More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.24

Awesome: 10.87%
Worth A Look35.87%
Average: 26.09%
Pretty Bad: 20.65%
Total Crap: 6.52%

6 reviews, 56 user ratings



Cats and Dogs
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Doggonit"
3 stars

“Cats & Dogs” is not the kid-flick I was expecting. Surprisingly, kid’s movies have tended to be more reliable than anything else this year, with highly enjoyable fun in “Shrek,” “Spy Kids” and “Atlantis: The Lost Empire.” “Cats & Dogs” is still fun — nowhere near the drool-numbing vapidness of “See Spot Run” (though Michael Clarke Duncan is a connecting link) — but the action/excitement that it hinted at was far more restricted than the unexpected sharp humor.

Cats are evil, and dogs — man’s best friend — have long been protecting us from the wicked ploys that cats once ruled over the human race with (uniquely told to us through Egyptian pictorials). When an Old Faithful is catnapped, HQ is supposed to send a newly trained agent, but chance instead sends an energetic, naïve beagle. Conflicted between showing affection to his boy-master (who tends to project his loner-hood and loser-ism onto the pup, hence his dubbing Louser) and helping to save the world (he must protect the boy’s father’s lab, in which an allergy medicine to make people immune to dogs is being cooked up) while dabbling between the two.

If “Cats & Dogs” were to be made ten years ago, it would have been made with what I grew up on: Muppets/puppets. In a sense, there is some of that utilized in the production (more so in the cat fight from “Scary Movie 2”), but when it comes to the elaborations of ninja cats, etc., naturally once the animatronics cannot meet the demands, the filmmakers switch over to computer-generated effects. The results, when action sequences are called for, are entertaining in a minor, though overdone way. While it seemed that the animal-movie genre was crossing over into “The Matrix”-like territory (everything else has, so why not welcome it with open arms?), it was only a flavor of the kibble.

Instead, throughout all of the mishaps and triumphs of the neophyte agent pup, the majority of the enjoyment come from the humor: the creatures taunt at themselves, “You animal!,” or base off of one another, “Scooby Doofus,” or other goofs like “I’m a one-dog army,” and “Son of my mom!” I give credit to the writers John Requa and Glenn Ficarra for the unexpected laughs and chortles, but it’s obvious that their target is for the kids. There is far less appealing to the adult audience as there was in “Shrek” or “Spy Kids” or “Atlantis,” and while the dearth of action doesn’t quite find its balance in the humor, the highly over-manufactured performances of Jeff Goldblum and Elizabeth Perkins don’t do it any more justice. The most amount of relish will be found in that of Jon Lovitz’s hilarious voicing of a chubby, wide-eyed feline.

Anyway, is there any competition in the cat versus dog debate? I thought “Homeward Bound” proved to Sally Field’s Sassy that “dogs rule and cats drool.” Bring it on, I'll say it to any ailurophile!

With the human Alexander Pollock, and the voices of Alec Baldwin, Tobey Maguire, Susan Sarandon, Sean Hayes, Joe Pantoliano and Charlton Heston. Directed by Lawrence Guterman.

Final Verdict: B-.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5350&reviewer=172
originally posted: 07/05/01 14:27:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/17/14 chris i agree with you. its a fun concept 3 stars
12/31/09 the dork knight Sieg heil, Mr Tinkles. 3 stars
9/15/09 A. Nonymous Fun for the kiddies... again, FOR THE KIDDIES people! Sheesh 4 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. entertaining and fun :D 4 stars
9/03/08 Shaun Wallner This was a funny movie. 5 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT A GROSS INSULT TO ANY HUMAN BEING WITH THE INTELLIGENCE OF A POUND MUTT 2 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK this must have come out of one of the dogs. it smells funny. 1 stars
2/13/07 johnnyfog Mr Tinkles is the cat version of Stalin! Bad movie otherwise 2 stars
1/15/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 3 stars
12/24/06 David Cohen Cute idea, mediocre execution 3 stars
8/19/06 Spotty boring, dumb. too much 'against-cats-ness'. 1 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Another campy kiddie flick talking animal comedy,w/ lame actors& anti-cat stereotypes. 2 stars
5/20/06 Kcaj Tobey Maguire was funny but the rest was stupid fun 4 stars
1/17/06 hunt This movie was all that great, it was boring compare to many others animal comedies 2 stars
9/05/05 Lenny Wow. The Animals Can Really Talk. Best Movie In The World. 5 stars
8/13/05 ES Betcha Baldwin hates the thought of being reduced to this 1 stars
5/25/05 lily maham dumb 1 stars
2/17/05 DM Funny concept, but way too dumb for anyone except little kids 2 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva okay 3 stars
6/09/03 Clarise So so 3 stars
12/31/02 Angel Sassy I love Mr.Tinkles and Sassy to be togeter and make a movie about them 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum How can you fuck up a great idea like this??? 2 stars
6/01/02 Jiz Not a classic by any stretch, but still funny and original. 4 stars
12/21/01 Mister Char A guilty pleasure to be sure. I enjoyed it and there is cool stuff on the dvd! 5 stars
11/30/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) All except for making cats look bad, the movie is awesome!!!!!!! 4 stars
11/25/01 Butterbean Cute pets, great concept...Loved Mr. Tinkles! But I was a bit disappointed. 3 stars
11/03/01 The Rock BULL SHIT-TOTAL WASTE OF TIME 1 stars
11/03/01 moviegoer what is wrong with you people? this movie was awful besides a few solametheywerefunny jokes 2 stars
10/27/01 ||Dani::O|| Great concept, average execution, SHITTY script for the humans 3 stars
10/20/01 Tam Brilliant animation, but too saccharine for me. Ruined by silly acting. 3 stars
10/02/01 Belinda Spend the 90mins pampering your own pets than sitting through this CRAP. 1 stars
9/29/01 Phoenix It's fitting that the dogs are the good guys and the cats are the bad guys. 4 stars
9/25/01 viking A live action cartoon 4 stars
9/23/01 jason cutter good laughs, but don't confuse yourself that this is a serious film 4 stars
9/19/01 rex dog lover alec baldwin was the down fall. 4 stars
8/21/01 Gary Bird This is deffinately the most coolest film of the year 5 stars
8/20/01 chelsea butcher Brill !!! 4 stars
8/17/01 nargis akbar mr tinkles is the cutest thing in the world 5 stars
8/10/01 L I knew my cat was up to something! And they said I was crazy...I'm not a camel 5 stars
8/09/01 moviegoer I found the movie enjoyable and wonderful for children though not extraordinarily wonderful 4 stars
8/08/01 Scott J. I enjoyed quite a bit. The parodies were fairly good, but the movie lagged ocassionally. 4 stars
8/06/01 Xavier Not bad, especially Toto Inialation, Graphics were very good, Bit Slow in Parts. 4 stars
8/03/01 ginelle i think it was da bomb 4 stars
7/28/01 ryanschmid1@yahoo.com It was pretty good! Funny, but slow in parts. 4 stars
7/28/01 Turtle It's very cute and funny, but only better than Dr. Dolittle 2 by a bit. 4 stars
7/28/01 Liz Leighton I haven't laughed this hard since I don't know when. Total enjoyment! 5 stars
7/25/01 Heather Worth a look for the great special effects but let down by dumb, predictable plot 4 stars
7/24/01 Julie It was funny and cute 4 stars
7/24/01 SJKelley Clever concept, good execution, fun for kids and adults. 4 stars
7/24/01 sdfk Is the cat from Sabrina jealous? Average but good for kids. 3 stars
7/11/01 The Bomb 69 get the Russian!!! Funny stuff 4 stars
7/08/01 Leon Trotsky Great opening sequence, got lost along the way. Too bad. 3 stars
7/08/01 J Lets just say that I'm agreeing with Roy on this underrated movie. Dog propaganda? Please! 5 stars
7/06/01 Roy Smith Really funny in many places, like Cincinnati. 5 stars
7/06/01 krowdsurf Not as funny as the trailers would have you think, but not terrible either. 3 stars
7/05/01 Paul Meade Very funny, not to corny. The technology and special effects were superior 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-Jul-2001 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Sep-2001 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast