More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.17

Awesome44.68%
Worth A Look: 12.77%
Average: 0%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 42.55%

1 review, 41 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Pootie Tang
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Say ‘sa da tai’ and pass this by."
1 stars

In the convention of the ‘70’s blaxploitation flicks (“Coffy,” “Foxy Brown”), with hero bad asses and villain pimps, is Pootie Tang (Lance Crouther), a retro “super”-hero whose power resides in that of buckled-belt (“As long as you’ve got right on your side, you can whoops anyone’s ass with that belt”) and whose only Kryptonite is that of hoes.

Pootie must do battle with an evil corporate schmuck, Dick Lecter (who sells Lecter Burgers, among many other things) along with other villains or sidekicks that sound like their names are parodies of rappers (i.e., Dirty Dee as opposed to Heavy D; Biggie Shorty as opposed to Biggie Smalls, etc.). The running gag of Pootie’s belt-whipping defense (and the reverse shot of him looping it back up), or his non-sensical speech (“I’m gonna sine your pitty on the runny kine” or “Say ‘sa da tai’ and feel OK,” etc.) wear thin after the first time, and they are what make up the meat of this vegetarian project. The ghettoized, imposter Austin Powers doesn’t have the cleverness or appeal that the groovy polyamorous Myers-vehicle does, and how this sketch from “The Chris Rock Show” ever found its way to the big screen is a mystery to me. It matches the style and quality of those old blaxploitation movies that it’s emulating —but that isn’t a compliment. The attempts at humor are all weakly drawn and unhumorously executed. The idea of this movie is more like a bad joke-come-true, but its stupidity outweighs its novelty. Junk like this is but another setback and strike against what serious filmmakers like John Singleton are trying to do. “Pootie Tang” doesn’t deserve to be released in the same week as “Baby Boy,” let alone any other time. And at a time where the MPAA is being so strict on every little thing, how is it that this (along with “What’s the Worst That Can Happen?,” and “The Fast and the Furious”) can get away with a PG-13, while something like “The Princess and the Warrior” gets slapped with an R?

With Wanda Sykes, Jennifer Coolidge, Reg E. Cathey, Robert Vaughn, cameos by Missy Elliott, Andy Richter, Bob Costas, who I believe was Anna “Scary Movie” Faris, and several roles by Chris Rock. Written and directed by Louis C.K.

Final Verdict: D-.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5369&reviewer=172
originally posted: 07/03/01 15:28:05
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/15/15 David Hollingsworth one of the least funniest movies ever. 1 stars
5/18/14 SID RUMKOWSKI A superhero so cool,he speaks his own language. 5 stars
9/30/09 shaaronie Worse movie ever made. I made it thru 20 mins before I left the theater. I was the last one 1 stars
4/01/09 belike Probably one of the weirdest comedies I've ever seen. 4 stars
6/19/08 Kasamba Watched it last night, killed myself. This movie rocks 5 stars
3/17/07 Justin P One of the Funniest movies I've ever seen and I've seen every movie ever made. 5 stars
10/17/06 nmp it's stupid but i couldn't stop laughing. 4 stars
5/20/06 Danny Don't dig too deep and you'll see it is hilarious. You need to have a sense of humor though 5 stars
9/12/05 Total Crap Chris Rock in the end credits was funny. Rest of the movie sucks. Mm-yeah. 1 stars
11/01/04 Wil A Hilarious stupid comedy!! 5 stars
9/17/04 Hottwigg must have a sense of humor to appriciate it. 5 stars
6/07/04 Gene "the worst movie I've ever seen 1 stars
11/29/03 Samuel Pretty fuckin stupid!! 1 stars
11/14/03 MIKE LIU capa tadow wow,indeedeo 5 stars
5/17/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back Mo'Fos!) Piece of bearshit. 2 funny bits can't make up for all the crap it bears. 1 stars
3/13/03 sada tay easy on the flammy, my damie - capachow!! 5 stars
1/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Poopie Tang. 1 stars
12/30/02 Femme_Fataleaa I don't think this movie can be taken seriously. It SUCKED & Chis Rock stunk! 1 stars
11/02/02 justin it is the best film i have seen in the long time and i hope their is a sequel 5 stars
9/22/02 chris jones too funny for words. 5 stars
9/13/02 Aiken Drum Wapatah on tha paddie sta, ma bammie. - Very stupid, thats why so funny 5 stars
9/01/02 Laural In the same league as Fargo with the funny talk... 5 stars
7/12/02 Hack Benjamin This movie is dope! 5 stars
4/02/02 Kenahs Ehkim This is the most unprofessional review I'v ever read. You guys all suck. 4 stars
1/24/02 Andrew Carden Probably The Worst Screenplay Ever Written By A Living Human Being. 1 stars
1/22/02 Krakanova I seen it four times. And I will watch it again. 5 stars
12/15/01 Butterbean An extremely stupid movie that has won me over despite of what others have said of it 5 stars
12/03/01 stoe I'mma gwanna sine yo pitty on tha' runny kine 5 stars
11/12/01 BLACK SHORTS INTERNET TV From what I can tell you either love it or hate it !! we're gonna review it ourselves 5 stars
9/07/01 Stephen Levinson PT is Art, Genius, Hilarious, Godlike, Misunderstood. 5 stars
8/16/01 luchador it was an AWFUL movie, but it was so damn funny at times, i wouldn't mind seeing it again. 4 stars
8/08/01 Johnny Madwreck worth a look for the lingo (saahyee chai) and to watch an entire cast joke around. 4 stars
8/04/01 Mortis Oh...I think I live next to Biggie Shorty! Bet your money on the runnin' tine! 5 stars
7/25/01 gail willia Worst movie I've ever seen should of went staight to video 1 stars
7/15/01 Rampage retarded movie 1 stars
7/10/01 bprex It was a great movie...it did try to be good. It try to be stupid 5 stars
7/07/01 Nathaniel Tabak This is one of the best films as of late. 5 stars
7/06/01 http://angelicdestiny.com this is *the* WORSE movie i have EVER seen. 1 stars
7/03/01 ajay If you like the Pootie Tang guy on the Chris Rock Show then you'll like this movie. 4 stars
7/02/01 Jack the dog Worst Movie ever! I'd rather drag my balls throught broken glass than watch this turd 1 stars
7/01/01 fdfg Pathetic 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Jun-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Louis C.K.

Written by
  Louis C.K.

Cast
  Lance Crouther
  David Cross
  Andy Richter
  Chris Rock
  Wanda Sykes
  Dave Attell



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast