More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.12

Awesome50.98%
Worth A Look: 21.57%
Average: 16.67%
Pretty Bad: 9.8%
Total Crap: 0.98%

5 reviews, 72 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Crazy/Beautiful
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"A sincere teen-age romantic drama with stellar acting from Kirsten Dunst."
4 stars

Home-movie images of snapshots and postcards accompanied by a voice-over that begins “I remember...” let us know that “crazy/beautiful” will be a sentimental film.

Those first few moments are not misleading. They give way to a chance encounter on a beach: privileged white girl Nicole (Kirsten Dunst) is doing community service to atone for some unnamed sin, and Hispanic over-achiever Carlos (Jay Hernandez) strikes up a conversation with her.

As fate would have it, they both attend the same rich high school, though he does it only by riding the bus two hours each direction, working hard, and staying out of trouble. She takes her good life for granted, is the daughter of a congressman (Bruce Davison), and spends as much time as possible ditching school and drinking with her like-minded girlfriend Maddy (Taryn Manning).

A relationship begins. Nicole’s irresponsibility gets Carlos into trouble, helped a little by the fact that he’s of Mexican descent in Los Angeles, where Hispanics are often lumped in with the trouble-makers. Carlos, who wants to go to the naval academy, begins to neglect his studies, entranced by the bohemian waif.

Nicole’s troubles stem partly from having grown up without a mother, but also partly from what may be some kind of chemical imbalance. Her father, at the end of his rope, threatens to send her off to a school for troubled kids in Escalante, Utah (a fate worse than death, surely).

Kirsten Dunst (“The Virgin Suicides,” “Bring It on,” “Drop Dead Gorgeous”), one of our smartest young actresses, has chosen yet another role that allows her to do something different. While the Freddie Prinze Jr.s and the Seann William Scotts of the world keep playing the same part over and over again, Dunst has consistently appeared only in films that are at least interesting, if not downright great.

This is a superb transitional role for her. She’s a high school student again, but one with a grown-up, tragic air about her. Dunst is utterly convincing as the frail, obnoxious Nicole — a dubious achievement, perhaps, given how little patience we have for people like that in real life, but an achievement nonetheless.

Jay Hernandez, meanwhile, is a revelation in his first starring role. He commands as much attention as does his more experienced screen partner. He’s an intuitive, charismatic actor. He will go far.

“crazy/beautiful,” for as watchable as it is, doesn’t stir the emotions so much as it skips stones across them. There’s a splash of romance here, a splash of tragedy there, maybe a family drama over there. It is compelling at times, but rarely engrosses all the senses the way you’d expect a romantic drama to do.

It’s a sincere movie, though, that doesn’t pander to its teen-age target audience. For that reason alone, it probably will not do well at the box office, but it should.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5152&reviewer=247
originally posted: 06/28/01 09:16:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/13/15 ER Rescued by fine acting. Dunst in last scene is worth price of admission. 4 stars
7/31/09 Athianathi Nazreen Sifo Yes,it myt hav nt made it bg,bt i second the idea that one cn learn sumthng 4m it..i lykd i 3 stars
4/04/08 Felicia this movie rocks my world jay ur good lookin I luv ya' and datz for life ur my #1 hottie 5 stars
8/08/05 yuko reminds me of my high school life 5 stars
2/12/05 Jeff Anderson LIKE AN AFTERSCHOOL SPECIAL, ONLY 10 TIMES BETTER! John Stockwell deserves enormous credit! 5 stars
12/24/04 The Mockingbird oh shut up. you people suck, just like this movie. contrived/overrated 2 stars
9/12/04 BC_Animus An amazing romance film... (and if you're not into romance watch it for Kirsten!) 5 stars
5/29/04 k wonderful teen romance film 5 stars
5/22/04 anastarsia it was soo kewl!! and jay herendez is soo hot!! 5 stars
5/14/04 Malea I loved it 5 stars
4/09/04 Michael "Hutch" Hutchinson God I wanna fuck her so bad. 4 stars
3/21/04 Kayla Awesome movie!! very nice and Jay Hernandez is hot!!! 5 stars
2/12/04 vanessa badass movie 5 stars
12/09/03 Gaby Go see the movie because JAY HERNANDEZ is in it 5 stars
10/10/03 Claxner Oxjaw Humongously CRAZY to so egregious maluse the BEAUTIFUL Kirsten Dunst! 2 stars
8/20/03 Nica JAY IS THE FINNEZT THING EVER you cant go wrong with the movie cuz Hes in IT!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/19/03 Natasha Chrisenberry It was worth seeing- really awesome!! 5 stars
7/14/03 jean i reckon the film was totally blasting, it was flamming man.i loved it!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/04/03 jessica i love this movie and jay herendez is sexy!!!! 5 stars
4/28/03 Gwen The real star is Taryn Manning (maddy) who cares about any1 else? taryn was by far the best 5 stars
4/14/03 Katie Jay is so sexy i want him ! and the movie is great 4 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby The writing is cliched but the two lead characters are interesting and ring true. 3 stars
4/09/03 Hamdi Mohamud This film is the best film ever i mean ever, its brilliant man. 5 stars
4/01/03 nic jay is gorgeous 5 stars
3/22/03 lala jay hernandez is so hot!! 4 stars
3/01/03 Monique Intense heat between characters had me horny as hell! 5 stars
2/11/03 kiro jay hernendez is hella hot 5 stars
1/14/03 DoNT WoRRy BOUT iT!! Jay HeRnaNDeZ iSs FiNe FinE FiNE!!! FiNe aSS MeXiCaN PaPi!! MuAHZZ!! 5 stars
1/08/03 tina excellent 5 stars
12/25/02 Chrissy Herrera bad ass movie with actors 5 stars
12/11/02 Elizabeth Cole It was the sweetest most touching movie i've ever seen 5 stars
11/07/02 electra real good movie 5 stars
11/03/02 cynthia luna my favorite movie 5 stars
11/01/02 irine primavera that's really crazy beautiful!!!! nice movie 5 stars
10/21/02 jessica it was interesting and not corny and also jay hernendazis hot as 4 stars
10/20/02 SOL N AMBII IT ROCKS THE FUCK ON!! 5 stars
10/06/02 Kayla Watson i thought that the movie was just "GREAT" i loved it and i have watched it over and over!!! 5 stars
9/26/02 Violet Edgewater Damn, Hernendez is so fine, not even words can explain how sexy he looks. 5 stars
9/25/02 Narges IT WAS THE BEST MOVIE EVER! JAY HERNENDEZ ROCKKKKKKS!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/24/02 ju I would like Jay Hernendez so much....^ ^ 5 stars
9/18/02 Sara Great! 5 stars
9/13/02 Mary Jane This movie was the best i have seen in a long time. it was so beautiful!! 5 stars
7/23/02 araluen thomsen absolutley fantastic,love hernendez 5 stars
7/16/02 DESIREE HAUMEA JAY HERNENDEZ , HIS SO GORGEOUS THAT HIS MY DREAM GUY AND EVERY MOVIE HE MAKES I'LL BUY! 5 stars
5/27/02 Candy And Shelly JAY IS FIT 5 stars
5/26/02 Phoenix Kirsten Dunst and her big tities are the true star of this sometimes boring movie. 3 stars
5/17/02 Courtney Vidotto The movie was cool but Jay is fucking sexy 5 stars
5/15/02 Liz Jay hernandez is hot in the movie i loved it 5 stars
5/14/02 erica kelly Jay Hernandez is so fine i love him in crazy beauitful he his finer then anyother guy 5 stars
5/12/02 larissa greig it is the best movie and jay hernendez if a hunney 5 stars
5/01/02 krista Jay Hernendez was only tha good part 5 stars
4/23/02 Itumeleng Menthonia Sekukuni It's an awsome movie & Jay Hernendez was trully BEAUTIFUL 5 stars
4/20/02 nikki this movies kicks ass 5 stars
4/13/02 Rebecca Medrano I really enjoyed watching "Crazy/Beautiful" and i think Jay Hernandez is the cutest of all. 5 stars
3/12/02 Alan Smithee If Ms. Dunst had gotten naked and participated in a lesbian orgy, things would be better. 2 stars
3/01/02 falisha jay hernendez is the hottest guy 5 stars
1/31/02 Valerie Cameron Kirsten Dunst wasted making like Julia Stiles, though she does it as well as Stiles herself 3 stars
1/14/02 Andrew Carden A Total Disappointment To Dunst Fans, May Have Some Interest If U Like Cheesy Romance. 2 stars
1/06/02 specialK gets an extra star for Dunst's breasts... 5 stars
1/05/02 Richard Plourde Electricity between Duntz and Hernendez 4 stars
12/03/01 SweatPea it was pretty good, i've seen worse, and i've seen better 3 stars
12/03/01 shaukat ali khan to see then given my comments 5 stars
11/29/01 Amy Intriguing. 4 stars
11/26/01 Therese Excellent! Jay Hernandez, you've touched my heart with all your love and patience. 5 stars
11/20/01 Ben Excellent 5 stars
8/22/01 Christy Reyes This movie was the best movie of the summer!!!!!! 5 stars
8/19/01 Evin Green Kirsten Dunst plays the crazy lover almost frighteningly well. 5 stars
7/09/01 sdfk Some real emotional moments from Dunst; Bad continunity 4 stars
7/04/01 jim dyer don't like this feature 5 stars
7/01/01 yeah i havent seen it but i wanna!!!! 4 stars
6/29/01 Mr. Shmegma Fairly realistic teen love story 4 stars
6/28/01 fdfg Yawn! Another mindless teenybopper flick 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Jun-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Nov-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast