More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.68

Awesome: 31.21%
Worth A Look33.33%
Average: 13.48%
Pretty Bad: 16.31%
Total Crap: 5.67%

7 reviews, 99 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


American Pie 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Same old Pie, but it still tastes good to me!"
4 stars

Crocodile Dundee 3. The Mummy 2. Dr. Dolittle 2. Scary Movie 2. Jurassic Park 3. Rush Hour 2. This is the sequel parade that moviegoers have been treated to for the first 6 months of the year. Most of them stink, mainly because these are films whose existence can be attributed solely to one thing, and that thing is cash. The latest entry in the parade is American Pie 2, and while this one certainly also reeks of 'striking while the iron is hot', this movie earns praise while the others do not for one reason: It's damn funny.

If ever there were a phylum of cinema that is completely immune to anything the critics might have to say, it's the sequel. You could shout from the rooftops what a transparent sham a movie like Rush Hour 2 is and it won't make a lick of difference. If modern moviegoers have made one thing abundantly clear, it's that they love leftovers. Screenplays comprised entirely of predictable one-liners from last year's blockbusters regularly earn $100 million at the box office, further proving that film producers will never go hungry by underestimating their audience's lust for "the same old thing".

Which is why a sequel like American Pie 2 is such a pleasant surprise. Since there's absolutely NO WAY this movie could flop, it seems only logical that the filmmakers don't have to try as hard. But here's a movie that simply delivers the raunchy goods and does it in a sunny, infectious style. If you were a fan of the original Pie, odds are that you'll be leaving the theater with a smile on your face after watching the sequel.

The plot (if I may be so kind) is simply a framework on which to hang the sexual dalliances of our buddies from the first flick. Literally everyone is back for the second go-round, and that's a factor that helps quite a bit. Throwing Jason Biggs and Seann William Scott in Hawaii with a host of new actors would have been the false sort of sequelizing referred to above.

While it's an asset to the film that the whole crew is back, the large amount of characters seem to have left screenwriter Adam Herz at a bit of a loss; several of the characters (the girls mainly) are left with very little to do, and you're left wondering how many days were necessary to shoot the scenes involving Mena Suvari and Tara Reid. (I'm guessing two.) But when you're making a slapsticky sex comedy, it's probably pretty tough to dress it up as an even-keeled ensemble piece.

Simply put - The whole horny crew gets back together after their first year of college, and they decide to rent a beach house for the summer. That's pretty much it. Hijinks ensue. Yes, there are a few dangling plot threads left over from the first film, but those are perhaps the weakest part of the entire movie. Particularly maudlin is the reconciliation of Kevin (Thomas Ian Nicholas) and Vicky (Reid). I appreciate the attempt of a semi-realistic subplot; that doesn't mean it has to be so dull.

More so than in the original, the "guys" are the main show. Jason Biggs returns as the sexually befuddled Jim, and the actor shows an uncanny knack for playing "naked and humiliated" to comic perfection. Chris Klein is back as Oz, and while he doesn't really have a lot to do, he's sweet-natured and dopey - just one of the guys. Stealing every single frame of celluloid that he appears in is Seann William Scott as the supremely raunchy Steve Stifler. This character is fast becoming a cinematic cult icon along the lines of Jay & Silent Bob, and here's why: He's so goddam funny. Scott knows how to deliver a punch line with impeccably profane timing, and has the mugging skills of a comedian twice his age. Although this young actor has chosen some pretty weak movies to showcase his skills in, I'm still a big fan. Once again, comedy vet Eugene Levy is on hand (as Jim's eternally understanding Dad) to offer some big laughs as well.

I've saved an entire paragraph for Shannon Elizabeth. Yes, the girl with the wretched accent and the mammoth breasts. Simply put, I loathe this actress. If there were ever a performer whose career existed solely due to mammary glands, Shannon's the one. I realize she's some pre-pubescent pin-up dream girl, but she manages to drag the movie to a screeching, whimpering halt whenever she appears onscreen. Elizabeth recently stated in an interview that she wouldn't be doing any more nude scenes in films because she wants to be taken seriously as an actress. After seeing her emoting skills in this movie, I give her 5 months before she's got 11 straight-to-video soft-core porno movies gracing the local video store shelves.

As I stated earlier, this is a movie that is simply critic-proof. How much you will like it depends on your feelings toward the original film or just raunchy sex humor in general. Is this movie a somewhat transparent echo of the surprisingly profitable original? Well, sure it is. But regardless of the number 2 in the title, this is a damn funny movie and one of the best sequels to show its face in quite some time.

Just the performances of Biggs, Scott and band-camp enthusiast Alyson Hanagan alone make this one worth your weekly movie allowance. Despite the few inevitable "Part 2" potholes, this one is even more of a surprise: It's a sequel that works.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5351&reviewer=128
originally posted: 08/13/01 11:37:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell good sequel 4 stars
3/25/10 Dane Youssef Yes, yes. More of the same. Only better. Stifler and Finch--priceless. A payoff to remember 4 stars
8/27/08 Shaun Wallner Never laughed so hard in my Life!! 5 stars
11/14/06 Beau a great sequel, another brilliant performance from hannigan 5 stars
3/10/06 Dk Basically a re run of number one. If you have seen it dont bother 3 stars
9/27/05 Daveman The original never set a high precedent so this isn't really a disappointment. 2 stars
9/13/05 bbbr the best from the west 5 stars
8/25/05 Eden It's enjoyable. I find it very hard to hate. Love Hannigan 4 stars
7/23/05 Clubber Lang It shouldn't be better than the first, but is it. Zippier and funnier. 4 stars
6/10/05 hanan nice movie 5 stars
9/01/04 A upton worth ten bucks from the local pawn shop. 5 stars
7/31/04 michael knight Jason biggs what were you thinking going into a cunt of a movie like this crap hole? 1 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva very funny 5 stars
5/15/04 Jack Sommersby Tired and only occasionally amusing. Cast is game, though. 2 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt Easily the best of the series! Definitely the most entertaining with the most rewatch value 5 stars
10/30/03 Moparman Funny movie. Almost as good as the first 5 stars
10/22/03 Melody Marsh (OK maybe I can't think like a guy) Still think I'd prefer the girl who never stuck a trumpet up my shithole! 4 stars
8/03/03 Walter Total shit, never should have been made, it disgraces the first. 1 stars
8/01/03 Double G better than 1st 3 stars
7/08/03 Alice Glue it yourself. 3 stars
6/26/03 tetertertr My cousin is a extra in this movie. He's the guy with the blue baseball cap. Find him. 3 stars
6/16/03 Lush Proof that with a bigger budget and better co-writers, an AP film can induce the odd giggle 2 stars
6/07/03 Pascal It is terribly entertaining! 4 stars
5/27/03 mr. Pink Should have had the tagline: Back by contractual obligation. Stupid, unfunny pile of shit! 1 stars
2/27/03 ttiinnaa not as good as original, kind of contrived, but still worth seeing 4 stars
2/19/03 Matthew Jones Better then #2; hear #3's coming out summer of '03; ROCK ON! 5 stars
2/16/03 Super Not as Awsome as the 1st one, but still GREAT! all who rated pretty crappy r stupid old ppl 5 stars
1/13/03 Dave Better than the first one, but does that take much? 2 stars
1/02/03 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng J.B. Rogers relied on the first one too much. 2 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Pretty good sequel. 4 stars
10/24/02 Rob Gribin Just gets better. 5 stars
9/25/02 Ben Wasden Funnier than the first, and I liked that one too. 5 stars
9/15/02 Joe Zappa (I'm Back!) Some of the coolest FX and coolest action scenes since "Face/Off." 4 stars
7/05/02 Shodan Grow the fuck up people 1 stars
6/12/02 Cat Very funny film, as enjoyable as the first 5 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi well..good film..good that it can live up to it's original..kickbutt soundtrack too 5 stars
6/01/02 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Good because Tara Reid's full-blown anal retentiveness didn't emerge until VAN WILDER. 5 stars
5/19/02 Jon Artus One word - Arsetrumpet. 3 stars
5/15/02 Del Ahh... I am almost 31 and well, this movie did it for me... call me old, please 5 stars
5/15/02 Stud Better than the first one! 5 stars
4/30/02 Phoenix Even funnier than the first. Damn I wanna fuck Shannon Elizabeth in the ass. 5 stars
4/25/02 asfsadf liked it and I hated the first first movie! 4 stars
4/01/02 malcolm nowhere near the original. hope there's no 3rd. 2 stars
3/31/02 Jeremy nice 5 stars
3/31/02 Film Guy Great Sequel. Lived up to orignal 5 stars
3/31/02 Film Dude DILDO, DILDO, DILDO, DILDO! 5 stars
3/13/02 Alan Smithee Better than the first, but still spotty. Mena Suvari is extremely cute. 3 stars
3/08/02 Mo Anand it was better than the first...funny 4 stars
3/01/02 Chowie I can't believe Jim wants that band camp girl, neways it ROX! GO STIFLER! 5 stars
2/23/02 NWO4LIFE A wild, hilarious romp. Surprisingly funnier than the original. 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Too long. Funny. Good character development. 4 stars
2/16/02 Oliver E. Moors, Jr i want to see fucking 5 stars
2/04/02 Ashley Corpening Nice but - unbelievable Jim prefers Michelle over Nadia! 4 stars
2/01/02 Taylor May'd This movie is totally awesome!! Stiffler Rules!!! 5 stars
1/18/02 Spyguy2 Not as good as AP-1 but has some big laughs...the girls (esp. Tara Reid) look like crap 4 stars
1/06/02 kate the best movie since how eva long i have been alive deffernetly got to see it again 5 stars
12/03/01 Gary Smiled through the whole movie 5 stars
11/28/01 Owen Painton Really funny 5 stars
11/27/01 ap2rox hilairious... what else can you say? 5 stars
11/26/01 Larry Goldberg Funny as hell!! Great sequel!! 5 stars
11/26/01 ap2sux sucked bab, predictable humor, dont get me wrong cus i love scary movie1 and ap1 2 stars
11/26/01 Kyle Anderson I agree with Brill. Best sequel. 5 stars
11/25/01 Jon Eliot I Totally Agree! It comes off as a Porky's movie. Sorry, not good enough. 2 stars
10/19/01 Tam I couldn't stop laughing! A real feel-good movie, its like meeting up with your old friends 5 stars
10/16/01 Matthew Bartley Took a while to pick up pace, but just as good as the first 4 stars
10/10/01 ash it kicks ass 5 stars
10/10/01 jawsboy first 20 minutes are not great.the funny scenes help it,and biggs is good.first was better. 4 stars
9/26/01 Jeff Non-stop laughing! 5 stars
9/23/01 The Bomb 69 not as good as the first, but more funny than not 4 stars
9/17/01 Bri Yuck, even the nudity was dissapointing!! 1 stars
9/07/01 TLsmooth Stiffler is my idols. All of the bitches from the first one eat ass. Especially Reid. 4 stars
8/29/01 Amy 100% funny, better than the first, plus, we care about the characters 5 stars
8/26/01 The Boy In The Designer Bubble This one time in band camp, well all decided this movie sucked ass! 1 stars
8/23/01 Baphomet A dumb movie, even by teen comedy standards. That lezbo scene was for brain dead jocks..... 2 stars
8/22/01 Roy Smith Stiffler is the man! I want to be Alyson Hannigan's bitch. 4 stars
8/21/01 Fish Eye 80% of this movie is not funny. The other 20% involves Stiffler 2 stars
8/20/01 Jim This movie sucks. Is Tara reid on Crack?? 1 stars
8/20/01 Hugh Bastard Put the brain on hold.. and laugh for 100 minutes 4 stars
8/19/01 Chris It Was Sweet 5 stars
8/18/01 brad twice as good as first flick 5 stars
8/18/01 Obi Wan Stilfer ruled the sequel. Don't know why they paid Tara, Lynn or Ugly choir chick!!! 4 stars
8/18/01 King Jackass Almost as good as the first! 4 stars
8/17/01 John Lyons About what I expected. Lots of lame humor, good for the teens. 4 stars
8/16/01 Michael Geek Alyson Hannigan & Jason Biggs were realistic and endearing. A great movie to see w/friends 5 stars
8/16/01 Nicole 1st one was better but i laughed my ass off at this one..Stifler RULES in this sequel. 5 stars
8/16/01 Alex This isn't comedy. It's just disgusting trash. People don't think anymore. 1 stars
8/16/01 Xalt BWAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHA! 4 stars
8/15/01 tnt not quite nearly good enough 2 stars
8/15/01 ri bisi absolutely cool 5 stars
8/15/01 Josef Goebbels a lil' too much reminiscence and digging for jokes that were never there to start with 4 stars
8/14/01 FrayLo pretty good. That's all I have to say...:) 4 stars
8/13/01 Will oh, stifler, your antics amuse me. 4 stars
8/13/01 KCobain Takes more risks for greater pay-offs. Edgy but hilarious. 5 stars
8/12/01 Jack the dog The first one sucked, this one is so much better. 5 stars
8/12/01 Kevin It was OK, not the best but I think it's worth seeing if you REALLY liked the first one 3 stars
8/12/01 G-Man Hilarious...but not as good as the first. 4 stars
8/11/01 Benjamin Lesbian A bit hammy, but still the best movie of the summer 5 stars
8/11/01 CJ Excellent... lives up to the first one 5 stars
8/10/01 kyliomangero kewl kewl kewl kewl kewl kewl kewl kewl 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Aug-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Dec-2001 (M)


Directed by
  James B. Rogers

Written by
  Adam Herz

Cast
  Jason Biggs
  Shannon Elizabeth
  Alyson Hannigan
  Chris Klein
  Eugene Levy
  Tara Reid



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast