More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.12

Awesome50.98%
Worth A Look: 21.57%
Average: 16.67%
Pretty Bad: 9.8%
Total Crap: 0.98%

5 reviews, 72 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Crazy/Beautiful
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Is she finally old enough for me to drool over? Thank GOD!"
3 stars

I love Kirsten Dunst. Always have. I was fascinated by her performance in Interview with the Vampire and I've enjoyed watching her grow up (and out) over the years in movies like Greedy, Jumanji, Wag the Dog, Small Soldiers, Drop Dead Gorgeous, Dick and Bring It On. And now she's like the next best thing. Cool. She's a sweetie.

So does all that stuff explain why two 29-year old men went to see Crazy/Beautiful? (Yes, my buddy Jason is also afflicted by the accursed Dunst Syndrome.) We knew it was going to be a after-school-special sort of sweetie romance movie. The sort of movie that 12-year old girls call their "favorite movie ever" before they discover Dirty Dancing, Ghost and Titanic.

The story is as old as the hills, although they're tweaked just enough to avoid being truly cliche-ridden: Rich girl Nicole meets Poor Boy Carlos and they quickly spark a sweet romance. This time around, the rich girl has some severe emotional baggage and a congressman Daddy, while the boy is an ambitious Mexican lad with his eyes of the Air Force.

And while their tumultuous relationship hits more than a few predictable snags, most of the resolutions offered are a few points better than you'd expect. The script often approaches the cinematic potholes of cliche and stereotype, but generally veers clear of these hindrances and the movie even succeeds wildly at some points.

Unfortunately, the pacing is often all off, which is particularly damaging to a movie like this. Strong emotional scenes are followed by some interminable stretches of meandering plot developments before revving back up again.

Most of this movie's success can be directly attributed to the performances of the two stars. Kirsten Dunst adds another winning performance to her body of work, and I'm not just saying that cuz she's all dreamy and stuff. This girl is a damn fine actor. The true find in Crazy/Beautiful is Jay Hernandez as the smitten Carlos. Keep an eye out for this kid.

Bruce Davison offers a surprisingly multi-faceted performance as Nicole's congressman Dad, and his character offers most of the movie's best scenes. Faring not as well is Lucinda Jenney as Nicole's uncaring (and depressingly one-dimensional) wicked stepmother.

Considering the questionable quality of most "teen-oriented" movies, this one is a generally welcome change. A few new brush strokes are added to some of cinema's oldest canvases, and the result is a movie that may not change your life, but there are certainly worse ways to spend 100 minutes. Plus, Freddie Prinze Jr. is nowhere to be found. Any teen movie that can claim that automatically earns 2 stars.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5152&reviewer=128
originally posted: 07/13/01 00:20:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/13/15 ER Rescued by fine acting. Dunst in last scene is worth price of admission. 4 stars
7/31/09 Athianathi Nazreen Sifo Yes,it myt hav nt made it bg,bt i second the idea that one cn learn sumthng 4m it..i lykd i 3 stars
4/04/08 Felicia this movie rocks my world jay ur good lookin I luv ya' and datz for life ur my #1 hottie 5 stars
8/08/05 yuko reminds me of my high school life 5 stars
2/12/05 Jeff Anderson LIKE AN AFTERSCHOOL SPECIAL, ONLY 10 TIMES BETTER! John Stockwell deserves enormous credit! 5 stars
12/24/04 The Mockingbird oh shut up. you people suck, just like this movie. contrived/overrated 2 stars
9/12/04 BC_Animus An amazing romance film... (and if you're not into romance watch it for Kirsten!) 5 stars
5/29/04 k wonderful teen romance film 5 stars
5/22/04 anastarsia it was soo kewl!! and jay herendez is soo hot!! 5 stars
5/14/04 Malea I loved it 5 stars
4/09/04 Michael "Hutch" Hutchinson God I wanna fuck her so bad. 4 stars
3/21/04 Kayla Awesome movie!! very nice and Jay Hernandez is hot!!! 5 stars
2/12/04 vanessa badass movie 5 stars
12/09/03 Gaby Go see the movie because JAY HERNANDEZ is in it 5 stars
10/10/03 Claxner Oxjaw Humongously CRAZY to so egregious maluse the BEAUTIFUL Kirsten Dunst! 2 stars
8/20/03 Nica JAY IS THE FINNEZT THING EVER you cant go wrong with the movie cuz Hes in IT!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/19/03 Natasha Chrisenberry It was worth seeing- really awesome!! 5 stars
7/14/03 jean i reckon the film was totally blasting, it was flamming man.i loved it!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/04/03 jessica i love this movie and jay herendez is sexy!!!! 5 stars
4/28/03 Gwen The real star is Taryn Manning (maddy) who cares about any1 else? taryn was by far the best 5 stars
4/14/03 Katie Jay is so sexy i want him ! and the movie is great 4 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby The writing is cliched but the two lead characters are interesting and ring true. 3 stars
4/09/03 Hamdi Mohamud This film is the best film ever i mean ever, its brilliant man. 5 stars
4/01/03 nic jay is gorgeous 5 stars
3/22/03 lala jay hernandez is so hot!! 4 stars
3/01/03 Monique Intense heat between characters had me horny as hell! 5 stars
2/11/03 kiro jay hernendez is hella hot 5 stars
1/14/03 DoNT WoRRy BOUT iT!! Jay HeRnaNDeZ iSs FiNe FinE FiNE!!! FiNe aSS MeXiCaN PaPi!! MuAHZZ!! 5 stars
1/08/03 tina excellent 5 stars
12/25/02 Chrissy Herrera bad ass movie with actors 5 stars
12/11/02 Elizabeth Cole It was the sweetest most touching movie i've ever seen 5 stars
11/07/02 electra real good movie 5 stars
11/03/02 cynthia luna my favorite movie 5 stars
11/01/02 irine primavera that's really crazy beautiful!!!! nice movie 5 stars
10/21/02 jessica it was interesting and not corny and also jay hernendazis hot as 4 stars
10/20/02 SOL N AMBII IT ROCKS THE FUCK ON!! 5 stars
10/06/02 Kayla Watson i thought that the movie was just "GREAT" i loved it and i have watched it over and over!!! 5 stars
9/26/02 Violet Edgewater Damn, Hernendez is so fine, not even words can explain how sexy he looks. 5 stars
9/25/02 Narges IT WAS THE BEST MOVIE EVER! JAY HERNENDEZ ROCKKKKKKS!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/24/02 ju I would like Jay Hernendez so much....^ ^ 5 stars
9/18/02 Sara Great! 5 stars
9/13/02 Mary Jane This movie was the best i have seen in a long time. it was so beautiful!! 5 stars
7/23/02 araluen thomsen absolutley fantastic,love hernendez 5 stars
7/16/02 DESIREE HAUMEA JAY HERNENDEZ , HIS SO GORGEOUS THAT HIS MY DREAM GUY AND EVERY MOVIE HE MAKES I'LL BUY! 5 stars
5/27/02 Candy And Shelly JAY IS FIT 5 stars
5/26/02 Phoenix Kirsten Dunst and her big tities are the true star of this sometimes boring movie. 3 stars
5/17/02 Courtney Vidotto The movie was cool but Jay is fucking sexy 5 stars
5/15/02 Liz Jay hernandez is hot in the movie i loved it 5 stars
5/14/02 erica kelly Jay Hernandez is so fine i love him in crazy beauitful he his finer then anyother guy 5 stars
5/12/02 larissa greig it is the best movie and jay hernendez if a hunney 5 stars
5/01/02 krista Jay Hernendez was only tha good part 5 stars
4/23/02 Itumeleng Menthonia Sekukuni It's an awsome movie & Jay Hernendez was trully BEAUTIFUL 5 stars
4/20/02 nikki this movies kicks ass 5 stars
4/13/02 Rebecca Medrano I really enjoyed watching "Crazy/Beautiful" and i think Jay Hernandez is the cutest of all. 5 stars
3/12/02 Alan Smithee If Ms. Dunst had gotten naked and participated in a lesbian orgy, things would be better. 2 stars
3/01/02 falisha jay hernendez is the hottest guy 5 stars
1/31/02 Valerie Cameron Kirsten Dunst wasted making like Julia Stiles, though she does it as well as Stiles herself 3 stars
1/14/02 Andrew Carden A Total Disappointment To Dunst Fans, May Have Some Interest If U Like Cheesy Romance. 2 stars
1/06/02 specialK gets an extra star for Dunst's breasts... 5 stars
1/05/02 Richard Plourde Electricity between Duntz and Hernendez 4 stars
12/03/01 SweatPea it was pretty good, i've seen worse, and i've seen better 3 stars
12/03/01 shaukat ali khan to see then given my comments 5 stars
11/29/01 Amy Intriguing. 4 stars
11/26/01 Therese Excellent! Jay Hernandez, you've touched my heart with all your love and patience. 5 stars
11/20/01 Ben Excellent 5 stars
8/22/01 Christy Reyes This movie was the best movie of the summer!!!!!! 5 stars
8/19/01 Evin Green Kirsten Dunst plays the crazy lover almost frighteningly well. 5 stars
7/09/01 sdfk Some real emotional moments from Dunst; Bad continunity 4 stars
7/04/01 jim dyer don't like this feature 5 stars
7/01/01 yeah i havent seen it but i wanna!!!! 4 stars
6/29/01 Mr. Shmegma Fairly realistic teen love story 4 stars
6/28/01 fdfg Yawn! Another mindless teenybopper flick 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Jun-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Nov-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast