More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.12

Awesome50.98%
Worth A Look: 21.57%
Average: 16.67%
Pretty Bad: 9.8%
Total Crap: 0.98%

5 reviews, 72 user ratings



Crazy/Beautiful
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"shallow/superficial"
2 stars

“crazy/beautiful” should be more like “immature/ugly.” It’s but another in a line of superficial teen flicks where the screenwriters in their latter 20s and 30s write with their “know it all” of what teenagers are like, even though they are so far removed from their own teens.

Despite the word-of-mouth the studio is yakking on about, “crazy/beautiful” is a nondescript, run-of-the-mill teen-love flick, with only one minor variation. Instead of the bad, or tough guy bringing an innocent girl into his twisted world, this time it’s the bad, or crazy girl bringing the innocent guy into her demented world. While there is a decent amount of time spent getting to know a little of the filler story of Carlos (Jay Hernandez), the character of Nicole (Kirsten Dunst) was empty, hollow, and the reasons for her behavior (the suicide of her mom, etc.) are only superficial explanations; there’s more to a character like that than those weak elucidations. I’ve known real people like her, and there was far more to them than what this offered, and I am not so far removed from my years as a teen — I still am in my last year as one. “crazy/beautiful” would have been more delectable as a talky movie — maybe not so much as a Whit Stillman film (though that would have been okay, too) — but this is the type of movie where they can let the teen characters be as realistically effusive as possible. There are a few good “talks” in the movie, but there are far too few of them. And while Carlos shows and gives us some reasons why he would want to be with her, we never hear/see any valid explanation or desire to why Nicole has a “thing” for him. The inter-racial relationship is nothing new, and there is nothing groundbreaking about this one. “Save the Last Dance” from earlier this year (now on video, I might add) was a far more compelling and well-reasoned inter-racial relationship film, among other things. And Julia Stiles and Sean Patrick Thomas are far better than Kirsten Dunst and Jay Hernandez. At least you get to see how ugly Dunst is (and it’s not all being made-down) as a greasy, bad-coifed alterna-gal, along with her unflattering, unproportioned body. The twiggy, but fleshy waist, and très, très top-heaviness do not look good, nor do they look like that’s the way they’re supposed to be. Newbie Hernandez is a diffident, indifferent actor, and while I tried to come up with a Latino actor who might have better suited the role, with no results, that only emphasized to me how neglected Hispanic actors are when it comes to getting roles in movies today.

With Taryn Manning and Bruce Davison. Directed by John Stockwell. Written by Phil Hay and Matt Manfredi.

Final Verdict: C-.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5152&reviewer=172
originally posted: 07/01/01 12:08:47
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/13/15 ER Rescued by fine acting. Dunst in last scene is worth price of admission. 4 stars
7/31/09 Athianathi Nazreen Sifo Yes,it myt hav nt made it bg,bt i second the idea that one cn learn sumthng 4m it..i lykd i 3 stars
4/04/08 Felicia this movie rocks my world jay ur good lookin I luv ya' and datz for life ur my #1 hottie 5 stars
8/08/05 yuko reminds me of my high school life 5 stars
2/12/05 Jeff Anderson LIKE AN AFTERSCHOOL SPECIAL, ONLY 10 TIMES BETTER! John Stockwell deserves enormous credit! 5 stars
12/24/04 The Mockingbird oh shut up. you people suck, just like this movie. contrived/overrated 2 stars
9/12/04 BC_Animus An amazing romance film... (and if you're not into romance watch it for Kirsten!) 5 stars
5/29/04 k wonderful teen romance film 5 stars
5/22/04 anastarsia it was soo kewl!! and jay herendez is soo hot!! 5 stars
5/14/04 Malea I loved it 5 stars
4/09/04 Michael "Hutch" Hutchinson God I wanna fuck her so bad. 4 stars
3/21/04 Kayla Awesome movie!! very nice and Jay Hernandez is hot!!! 5 stars
2/12/04 vanessa badass movie 5 stars
12/09/03 Gaby Go see the movie because JAY HERNANDEZ is in it 5 stars
10/10/03 Claxner Oxjaw Humongously CRAZY to so egregious maluse the BEAUTIFUL Kirsten Dunst! 2 stars
8/20/03 Nica JAY IS THE FINNEZT THING EVER you cant go wrong with the movie cuz Hes in IT!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/19/03 Natasha Chrisenberry It was worth seeing- really awesome!! 5 stars
7/14/03 jean i reckon the film was totally blasting, it was flamming man.i loved it!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/04/03 jessica i love this movie and jay herendez is sexy!!!! 5 stars
4/28/03 Gwen The real star is Taryn Manning (maddy) who cares about any1 else? taryn was by far the best 5 stars
4/14/03 Katie Jay is so sexy i want him ! and the movie is great 4 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby The writing is cliched but the two lead characters are interesting and ring true. 3 stars
4/09/03 Hamdi Mohamud This film is the best film ever i mean ever, its brilliant man. 5 stars
4/01/03 nic jay is gorgeous 5 stars
3/22/03 lala jay hernandez is so hot!! 4 stars
3/01/03 Monique Intense heat between characters had me horny as hell! 5 stars
2/11/03 kiro jay hernendez is hella hot 5 stars
1/14/03 DoNT WoRRy BOUT iT!! Jay HeRnaNDeZ iSs FiNe FinE FiNE!!! FiNe aSS MeXiCaN PaPi!! MuAHZZ!! 5 stars
1/08/03 tina excellent 5 stars
12/25/02 Chrissy Herrera bad ass movie with actors 5 stars
12/11/02 Elizabeth Cole It was the sweetest most touching movie i've ever seen 5 stars
11/07/02 electra real good movie 5 stars
11/03/02 cynthia luna my favorite movie 5 stars
11/01/02 irine primavera that's really crazy beautiful!!!! nice movie 5 stars
10/21/02 jessica it was interesting and not corny and also jay hernendazis hot as 4 stars
10/20/02 SOL N AMBII IT ROCKS THE FUCK ON!! 5 stars
10/06/02 Kayla Watson i thought that the movie was just "GREAT" i loved it and i have watched it over and over!!! 5 stars
9/26/02 Violet Edgewater Damn, Hernendez is so fine, not even words can explain how sexy he looks. 5 stars
9/25/02 Narges IT WAS THE BEST MOVIE EVER! JAY HERNENDEZ ROCKKKKKKS!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/24/02 ju I would like Jay Hernendez so much....^ ^ 5 stars
9/18/02 Sara Great! 5 stars
9/13/02 Mary Jane This movie was the best i have seen in a long time. it was so beautiful!! 5 stars
7/23/02 araluen thomsen absolutley fantastic,love hernendez 5 stars
7/16/02 DESIREE HAUMEA JAY HERNENDEZ , HIS SO GORGEOUS THAT HIS MY DREAM GUY AND EVERY MOVIE HE MAKES I'LL BUY! 5 stars
5/27/02 Candy And Shelly JAY IS FIT 5 stars
5/26/02 Phoenix Kirsten Dunst and her big tities are the true star of this sometimes boring movie. 3 stars
5/17/02 Courtney Vidotto The movie was cool but Jay is fucking sexy 5 stars
5/15/02 Liz Jay hernandez is hot in the movie i loved it 5 stars
5/14/02 erica kelly Jay Hernandez is so fine i love him in crazy beauitful he his finer then anyother guy 5 stars
5/12/02 larissa greig it is the best movie and jay hernendez if a hunney 5 stars
5/01/02 krista Jay Hernendez was only tha good part 5 stars
4/23/02 Itumeleng Menthonia Sekukuni It's an awsome movie & Jay Hernendez was trully BEAUTIFUL 5 stars
4/20/02 nikki this movies kicks ass 5 stars
4/13/02 Rebecca Medrano I really enjoyed watching "Crazy/Beautiful" and i think Jay Hernandez is the cutest of all. 5 stars
3/12/02 Alan Smithee If Ms. Dunst had gotten naked and participated in a lesbian orgy, things would be better. 2 stars
3/01/02 falisha jay hernendez is the hottest guy 5 stars
1/31/02 Valerie Cameron Kirsten Dunst wasted making like Julia Stiles, though she does it as well as Stiles herself 3 stars
1/14/02 Andrew Carden A Total Disappointment To Dunst Fans, May Have Some Interest If U Like Cheesy Romance. 2 stars
1/06/02 specialK gets an extra star for Dunst's breasts... 5 stars
1/05/02 Richard Plourde Electricity between Duntz and Hernendez 4 stars
12/03/01 SweatPea it was pretty good, i've seen worse, and i've seen better 3 stars
12/03/01 shaukat ali khan to see then given my comments 5 stars
11/29/01 Amy Intriguing. 4 stars
11/26/01 Therese Excellent! Jay Hernandez, you've touched my heart with all your love and patience. 5 stars
11/20/01 Ben Excellent 5 stars
8/22/01 Christy Reyes This movie was the best movie of the summer!!!!!! 5 stars
8/19/01 Evin Green Kirsten Dunst plays the crazy lover almost frighteningly well. 5 stars
7/09/01 sdfk Some real emotional moments from Dunst; Bad continunity 4 stars
7/04/01 jim dyer don't like this feature 5 stars
7/01/01 yeah i havent seen it but i wanna!!!! 4 stars
6/29/01 Mr. Shmegma Fairly realistic teen love story 4 stars
6/28/01 fdfg Yawn! Another mindless teenybopper flick 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Jun-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Nov-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast