More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.42

Awesome: 16.67%
Worth A Look: 4.17%
Average: 18.75%
Pretty Bad: 25%
Total Crap35.42%

2 reviews, 36 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


New Guy, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Beat this movie up, put its head in the toilet, and flush."
1 stars

All that can be said for ďThe New GuyĒ is that it has a sequence in which Eliza Dushku tries on a variety of swimsuits. Aside from that, youíre drowning in a sea of woeful incompetence, my friends.

The title character is Dizzy Gillespie Harrison, played by DJ Qualls, who is freakishly thin and unsettling to look at. (He knows this; he earns movie roles because of it. Good for him.) Dizzy is a teen-age nerd who meets a prisoner (Eddie Griffin) who tells him how to stop being picked on: Get expelled and start over at a different school.

He succeeds at this, and when he shows up at raucous Highland High (their mascot: the Highlanders), he has an all-new, all-bad persona. Heís Gil Harris now, and donít mess with him. He impresses the school vixen (Eliza Dushku) by punching out her boyfriend and also catches the eye of the school tramp (Sunny Mabrey).

Also, he turns his back on his old nerd friends, but that conflict gets resolved pretty easily, so Iím going to pretend it never happened.

Then Gilís inner nice guy shines through, and he uses his new-found influence to turn Highland into a beacon of school spirit and pleasantness.

Even for one of those stupid teen movies that arenít very funny, this one isnít very funny. It is too far removed from reality: Nothing that occurs in the movie would ever happen in real life, and even if it did, people wouldnít react the way they do here. When Gilís motorcycle wonít start, his friends tie it to the back of a car, take off, and play a tape of motorcycle noises ó thus successfully fooling bystanders into thinking the bike was working on its own power.

It is occasionally loud and offensive, but more often, it simply lulls you into a gentle waking coma. It is an obvious and strange film, full of cameos by people who cannot act (Lyle Lovett, Gene Simmons, Tommy Lee, Tony Hawk, etc.), thus giving the impression of being an especially bad community theater production.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5352&reviewer=247
originally posted: 05/10/02 07:52:00
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/11/10 art THIS MOVIE IS NUT"S! 1 stars
6/13/08 PAUL SHORTT A DEPRESSING EXERCISE IN LOWEST COMMON DENOMINATOR FILMMAKING 1 stars
9/24/07 Bitch Slapper This movie rocked.It was a laugh the whole movie 5 stars
8/19/06 Quique I'd love to fuck Eliza Dushku. I masturbate every night thinking about it. 5 stars
1/26/06 aimless Horrible except for 5 minutes of Eliza Dushku trying on swimsuits. 1 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma I found it to be an uproarious flick 5 stars
1/17/04 J Funny at first then crap after seen it second time * 1/2 1 stars
11/28/03 Samuel pretty stupid!! but sort of funny at times... 3 stars
10/29/03 JesseL This move is hilarious. DJ Qualls was great. 5 stars
7/26/03 3man Not as good as I thought. Interesting cameos and damn, Eliza is hot! 3 stars
5/14/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back Mo'Fos!!!) Great premise, but bad acting & bad directing. Some good songs, though. 2 stars
12/30/02 John Aster Habig old jokes old plot fresh delivery I'm such a sucker for comic underdogs 5 stars
12/06/02 brian i wantto fuck eliza dushku in the butt or anywhere she lets me 5 stars
10/04/02 Zaw It was pretty funny. 4 stars
9/27/02 Simeon Briggs It was funny. And Eliza Dushku was strangely rubbish but amazingly hot, not too bad 3 stars
9/12/02 Norma Lehigh Pust dain jlumb! Keliza Douche Who? Pot's whee atheal?!? 2 stars
9/12/02 laron chapman so funny,it will crack you up 5 stars
9/10/02 John McNew Excrutiatingly lame and desperately unfunny 1 stars
9/09/02 othree a better than average new kid in town movie, funny enough w/o being cheezy 4 stars
9/05/02 Higher Buzz Lots of funny bits, and its overt weaknesses contribute to an overall charm. Good stuff 5 stars
9/02/02 Caiphn Not really funny at all. 2 stars
9/01/02 AshFan There are only 10 movies I don't like. Welcome to the list, New Guy!!! 1 stars
8/27/02 snowconehead decent, considering the target audience 3 stars
8/18/02 Joey Very, VERY far from funny 2 stars
8/13/02 blakers a okay film 3 stars
7/19/02 artemishia i dont know how, but it just wasnt funny 2 stars
7/05/02 Norma Lehigh Mive be a grake! Woo tilly sor furds! Keliza Douche Whoo? Pot's whee atheal?!? 3 stars
6/04/02 Mr Math way lame 2 stars
5/20/02 o-TAY speechless 1 stars
5/18/02 Jake It isn't 2001 anymore. Stop producing trash like this! 1 stars
5/17/02 K Take it for what it is... just laugh 3 stars
5/11/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) Not one drop of reality. Who the hell would believe that stick figure is now cool. Whatever 1 stars
5/10/02 Butterbean The story gets disjointed here n there, but it's not a bad movie. DJ Qualls is adorable. 3 stars
5/10/02 Jimmy James i saw it for free and expected nothing. i liked all the music cameos. 3 stars
5/10/02 Rampage What a piece of s**t and a waste of money. 1 stars
4/21/02 lll Yawn! Another boring teen comedy. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-May-2002 (PG-13)
  DVD: 06-Jan-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Aug-2002 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast