More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.48

Awesome: 23.45%
Worth A Look37.24%
Average: 19.31%
Pretty Bad: 4.14%
Total Crap: 15.86%

6 reviews, 109 user ratings



Legally Blonde
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"I hear blondes are easy, too, though that theory goes untested in this film"
4 stars

“Legally Blonde” is a larkish comedy that is delightfully unencumbered by logic or reason. Not a bit of it makes any sense whatsoever, and I do not believe anything that transpires in the film could happen in real life.

Normally, these are liabilities. But with a talented actress like Reese Witherspoon in the lead, it becomes easy to suspend disbelief and just go with it. She makes predictability funny again.

Witherspoon plays Elle Woods, a blond fashion merchandising major at Hot Chicks University (or something like that) who knows a lot of about clothes and hair and little about the real world. Her boyfriend, Warner Huntington III (Matthew Davis), gets accepted into Harvard Law and dumps her before he goes. If he’s going to become a senator, he reasons, he needs to marry “a Jackie, not a Marilyn.” Ouch.

Rather than find a new boyfriend, Elle tries to win Warner’s respect by going to Harvard Law School, too. So in the course of one montage, she pulls herself together and gets accepted, and before you know it, she’s startling Warner by showing up in the halls on the first day of classes.

She’s devastated to learn that in the course of that summer, Warner has found a new girlfriend. Her name is Vivian Kensington (Selma Blair), and she’s an icy snob with — of course — dark hair. (In this movie, the good women are blondes, and the bad women are brunettes. This holds true 98 percent of the time throughout the film.)

Elle is still determined to win Warner back, egged on by Paulette (Jennifer Coolidge), the tarty divorcee who does her nails. What follows are the scenes you’d expect: Elle becoming a pretty good law student, showing up Warner in class, using her knowledge of hair and grooming to win a trial for the lawyer she’s interning for, realizing she doesn’t need Warner anyway, falling in love with someone better (Luke Wilson, as a young attorney).

Originality is not the point here, nor are there any particularly brilliant characters or extraordinarily witty exchanges of dialogue. What makes it work is knowing Reese Witherspoon is actually a smart actress playing a dumb character. If they’d cast a dumb actress — Tori Spelling, for example — it would have failed miserably. But seeing Witherspoon act so cluelessly out of place as she strolls across the Harvard lawn in kitschy sunglasses and gaudy outfits is fish-out-of-water comedy at its best. It’s not embarrassing or painful, because we’re laughing WITH the actress while we laugh AT the character.

Jennifer Coolidge (Stifler’s mom from “American Pie”) is vulgarly entertaining, as always. The great Holland Taylor has a nice bit part as a stern professor, and Luke Wilson is his usual easy-going self as Elle’s eventual love interest.

Some movies do what others have done before and are boring. Others, like this one, manage to seem fresh despite their inherent staleness. It’s all in how it’s played, the attitude employed, and the amount of self-awareness involved. Silly little comedies need to be done without pretension, and this one couldn’t be less pretentious if it tried.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5347&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/13/01 06:42:17
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/28/10 art PATHETIC!,who cares about some DUMB BLONDE!? 1 stars
4/29/10 name Great site. Keep doing., 2 stars
6/19/09 art A MOTION PICTURE THAT IS ONLY FOR JERK"S! 1 stars
12/21/08 Samantha Pruitt pretty funny, surprisingly good! 4 stars
12/06/08 PAUL SHORTT LIKEABLE FLUFFY COMEDY 3 stars
10/22/08 Shaun Wallner Silverstone is Hot!! 5 stars
11/03/07 sarah a comedy that mkes sense. loved it 5 stars
5/27/07 WalkingDisaster Hilarious without being asinine 5 stars
4/09/07 johnnyfog I was suprised how funny Reese is. Jennifer Coolidge is of course awesome 5 stars
11/24/06 sammmy love it just wish i didnt have to do an english assignment on it ....... 3 stars
5/28/06 Alexandra I loved it. I found i could relate to some of the characters too! 5 stars
2/05/06 sweetgrrl1972 Full of hackneyed stereotypes, an embarrassingly bad ending yet somehow Reese is charming 3 stars
1/03/06 cody reese is heroine of this picture, she keeps the movie together with spunk , not great 3 stars
9/27/05 Daveman Badly shot, lit and rather bland, never reaches the hilarious camp extremes of the sequal. 2 stars
9/20/05 Madeline Jensen it's the best, i love it! (but i guess i am a bit like elle 5 stars
9/01/05 holly this movie kicks butt 5 stars
8/22/05 Lozaan Steenkamp It exposes a society that stereotype certain people based upon their looks. 4 stars
6/27/05 tony good movie. I liked the plot. 4 stars
2/17/05 crandall101 like it 4 stars
9/17/04 A upton a waste of about an hour and a half, 1 stars
7/24/04 Sandy Turynowicz Must see 5 stars
7/21/04 April Gupton love it 4 stars
7/18/04 Jen C. absolutely cute cute cute!!! feel good movie 5 stars
7/17/04 legend The movie was funnier than I thought it would be but not great. 4 stars
4/04/04 kirsty matthews this has gotta be the best film ever made ! i loved it soo much i bought a hole pink wardro 5 stars
2/09/04 Whatevr The only chick flick worth watching 4 stars
2/02/04 Helen Bradley Great movie best of decade in class 5 stars
2/02/04 Jaybird This movie is total ass 1 stars
1/07/04 Pinkline Jones I'd like to see Rheese Witherspoon in a different position 5 stars
11/07/03 Greggory sucks 1 stars
11/07/03 Jenna New i hated it!!!! 1 stars
10/19/03 Hinatsu no less stupid than Charelie's Angel 2 3 stars
10/15/03 Evil Olive Gee, Ashley, wish I'd seen the ovie instead of the movie! 1 stars
9/15/03 Tiffaney funny 5 stars
8/02/03 Ashlee The ovie was really funny and good. 5 stars
7/25/03 Christine Forget about the good intentions in this movie when she wins a court case with Cosmo advice 1 stars
7/18/03 chris there must be a better way i could have wasted two hours of my life. 1 stars
7/04/03 J no idea why they made a sequel to this!!!! 1 stars
7/01/03 Kathy Ramsey Pretty nice visually; really lousy script. 3 stars
6/18/03 Andrew Callaway At hearing the jokes from this movie... not only did I not laugh... I cryed. Predicible. 1 stars
5/07/03 Ashlee The ovie was really funny and good. 5 stars
5/07/03 Joesco reese was great and carried the movie but talk about slight ! 4 stars
4/23/03 Leah reese should be put down. SLOWLY. It wasn't cute. nor Sweet. nor FUNNY. Yet it spawns a seq 1 stars
4/09/03 JL a cute movie. 4 stars
3/21/03 May Q. Horney Oh yeah? Seemed to put down some who might fell less that perfect in there (sic) lives! 1 stars
3/18/03 Gwendolyn Vasquez This movie is very inspirational to everyone who feels less than perfect in there life. 5 stars
3/02/03 karen fucking bullshit. reese couldn't pick a decent role to save her life. 1 stars
2/24/03 cheif boot knocka I wish ted bundy could get his hands on that bitch 1 stars
2/17/03 Miranda Turner Well, Ashlee, wish I'd seen the ovie instead of the movie! 1 stars
2/10/03 Reese Witherspoon I wanted to prove I'm not a real blonde, but the asshole producers wouldn't let me. 1 stars
12/18/02 Ashlee The ovie was really funny and good. 5 stars
11/06/02 Ashley Corpening DUMB blond Reese Witherspoon could shit a 12 in. turd and think it came out sideways! 1 stars
11/01/02 Erica Great movie, had me laughing all along. 4 stars
10/29/02 Cool_chickie Pretty cool movie 5 stars
10/07/02 TheOthersFan Funniest movie since "Miss Congeniality". Who could forget that final courtroom scene? 5 stars
9/27/02 Espritlibre Great comedy and chick flick! Uplifiting 5 stars
8/23/02 Danielle Ophelia Painfully pedestrian Hollywood packages, redeemed by Reese's inimitable charm. 4 stars
8/20/02 fred she is hot 5 stars
4/15/02 nmvjh,v CRAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
3/31/02 Kakararniniginjia Sinitraviwasanjofraz Reese Witherspoon of creates cheese & CSU swan holds the scent of strawberries 2 stars
2/28/02 Chronically constipated dumb blonde Reese Witherspoon Me? Shit a 12 in. turd? In my dreams! 3 stars
2/28/02 seldom scene average comedy the professor had a large left ear 3 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Cute comedy. Love those outfits and the dog! 4 stars
1/26/02 Ashley Corpening DUMB blond R. Witherspoon could shit a 12 inch turd and think it came out sideways! 1 stars
1/04/02 Butterbean Yes it's predictable, but it's also one of the best "fish-out-of-water" movies out there. 4 stars
12/30/01 sarafina I'd rather eat my young 2 stars
12/20/01 Elizabeth Great 5 stars
12/18/01 Rampage Worse! I've seen worse! 1 stars
12/17/01 The Bomb 69 eh...I've seen better, predictable plot 3 stars
12/11/01 matthew smith delightful and very very funny, Resse Witherspoon is just brilliant 4 stars
12/04/01 auroradae a foofoo movie about valley girls a must see for nobody 1 stars
12/01/01 Phoenix Very funny and cute. Reese Witherspoon has never been more appealing. 5 stars
11/25/01 viking the "feel good" movie of the year !!!! 4 stars
11/15/01 daniboy could've been better 2 stars
11/13/01 Megan it was a good movie and had some funny parts added to it 4 stars
11/03/01 moviegoer funny, lame, cute, stupid, it's it all 4 stars
10/31/01 Jim Renwick Run of the numbers Teen flick but Reese is just too good. Worth seeing 4 stars
10/29/01 P.Rodriguez Started of Crap, but got better as it progessed. I loved the "you bitch" fag scene. 4 stars
10/22/01 Diane light and fun 4 stars
10/19/01 starpulp welcome brain candy! 5 stars
9/13/01 Seb Pansarella I think it was great. It was perfect although it did teach me to be myself and change 4 no1 4 stars
8/22/01 Tzila Seewald In the begining, iwas stupid BUT in the end it's was very good movie! 4 stars
8/21/01 ThatGuy Legally accurate, but the two lawyers were the only ones in the theater that were laughing. 4 stars
8/20/01 hilary awesome 5 stars
8/20/01 FrayLo starts off sketchy, turns out to be decent, give it a chance...i did 4 stars
8/15/01 onesmartcookie Blonde Ambition 4 stars
8/13/01 coolchickkiss i loved the way she solves the case with her knowledge of hair care. 5 stars
8/13/01 TL DO not waste your time or money...my gf even hated it. 1 stars
8/12/01 CRW Reese is great! An LOL movie. 5 stars
8/11/01 Benjamin Lesbian Craptacularly good! 3 stars
8/11/01 TheFirkin Could not get by the stupidity of the characters. This is totally American humour. 2 stars
8/10/01 bobtesch@earthlink.net Enjoyed! 4 stars
8/10/01 Connie I liked it. 5 stars
8/10/01 Russell Moker Liked it a lot but viewed as a comedy farce, not the gospel truth. It's a fun movie! 4 stars
8/09/01 Merrylue Charmaine Women LOVE this movie . . . Men Don't! Hmmmmm, I wonder why?! 4 stars
8/09/01 moviegoer Cute. Witherspoon does an excellent job and the romance part of the movie was well done. 4 stars
8/09/01 pinkbutterfly79 pretty good and entertaining I left the theater with a smile 4 stars
8/06/01 cheri a must see, i have already pre-ordered it on dvd, great fun 5 stars
8/05/01 Roy Smith Surprisingly good! And Ms Witherspoon looks great as a bunny! Yowza! 4 stars
8/03/01 Catie Great! Can't wait till in comes out on DVD! 5 stars
7/30/01 toneely Reese is the best!!!!! I loved this movie!!! 5 stars
7/28/01 Manlee Mann Guys can love this frothy post-teen comedy just as much as girls. I love you, Reese! 5 stars
7/27/01 sdfk I was told it exceeded its genre and it certainly did upon viewing. Go Reese. 4 stars
7/25/01 Timo I was pleasantly surprised 4 stars
7/24/01 Bash Good, light summer commedy 4 stars
7/23/01 Kristen This movie was incredibly awesome and it's my theme movie. Hooray for blondes & pink! 5 stars
7/22/01 Geebo My friend said it was a chick flick. It was, but I left the theater with a smile. 5 stars
7/20/01 Ben its damn good 4 stars
7/15/01 Unanon Not anywhere near as dull as I'd expected! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Jul-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Oct-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast