More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.84

Awesome: 6.82%
Worth A Look: 29.55%
Average: 18.18%
Pretty Bad31.82%
Total Crap: 13.64%

2 reviews, 32 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Executive Decision
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Arab terrorists. How original."
2 stars

There's one good reason to see this film.

Steven Segal, poster boy for wooden acting, bites it in the first half hour. That, for me, was worth the price of admission alone.

The rest of the movie, following the demise of Segal (he gets sucked out of a jet, rather spectacularly. Rewind, watch again...), falls quickly into would-be action movie formula. Terrorists. Nerve gas. Plane. Certain doom, unless a ragtag group of mercenaries/special forces people (are there any other covert teams that AREN'T ragtag?) can save us all.

In short, Arab terrorists have nerve gas on a plane that's going to cross into U.S. airspace and cause damage unless the aformentioned ragtags can stop him. They sneak onto the plane (as inconspicuously as a group of heavily armed commandos can, I guess) and try to disarm the nerve gas bomb thing and take out the terrorists.

Nothing new here, although Kurt Russell turns in a decent performance, considering how little he has to work with. The always dependable, late J.T. Walsh is only moderately smarmy. Halle Berry is fine, although working next to Marla Maples makes her look like the greatest actress in the world. OK turns from John Leguizamo and Oliver "My Hair Is Really Greasy" Platt.

I've seen worse action films. But they all don't have Segal dying.

See it to watch Segal die. Then go rent True Lies or something.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=533&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/01/98 13:47:27
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/10/11 matthew thompson dalldorf Very slow for an "action" movie 2 stars
4/09/10 PAUL SHORTT INVENTIVE THRILLER WITH SHARP ACTION SCENES 3 stars
2/05/10 Jeff Wilder Some unpredictable moments. But undone by cliches and too much flag waving. 2 stars
12/18/08 Sugarfoot Awful, no matter what people say. 1 stars
2/28/07 action movie fan very good film=seagal and kurt russel a great team 4 stars
1/18/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 3 stars
5/14/06 Jim More of a Mission Impossible sneak-n-peak than an outright actioner. 4 stars
3/11/06 Dillon So good you won't realize it's basically all set-up for the end. 4 stars
2/13/06 Anthony On a normal day, this is good 3 stars
9/23/05 darick Good acting, but a bit cliched. Still intense though. 4 stars
8/31/05 ES Seagal dies, Kurt saves the day, it's all good 4 stars
8/19/05 Indrid Cold A forgetten near-gem. Thoroughly exciting, especially at the end. 4 stars
7/31/05 sweetgrrl1972 Kept me interested from beginning to end. 4 stars
5/02/05 your worst goddamn nightmare You know, I liked this. I kept me in suspense. Oh, and by the way, terrorists are idiots.. 4 stars
2/27/05 Dr. Lecter surprisingly suspenseful 4 stars
8/20/04 lucas 5 stars to Mr. Seagal 4 stars
11/27/03 John solid action film with an intriguing plot 4 stars
7/28/03 Stefan Halka This film lagged on for too long and was disapointing that there was no action in the film. 3 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby A first-rate, taut, wonderfully acted (though overlong) adventure. Russell is aces. 4 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Nothing special, hate the generic title 3 stars
5/18/02 Jenny Tullwartz Tense action delivered. Oliver Platt is especially good. 5 stars
3/25/02 R.W. Welch Standard action flick with just passable acting. 3 stars
3/07/02 Marcia Lartz Novel twist - Steven Seagal in a cameo. Other players break moulds too. 5 stars
7/15/01 Rampage One of those cheesy action movies that'll piss you off 1 stars
4/05/01 Hawkeye Two... one... K... twenty-one K! Ugh, spare me. 1 stars
3/26/01 Crash Davis A completely implausible story line with the dumb ass bomb disarming scene, which wire???? 1 stars
11/29/00 Cristopher Revilla yeah, that f-117 is bigger than a goddam 747, gimme a fucking break!! This is a trash flick 1 stars
11/14/00 The EVIL Penguin good thing seagal dies; otherwise this would be a BOMBED film 4 stars
3/25/00 Richard Wright I really didn't like this film.No action to speak of,just a long slog from start to finish. 1 stars
12/09/99 Paul Excellent. An action movie that won't gross you out 5 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob 'And it's action by numbers, 1..2..3' 3 stars
8/24/98 JenniferLorraine Kurt saves the day.. again. Average storyline & predictable. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Mar-1996 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1996


Directed by
  Stuart Baird

Written by
  Jim Thomas
  John Thomas

Cast
  Kurt Russell
  Steven Seagal
  Halle Berry
  John Leguizamo
  Oliver Platt
  Joe Morton



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast