More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.33

Awesome: 8.7%
Worth A Look: 21.74%
Average: 10.14%
Pretty Bad: 13.04%
Total Crap46.38%

4 reviews, 45 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Axe Giant: The Wrath of Paul Bunyan by Charles Tatum

Master Builder, A by Jay Seaver

Monsterz by Jay Seaver

Ejecta by Jay Seaver

Desert, The by Jay Seaver

Magic in the Moonlight by Daniel Kelly

But Always by Jay Seaver

Finding Fanny by Jay Seaver

Real by Jay Seaver

Hunter X Hunter: The Last Mission by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Hellraiser: Bloodline
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Just..........stop. Please."
1 stars

By the fourth sequel in a horror series, you've pretty much just descended into "unwitting self parody". What started out as a strong, dark and bloody series has now devolved to something to be laughed at and basically ignored.

The first Hellraiser was groovy. Undead and skinless creatures parading alongside Pinhead and his minions, with one nasty BITCH who slaughters horny men for their blood. The second (Hellbound) was basically a retread, although the gore quotient was still respectably high and it was pretty stylish. The third (Hell on Earth) was showing signs of wear, although it offered enough nasty shit to keep you from kicking the TV.

Now. Number Four. Straight to video. Directed by Alan Smithee. It takes place...in...outer space. What the HELL were they thinking?

"Hey, our option is almost up on this Clive Barker thingie. What to do? We have any sets left over from Alien Ripoff 3? Cool. Call that Pinhead actor and here's a napkin for the script. I want to see Hellraiser 4 in video stores in 4 months!"

Every word I report on this movie seems like two more than it deserves. Come to think of it, that previous sentence was infinitely more clever than a review of Hellraiser 4 deserves, but there you have it.

The gore quotient is meager, yet it's easily overweighed by the sheer moronicness of the story. (Yeah, I made up the word 'moronicness'. It's that bad of a movie, OK?) The plot is meant to be a Creepshow-type of thing with several stupid short stories instead of one looooong really stupid story. Suffice to say that either way, this movie is like watching a pile of dog shit on the carpet: It's boring and it will make you angry that it's even there.

The series deserved a lot better than this, but I guess it's a lot easier to churn out a sloppy sequel-product than to actually do something of quality. I pray Pinhead gets a better treatment in his next movie, which I think should take place in underwater Atlantis, and it should be a muscial.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=528&reviewer=128
originally posted: 05/17/00 22:45:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/12/11 UknowJACK Terrible innacurate review. HR45 wasn't direct to video. 3 stars
3/01/08 Ivana Mann That Toymaker guy is the suckiest excuse for an actor I've ever seen. Ruins the movie! 1 stars
2/11/07 JM Synth Potential is wasted, but not awful 3 stars
10/09/06 K.Sear A wicked suck-fest in space. 1 stars
10/04/06 Sugarfoot Really bad sequel, without the hint of imagination that made 1-3 so enjoyable. 1 stars
9/21/06 PiNSkull hey it was gory...and thats the point of any hellraiser movie!! 4 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist Probably almost as good as the orignal, it was'nt bad at all!!!! 4 stars
10/03/05 Biz-e The "best" since the 1st...great storyline, mediocre execution...too bad. 3 stars
9/30/05 ShabbaRanks "Do I look like someone who cares what God thinks?!?!?!" Best Pinhead line EVER!!!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
9/29/05 Jakub Would have been the best of the series if it didn't look so CHEAP!!!! 3 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. Not Jason's "CHCHCHCHAHAHAHA" NOT Freddy's glove but, Micahel Myer's knife!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ A bit poor but... The Chatter-Beast Cenobite & Pinhead kept it alive!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge Cenobites in space? Wasn't that "Event Horizion" This movie is caca. 2 stars
1/31/04 Jeffery Holbrook This was a good movie 4 stars
11/02/03 American Slasher Goddess Pinhead in space. Give me a break. 1 stars
10/20/03 Josh Standlee Friggin' bloody, but very good, even though Pinhead was only in space for ten minutes! 4 stars
10/11/03 Talos Bloody brilliant...good Mythos expansion. Excellent 5 stars
8/02/03 Double G good 4 stars
8/28/02 Bob MacBryce Excellent, much better than the terrible Hellraiser 3 5 stars
7/08/02 Charles Tatum The best in the series since the first film 4 stars
4/27/02 maximal01 Retread of the story revealed in the previous films. An excuse to show mind-numbing gore. 1 stars
3/07/02 Alan Smithee This movie was so bad, that I'm surprised I actually made it through to the end. 1 stars
2/10/02 B. Kwon The Movie is better than Expected, worth a look for a hellraiser fan................. 4 stars
1/28/02 Andrew Carden Man...This Series Should Have Gone After #2. 1 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Kevin Yagher, Joe Chapelle and the infamous Alan Smithee couldn't save this cluster-fuck 1 stars
8/02/01 Elgyn The idea was decent - but MAN did they screw it up! 1 stars
5/30/01 Thrillhouse Jessica, your rating shows that you're a ass, I agree with TAJ's review, this movie sucks 1 stars
5/27/01 Jessica Only Idiots Don't Understand This Great Masterpiece! 5 stars
5/16/01 Rampage I'm not in the Halloween spirit... I want to destroy Hollywood... this movie sucked arse 1 stars
2/21/01 larry mora this movie kicked ass 5 stars
1/19/01 Pinhead Kick @ss movie!!!!! 5 stars
1/12/01 Liam Butler fantastic,brilliant 5 stars
7/30/00 Digitalus Somebody fire Alan Smithee, for Christ's sake! 1 stars
6/13/00 DAVID I can admit that this movie wasnt good but it had its moments!!! 3 stars
10/30/99 Elgyn6655321 Another example of an interesting idea turned into an awful film. 2 stars
10/24/99 Lame-Oh Ideal title for H-R 4: Who gives a flying crap? 1 stars
10/04/99 Suckit bullshit 1 stars
5/25/99 Ah Dooey Die Pinhead, die. This genre is finished. No more Hellraiser movies. 1 stars
2/25/99 Viral Messiah hoping to see Pinhead die... sucks all dick 1 stars
1/15/99 Joe Mama sad what they did to this good idea...i'm waiting to see Pinhead dance in H-R 4. 2 stars
12/15/98 Binky Piece of crap. 1 stars
11/29/98 Q-Meister Not even close to 1 or 2, but it beat the hell out of 3 3 stars
11/18/98 MinxxDaShorty Ohhhhh ,, I'm still shakin 1 stars
11/04/98 Bad Kosh Hey, I'm the hellraiser around in my family, in other words, SUCK MY BALLS, GODDAMIT! 1 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress NO! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Mar-1996 (R)
  DVD: 19-Apr-2011

UK
  02-May-1997 (18)

Australia
  14-Apr-1997 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast