More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.12

Awesome50.98%
Worth A Look: 21.57%
Average: 16.67%
Pretty Bad: 9.8%
Total Crap: 0.98%

5 reviews, 72 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Crazy/Beautiful
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Dust For Eyes

"Good/Bad"
3 stars

Crazy/Beautiful tells the story of two kids. One is coming to terms with her past, while one is come to terms with his future. With imposing and opposing priorities like that there's bound to be conflict. There's enough in Crazy/Beautiful to admire despite it not being completely successful.

Kirsten Dunst has established quite the reputation for herself in the acting caper. Part of that reputation involves her excellent acting ability, but another part involves her being some sort of sweet natured, all smiling, apple eating, niceness overlord from the planet Cute. Needless to say, she hates the latter part of her reputation and so is working hard to get it the hell off her back. Part of that work was the excellent The Virgin Suicides, the next instalment is Crazy/Beautiful.

Nicole (Dunst) is a young girl mixed up with various shades of trouble. During some community service duties, she meets Carlos (Hernandez), a rather together lad who has ambition and drive despite his various wrong-side-of-the-track hindrances. Their relationship blossoms with Nicole driving Jay to distraction from his career goals. Things get complicated when Nicole's dad, Tom (Davidson), a senator, provides a conditional opportunity for Carlos.

The poor little rich girl lot of Dunst's character can be a bit much to take. It's difficult to garner some sympathy from someone of such a privileged background. Dunst tries hard to make us care about her character yet the tone of her performance is not pitched quite right to win over the audience. Yet her efforts to try and do a good job are evident and there are times when she does impress.

Carlos faces problems with his family and friends. The crux of their conflict being that Carlos is not spending enough time with either his family or friends and is losing interest in achieving the goals that they want him to achieve.

Nicole is written interestingly with a few layers to her character, although Carlos feels a little bit by the numbers. Nicole has interests in photography for instance. Her photo album provides a medium to show us her feelings about her parents, Carlos and herself.

Director John Stockwell (who wrote the Mark Wahlberg starring, Rock Star) keeps the film as unglamorous and realistic as possible. The camera work is straightforward, the makeup is minimal if not nonexistent, lighting is simple and Dunst's hair is at a less glamorous short length. You are given the impression that the viewer is protruding into these kids' lives. Which is precisely what we are doing. We protrude into some issues that Hollywood would usually steer well clear such as inter-racial relationships, kids drinking alcohol, teen sex and youth suicide.

Perhaps as a result of Hollywood nervousness on these issues, these taboo themes are only dealt with lightly. The film went through various versions before it got toned down to a US PG-13 rating.

The race issue is in your face, the sexuality on display is honest and forthright, yet despite this they remain peripheral issues in the film.

The music is modern without it being an obvious soundtrack CD advertisement cash-in money grabber. Even though there is a soundtrack CD cash-in money grabber, but at least the movie doesn't seem like that.

The film falls down a bit with the main story's ending being a little trite. The final resolution almost makes you squirm despite the honourable objectives.

This film is an admirable effort with it's good intentions and willingness to tackle some issues that many a major studio would be happy to swerve right past. So it's full marks for trying, but something gets lost in the execution.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5152&reviewer=166
originally posted: 12/01/01 19:03:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/13/15 ER Rescued by fine acting. Dunst in last scene is worth price of admission. 4 stars
7/31/09 Athianathi Nazreen Sifo Yes,it myt hav nt made it bg,bt i second the idea that one cn learn sumthng 4m it..i lykd i 3 stars
4/04/08 Felicia this movie rocks my world jay ur good lookin I luv ya' and datz for life ur my #1 hottie 5 stars
8/08/05 yuko reminds me of my high school life 5 stars
2/12/05 Jeff Anderson LIKE AN AFTERSCHOOL SPECIAL, ONLY 10 TIMES BETTER! John Stockwell deserves enormous credit! 5 stars
12/24/04 The Mockingbird oh shut up. you people suck, just like this movie. contrived/overrated 2 stars
9/12/04 BC_Animus An amazing romance film... (and if you're not into romance watch it for Kirsten!) 5 stars
5/29/04 k wonderful teen romance film 5 stars
5/22/04 anastarsia it was soo kewl!! and jay herendez is soo hot!! 5 stars
5/14/04 Malea I loved it 5 stars
4/09/04 Michael "Hutch" Hutchinson God I wanna fuck her so bad. 4 stars
3/21/04 Kayla Awesome movie!! very nice and Jay Hernandez is hot!!! 5 stars
2/12/04 vanessa badass movie 5 stars
12/09/03 Gaby Go see the movie because JAY HERNANDEZ is in it 5 stars
10/10/03 Claxner Oxjaw Humongously CRAZY to so egregious maluse the BEAUTIFUL Kirsten Dunst! 2 stars
8/20/03 Nica JAY IS THE FINNEZT THING EVER you cant go wrong with the movie cuz Hes in IT!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/19/03 Natasha Chrisenberry It was worth seeing- really awesome!! 5 stars
7/14/03 jean i reckon the film was totally blasting, it was flamming man.i loved it!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/04/03 jessica i love this movie and jay herendez is sexy!!!! 5 stars
4/28/03 Gwen The real star is Taryn Manning (maddy) who cares about any1 else? taryn was by far the best 5 stars
4/14/03 Katie Jay is so sexy i want him ! and the movie is great 4 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby The writing is cliched but the two lead characters are interesting and ring true. 3 stars
4/09/03 Hamdi Mohamud This film is the best film ever i mean ever, its brilliant man. 5 stars
4/01/03 nic jay is gorgeous 5 stars
3/22/03 lala jay hernandez is so hot!! 4 stars
3/01/03 Monique Intense heat between characters had me horny as hell! 5 stars
2/11/03 kiro jay hernendez is hella hot 5 stars
1/14/03 DoNT WoRRy BOUT iT!! Jay HeRnaNDeZ iSs FiNe FinE FiNE!!! FiNe aSS MeXiCaN PaPi!! MuAHZZ!! 5 stars
1/08/03 tina excellent 5 stars
12/25/02 Chrissy Herrera bad ass movie with actors 5 stars
12/11/02 Elizabeth Cole It was the sweetest most touching movie i've ever seen 5 stars
11/07/02 electra real good movie 5 stars
11/03/02 cynthia luna my favorite movie 5 stars
11/01/02 irine primavera that's really crazy beautiful!!!! nice movie 5 stars
10/21/02 jessica it was interesting and not corny and also jay hernendazis hot as 4 stars
10/20/02 SOL N AMBII IT ROCKS THE FUCK ON!! 5 stars
10/06/02 Kayla Watson i thought that the movie was just "GREAT" i loved it and i have watched it over and over!!! 5 stars
9/26/02 Violet Edgewater Damn, Hernendez is so fine, not even words can explain how sexy he looks. 5 stars
9/25/02 Narges IT WAS THE BEST MOVIE EVER! JAY HERNENDEZ ROCKKKKKKS!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/24/02 ju I would like Jay Hernendez so much....^ ^ 5 stars
9/18/02 Sara Great! 5 stars
9/13/02 Mary Jane This movie was the best i have seen in a long time. it was so beautiful!! 5 stars
7/23/02 araluen thomsen absolutley fantastic,love hernendez 5 stars
7/16/02 DESIREE HAUMEA JAY HERNENDEZ , HIS SO GORGEOUS THAT HIS MY DREAM GUY AND EVERY MOVIE HE MAKES I'LL BUY! 5 stars
5/27/02 Candy And Shelly JAY IS FIT 5 stars
5/26/02 Phoenix Kirsten Dunst and her big tities are the true star of this sometimes boring movie. 3 stars
5/17/02 Courtney Vidotto The movie was cool but Jay is fucking sexy 5 stars
5/15/02 Liz Jay hernandez is hot in the movie i loved it 5 stars
5/14/02 erica kelly Jay Hernandez is so fine i love him in crazy beauitful he his finer then anyother guy 5 stars
5/12/02 larissa greig it is the best movie and jay hernendez if a hunney 5 stars
5/01/02 krista Jay Hernendez was only tha good part 5 stars
4/23/02 Itumeleng Menthonia Sekukuni It's an awsome movie & Jay Hernendez was trully BEAUTIFUL 5 stars
4/20/02 nikki this movies kicks ass 5 stars
4/13/02 Rebecca Medrano I really enjoyed watching "Crazy/Beautiful" and i think Jay Hernandez is the cutest of all. 5 stars
3/12/02 Alan Smithee If Ms. Dunst had gotten naked and participated in a lesbian orgy, things would be better. 2 stars
3/01/02 falisha jay hernendez is the hottest guy 5 stars
1/31/02 Valerie Cameron Kirsten Dunst wasted making like Julia Stiles, though she does it as well as Stiles herself 3 stars
1/14/02 Andrew Carden A Total Disappointment To Dunst Fans, May Have Some Interest If U Like Cheesy Romance. 2 stars
1/06/02 specialK gets an extra star for Dunst's breasts... 5 stars
1/05/02 Richard Plourde Electricity between Duntz and Hernendez 4 stars
12/03/01 SweatPea it was pretty good, i've seen worse, and i've seen better 3 stars
12/03/01 shaukat ali khan to see then given my comments 5 stars
11/29/01 Amy Intriguing. 4 stars
11/26/01 Therese Excellent! Jay Hernandez, you've touched my heart with all your love and patience. 5 stars
11/20/01 Ben Excellent 5 stars
8/22/01 Christy Reyes This movie was the best movie of the summer!!!!!! 5 stars
8/19/01 Evin Green Kirsten Dunst plays the crazy lover almost frighteningly well. 5 stars
7/09/01 sdfk Some real emotional moments from Dunst; Bad continunity 4 stars
7/04/01 jim dyer don't like this feature 5 stars
7/01/01 yeah i havent seen it but i wanna!!!! 4 stars
6/29/01 Mr. Shmegma Fairly realistic teen love story 4 stars
6/28/01 fdfg Yawn! Another mindless teenybopper flick 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Jun-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Nov-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast