More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.78

Awesome: 16.67%
Worth A Look: 18.18%
Average: 13.64%
Pretty Bad29.55%
Total Crap: 21.97%

5 reviews, 102 user ratings



Swordfish
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by the Grinch

"Mmmhmm. So come out with the Matrix 2 already!"
2 stars

Because if I have to endure one more movie that's so lacking in originality that it has to ripoff the Wachowski brothers and every HongKong action director listed in the Chinatown phonebook, I'M gonna take hostages!

Swordfish starts out alright enough. The film opens with Travolta talking about why Hollywood sucks, something we can all agree upon here. He pontificates on the weak points of Pacino's "Dog Day Summer" and claims that Hollywood doesn't have the balls to make realistic action movies. Well, little did I know that this one scene is foreshadowing...who would've thought 'Swordfish' would become the perfect example of Travolta's argument?

Mr. Babarino plays some rich terrorist dude, with some phenomenally bad name that only the writer of 'End of Days' or a bad Harlequin romance novelist could've come up with. He's a cunning terrorist who rips off banks to fund his anti-terrorist terrorist activities. Confused yet? Oh yeah, he hangs out in rockin clubs that he owns, because everyone knows that political extremists love loud danceclubs, and hey, how can you sell a soundtrack if you don't have at least one club scene to display shitty, derivitive techno music that'll inevitably be featured on the "hit" soundtrack? He makes Alan Rickman's character from Die Hard look more dimensional than Shakespeare's MacBeth. Oh, and he blows alot of shit up. He blows shit up real good. Travolta sideswipes a kid on a tricycle, the tricycle
hits a wall and explodes magnificently...and Travolta's post Pulp-Fiction hair doesn't so much as get spattered with adolescent viscera. Travolta punches a guy out and the guy's head explodes, David Cronenberg-style, not Peter North-style.
In other words, alot of stuff bursts into flames, bodies pile up,
machineguns go ratatatat, and the recycling center is kept busy for years sweeping the streets free of casings.

The premise of a secret agency bent on fighting extremism with extremism is interesting, but the potential is seriously handicapped by the sheer unoriginality of the director and cinematographer. Even Peter Hyams would be ashamed. And is anyone else as sick as I am of the freeze-frame-sweep around action shot that's been copied by every film since the Matrix and that stupid Gap ad used it? The techno-hacker scenes are some of the worst I've ever seen...apparently hacking into the defense department is like playing a round of Doom. Johnny Mnemonic eat your heart out.

It's not the actors' faults, the script is just stupid and tries to fake complexity by throwing in a bunch of lame plot "twists" and sub-plots. Don Cheadle somehow manages to shine in this, and
John Travolta's wig puts in a good performance as well.

Blah. Wait for video. It's ok for stupid action fare, but I guess I'm just bitter because I got sucked in by the "from the makers of the Matrix.." line in the trailer. HEY WARNER BROS, just because this film has the same producer as the Matrix does NOT make it "from the makers of the Matrix!"!! What's next? "From the Gaffers who brought you the lighting in 'American Beauty' comes..." "From the best grip who brought us the props in 'Saving Private Ryan'"...

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5326&reviewer=156
originally posted: 06/19/01 10:33:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/15/14 PAUL SHORTT LOUD AND FAR-FETCHED 2 stars
5/03/14 NG Good god I hate this movie! 1 stars
12/24/09 Jeff Wilder Great effects. But the story makes no sesnse whatsoever. 3 stars
7/04/09 George (DUKE) Halle Booby...worth the wait...John plays mean WELL 3 stars
3/11/08 David Graham slick, good action but confusing in places 4 stars
2/12/07 johnnyfog Watch it with the sound off. It's much better 2 stars
3/31/06 Anthony Feor John Travolta delights us with another Insanly stupid film 2 stars
10/26/05 tony horrid! This movie blows!! 1 stars
8/28/05 Terry 10 star! 5 stars
8/16/05 ES Not even hugh and forty pounds of plastic could save this compost heap 2 stars
5/28/05 tony Great action scenes. especially the beginning. but very slow and boring 2 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams not even halle's cans can save this train wreck 1 stars
11/21/04 Werner Brock It's a ood old action movie, with a fast pace, nice girl (Halle). I loved it. 4 stars
9/14/04 whatevr Memo to self: gouge out eyes 1 stars
7/08/04 Denise Duspiva Hugh Jackman and Travolta were good 4 stars
5/29/04 matt pretty good 2 begin with but lost interest 3 stars
5/24/04 Butterbean Nice opening. A few good action sequence. But I lost interest later on. 2 stars
5/20/04 Joker Nice wine selections by Hugh Jackman... 2 stars
4/15/04 Charlene Javier Not as bad as expected. 3 stars
4/15/04 rojo Don't miss the beginning scene, Travolita is great. 5 stars
4/11/04 Wildcarde1 if it wasnt for halle's boobs this movie would fade forever from the world, just bad movie 1 stars
4/09/04 y2mckay Only memorable scenes - the first ten minutes, and yes, HALLE BERRY'S TITTIES! 2 stars
4/06/04 Mr X This movie gets -4 stars from me 1 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern WOO! Vinnie Jones!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/09/04 Whatevr Took one year off my life 1 stars
12/13/03 R.W. Welch Low credibility stuff but at least it moves right along. 2 stars
5/28/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back Mo'Fos!!!) OK, the bus thing was fake, but otherwise, good cast/writing/directing & other good action! 4 stars
5/01/03 Mr. Do average movie. 3 stars
4/18/03 Vimmy mardousch cool explosions man...joking. it sucks like a dyson 1 stars
2/21/03 Monster W. Kung Hollow, dim-witted and just plain boring. 2 stars
12/31/02 Jack Sommersby Incomprehensible, 2-fisted macho crap. 1 stars
9/02/02 AshFan Hugh Jackman is a good action star, and the flying bus kicks boo-tay! 4 stars
8/28/02 Bob MacBryce What a complete load of bollocks. Is there anything a little realistic in this movie ? 1 stars
7/31/02 alisa i liked it i thought that it was pretty rad. i really like the explosion in the begining. 5 stars
7/05/02 KMG RAVOLTA 2 stars
5/21/02 Karen Moore One more reason to wish I had a time machine to keep John Travolta'a parents from meeting. 1 stars
5/21/02 Jamie I loved it, nice action, good story/ hugh Jackman is gorgeous and a very good actor!!! 5 stars
4/27/02 kati tollely in love with it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/17/02 Connoisseur I hate this movie it's ugly and it feels like every other fucking action movie ever made 1 stars
3/02/02 Chowie very average 3 stars
3/02/02 Andrew Carden Dated Action Film. Travolta Does The Movie Some Good, but Can't Save It's Goofy Plot. 2 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee While not completely a turd, only Halle Barry's cool and sexy performance is worth seeing. 2 stars
2/27/02 Brie I am actually using this film for an English asessment on image.....I enjoyed it! 5 stars
2/20/02 Frances I......haven't seen this movie 5 stars
1/14/02 Flick Chick a guy movie that i actually liked. 4 stars
1/13/02 0er0 Unaided Brute Forcing a Government Web interface in 60 seconds ? err yeah right 1 stars
1/04/02 KMG Did I add that I took a really long shit after seeing Ravolta? 1 stars
12/23/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is another favourite of mine it has everything from guns to women!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/21/01 Mister Char I felt that the movie delivered an interesting message to terrorists. Lots of explosions! 5 stars
12/12/01 Jimmy James omg, what drivel 1 stars
12/10/01 The Bomb 69 enjoyable though predictable 4 stars
11/27/01 KMG Travolta is fucking pathetic 2 stars
11/04/01 Lucky This movie Kicks ASS!!!!!!!!!! U Betta Believe Dat 5 stars
11/02/01 Toby Andrews You losers, This film PROVES beyond a doubt, that Travolta is todays CARY GRANT. 5 stars
10/01/01 Phoenix The plot doesn't make a lot of sense but it delivers what it promises, mindless action. 5 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean A run-of-the-mill action flick with Travolta looking like shit. 3 stars
8/19/01 Roy Smith Was Travolta trying? And a telegraphed ending but good action. 3 stars
8/01/01 TLsmooth I got in free and it wasn't even worth it. Travolta, watch Pulp and remember the glory days 1 stars
7/31/01 Greg S Ok, a little bit predictable but enjoyable 3 stars
7/24/01 Mike Munro More lowest common denominator junk. Only a retard could enjoy this movie. 1 stars
7/23/01 Simeon Briggs Seeing as the rest 2001's blockbusters have sucked so far, this is refreshing 4 stars
7/16/01 christopher reid the critics should relax and not hone in on all the bad things, i enjoyed this movie 4 stars
7/15/01 Koitus Pleasantly surprised .. very good "summer movie" fare! 4 stars
7/06/01 Shawn OK, 4 stars
7/03/01 bront crap, over hyped film, that borrows too much from other films 2 stars
7/02/01 Michael Stunning! The explosions were good too 4 stars
7/01/01 AsTrOboY Great action film, with a nice twist. Travolta is still great. 5 stars
7/01/01 denise link it"s an action film,just sit back and enjoy. people are being to critical 5 stars
7/01/01 chels an excellent movie with hugh jackman looking spunky and john travolta acting good as always 5 stars
7/01/01 Sam Moss Blows, Licks, & Sucks 1 stars
7/01/01 Scott Sucks Big Time 1 stars
7/01/01 Nicole I liked this movie, but it didn't amke a lasting impression on me 4 stars
7/01/01 Filmmy Too much hype for such a disappointing story. Did enjoy Hugh Jackman and Don Cheadle. 2 stars
6/30/01 The Boy in the Plastic Bubble Possibly the worst movie I've seen in 5 years. Not even entertaining! 1 stars
6/29/01 Friss Travolta needs to take a LONG sabbatical and rethink if he should be in movies..... 2 stars
6/29/01 Gizzy Action-packed, tense, the best of its kind in quite a while. Great summer blockbuster. 4 stars
6/28/01 soontobefree bleckuhewh 1 stars
6/28/01 bulletstopper Saw it twice 5 stars
6/27/01 sexx ed I think the opening sequence alone almost makes up for the films shortcomings. 4 stars
6/27/01 David O. Conrad lotta things blown up, then hallie's tits, more things blown up - movie in a nutshell 2 stars
6/25/01 Vanessa HJ was NOT TYPING....otherwise ok 3 stars
6/23/01 betty boop typical guy movie - but i managed to stay awake thru the whole thing, so i gave it 4 stars 4 stars
6/21/01 M J Knowlton Travolta & Berry were wonderful and ditto for the movie. 5 stars
6/21/01 James hamilton didn't mind it 3 stars
6/20/01 Doggy Travolta's best since Battlefield Earth 1 stars
6/20/01 Lois Got dizzy watching opening scene, but if you close your eyes the dialogue is incredible 4 stars
6/19/01 Rampage The pinnacle of what has been wrong with Hollywood: lotsa money, no skill 2 stars
6/17/01 LdyArdRhi Technoignorance at its worst...but Halle's breasts were magnificent. Travolta was Terlish. 2 stars
6/15/01 Super Nintendo Chalmers typical action-packed movie, better than Under Siege 2: Dark Territory 4 stars
6/14/01 Korey Calmettes Loved It 5 stars
6/14/01 The Fugitive This movie was as bad as the trailer to Gone in 60 Secs. Not even remotely entertaining. 1 stars
6/13/01 Crash Davis Interesting twists on good and evil, dumb computer programming montages and Hail Halle 4 stars
6/13/01 Obi Wan To watch Halle in them panties and outta her bra is worth the price of admission. 4 stars
6/12/01 cinkcool Average action flick. Fun though. 4 stars
6/12/01 malcolm Halle's boobs are worth it. not 'Memento,' of course, but still a lot of fun 4 stars
6/12/01 Mike Great Film! 5 stars
6/11/01 Thor-Leo Lots of guns, explosions, and cock-teasing, summing up to nothing 2 stars
6/11/01 XjoshX Halle Berry has nice tits. 3 stars
6/10/01 234 234 5 stars
6/10/01 fishie not too bad overall, but the technology is all hollywood and lame. 4 stars
6/09/01 AgentDS Two words: Hugh Jackman 5 stars
6/08/01 Laura Petermann J.Travolta chews up the scenery 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Jun-2001 (R)
  DVD: 01-Jun-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  28-Jun-2001


Directed by
  Dominic Sena

Written by
  Skip Woods

Cast
  John Travolta
  Hugh Jackman
  Halle Berry
  Don Cheadle
  Vinnie Jones
  Camryn Grimes



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast