More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.68

Awesome: 31.21%
Worth A Look33.33%
Average: 13.48%
Pretty Bad: 16.31%
Total Crap: 5.67%

7 reviews, 99 user ratings



American Pie 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"Did somebody say....pie?"
2 stars

In 1999, "American Pie" was unleashed on multiplex screens. Movie theaters across the country were as strict as ever in their "carding" process, which required pretty much anyone that ticket sellers considered young looking to provide picture identification to enter the theater. I was 19 at the time, and was carded. I felt flattered for a moment, then as I sat down to watch the film, I understood why. As vulgar as the film is, it still remains an enjoyable teen sex romp that had its share of heart and character amidst the gross-out factor. It was inevitable that a sequel to the high grossing "American Pie" was going to happen. (If I recall correctly, it was announced mere weeks after the first film was considered a hit.)

And sadly, I consider "American Pie 2" to be a complete misfire -- a hollow, lifeless motion picture that suffers from every symptom of Sequel-itis: where the studio controls the product, the filmmakers show no vision, and all the characters are pawns of the payoffs. This film is a disaster. With the exception of a minor good performance here and there, and some chuckles in reference to the first film, "American Pie 2" is awash with one excrutiating sequence after another. Character development is out and gross out sequences are in.

The story picks up about a year after the first film, where everyone is just coming fresh from their days at college. Summer is on everyone's mind. For Jim, he is dealing with his lack of sexual confidence, while he stares at a production photograph of Shannon Elizabeth, who returns as sexpot Nadia from Checkoslovakia. For Oz (Chris Klein), he is dealing with his girlfriend Heather (Mena Suvari) living abroad. For Kevin (Thomas Ian Nicholas), he is dealing with being single and still pines for Vicki (Tara Reid). And for Finch (Eddie Kaye Thomas), he is dealing with the love of his life, Stifler's Mom (Jennifer Coolidge) while learning tantratic exercises. And who can forget Stifler (Seann William Scott). The action centers around an unnamed lake (hint: it's one of the "Great" ones) where the five guys all continue to pine over their problems. (It should also be noted that the writers have been kind enough to provide last names for the characters in this sequel. Why even bother.)

Jim then discovers Michelle (Alyson Hannigan) at her summer band camp, in one of these "Where-the-hell-did-this-come-from?" coincidences, where the camp seems to be right next door to the lodge, and wasn't even mentioned beforehand. Jim needs Michelle's help in his sexual problems since Nadia is coming to visit, and since Michelle was his first time, he feels she can teach him a few tricks. She helps, but then falls into the all-known cliche' of falling for Jim herself.

The Lather-Rinse-Repeat storytelling of "American Pie 2" grates very quickly. The consistency is this: start out with a music montage, show a quick character scene, cut to a grossout section, then do it all over again. This process is repeated almost continuously through the film. Add to that, the gags, which involve urine, super glue, lesbianism, phone sex and Stifler's mom, go on for way too long and run out of steam even before the payoff.

We also come to care incredibly little about the principal characters themselves. Most of the Kevin-Vicky scenes are hidden in music, the phone-sex between Oz and Heather features G-rated dirty talk, Stifler keeps getting into trouble (you wish they would kill his character off) and Finch, aka "Shitbreak," goes far too overboard with his new found wisdom (it's not Thomas' fault as he is a very funny young actor). Jim and Michelle get a little bit more attention in their relationship together, but we have to put up with Biggs' typical mugging and annoying schtick. Michelle and Finch would make the most adorable couple.

One thing I found interesting about "American Pie 2" is that not only every memorable character from the first film is here, but even the actor that plays it, right down to the "MILF" boys. It amazes me that any of them would accept a predictable, by-the-numbers screenplay such as this. It would be more of a pleasing observation had the film been any good.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5351&reviewer=350
originally posted: 05/15/04 04:02:39
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell good sequel 4 stars
3/25/10 Dane Youssef Yes, yes. More of the same. Only better. Stifler and Finch--priceless. A payoff to remember 4 stars
8/27/08 Shaun Wallner Never laughed so hard in my Life!! 5 stars
11/14/06 Beau a great sequel, another brilliant performance from hannigan 5 stars
3/10/06 Dk Basically a re run of number one. If you have seen it dont bother 3 stars
9/27/05 Daveman The original never set a high precedent so this isn't really a disappointment. 2 stars
9/13/05 bbbr the best from the west 5 stars
8/25/05 Eden It's enjoyable. I find it very hard to hate. Love Hannigan 4 stars
7/23/05 Clubber Lang It shouldn't be better than the first, but is it. Zippier and funnier. 4 stars
6/10/05 hanan nice movie 5 stars
9/01/04 A upton worth ten bucks from the local pawn shop. 5 stars
7/31/04 michael knight Jason biggs what were you thinking going into a cunt of a movie like this crap hole? 1 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva very funny 5 stars
5/15/04 Jack Sommersby Tired and only occasionally amusing. Cast is game, though. 2 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt Easily the best of the series! Definitely the most entertaining with the most rewatch value 5 stars
10/30/03 Moparman Funny movie. Almost as good as the first 5 stars
10/22/03 Melody Marsh (OK maybe I can't think like a guy) Still think I'd prefer the girl who never stuck a trumpet up my shithole! 4 stars
8/03/03 Walter Total shit, never should have been made, it disgraces the first. 1 stars
8/01/03 Double G better than 1st 3 stars
7/08/03 Alice Glue it yourself. 3 stars
6/26/03 tetertertr My cousin is a extra in this movie. He's the guy with the blue baseball cap. Find him. 3 stars
6/16/03 Lush Proof that with a bigger budget and better co-writers, an AP film can induce the odd giggle 2 stars
6/07/03 Pascal It is terribly entertaining! 4 stars
5/27/03 mr. Pink Should have had the tagline: Back by contractual obligation. Stupid, unfunny pile of shit! 1 stars
2/27/03 ttiinnaa not as good as original, kind of contrived, but still worth seeing 4 stars
2/19/03 Matthew Jones Better then #2; hear #3's coming out summer of '03; ROCK ON! 5 stars
2/16/03 Super Not as Awsome as the 1st one, but still GREAT! all who rated pretty crappy r stupid old ppl 5 stars
1/13/03 Dave Better than the first one, but does that take much? 2 stars
1/02/03 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng J.B. Rogers relied on the first one too much. 2 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Pretty good sequel. 4 stars
10/24/02 Rob Gribin Just gets better. 5 stars
9/25/02 Ben Wasden Funnier than the first, and I liked that one too. 5 stars
9/15/02 Joe Zappa (I'm Back!) Some of the coolest FX and coolest action scenes since "Face/Off." 4 stars
7/05/02 Shodan Grow the fuck up people 1 stars
6/12/02 Cat Very funny film, as enjoyable as the first 5 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi well..good film..good that it can live up to it's original..kickbutt soundtrack too 5 stars
6/01/02 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Good because Tara Reid's full-blown anal retentiveness didn't emerge until VAN WILDER. 5 stars
5/19/02 Jon Artus One word - Arsetrumpet. 3 stars
5/15/02 Del Ahh... I am almost 31 and well, this movie did it for me... call me old, please 5 stars
5/15/02 Stud Better than the first one! 5 stars
4/30/02 Phoenix Even funnier than the first. Damn I wanna fuck Shannon Elizabeth in the ass. 5 stars
4/25/02 asfsadf liked it and I hated the first first movie! 4 stars
4/01/02 malcolm nowhere near the original. hope there's no 3rd. 2 stars
3/31/02 Jeremy nice 5 stars
3/31/02 Film Guy Great Sequel. Lived up to orignal 5 stars
3/31/02 Film Dude DILDO, DILDO, DILDO, DILDO! 5 stars
3/13/02 Alan Smithee Better than the first, but still spotty. Mena Suvari is extremely cute. 3 stars
3/08/02 Mo Anand it was better than the first...funny 4 stars
3/01/02 Chowie I can't believe Jim wants that band camp girl, neways it ROX! GO STIFLER! 5 stars
2/23/02 NWO4LIFE A wild, hilarious romp. Surprisingly funnier than the original. 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Too long. Funny. Good character development. 4 stars
2/16/02 Oliver E. Moors, Jr i want to see fucking 5 stars
2/04/02 Ashley Corpening Nice but - unbelievable Jim prefers Michelle over Nadia! 4 stars
2/01/02 Taylor May'd This movie is totally awesome!! Stiffler Rules!!! 5 stars
1/18/02 Spyguy2 Not as good as AP-1 but has some big laughs...the girls (esp. Tara Reid) look like crap 4 stars
1/06/02 kate the best movie since how eva long i have been alive deffernetly got to see it again 5 stars
12/03/01 Gary Smiled through the whole movie 5 stars
11/28/01 Owen Painton Really funny 5 stars
11/27/01 ap2rox hilairious... what else can you say? 5 stars
11/26/01 Larry Goldberg Funny as hell!! Great sequel!! 5 stars
11/26/01 ap2sux sucked bab, predictable humor, dont get me wrong cus i love scary movie1 and ap1 2 stars
11/26/01 Kyle Anderson I agree with Brill. Best sequel. 5 stars
11/25/01 Jon Eliot I Totally Agree! It comes off as a Porky's movie. Sorry, not good enough. 2 stars
10/19/01 Tam I couldn't stop laughing! A real feel-good movie, its like meeting up with your old friends 5 stars
10/16/01 Matthew Bartley Took a while to pick up pace, but just as good as the first 4 stars
10/10/01 ash it kicks ass 5 stars
10/10/01 jawsboy first 20 minutes are not great.the funny scenes help it,and biggs is good.first was better. 4 stars
9/26/01 Jeff Non-stop laughing! 5 stars
9/23/01 The Bomb 69 not as good as the first, but more funny than not 4 stars
9/17/01 Bri Yuck, even the nudity was dissapointing!! 1 stars
9/07/01 TLsmooth Stiffler is my idols. All of the bitches from the first one eat ass. Especially Reid. 4 stars
8/29/01 Amy 100% funny, better than the first, plus, we care about the characters 5 stars
8/26/01 The Boy In The Designer Bubble This one time in band camp, well all decided this movie sucked ass! 1 stars
8/23/01 Baphomet A dumb movie, even by teen comedy standards. That lezbo scene was for brain dead jocks..... 2 stars
8/22/01 Roy Smith Stiffler is the man! I want to be Alyson Hannigan's bitch. 4 stars
8/21/01 Fish Eye 80% of this movie is not funny. The other 20% involves Stiffler 2 stars
8/20/01 Jim This movie sucks. Is Tara reid on Crack?? 1 stars
8/20/01 Hugh Bastard Put the brain on hold.. and laugh for 100 minutes 4 stars
8/19/01 Chris It Was Sweet 5 stars
8/18/01 brad twice as good as first flick 5 stars
8/18/01 Obi Wan Stilfer ruled the sequel. Don't know why they paid Tara, Lynn or Ugly choir chick!!! 4 stars
8/18/01 King Jackass Almost as good as the first! 4 stars
8/17/01 John Lyons About what I expected. Lots of lame humor, good for the teens. 4 stars
8/16/01 Michael Geek Alyson Hannigan & Jason Biggs were realistic and endearing. A great movie to see w/friends 5 stars
8/16/01 Nicole 1st one was better but i laughed my ass off at this one..Stifler RULES in this sequel. 5 stars
8/16/01 Alex This isn't comedy. It's just disgusting trash. People don't think anymore. 1 stars
8/16/01 Xalt BWAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHA! 4 stars
8/15/01 tnt not quite nearly good enough 2 stars
8/15/01 ri bisi absolutely cool 5 stars
8/15/01 Josef Goebbels a lil' too much reminiscence and digging for jokes that were never there to start with 4 stars
8/14/01 FrayLo pretty good. That's all I have to say...:) 4 stars
8/13/01 Will oh, stifler, your antics amuse me. 4 stars
8/13/01 KCobain Takes more risks for greater pay-offs. Edgy but hilarious. 5 stars
8/12/01 Jack the dog The first one sucked, this one is so much better. 5 stars
8/12/01 Kevin It was OK, not the best but I think it's worth seeing if you REALLY liked the first one 3 stars
8/12/01 G-Man Hilarious...but not as good as the first. 4 stars
8/11/01 Benjamin Lesbian A bit hammy, but still the best movie of the summer 5 stars
8/11/01 CJ Excellent... lives up to the first one 5 stars
8/10/01 kyliomangero kewl kewl kewl kewl kewl kewl kewl kewl 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Aug-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Dec-2001 (M)


Directed by
  James B. Rogers

Written by
  Adam Herz

Cast
  Jason Biggs
  Shannon Elizabeth
  Alyson Hannigan
  Chris Klein
  Eugene Levy
  Tara Reid



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast