More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.67

Awesome82.19%
Worth A Look: 10.05%
Average: 3.2%
Pretty Bad: 1.83%
Total Crap: 2.74%

8 reviews, 171 user ratings



Taxi Driver
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"NY taxis: a frightening image then and now."
5 stars

After seeing this film, and knowing how Robert De Niro is and was considered one of America’s best actors, I can finally see (re: see) the comparisons of Edward Norton to him.

More than anything, it is for looks, but it is ironic inasmuch as how dissimilar their resemblances stretched in The Score. But as no surprise, De Niro is the stronger performer, the more believable, the more talented. It has long been my opinion that Norton—despite my enjoyment of several of his performances—has been too extolled and prematurely crowned the best actor of his generation as many of my colleagues were quick to label him as. Without having seen Taxi Driver, I was still well-versed with Travis Bickle’s quotable soliloquies, especially his “You talkin’ to me?” bit. Once referenced as an insomniac, Travis narrates the story—his story—in a self-written style, as if from his own memoirs. As he takes a job as a taxi driver (obviously dating the film by having a white male as a driver!) in the mean streets of New York (wink-wink Mr. Scorsese), he happens to have his eye caught on a campaign manager (Cybill Shepherd) of fictional presidential nominee Senator Palantine. Travis platonically stalks her until breaking down and asking her out (which is a funny sequence of events concerning funnyman Albert Brooks), but things quickly turn sour when he introduces her to his seedy world and cinematic choice of pornos. Gears shift when Bickle’s psyche starts to bare the signs of psycho and he turns into a one-man sociopath army, complete with multiple guns and knives, set out to assassinate the presidential hopeful. After that plunder, Bickle veers for the more extreme vigilante, but for the better of society; he attempts to help a 12-year-old prostitute (Jodie Foster) that he’s run into on several occasions, by giving her a break to escape from her pimp. In these seismic changes and altercations it suggests Taxi Driver as being desultory. Martin Scorsese’s orexis in the Travis Bickle character is unignorable and unwavering, and that key point is also what keeps our interest so deep. Paul Schrader’s screenplay can be accused over meandering and plodding at times of insecurity, using Bickle’s own unpredictability as a weak defense, but the changes in tone and atmosphere are recognizably and temporarily offset. That is not to say that it does not pick up from there and move on, which it does, but it is as if adding a gimp to a heretofore swift step. Overall, Bickle is shrouded heavily in ambiguity—at least psychologically; there is not enough time spent in one viewing to even attempt at identifying and earmarking what might serve as circumstantial evidence towards his mental instability and reasoning for his condition, though the Vietnam War seems a viable contribution. While the spotlight is on her, Shepherd is a sight to see, and her role is made even more dulcet in combination with Brooks’ just-as-transitory additions. Having never seen this before, I have had plenty of time to accumulate an abundance of vocal (and written) support for this early role by Foster, but I have to admit my disappointment. Her bearing on the film is so little and insignificant. She makes a charming young hooker, though the precocity of her age is a bit weighty as is the bra size she wears in relation to her age, but yet there is not much to make a fuss over. When The Professional (a/k/a Léon) came out in the middle Nineties, Natalie Portman garnered many comparisons to Foster’s street-tough jeune fille when in reality, the performance, talent and demand were much higher and paid off in Portman’s gamine (Mathilda). As a sidenote of period authenticity, the old style bubble taxis look very mean and ominous with the added help of the portentous score to mingle the cab in the scummy mist of the Big Apple. A frightening image then and now.

Final Verdict: A-.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=517&reviewer=172
originally posted: 11/10/01 05:17:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/09/17 morris campbell not bad but who cares its awful corny 2 stars
4/24/16 Ken Whoever thinks this movie is bad, has no good taste in movies. 5 stars
3/02/16 Corbin Boyle Gotta love the mohawk 4 stars
4/25/15 stanley welles a brilliant and compelling study of alienation, obsession and paranoia 5 stars
7/03/14 I am You 2 stars
3/24/14 Justin R. Exquisite. Go see it! 5 stars
2/27/13 David Hollingsworth Urban masterpiece of social malaise that is one of the greatest. 5 stars
8/21/12 edutra so overrated, so boring, and nothing takes place 1 stars
5/24/11 action movie fan thouroughly engrossing with realistic characthers and diolough very memorable 5 stars
6/08/10 Flathead King This film deserves its impressive reputation. 5 stars
6/01/10 User Name Robert DeNiro and Martin Scorsecce in a tour-de-force look at the grittier side of NY. 5 stars
11/12/09 art DE NIRO"S BEST PERFORMANCE!,A GREAT FILM! 5 stars
10/25/09 Omar De Niro's best performance, along with "Raging Bull". 5 stars
9/29/09 harry lime this guy is crazier that ethan edwards 5 stars
6/01/09 Jeff Wilder One of Scorsese's numerous masterpieces. 5 stars
9/26/08 PAUL SHORTT HOWEVER BRILLIANTLY MADE, IT IS AN UGLY PORTRAIT OF A DEMENTED MIND 2 stars
3/28/08 Renzo Classic 5 stars
8/12/07 Quigley Exceeded my expectations. Scorsese and De Niro are superb. An excellent film on every level 5 stars
4/11/07 josh Fantastic movie, i feel that travis died at the end, who else feels this? 5 stars
4/08/07 Chris Redmond Phenomenal. I feel sorry for the contemporary film-goer who needs instant, cheap thrills. 5 stars
4/04/07 David Pollastrini deNiro is very creepy in this 3 stars
12/22/06 Eric Phelps "You talkin' to me?" A kick ass movie. 5 stars
11/20/06 R.W.Welch Among the best directed movies. Oozes atmosphere. 5 stars
9/29/06 Josh Racine One of my top 5 of all-time. 5 stars
7/31/06 Lawry.Sabadi Lawry Kix Ass 1 stars
7/26/06 Sepi53 Great acting by Mr. De Niro 5 stars
4/30/06 Joshua Whoever hates this is a faggot. This movie kicks ass. 5 stars
4/11/06 Bean Maybe groundbreaking back when. Boring today. 1 stars
3/31/06 kerry Another highly overrated film.Pretentious and self-indulgent.Taxi Driver sucks 1 stars
12/20/05 Jeff Anderson Cold & bleak. See Francis Von Zerneck's chilling & brilliant GOD'S LONELY MAN instead!!!!! 2 stars
12/03/05 Gene Carmean One of the best 5 stars
11/18/05 John Dog "Are you talkin' to me?" 5 stars
11/05/05 Tim I honestly thought this was one of the worst films i've even seen. Nothing happens! 1 stars
10/16/05 Moctezuma This features DeNiro's greatest performance 5 stars
10/07/05 Johnny Powerfully intense. 5 stars
9/29/05 Michael Blower This film got me into movies 10/10 5 stars
9/22/05 Fritz Scorsese's best film. Dark, brooding, powerful, and brilliant. 5 stars
6/13/05 Agent Sands Brilliantly dissects with empathy, and gets the audience to side with, a psychotic killer. 5 stars
5/29/05 Jake A dark and powerful film 5 stars
5/08/05 susan varney intense drama loved de niro 5 stars
5/06/05 Regis A must-see. 5 stars
4/21/05 brody snozzer 1 stars
4/11/05 Ann Lemire A classic 4 stars
3/24/05 matjaž Scorsese stands for provocative only in 3 films -Taxi is one of them. 5 stars
3/14/05 Russ Gladchenko My favorite movie! 5 stars
3/12/05 craig varney riveting de niro 5 stars
3/05/05 kimerie jones I really enjoyed this movie it was funny and different 5 stars
2/26/05 Stephanie classic! must see it 4 stars
2/10/05 Colleen Goldrick The Best!! 5 stars
2/09/05 Kelly Greenwood DeNiro shines in this movie, loved it! 5 stars
2/09/05 Al Guy Damn! Still gripping, even in the 21st Century. 5 stars
2/05/05 bongeezer Back when Love stories had real heart...Sniff,Sniff 4 stars
1/28/05 Monday Morning The feelgood movie of the '70s. The best! 5 stars
12/19/04 Placekicker damn fine creepiness, de niro is never better 5 stars
12/18/04 chris. something missing...can't put my finger on it. but otherwise excellent 4 stars
12/09/04 juupx Greatt 5 stars
11/01/04 Willz Damn it's great! 5 stars
10/29/04 dave are you talking to me, are you talking to me 5 stars
10/23/04 UMER definitely the BEST EVER anti-hero movie 5 stars
10/03/04 Naka A tad bit overrated, but still highly engrossing. 4 stars
9/01/04 A upton Sweet 5 stars
8/31/04 Abbath Very good movie, but I can't help but feel as if it's somewhat incomplete. 4 stars
8/25/04 Sean Scanlan Wonderful line 5 stars
8/03/04 Evan Are you realy talking to me ? 5 stars
6/25/04 Karen Stockdale Looks dated now, but the acting, especially de Niro's, is perfection 5 stars
6/14/04 dfc A Scorsese masterpiece. NYC was really like that in the 1970s. 5 stars
5/26/04 Sergeant Hartman great acting, somewhat boring. 4 stars
4/26/04 The man with the plan The greatest film on earth 5 stars
4/24/04 The Last Temptation Of Travis Bickle Paradoxical final scene will leave you mistified and disturbed, if you notice it! 5 stars
4/18/04 Father Merrin Wow! Blew me away! Superb film. 1 of the best ever! De Niro is mesmerising! 5 stars
4/17/04 Morally Sound Changed the face of cinema forever! 5 stars
4/03/04 gray powerfull 5 stars
4/02/04 Jack Sommersby The screenplay lacks ratiocination, but it's effectively pungent and wonderfully acted. 4 stars
4/01/04 y2mckay De Niro and Scorcese at their most intense. This movie owns. Cybill looks good, too. 5 stars
4/01/04 sansho No denying its cinematic flair and influence, but i dislike the "cathartic" violent ending 3 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. Now this should be remade into a BETTER FILM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/16/04 killak shows the good that can come from evil 5 stars
2/20/04 AJ The film that made a difference... 5 stars
1/31/04 Jay best of the best. Marty! 5 stars
1/23/04 Betty White Violent, but well-acted drama; solid Scorsese piece. 4 stars
1/20/04 Film Critic amazing 5 stars
12/07/03 john a bravoura performance - a disturbing yet brutally honest film - a masterpiece! 5 stars
10/20/03 Samuel Justus A great Film! my favorite DeNiro film..ever! 5 stars
8/31/03 DHite I thought the end was pretty unbelievable, but overall pretty good 4 stars
7/21/03 AD suck on this 5 stars
5/22/03 janjic sinisa great movie 5 stars
5/15/03 joshx42 Another Scorsese classic. 5 stars
2/26/03 GMan Coooooool (derek sucks ass) bickle....you talkin' to me? 5 stars
2/12/03 Kyle This is not a classic... 4 stars
2/12/03 Aussie Film Maker Brutal and at times trippy. But intresting to the end. 5 stars
2/01/03 croweater This movie gets you in from word go.. Excellent. 5 stars
1/28/03 The Aussie Film Reviewer Brutal stuff, perfectly realized on film. 5 stars
1/24/03 Jeremy It's worth a look, but not 4 out of 5 stars for me. Decent movie. 3 stars
1/06/03 WestcoastPunk DeNiros greatest movie 5 stars
11/25/02 Margaret If you understand the subtext then the film will make more sense and come off as well done. 4 stars
11/22/02 Drop Great message about Vietnam 5 stars
11/21/02 Mason Scorcese=genius 5 stars
11/15/02 COCK one of de niro's best flims 5 stars
10/19/02 cara salmeri the one instance in a movie where society viewed the two wrongs to make a right. 4 stars
10/10/02 LIAM JACKSON Violent. Disturbing.Thought-Provoking.This movie is fucking brilliant.De Niro Rules!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/16/02 The Conscience Objector A Great Classic American Film, That Will Never Be Forgotten 5 stars
5/25/02 Charles Tatum Too trite, until finale 3 stars
5/19/02 Edwin Menguin Cum on the backseat, only in America! 5 stars
5/15/02 Danielle Ophelia Deeply textured...dark, yet luminous. 5 stars
4/19/02 Mr. T Classic, Full of Richness and Warmth 5 stars
2/22/02 Sarah Perbes I luf lesbo films, it makes me so very horny 5 stars
2/07/02 christine conzo the best movie of the 70's 5 stars
2/01/02 Alex Moir Hey Erik, maybe we should hook up sometime! You can do me like your dog anytime! 5 stars
2/01/02 Erik Martinez Deniro is 1 fine piece of ass here, I wana bend him over and do him like i do my dog 5 stars
1/23/02 Justin C Favorite movie of all time, got me into 70's cinema, bobby deniro, an other chain reactions 5 stars
12/03/01 xler8lee@hotmail.com Portrayal of NY / city life & mentality such an environment can produce brilliantly. 5 stars
12/02/01 travis r. sorensen the best film of the 70's and no i'm not forgetting the godfather 5 stars
11/24/01 Andrew Carden Wondefully Done, Great Plot, and Excellent Performances. 5 stars
11/14/01 Zizzerzazzerzuzz This movie will mess with your mind, assuming you have one. 5 stars
10/21/01 Jodie is one hot lesbo! Did Jodie Foster crave pussy when she made this? Or did this pre-date that? 5 stars
9/23/01 Larry Smith "You talking to me? You talking to me?" 5 stars
7/03/01 King of Bros It's alright, but not worth the kleenex that film students use. 3 stars
7/03/01 Boomshanka to the guy below this, you were watching a 70's indie flick, you tool. 5 stars
7/03/01 Obi Wan Huh??? I felt like I was watching a indie 70s flick. Sorry but not my cup-a-tea. 3 stars
6/23/01 erik the movieman A great movie - but not my favorite Scorsese 4 stars
6/15/01 zombie awesome! i hate the score though 5 stars
6/10/01 Rick One of the best movies ever 5 stars
5/28/01 Edward Shandis Broke ground, but it's not a masterpiece 4 stars
5/21/01 Monster W. Kung Scorsese's best, it's a disturbing masterpiece about society, loneliness, and alienation. 5 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L Overrated ... not exactly a classic... broke some ground though 4 stars
3/21/01 bterry Bizarre, but good. 4 stars
3/02/01 Klute Masterpiece. All sorts of excellent. 5 stars
2/18/01 Jake Way overrated just like Scorcese. Watchable but not great. 3 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog A True American Masterpiece!!! Scorsese is god. 5 stars
2/01/01 jordan genius 5 stars
1/12/01 Skip Scorsese, De Niro, Schrader, Keitel, & Foster all deserved Oscars for this one. Masterpiece 5 stars
12/17/00 Doug Dogg Scorsese is a fuckin' genius, he pulls of some sickeningly wicked shots off, hooray! 5 stars
12/03/00 vitamin_D visual jazz - the score and rhythms of dialogue are enough to make me swoon 5 stars
11/10/00 bruno deniro is great (you looking at me) 5 stars
11/03/00 Cristopher Revilla shocking ending, masterful!!!! 5 stars
9/20/00 Jeff Scorsese's best film, De Niro's best performance. 5 stars
7/31/00 bob knob slob some fuckin good shit 5 stars
7/20/00 Joel Craig Never before has a movie been so edgy and disturbing. 5 stars
7/07/00 DAVID BEST DAMN MOVIE IVE EVER SEEN!!!!! 5 stars
5/30/00 Zatoichi Jones Scorcese is a god. DeNiro is a god. This is filmmaking at it's best. 5 stars
4/15/00 Gremlin Oh yeah!...kick ass movie. 5 stars
4/03/00 PJ A FUCKING MASTERPIECE- NO ARGUMENT WILL EVER DENY IT, IT HAS YET TO BE ARGUED AGAINST IT 5 stars
3/22/00 Booyah! Just incredible. A landmark. 5 stars
3/01/00 Mic A look at the underworld of America. Excellent bar the ending. 4 stars
2/12/00 Skye Chapman the stuff of legends 5 stars
11/26/99 Matt Henderson Superb exploration of post-Vietnam American ideology, media, violence. Scorsese rules! 5 stars
11/17/99 perpetual loser harvey keitel as a pimp. gotta love this flick. 5 stars
10/22/99 Surinder Travis Bickle Singh Bob at his best, a masterpiece and the best film of the 70's! 5 stars
9/08/99 Elijah Very well worth the look. 4 stars
8/10/99 Ted Wetzel A fascinating look into the mind of a lonely and slightly disturbed (but sympathetic) man. 5 stars
7/28/99 Matthew Bartley Sometimes they are as good as they say 5 stars
7/20/99 Wade Walsh It draws you in because you are not Travis Bickle, but can relate to his madness. 5 stars
7/17/99 soccer_mum Are you looking at me?!?!? Classic DeNiro....See it...more than once! 5 stars
7/14/99 Marshy Taxi! Arrrrggghhh! (dies). Seriously, this is classic and shouldn't be missed. 5 stars
7/06/99 The Bomb 69 the first half was slow but with an ending like that it was worth it 5 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg Great portrait of an insane lunatic. I especially like Scorsese's cameo. 4 stars
6/17/99 Vick Di Brecci Hey look! Another Fucking Awesome! 5 stars
4/19/99 jimmy jam A young Jodi - pretty skanky. Good film though 5 stars
3/06/99 Meepos A repeat viewer for time eternal. Will always be on another level. 5 stars
2/09/99 Bob, Lord of Evil This is DeNiro's movie. Well, this and Raging Bull... Oh and Awakenings!!! 5 stars
11/28/98 Mr.Pink One of Scorsesse's best films!! 5 stars
11/25/98 Fred Everything about this movie rocks!! I can watch it anytime, anywhere!! 5 stars
11/21/98 little jerry Greatest example of interior acting I've ever seen.De Niro's best. 5 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob A brutally insightful film, expertly crafted and unflinchingly excellent! 5 stars
10/19/98 Kwyjibo Scorcese and Schrader were a great team. A seriously brutal awesome movie. 5 stars
9/15/98 Ben A classic movie which these days are few and far between 5 stars
9/04/98 pooky the bald The ending made me nauseous. But the film was great. DeNiro rocks. 4 stars
9/04/98 Badass Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/30/98 Mister Whoopee Not a hole to poke in this classic. It's up and down fucking awesome. 5 stars
8/29/98 Johny DeNiro's preformance is not to be forgotten 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Just classic. The quintessential film for angry young men. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Feb-1976 (R)
  DVD: 15-Jun-1999

UK
  N/A (18)

Australia
  10-Jun-1976 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast