 2049 by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Beautiful Girls
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by f*r*o*s*t*y

"Good times never seemed so good."
5 stars

Quite possibly one of the best movies you'll ever have the pleasure to see.

For once, I totally and utterly agree with {{{Oz}}}.

This movie is magnificent. We start with a brilliant ensemble cast that glides perfectly along in a small-town story that focuses on a group of men who come to realize life is about doing what's right, forgetting what's wrong and finally growing up in the process.

Coming back for his high school reunion, Willy (Hutton) needs to make some decisions about his life. Where to live, what to do and if he's going to marry the girl. It's always about the girls. In being re-aquainted with his friends, we get the idea that not much has changed in this little town. For the most part, they're all still chasing their high school years. Tommy (Dillon) is the group hero, Paul (Rapaport) thinks nothing will ever compare to the models he has posted on his wall and Mo (Emmerich) is just trying to make an honest go at a family life.

The women are second fiddle in this film, but they play an all too important side of the story as well. Rosie O'Donnell, Uma Thurman, and Mira Sorvino all give excellent turns in Beautiful Girls. The real gem in this flick is Natalie Portman. Playing the adolescent next door neighbor to Willy's father, she lights up the screen with a charm that tells you this girl is goin' somewhere.

Rent it. Own it. Love it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=514&reviewer=22
originally posted: 10/28/98 21:07:55
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/27/15 harry potter the tittle is beautiful B*TCH 1 stars
4/17/10 PAUL SHORTT WELL OBSERVED WITH A GOOD CAST 3 stars
6/16/07 dls Ted Demme Rules! 5 stars
4/29/07 Double M Beautiful, realistic, honest drama/romance with some hilarious moments and fine acting. 5 stars
3/30/06 aaaa i want 5 stars
9/24/05 Ben A Natalie Portman did indeed soar above the rest of the fine cast. Such promise! 5 stars
9/09/04 janet I keep on watching this, over and over! 5 stars
3/21/04 eirik absolutely fantastic - my favourite film 5 stars
9/21/03 Chuck This movie surprised me with how good it was, especially the dialogue. 5 stars
7/07/03 Adani I can't stop putting the movie in and fast-forwarding to all of Natalie's parts. So amazing 5 stars
1/17/03 Don Adams Natalie Portman's early promise 5 stars
11/28/02 Kelli Nat Portman is awesome 5 stars
7/02/02 ha minh huy very happy 2 stars
8/24/01 eka saputra ohhhh natalie 5 stars
4/25/01 naserhemmati naserhemmati@yahoo.com 5 stars
2/19/01 shan good 2 stars
2/09/01 Bodhi Movie for sad blokes to empathise with.Spose I'm a sad bloke,then... 5 stars
2/01/01 yousaf hi there!!!!!! 5 stars
1/19/01 Marty Plum A GREAT movie. It made me look at my own life and my friends in a different way. 5 stars
1/03/01 Jarred This is one of those movies that you can sit back afterwards and say wow that was awesome! 5 stars
7/02/00 Politicsman Timothy Hutton is one of the most under-rated actors out there! 4 stars
4/12/00 Chartsy I can watch this movie a hundred times and find something new to like each time. 5 stars
2/14/00 hello Awesome movie, Natalie Portman is the cutest, most intelligent actress there is. 5 stars
10/25/99 The Bomb 69 Natalie Portman is wise beyond her years and looks great too 5 stars
10/20/99 Aleksi Reenpää Best movie I've seen. 5 stars
7/01/99 John N One of my favorite movies of all time. 5 stars
4/18/99 jimmy jam rapaport is GREAT!!!"You let her behind the curtain didn't ya" 5 stars
3/02/99 Rachel Rosie's monologue made the film... that and I'm a big Martha Plimpton fan. 4 stars
12/13/98 Binky Un. Fucking. Believable. 5 stars
11/27/98 G how could anyone not like this movie. The acting and dialogue are outstanding. For real. 5 stars
11/13/98 Shawna I thought that young girl was cool, but the rest of it sucked. 2 stars
10/23/98 Joseph O'Brien Natalie Portman's superb acting saved this film. 5 stars
10/19/98 Kwyjibo A crappy stpry, but a great script and some huge performances 5 stars
10/13/98 joseph portman outshines the rest---matt dillon i cant stand 2 stars
9/30/98 cheryl_ann natalie was good, but thats about all i can say. i didnt like it. 3 stars
9/16/98 Chuck-D I've loved this film so much, not just cause of natalie, but she's a big help. Really good 5 stars
9/09/98 MikeF OZ is so right. Natalie Portman is so good looking too. I'd see anything with her in it. 5 stars
8/25/98 Pete I love this flick. Good, if a bit underused, cast. Well written. Great soundtrack! 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Made me want to break laws that don't exist in Arkansas. 4 stars
8/23/98 {{{OZ}}} Say what you will, but I loved this movie. Portman is phenomonal. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Feb-1996 (R)
  DVD: 20-Apr-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast