More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.68

Awesome35.29%
Worth A Look: 29.41%
Average: 5.88%
Pretty Bad: 26.47%
Total Crap: 2.94%

1 review, 28 user ratings



Pornographer, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"One more reason to skip to in-store, direct-to-video specials."
2 stars

One more reason to avoid those direct-to-video, or in-store-only specials at Hollywood Video or Blockbuster: "The Pornographer."

After being impressed by Miriam Parris' small role last year in "What's Cooking?," IMDb listed her as a principle character in this, and I decided to check it out, despite the lack of promise from the synopsis or title. The main focus was on a twentysomething paralegal (Michael DeGood) who lives in a world of fantastical pornography rather than the real world. ("All these rules and protocol --I'm just not good at it," or "I saw a world where girls did whatever you wanted. They wouldn't laugh at you or walk away from you, but lately something wasn't right. I wanted something different, I wanted something more.") After some complaints at a local porno store ("It was out-of-focus, with bad lighting, and the women are acting") he takes a tip and starts making his own. The real interest and source of material could have been to form the movie around a court case where the young sweet thing/discovery he coaxes into having sex with on camera (newcomer Katheryn Cain) says she was drugged so as not to have the tape distributed, instead of trying to encompass the whole gamut of the porn underworld. Needless to say that if Hollywood Video was carrying this, there is not much sex (mostly doctored breasts), but the movie is corny, silly, laughable and a waste. If it wasn't a large enough disappointment for Parris' part to turn out to a total of one scene, roughly two whole minutes on-screen, plus the flash of her in a montage and a glimpsing long shot near the end, the second-most disappointment was that the only other person who I wouldn't have minded seeing nude --Cain, did nothing of the sort-- somewhat of an irony or abstinence to follow along with the message contained within her role. Despite her warm grin, she isn't much of an actor, nor is anyone in the movie, especially the terribly miscast and over-acted DeGood. Keeping it all within the crew, Cain also co-produces, supporting actor Craig Wasson is associate-producer, and Doug Atchison makes his directorial debut, along with writing, editing and producing.

Final Verdict: D.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5306&reviewer=172
originally posted: 05/05/01 08:38:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/01/12 stephen e hansen it was well acted, reminded me of life in palo alto 4 stars
1/01/06 Cioila Florin Is good 5 stars
1/22/04 Erik what people do for money just to regret it later (real life YES) this movie is very true!! 5 stars
10/20/03 markova of nova it's a very realistic film.i hope to see a lot of skin from michael degood 4 stars
12/03/02 Joe C. The movie is decent, Michael DeGood is breathtaking-more bare chest shots of him were neede 4 stars
10/26/02 joey atwater wish they made more movies like that 5 stars
9/19/02 azian exenkei the movie is kool , katheryn is hot 5 stars
9/11/02 dallas what a fucking joke who on earth would take this seriously? 1 stars
9/04/02 Stuart Donald An interesting film with a terriffic performance by actress Katheryn Cain. 4 stars
9/01/02 mark bennett 4 stars
5/26/02 bob the movie really sucked, cain is hot and that almost saved it. 2 stars
4/02/02 Larry Kenny Best indie I've seen 5 stars
3/16/02 Denise not bad 4 stars
2/03/02 Adrian The film got my attention, held it, then made me think. Oh yeah, Katheryn Cain was.. WOW! 5 stars
1/31/02 Nick Real Life, Cain and DeGood were perfect, Rent It. 5 stars
1/25/02 Shawn Interesting Plot, Made you think about the way we view women. 5 stars
1/08/02 Chris Leehey Give the guy a break, it was his first film. 4 stars
1/05/02 John and Don It was GREAT! What are you talking about? 4 stars
11/28/01 FrankieX Katheryn Cain's part was so promising but too small. Could've been great focusing on her! 4 stars
10/01/01 Mike seen it all before 2 stars
9/24/01 O.D. The movie is trash, but Ketheryn Cain, YOW!! @_@ 5 stars
9/23/01 Robert Meier Good flick for late night watching. B+ 4 stars
9/23/01 Larry Smith Ms. Cain's "story" and involvement should have been the paramount story 3 stars
9/23/01 Dave Katheryn Cain is a great actress! She deserves better scripts! 5 stars
9/13/01 The Boy In The Designer Bubble I liked Michael DeGood, in the right role he could be a breakout star. 3 stars
6/29/01 Tina Woo Great acting -- terrific writing. RENT THIS MOVIE. 5 stars
6/05/01 Robert Wise Good have used a better script and better actors 2 stars
5/24/01 Brian Kelper A consummately made independent film which succeeds at all levels. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Mar-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A (R)


Directed by
  Doug Atchison

Written by
  Doug Atchison

Cast
  Michael DeGood
  Craig Wasson
  Monique Parent
  Katheryn Cain
  Rena Riffel
  Todd Feder



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast