More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.55

Awesome: 23.19%
Worth A Look34.78%
Average: 18.84%
Pretty Bad: 20.29%
Total Crap: 2.9%

4 reviews, 45 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Birdcage, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"See it for Hank Azaria if for no other reason."
3 stars

Gay = funny. No no no. Hank Azaria in hot pants and a wig = funny.

You have to be in the right mindset to enjoy this movie. It's silly and simple. Robin is over the top. Lane is way over that. So if you're in the mood for some ridiculous gay antics, which are however, not too racy, then see this. I for one say, "how can you have a gay club owner and his cross dressing companion trying to pass as straight and still stay this tame? But hey, it's still entertaining. Somewhat.

The story is. Robin Williams and Nathan Lane are a gay couple. Robin runs the club; Nathan is the main drag queen. Robin has a son who is in love with Ally McBeal, the senator's daughter. The senator is Gene Hackman. I know. Weirdass casting on that one, but whatever, he's got bills, I'm sure. The son asks Robin to pretend to be straight because the senator is a conservative bastard, and he wants to marry Ally McBeal. So Robin anyways, because Nathan Lane is neurotic, he ends up trying to pass as the mother. Hilarity ensues.

A lot of this movie really doesn't work. Too much fluff, not enough substance. Basically, it's got weak characters on a weak premise. And the comedy is as tame as you can possibly be when dealing with drag queens. And really, that's stupid. Drag Queen comedy warrants totally wild, sexually driven comedy. It just does. Anything more tame just comes off as weak.

Too silly, yet not crazy enough. The acting was decent. But I don't think the actors had much to work with. However, it should be pointed out that Hank Azaria takes a tiny role and makes it GREAT. Very memorable. Yay Hank.

3 sporks. This movie is THE definition of average. Not bad, but not good.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=527&reviewer=6
originally posted: 10/21/98 04:56:24
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/18/14 Anthony Barker My favorite comedy of all-time! 5 stars
12/28/09 Dane Youssef All the actors sparkle. Firey, tawdry, spicy, sultry, jagged, wicked and bitchy. 4 stars
8/02/09 Samantha Pruitt really great movie, no matter how many times i see it, it's funny! 5 stars
3/16/08 Lala Enh. the brilliant LA CAGE dumbed down, de-sexed...AKA made palatable for the str8 masses. 3 stars
1/19/08 Pamela White williams pulls off the gay role funny 5 stars
7/08/07 Stacy It's very funny, Nathan Lane is great and Robin Williams controls himself. 4 stars
8/30/06 Sepi53 not great but bad at all 3 stars
7/14/06 David Cohen Hilarious 5 stars
2/27/06 Cho Momma! This movie was awesome. Chris Parry really was off the mark here. So Deal with it! 5 stars
10/11/05 Becca Excellent Movie! Speaks the truth! 5 stars
9/24/05 playa hata taylor fladgate, your diseased mother sucks nigger dicks in hell. DIE FAGGOT. 1 stars
9/10/05 Taylor Fladgate "Chris Parry" can go screw himself. This is a classic comedy. 5 stars
6/14/05 Indrid Cold A fairly limp, one joke movie. 3 stars
9/14/04 SF Fuck the review! This was a funny film with great allround performances 5 stars
7/04/04 JimmyC Great Movie 5 stars
5/05/04 John funny and actually comes close at times to the unbeatable original 5 stars
12/01/03 *A Monotonous Creton Who Loves Tom Hulce* i luv Hackman+Williams!! Lane is hilarious!! Flockhart must die!!!!!! 4 stars
2/08/03 Wolf Loved it - LOL. Worth the rental. 5 stars
2/08/03 Jack Sommersby Williams is refreshingly restrained in this too-tasteful remake. 2 stars
2/03/03 Richard Williams and Hackman are solid, as is Weist. Lane and Azaria are outstanding! 4 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Lane steals this movie, which is a clone, not a remake, of the original 4 stars
8/04/02 KMG THE SCARY THING IS ROBIN DIDN'T KNOW HE WAS FILMING A MOVIE 3 stars
7/10/02 Bada Bing Crosby Best moments-'I call it home because you're there', and Agador/Spartacus by Hank Azaria 4 stars
6/20/02 y0rt Funny stuffs. 5 stars
1/25/02 Monster W. Kung Please get the original. It's better in every conceivable way. 2 stars
10/21/01 Andrew Carden A Bad Rip-Off Of "Mrs. Doubtfire" That Basically Has No Laughs and A Dull Script. 2 stars
9/21/01 Chris it was pretty good. it can be gay and good too. what's the deal with that train of thoug 4 stars
9/04/01 Butterbean Hank Azaria was great! Not a bad movie at all 4 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa It's alright, but not as funny as I was told. It was still a little funny, though. 3 stars
5/21/01 balle sex 5 stars
5/03/01 BrainPan Once again proving our theory that gays are hilarious. 4 stars
2/16/01 Jake Not funny! Waste of fine cast. Williams at his worst 2 stars
3/11/00 David Rogers It was funny, but not that funny. But one of Robin's best. 4 stars
3/07/00 J. Alán Blankenship One of the funniest movies of all time... 5 stars
2/25/00 Bozo Gay man, as presented by Hallmark. Hank Azaria is best as Aggador/Spartacus 3 stars
2/16/00 Kyle Broflovski Drag-lite--i.e. Inoffensive to the more conservative set. Very funny. 4 stars
2/07/00 Lame-Oh saw this on TV, and all I saw were guys wearing dresses... yuck! 2 stars
4/20/99 jimmy jam FUNNY ASS MOVIE!!! 5 stars
11/25/98 Mr.Pink Word-for-word remake of original, not interesting 2 stars
10/07/98 Maegs I have always been a Nathan Lane fan, now is no exception 4 stars
9/09/98 Johny I didn't laugh at all. Maybe I expected more. 1 stars
8/26/98 Pete Pssst. I think Nathan Lane might be gay. Don't tell anyone. Alright flick. 3 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress I thought this movie was fucking hysterical 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball I'm sure the south would find this funny. But I have no idea why. 2 stars
8/23/98 {{{OZ}}} Men wearing dresses. BAHAHA. Not nearly as good as Priscilla: Queen Of The Desert. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Mar-1996 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast