More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.48

Awesome: 23.45%
Worth A Look37.24%
Average: 19.31%
Pretty Bad: 4.14%
Total Crap: 15.86%

6 reviews, 109 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Legally Blonde
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"It's, like, just okay."
3 stars

Reese Witherspoon is, like, a highly motivated blonde who decides to prove to her boyfriend that a Marilyn can be just as smart as a Jackie, by transferring from CULA to Harvard and majoring in law.

And Barbie’s prior knowledge from her fashion degree proves useful in just about every court situation (in addition to her admission plea-video: “I feel comfortable using legal jargon in everyday situations. [A skateboarder cat-calls at her] I object!”). Whether it’s her knowledge of what males do and don’t know about Prada and other such favorable bon ton, the ingredients in a perm, or her being more clever with her contention about a sperm-donor (“Masturbatory emission is then reckless abandonment”), she far-fetchedly lends herself credibility. Of course, not in our eyes, not believably, but blondes can dream — right? One of the most curious things about “Legally Blonde” is how most of the actors in their various parts are actually playing characters closer to their own age — Witherspoon, Selma Blair, Ali Larter, Jessica Cauffiel, Matthew Davis, etc. Being acclimated to their typical teen personas, it becomes to too much of a strain to forgo their more unlikely façades for the real thing. Naturally, it doesn’t help that these “serious” college students act more immature than those I knew from high school, and the added stretch that these twentysomething actors (at least in appearance) cannot project the proper age-type of a graduate student. That’s truly a sad day when adults have no other alternative than to be kids. Even though the giggly laughs are all fun-and-game, no doubt this laugh-induced send-up is an insult and mockery to the real Harvard establishment. (“I even hired a Coppola to direct my admission video”) Surely there are those who really had to persevere their way into the university who wouldn’t find the humor in the aforementioned scenario. While at root, Witherspoon’s quest to demonstrate her worthiness is a followable enough story and a harmless enough one too, it’s the accessories that are virulent. Like the accessories she wears (including her Chihuahua) that lead to a negative perception, other, more sprawling storylines clutter up the runway, such as the big court case, the hairdresser’s love-follies, the sexual advances of her professor, etc. Without that, granted, it doesn’t leave much, but the skimpy diet was there all along. As much as Witherspoon’s shampooed blonde tries to transcend the stereotype, she often backslides along with full-fledged blondes like Cauffiel’s, into perpetuating it to the furthest extreme. This is not the result I would have expected on the second-go-round for writing team Karen McCullah Lutz and Kirsten Smith (“10 Things I Hate About You”).

With Luke Wilson, Jennifer Coolidge and a cameo by Raquel Welch. Directed by Robert Luketic.

Final Verdict: B-.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5347&reviewer=172
originally posted: 08/04/01 17:42:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/28/10 art PATHETIC!,who cares about some DUMB BLONDE!? 1 stars
4/29/10 name Great site. Keep doing., 2 stars
6/19/09 art A MOTION PICTURE THAT IS ONLY FOR JERK"S! 1 stars
12/21/08 Samantha Pruitt pretty funny, surprisingly good! 4 stars
12/06/08 PAUL SHORTT LIKEABLE FLUFFY COMEDY 3 stars
10/22/08 Shaun Wallner Silverstone is Hot!! 5 stars
11/03/07 sarah a comedy that mkes sense. loved it 5 stars
5/27/07 WalkingDisaster Hilarious without being asinine 5 stars
4/09/07 johnnyfog I was suprised how funny Reese is. Jennifer Coolidge is of course awesome 5 stars
11/24/06 sammmy love it just wish i didnt have to do an english assignment on it ....... 3 stars
5/28/06 Alexandra I loved it. I found i could relate to some of the characters too! 5 stars
2/05/06 sweetgrrl1972 Full of hackneyed stereotypes, an embarrassingly bad ending yet somehow Reese is charming 3 stars
1/03/06 cody reese is heroine of this picture, she keeps the movie together with spunk , not great 3 stars
9/27/05 Daveman Badly shot, lit and rather bland, never reaches the hilarious camp extremes of the sequal. 2 stars
9/20/05 Madeline Jensen it's the best, i love it! (but i guess i am a bit like elle 5 stars
9/01/05 holly this movie kicks butt 5 stars
8/22/05 Lozaan Steenkamp It exposes a society that stereotype certain people based upon their looks. 4 stars
6/27/05 tony good movie. I liked the plot. 4 stars
2/17/05 crandall101 like it 4 stars
9/17/04 A upton a waste of about an hour and a half, 1 stars
7/24/04 Sandy Turynowicz Must see 5 stars
7/21/04 April Gupton love it 4 stars
7/18/04 Jen C. absolutely cute cute cute!!! feel good movie 5 stars
7/17/04 legend The movie was funnier than I thought it would be but not great. 4 stars
4/04/04 kirsty matthews this has gotta be the best film ever made ! i loved it soo much i bought a hole pink wardro 5 stars
2/09/04 Whatevr The only chick flick worth watching 4 stars
2/02/04 Helen Bradley Great movie best of decade in class 5 stars
2/02/04 Jaybird This movie is total ass 1 stars
1/07/04 Pinkline Jones I'd like to see Rheese Witherspoon in a different position 5 stars
11/07/03 Greggory sucks 1 stars
11/07/03 Jenna New i hated it!!!! 1 stars
10/19/03 Hinatsu no less stupid than Charelie's Angel 2 3 stars
10/15/03 Evil Olive Gee, Ashley, wish I'd seen the ovie instead of the movie! 1 stars
9/15/03 Tiffaney funny 5 stars
8/02/03 Ashlee The ovie was really funny and good. 5 stars
7/25/03 Christine Forget about the good intentions in this movie when she wins a court case with Cosmo advice 1 stars
7/18/03 chris there must be a better way i could have wasted two hours of my life. 1 stars
7/04/03 J no idea why they made a sequel to this!!!! 1 stars
7/01/03 Kathy Ramsey Pretty nice visually; really lousy script. 3 stars
6/18/03 Andrew Callaway At hearing the jokes from this movie... not only did I not laugh... I cryed. Predicible. 1 stars
5/07/03 Ashlee The ovie was really funny and good. 5 stars
5/07/03 Joesco reese was great and carried the movie but talk about slight ! 4 stars
4/23/03 Leah reese should be put down. SLOWLY. It wasn't cute. nor Sweet. nor FUNNY. Yet it spawns a seq 1 stars
4/09/03 JL a cute movie. 4 stars
3/21/03 May Q. Horney Oh yeah? Seemed to put down some who might fell less that perfect in there (sic) lives! 1 stars
3/18/03 Gwendolyn Vasquez This movie is very inspirational to everyone who feels less than perfect in there life. 5 stars
3/02/03 karen fucking bullshit. reese couldn't pick a decent role to save her life. 1 stars
2/24/03 cheif boot knocka I wish ted bundy could get his hands on that bitch 1 stars
2/17/03 Miranda Turner Well, Ashlee, wish I'd seen the ovie instead of the movie! 1 stars
2/10/03 Reese Witherspoon I wanted to prove I'm not a real blonde, but the asshole producers wouldn't let me. 1 stars
12/18/02 Ashlee The ovie was really funny and good. 5 stars
11/06/02 Ashley Corpening DUMB blond Reese Witherspoon could shit a 12 in. turd and think it came out sideways! 1 stars
11/01/02 Erica Great movie, had me laughing all along. 4 stars
10/29/02 Cool_chickie Pretty cool movie 5 stars
10/07/02 TheOthersFan Funniest movie since "Miss Congeniality". Who could forget that final courtroom scene? 5 stars
9/27/02 Espritlibre Great comedy and chick flick! Uplifiting 5 stars
8/23/02 Danielle Ophelia Painfully pedestrian Hollywood packages, redeemed by Reese's inimitable charm. 4 stars
8/20/02 fred she is hot 5 stars
4/15/02 nmvjh,v CRAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
3/31/02 Kakararniniginjia Sinitraviwasanjofraz Reese Witherspoon of creates cheese & CSU swan holds the scent of strawberries 2 stars
2/28/02 Chronically constipated dumb blonde Reese Witherspoon Me? Shit a 12 in. turd? In my dreams! 3 stars
2/28/02 seldom scene average comedy the professor had a large left ear 3 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Cute comedy. Love those outfits and the dog! 4 stars
1/26/02 Ashley Corpening DUMB blond R. Witherspoon could shit a 12 inch turd and think it came out sideways! 1 stars
1/04/02 Butterbean Yes it's predictable, but it's also one of the best "fish-out-of-water" movies out there. 4 stars
12/30/01 sarafina I'd rather eat my young 2 stars
12/20/01 Elizabeth Great 5 stars
12/18/01 Rampage Worse! I've seen worse! 1 stars
12/17/01 The Bomb 69 eh...I've seen better, predictable plot 3 stars
12/11/01 matthew smith delightful and very very funny, Resse Witherspoon is just brilliant 4 stars
12/04/01 auroradae a foofoo movie about valley girls a must see for nobody 1 stars
12/01/01 Phoenix Very funny and cute. Reese Witherspoon has never been more appealing. 5 stars
11/25/01 viking the "feel good" movie of the year !!!! 4 stars
11/15/01 daniboy could've been better 2 stars
11/13/01 Megan it was a good movie and had some funny parts added to it 4 stars
11/03/01 moviegoer funny, lame, cute, stupid, it's it all 4 stars
10/31/01 Jim Renwick Run of the numbers Teen flick but Reese is just too good. Worth seeing 4 stars
10/29/01 P.Rodriguez Started of Crap, but got better as it progessed. I loved the "you bitch" fag scene. 4 stars
10/22/01 Diane light and fun 4 stars
10/19/01 starpulp welcome brain candy! 5 stars
9/13/01 Seb Pansarella I think it was great. It was perfect although it did teach me to be myself and change 4 no1 4 stars
8/22/01 Tzila Seewald In the begining, iwas stupid BUT in the end it's was very good movie! 4 stars
8/21/01 ThatGuy Legally accurate, but the two lawyers were the only ones in the theater that were laughing. 4 stars
8/20/01 hilary awesome 5 stars
8/20/01 FrayLo starts off sketchy, turns out to be decent, give it a chance...i did 4 stars
8/15/01 onesmartcookie Blonde Ambition 4 stars
8/13/01 coolchickkiss i loved the way she solves the case with her knowledge of hair care. 5 stars
8/13/01 TL DO not waste your time or money...my gf even hated it. 1 stars
8/12/01 CRW Reese is great! An LOL movie. 5 stars
8/11/01 Benjamin Lesbian Craptacularly good! 3 stars
8/11/01 TheFirkin Could not get by the stupidity of the characters. This is totally American humour. 2 stars
8/10/01 bobtesch@earthlink.net Enjoyed! 4 stars
8/10/01 Connie I liked it. 5 stars
8/10/01 Russell Moker Liked it a lot but viewed as a comedy farce, not the gospel truth. It's a fun movie! 4 stars
8/09/01 Merrylue Charmaine Women LOVE this movie . . . Men Don't! Hmmmmm, I wonder why?! 4 stars
8/09/01 moviegoer Cute. Witherspoon does an excellent job and the romance part of the movie was well done. 4 stars
8/09/01 pinkbutterfly79 pretty good and entertaining I left the theater with a smile 4 stars
8/06/01 cheri a must see, i have already pre-ordered it on dvd, great fun 5 stars
8/05/01 Roy Smith Surprisingly good! And Ms Witherspoon looks great as a bunny! Yowza! 4 stars
8/03/01 Catie Great! Can't wait till in comes out on DVD! 5 stars
7/30/01 toneely Reese is the best!!!!! I loved this movie!!! 5 stars
7/28/01 Manlee Mann Guys can love this frothy post-teen comedy just as much as girls. I love you, Reese! 5 stars
7/27/01 sdfk I was told it exceeded its genre and it certainly did upon viewing. Go Reese. 4 stars
7/25/01 Timo I was pleasantly surprised 4 stars
7/24/01 Bash Good, light summer commedy 4 stars
7/23/01 Kristen This movie was incredibly awesome and it's my theme movie. Hooray for blondes & pink! 5 stars
7/22/01 Geebo My friend said it was a chick flick. It was, but I left the theater with a smile. 5 stars
7/20/01 Ben its damn good 4 stars
7/15/01 Unanon Not anywhere near as dull as I'd expected! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Jul-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Oct-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast