More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.24

Awesome: 10.87%
Worth A Look35.87%
Average: 26.09%
Pretty Bad: 20.65%
Total Crap: 6.52%

6 reviews, 56 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Cats and Dogs
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"Son of my mom!"
4 stars

This, my friends, is war between the cats and the dogs. It has been going on since the early days when cats were ruling everyone, until the dogs came to scare them away. Today, everything is all high-tech and full of gadgets, giving felines and canines the ability to eavesdrop on each other. There's only one problem: humans get in the way sometimes.

Dog lovers will get a kick out of "Cats and Dogs" because it shows the lovable canines as man's best friend who love their masters, beg for food, and get their tummies scratched. They are loyal and take the blame if they did something wrong. (When a large shepherd-dog lets off some gas, he raises his paw and says "Guilty as charged, heh.") The same could not be said about the cats, who are picky and demand their attention and love.

The leader of the cat renaissance is none other than the spoiled-rich kitty Mr. Tinkles (voice of Sean Hayes), who pledges war on the dogs after a chemical devised by a human (Jeff Goldblum, terrible as always), that can cure allergies to dogs. Instead of a cure, why not reverse it and make a disease that will make all humans allergic to dogs?

Meanwhile, the dog army, led by Butch (voice of Alec Baldwin) who intend to send in a tougher dog to help protect Goldblum's house, but instead get a lovable little Beagle named Lou (voice of Tobey Maguire) into the household. Lou doesn't know about anything that is going on; at the same time he falls for the family at his house.

The funniest moments in "Cats and Dogs," and there are many, involve the forms of animals and quirkly people. There's a nanny to Mr. Tinkle's mansion, where she dresses him up in dresses and hats. There's a group of ninja cats who parachute from the sky and pack a mean punch. And how can anyone not love the war room for the dogs, with P.A. announcements detailing dogs to clean up after themselves and where the reverse-neutering room is.

"Cats And Dogs" is fun to the nth degree. I caught myself laughing hysterically throughout, as the creators have taken a giant leap of imagination and given us a movie about the love of animals, FOR animal lovers. Although heavily relying on visual effects for the movement of the animals, to me this felt like an exuberant cartoon, animated with the live action being the most surprising. It's certainly a lot more funnier and creative than the recent "Doctor Dolittle 2" which also relied on visual effects so Eddie Murphy could talk to the animals. Here, you wish dogs could really talk and are happy when the cats don't.

Kids will love it. This kid-at-heart sure did.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5350&reviewer=350
originally posted: 06/13/04 00:13:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/17/14 chris i agree with you. its a fun concept 3 stars
12/31/09 the dork knight Sieg heil, Mr Tinkles. 3 stars
9/15/09 A. Nonymous Fun for the kiddies... again, FOR THE KIDDIES people! Sheesh 4 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. entertaining and fun :D 4 stars
9/03/08 Shaun Wallner This was a funny movie. 5 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT A GROSS INSULT TO ANY HUMAN BEING WITH THE INTELLIGENCE OF A POUND MUTT 2 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK this must have come out of one of the dogs. it smells funny. 1 stars
2/13/07 johnnyfog Mr Tinkles is the cat version of Stalin! Bad movie otherwise 2 stars
1/15/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 3 stars
12/24/06 David Cohen Cute idea, mediocre execution 3 stars
8/19/06 Spotty boring, dumb. too much 'against-cats-ness'. 1 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Another campy kiddie flick talking animal comedy,w/ lame actors& anti-cat stereotypes. 2 stars
5/20/06 Kcaj Tobey Maguire was funny but the rest was stupid fun 4 stars
1/17/06 hunt This movie was all that great, it was boring compare to many others animal comedies 2 stars
9/05/05 Lenny Wow. The Animals Can Really Talk. Best Movie In The World. 5 stars
8/13/05 ES Betcha Baldwin hates the thought of being reduced to this 1 stars
5/25/05 lily maham dumb 1 stars
2/17/05 DM Funny concept, but way too dumb for anyone except little kids 2 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva okay 3 stars
6/09/03 Clarise So so 3 stars
12/31/02 Angel Sassy I love Mr.Tinkles and Sassy to be togeter and make a movie about them 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum How can you fuck up a great idea like this??? 2 stars
6/01/02 Jiz Not a classic by any stretch, but still funny and original. 4 stars
12/21/01 Mister Char A guilty pleasure to be sure. I enjoyed it and there is cool stuff on the dvd! 5 stars
11/30/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) All except for making cats look bad, the movie is awesome!!!!!!! 4 stars
11/25/01 Butterbean Cute pets, great concept...Loved Mr. Tinkles! But I was a bit disappointed. 3 stars
11/03/01 The Rock BULL SHIT-TOTAL WASTE OF TIME 1 stars
11/03/01 moviegoer what is wrong with you people? this movie was awful besides a few solametheywerefunny jokes 2 stars
10/27/01 ||Dani::O|| Great concept, average execution, SHITTY script for the humans 3 stars
10/20/01 Tam Brilliant animation, but too saccharine for me. Ruined by silly acting. 3 stars
10/02/01 Belinda Spend the 90mins pampering your own pets than sitting through this CRAP. 1 stars
9/29/01 Phoenix It's fitting that the dogs are the good guys and the cats are the bad guys. 4 stars
9/25/01 viking A live action cartoon 4 stars
9/23/01 jason cutter good laughs, but don't confuse yourself that this is a serious film 4 stars
9/19/01 rex dog lover alec baldwin was the down fall. 4 stars
8/21/01 Gary Bird This is deffinately the most coolest film of the year 5 stars
8/20/01 chelsea butcher Brill !!! 4 stars
8/17/01 nargis akbar mr tinkles is the cutest thing in the world 5 stars
8/10/01 L I knew my cat was up to something! And they said I was crazy...I'm not a camel 5 stars
8/09/01 moviegoer I found the movie enjoyable and wonderful for children though not extraordinarily wonderful 4 stars
8/08/01 Scott J. I enjoyed quite a bit. The parodies were fairly good, but the movie lagged ocassionally. 4 stars
8/06/01 Xavier Not bad, especially Toto Inialation, Graphics were very good, Bit Slow in Parts. 4 stars
8/03/01 ginelle i think it was da bomb 4 stars
7/28/01 ryanschmid1@yahoo.com It was pretty good! Funny, but slow in parts. 4 stars
7/28/01 Turtle It's very cute and funny, but only better than Dr. Dolittle 2 by a bit. 4 stars
7/28/01 Liz Leighton I haven't laughed this hard since I don't know when. Total enjoyment! 5 stars
7/25/01 Heather Worth a look for the great special effects but let down by dumb, predictable plot 4 stars
7/24/01 Julie It was funny and cute 4 stars
7/24/01 SJKelley Clever concept, good execution, fun for kids and adults. 4 stars
7/24/01 sdfk Is the cat from Sabrina jealous? Average but good for kids. 3 stars
7/11/01 The Bomb 69 get the Russian!!! Funny stuff 4 stars
7/08/01 Leon Trotsky Great opening sequence, got lost along the way. Too bad. 3 stars
7/08/01 J Lets just say that I'm agreeing with Roy on this underrated movie. Dog propaganda? Please! 5 stars
7/06/01 Roy Smith Really funny in many places, like Cincinnati. 5 stars
7/06/01 krowdsurf Not as funny as the trailers would have you think, but not terrible either. 3 stars
7/05/01 Paul Meade Very funny, not to corny. The technology and special effects were superior 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-Jul-2001 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Sep-2001 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast