More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.21

Awesome55.17%
Worth A Look: 26.72%
Average: 8.62%
Pretty Bad: 2.59%
Total Crap: 6.9%

2 reviews, 104 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Happy Gilmore
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Daniel Kelly

"A happy place."
4 stars

“Happy Gilmore” is one of Adam Sandler’s stronger studio comedies. During the 90s Sandler seemed completely intent on goofing off to the maximum; the results often overpoweringly childish and stale. “Happy Gilmore” is certainly no more mature or nuanced a work, but it does offer a respectable gag rate and a surprisingly engaging underdog story. Directed energetically by Sandler cohort Dennis Dugan, “Happy Gilmore” may not be intelligent filmmaking, but it would be unfair to suggest it isn’t funny.

Happy Gilmore (Adam Sandler) is an aspiring hockey player with a terrific shot but lousy skating abilities. As a result he can’t make the team in tryouts and spends his days pursuing a dream that will very likely never come to be. When his grandmother’s (Frances Bay) house is repossessed by the IRS, Happy has to find some money fast; an unusual opportunity arriving when golf coach Chubbs Peterson (Carl Weathers) observes the extent of Happy’s power. Initially Happy isn’t interested in golf, but when the cash start rolling in he begins to take the sport seriously; especially when tour loudmouth Shooter McGavin (Christopher McDonald) treats the fiery upstart as a threat to his own championship campaign.

Sandler’s manic routine is perfect for “Happy Gilmore”, it’s nothing you haven’t seen the comedian do before but here he does it stunningly well. Few performers (comic or otherwise) could make a blatantly smug and vaguely psychotic leading man into a likable screen presence, but Sandler does it with aplomb. Being aided by such a competent supporting cast is a big help. Christopher McDonald isn’t usually a name I want to see on a marquee, but here he creates a gem of a douchebag in Shooter McGavin. It’s possibly McDonald’s insurmountably arrogant and ignorant turn that allows the audience to warm toward Happy so heartily. Frances Bay is good fun as Happy’s cute but weird Grandmother whilst Ben Stiller and Bob Barker (playing himself) pop up in highly amusing cameos. The love arc involving Julie Bowen’s golfing PA is listless and dull (much like the actresses’ performance) but other supporting players generously compensate.

The story is obvious but the script is deliciously silly and never once does the venture take itself too seriously. “Happy Gilmore” combines the juvenile irreverence of multiple Sandler efforts with some smashing jokes and an agreeable 92 minute running time. The denouement isn’t hard to foresee but the movie never tries to cloak its gently mocking sporting template; instead rushing headfirst into the realms of comedic anarchy. I’m also going to acknowledge that “Happy Gilmore” was making sports commentator gags well before “Dodgeball” took the idea to delirious new heights in 2004. “Happy Gilmore” is undeniably idiotic, but hey, sometimes the brain wants to see a grown man wrestling a crocodile. It’s not exactly a genre classic, but it is a whole heap of fun.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=516&reviewer=425
originally posted: 06/12/11 06:25:03
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/19/13 the truth is your rating based on the film, or the sex? btw, you only had to give her 8 seconds : ) 4 stars
12/09/12 Simon so quotable, speaks for my sometimes braindead generation,movies r for laughs&escape right? 5 stars
7/21/12 Sean Harrison Good movie, but not good enough to save Sandler's sagging reputation. 3 stars
6/26/11 John Airey Hilarious. Adam Sandler should win an award! 5 stars
3/30/10 PAUL SHORTT BORING, CRUDE SLAPSTICK WITH BAD JOKES 1 stars
12/21/09 amy Super funny. You will laugh. 4 stars
10/20/09 RobU Terrible. One of the worst movies I've ever seen. Not funny at all. 1 stars
3/24/09 Dakota O. funniest shit in the world 5 stars
7/24/08 Shaun Wallner This movie is so funny! 5 stars
9/14/07 Shane I saw this movie again last night for the 23rd time and I still love it! 5 stars
3/13/07 Eli Sheffield It is fucking funny 5 stars
2/25/07 somedude FUKKING FUNNY 5 stars
2/12/07 johnnyfog "The price is WRONG, Bobby!" 5 stars
9/22/06 Patrick This movie is awesome! It is hella funny 5 stars
8/28/06 Dan A classic '90s comedy, and the last decent movie that Sandler made. 5 stars
7/08/06 NS One of the funniest movies ever! 5 stars
5/25/06 Poof Not Good Not Good Not Good Not Good Not Good. 3 stars
5/02/06 Anthony Feor An Adam Sandler movie to remember 4 stars
3/26/06 chris f very funny and enjoyable movie 5 stars
2/22/06 ramona dude your gay... 1 stars
10/28/05 Anthony G Hella funny, YO 5 stars
8/08/05 Alanna Wicked aweesome! Plus, you laugh so much youir ribs hurt! 5 stars
7/22/05 tony Very Funny. I mean VERY FUNNY 5 stars
7/19/05 Brandy Harrington Sandlers best moment!!! ..but what the fuck is that sayin'? 1 stars
7/07/05 J Sandler's funniest and most violent! 5 stars
6/20/05 R perhaps the best "Sandler Flick," but that's more a joke than a compliment. 2 stars
6/04/05 Steve Newman Excellent film - the lead actress is so sexy. It gets a big 5 just for her body!! 5 stars
5/25/05 The shizz "I want the whole thing!" wow, fucking hilarious 5 stars
3/23/05 DM Probably Adam Sandler's funniest movie 4 stars
3/02/05 Joshua This movie was the greatest one that Adam Sandler has ever made!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/21/05 Dan Great! 5 stars
2/02/05 CelticDawn Funny as hell! 5 stars
1/28/05 Jack Scallops One of the funniest Sandler movies. 5 stars
1/22/05 Josh Adam Sandler did a great job in this movie. I think this is one of his greatist films!!! 5 stars
1/17/05 Jeff Anderson BETTER, MUCH BETTER THAN CADDYSHACK II AND THAT IS SAYING A LOT! J. Bowen's a major hottie. 5 stars
11/29/04 Kristina Williams BOB BARKER, BITCH! 5 stars
11/19/04 Zeus I could watch it 100 times and it would still be just as funny 5 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G GREAT 5 stars
6/05/04 Vinny One of Sandlers best movies 5 stars
4/05/04 Trent Will Funny! 5 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern Sandler's best film ever... 5 stars
3/07/04 Zach G. Better than Old School I'll say that. Man that was a terrible movie.. Love Gilmore! 5 stars
12/27/03 J Adam Sandler is at his funniest!!! 5 stars
12/02/03 BURRISS THIS BUY FAR THE SICKEST SANDLER FILM 5 stars
11/18/03 Homie Tofu GREAT JURGEN 5 stars
7/26/03 3man Sandler's best so far. Very enjoyable golf spoof. 5 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby Sandler's best comedy. Wonderful fun from start to finish. 4 stars
2/25/03 Jimmy Spickler Awesome 5 stars
2/22/03 Jon a sandler classic 5 stars
11/23/02 R.W. Welch Some good comic shtick early on but tires in the second half. 3 stars
11/09/02 Michael Bolton "PLAYS THE SAME DAMN CHARACTER IN EVERY MOVIE" yes, i agree he sucks 1 stars
10/06/02 The Ayatolla of Rockinrolla Still Sandler's best film. Laughed from begining to end 5 stars
8/20/02 LyonHeart44 Brooks comparison with Caddyshack as the all-time golf movie. Sandler's best. 4 stars
7/31/02 KMG SANDLER IS LIKE FREDDIE PRINZE JR....PLAYS THE SAME DAMN CHARACTER IN EVERY MOVIE 1 stars
7/29/02 Piz hands down Sandler's best comedy...laugh-a-minute with great characters 5 stars
7/18/02 Dark Barřn Barker 1. Gilmore ZERO 3 stars
7/04/02 gary vidmar A worthy slapstick comedy. Kinda stupid but kinda funny too! 4 stars
6/25/02 Justin Hilarious! 5 stars
6/24/02 Stephanie Throckmorton Liked it except for the part with Bob Barker. 4 stars
6/08/02 Film Guy one of the funniest things ive ever seen. 5 stars
1/22/02 golfer extremely funny, Adam Sandler's best 4 stars
1/20/02 David A. Kind of funny, but not a gut-buster. I did like it when he got beat up by Bob Barker! 3 stars
1/05/02 Mr. Hat This is as funny as "Billy Madison." It kicks ass! 5 stars
12/01/01 Scottish Kilt An extremely under-rated comedy one of the funniest comedies i have seen in a while. 4 stars
10/28/01 Andrew Carden Adam Wasn't Funny In This Whatsoever...He Had Horrible Scripts. 2 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Funniest Sandler flick. Apollo Creed as a golf pro...genius. 5 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat I don't like golf much, but Adam Sandler isn't bad. 3 stars
6/07/01 King Jackass How about i get you a warm glass of SHUT THE HELL UP! 5 stars
5/05/01 J This is NOT the best Adam Sandler movie. But I was suprised on how close it was. 4 stars
3/22/01 Jennifer McDuffie Combines Funny with the sweetness of Family love 5 stars
2/16/01 Joseph Roseberg Moronic - in very way. 1 stars
1/06/01 Connoisseur I hope the other Sandler flicks are this good! 5 stars
12/01/00 Elvisfan Sandler must have a really small .... brain 1 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla one of the funniest comedies i've ever seen!!! 5 stars
11/20/00 The EVIL Penguin "Think happy" 4 stars
9/29/00 Peter Joseph Johnson Absolutely fucking great!!! 5 stars
5/25/00 Rita Joe Flaherty's small part is a highlight, "ya jackass!!" 3 stars
5/25/00 SID Sandler's mainstream comedies (Wedding Singer, Big Daddy) are actually much better. 3 stars
4/05/00 Klute. A very funny flick if you can get past the fact it's a Sandler film. 4 stars
3/28/00 Dee I loved this movie! I have seen it so many times I can probably quote it from memory! 5 stars
3/21/00 Louis The. Best. Movie. Ever. 5 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers Adam Sandler's best! I love the part about hockey meeting golf. 5 stars
12/01/99 Andy Jones "You eat pieces of shit for breakfast?"; "NO!!!", lol, this is a great movie! 5 stars
9/23/99 Matt "Uh Oh.... Happy's a great movie!!" One hilarious movie! 5 stars
8/05/99 Exhibit A This movie is number one for comedy in my book, I've never laughed so hard! 5 stars
6/08/99 lucas jackson I love this film,Shooter Mcgavin is funny as hell and Sandler is awesome,I like tubbs also 5 stars
5/04/99 Big Dog suck my white ass ball 5 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn Adam.. do us all a huge favor - stop these ridiculous movies,, *gag* 2 stars
4/06/99 Michael Grimm Bob Barker rocks!!! 5 stars
3/08/99 Angelic Adam Sandler...nuff said 5 stars
2/25/99 Viral Messiah YES! YES! YES! Whatta great comedy! 4 stars
2/19/99 Piz I laughed the whole way..imagine that, actually laughing at a comedy 5 stars
1/15/99 DRMJSP Funny as all hell. 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Not sure if it was the funniest movie EVER made, but it was pretty damn good. 4 stars
9/29/98 katherine the awesomest, funniest movie EVER made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :) 5 stars
9/19/98 Shooter McGavin Lets go play some golf... chkchk 5 stars
9/08/98 MikeF fucking funny shit, man 5 stars
9/07/98 spork-girl Oz, I love any review that is really an excuse for you to talk about your sex life. hahaha 4 stars
9/06/98 Helle Marie I saw this at my step-brother`s birthday party, and it was great! 4 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy had some good moments. not the greatest or anything. 3 stars
8/31/98 Mister Whoopee Some really funny moments. Sandler is cool. 4 stars
8/30/98 Johny A guilty pleasure favorite of mine 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Sandler can save a movie. When he's not being a sappy twat like in Wedding Singer. 4 stars
8/24/98 JenniferLorraine Interesting story line; another Sandler movie. Predictable yet witty. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Feb-1996 (PG-13)
  DVD: 23-Aug-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast