More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.64

Awesome75.73%
Worth A Look: 18.93%
Average: 1.46%
Pretty Bad: 0.97%
Total Crap: 2.91%

6 reviews, 170 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Battle Royale
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Mark Rodger-Snelson

"An uncompromising film that stays with you long after the credits roll."
4 stars

Japanese films are often notoriously violent and Battle Royale is no exception to that rule. It has been adapted from a book of the same title by Koshun Takami. The basic premise to this film is that a group of teenagers are transported to a remote island and forced to enter a game where the main rule is to kill or be killed. I have seen equally violent films in my time but the thing that makes Battle Royale more shocking and controversial than others is the age of the killers – there is something quite disturbing watching a group of high school kids take each other out with a variety of weapons.

Battle Royale is a government initiated program designed to control the wayward youth of Japan. The students are given a bag at the beginning of the game which contains a map, compass, food and a random weapon – if you’re lucky you get an Uzi and if you’re unlucky you may score a saucepan lid. Each participant wears an explosive collar which can be manually activated at any time and will automatically go off if tampered with. There can only be one survivor, if there is more than one participant remaining after three days then the explosive collars will be set off killing all remaining players. It does not take long before these desperate teenagers realise the seriousness of their situation and a bloodbath begins. There are those killing out of fear, revenge, pleasure and those who refuse to play either by avoidance or suicide.

The intense violence aside there are strong messages within this film that translates well to a western audience. We are presented with kids facing common issues for their age which can be an extremely difficult period in life. The characters here are like any other high school kids. This makes it easy to relate to them and forces you to think about what path you would take if you were faced with their same predicament. There are also themes exploring the media’s obsession with violence and it also looks at society’s fascination with reality TV. There is a comically cheerful presentation video that the students watch in order to learn the rules of the game, there’s a tally on the screen each time someone is killed and there are loudspeaker announcements naming the latest victims each morning.

Whilst the blood is flowing during Battle Royale there is an underlying love story developing between two of the main characters Shuya and Noriko. They have an eager determination to survive together and escape the island. During the game they meet up with Kawada who is a previous survivor with a tale of how he shot his girlfriend in order to complete the game. So what will they do if they are the last two survivors?

Battle Royale is beautifully shot and well acted which is unusual for such an extreme movie. Veteran Japanese actor ‘Beat’ Takeshi plays the disgruntled ex-teacher in control of the game – he plays a usually cold hearted and violent role that he has perfected over the years. All the teenage actors involved do exceptionally well playing the frantically distressed kids playing a mandatory and wicked game. The violence is incredibly graphic and realistic which adds to the film’s effectiveness.

This is the last film that director Kinja Fukasaku completed before his death earlier this year and to say he went out with a bang is an understatement. It is an uncompromising film that stays with you long after the credits roll.

Even though Battle Royale will remain a fairly underground film, it already has deserved cult status and will be a reference point for years to come.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5391&reviewer=388
originally posted: 11/22/04 07:25:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: Actionfest 2011 For more in the Actionfest 2011 series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2011 New York Asian Film Festival For more in the New York Asian Film Festival 2011 series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2011 Fantasia International Film Festival For more in the Fantasia International Film Festival 2011 series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2013 Boston SciFi Film Festival For more in the 2013 Boston Sci-Fi Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

1/30/14 Ionicera great satire, very suspenseful 5 stars
12/20/12 shooters33 This was the best movie I have seen all year if ever. THG totally ripped this off !! 5 stars
9/13/12 Marty Come on guys. It's a shock value film that's kinda fun. Too inconsistent to have meaning. 2 stars
5/16/10 wlad the best movie ever made. it has it all - action,and a deep underlying meening. This is art 5 stars
12/23/09 Jeff Mind-blowing film! 5 stars
9/08/09 Lewis This actually is the best feature-length film ever. No joke. 5 stars
2/17/09 Lucy My absolute favourite film of all time 5 stars
6/25/08 ES It was way better than I expected 4 stars
5/17/08 ash Deserves a headscratch with its pretext, but events in the "game" itself make us reflect 4 stars
5/07/08 Dimitri I really, really loved this movie, a bit violent but strong. 5 stars
11/22/07 Luke FUCKING AMAZING! 5 stars
7/24/07 AnthonyBenigno Despite the manga being superior, i love the different view the movie puts on the story! 5 stars
2/20/07 KitaShu Amazing movie - a must see for those who love action! Like me! XD 5 stars
2/06/07 CoDeMaStEr its so cool do any 1 no wen nomber 3 is out 5 stars
12/27/06 mE The best movie ever! 5 stars
12/09/06 Porcelain Its actually aesthetic through the gore.Very real display of survival instinct in humans. 5 stars
11/28/06 Bella amazing book, kick ass film, ram the point home - this is hardcore 5 stars
8/10/06 melivorous Masanabu Ando, Chiaki Kiriyama, Beat Takashi!! what more could you ask for! 5 stars
7/13/06 sayori hayatýmda en güzel filmdir. mesala chiaki kuriyama, kou shibasaki ve aki maeda... 4 stars
5/23/06 Agent Sands One of the great gorefests. Takeshi, as always, delivers with a wryly hilarious performance 5 stars
12/03/05 Jennifer S. This was just an excellent movie, start to finish. 5 stars
11/29/05 tr3svirus amazing movie 5 stars
10/16/05 Anus ABIGAIL CAN SUCK MY COCK ANYDAY! 5 stars
8/31/05 Christine Hosie great film!! strange in it's barbarism 5 stars
5/07/05 K. Sear Some weak moments but, all in all, a great movie. 5 stars
4/01/05 Seresh I can't get it out of my head. absolutley mind blowing 5 stars
3/22/05 The Mockingbird why cant we make something like this? one of my all time favs 5 stars
2/10/05 Scapegoats What a great movie...who ever says it sucks should be tared and feathered. 5 stars
1/29/05 Abigail sucks totally.. makes no sense - YUK! 1 stars
1/17/05 Dark Lord Brilliant, Shocking, Funny and Scary all at the same time. 5 stars
1/08/05 Pent I agree with shogo kawada 5 stars
12/08/04 Shogo-Kawada You know this is also a real game in east asia.. 4 stars
12/02/04 Al Guy More pathos than I would have thought. Great movie. 5 stars
11/28/04 Joe One more reason why hollywood sucks 5 stars
11/09/04 Alaric L A film about violence in human nature 4 stars
10/22/04 sofia the most mazing film i have ever seen ( no joke) 5 stars
8/11/04 Lee Extremely nice. I loved this movie!!!! R.I.P.Kinji Fukasaku 5 stars
8/10/04 kyotomatt Decent, but not as good as the book. Takeshi ruined the ending. 3 stars
8/06/04 tohru senno its the best war movie ever 5 stars
8/03/04 SpuD I actually found the film quite humourous :) We have it on DVD here too! Yey ^^ 5 stars
7/25/04 Patrick Puhl If you were appalled, you missed the point 5 stars
7/07/04 dead next door cool flick 5 stars
6/15/04 Tuan Nguyen Excellent story, music, and bloody gore. If you have watced it, you're one lucky bastard. 5 stars
6/03/04 Mr Mayagi Must see movie Daniel-san. 5 stars
6/03/04 VOS Outrageously riveting and compelling. It's a must see! 5 stars
6/03/04 Dave This film remains with you long after you have watched it. A disturbing film. QUITE AMAZING 5 stars
5/18/04 taintedlunch You've never seen anything like it. Find this movie! 5 stars
5/17/04 Geoff hilarious, exciting... just plain awesome 5 stars
4/19/04 Mitsuko Sinh THIS MOVIE ROCKED!! IT REALLY SHOWS HOW CRUEL THE WORLD MAY ONE DAY BECOME! 5 stars
4/12/04 Ryan Phallus Brutal, Intense, Immersive, Thought-Provoking, and hard to catagorize. 5 stars
4/01/04 Noriko Awesome 5 stars
3/16/04 Amzad H Visually disturbing, but brilliant!! 5 stars
2/14/04 Jaznng I thought this had an interesting point of view and the different situations showed alot. 4 stars
1/29/04 Meghan Carr An Awesome, thought provoking movie! 5 stars
1/23/04 JC Wow! I expected the movie to be good but not THAT good. Fantastic film. www.film-view.tk 5 stars
1/15/04 Colleen This movie was brilliant. I'm about done with the book right now, which might be better. =b 5 stars
1/05/04 Ben Good film with an astounding idea behind the carnage. Read the book as well if you can. 5 stars
1/03/04 Mark Simply one of the greatest movie's ever made, a classic 5 stars
12/22/03 jamie one of the best movies out there. 5 stars
12/15/03 delia johnson the movie fell short, but the concept is fucking awesome. 4 stars
11/14/03 Igor Insane violence + good story = kick ass movie. 5 stars
11/04/03 ThuG_uNit Very good Movie 5 stars
10/18/03 Vince This is one fucked up movie. 5 stars
10/15/03 Ying its a GREAAAAAT movie.Everybody who's niet a chickenshit has got to see it!!!!!! 5 stars
10/15/03 alsiha Best movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/15/03 AVG AZN BOI c'mon ppl, hoo dun lik ta c a movie wit kyute jap skool gurlz killin dere best friendz? 5 stars
10/05/03 john holdsworth one of the best films ever!!! 5 stars
9/23/03 aya wonderful 5 stars
9/06/03 mark excellent movie 5 stars
8/11/03 Richard Fitzmaurice This film is the best i have seen in a very long time! 5 stars
8/04/03 Noriko Yanagida (yes my real name is Noriko) This movie is disturbingly wonderful! A cult classic. ^_^ 5 stars
7/20/03 BookWorm Read the book, screw the film 1 stars
7/12/03 Dreamwalker Fantastic film, great characterization. Shame that it's bound to be badly remade in the U.S 5 stars
7/02/03 jih absolutely fucking amazing the guys who say total crap are retards with not friends. 5 stars
6/24/03 Pete B beautiful film! You see this remade for the American market! 5 stars
6/21/03 Kevin Fuld Awesome Movie! 5 stars
6/21/03 Kay My god.... a fascinating look at a society near you! 5 stars
6/14/03 ARM GHOST Battle Royale is one of those Movies that need to get into the state, 5 stars
6/12/03 Jerry DO'H!! DO'H!! DO'H!! Ah,my last letter. DO'H!!!! 1 stars
6/12/03 WakeAngel MORE MORE MORE 5 stars
6/11/03 jessie it was a mad and sad movie 5 stars
6/11/03 Rob i am a fan of asian films anyway but this was the best 5 stars
6/09/03 Ronald Blam this piece of crap!! 1 stars
6/08/03 Ben Barr I thought it was a great movie. I first heard about it in Pulp magazine. 5 stars
6/06/03 Chris Great fun, has such an energy to it, but also quite harrowing as well 5 stars
6/04/03 MoMusumefan21 Very huanting, you will always remember this movie. Cant wait for BR II in July 2003! 5 stars
6/04/03 AJ good movie. . . it really makes you think 4 stars
5/27/03 Robbie Awful!! I give this movie 0% 1 stars
5/27/03 Temple This is by far one of the best films ever made! 5 stars
5/24/03 Freddie Overall message is deep, but lacking in tact in places. Needs a better ending. 4 stars
5/23/03 Korny Perhaps the best movie ever made. 5 stars
5/23/03 johnathan lamplough this movie is the coolest ive seen in ages and ive seen reloaded! 5 stars
5/22/03 Genshu Makota Still a great piece of Japanese Cinematography. Should definitely be U.S bound! 5 stars
5/20/03 Williefish hilarious! 5 stars
5/19/03 ginger Awsome 5 stars
5/19/03 JEff very unique movie...i loved it 5 stars
5/06/03 Frank This film is amazing. I couldn't believe what I had saw when it was finally over. 5 stars
4/21/03 Adam Rosenberg This movie has made it onto my top 75 i give it 5 stars 5 stars
4/18/03 JAZY J 2003 I KNOW I WAS THERE! 5 stars
4/12/03 William Stewart The Kubrik of Japan, very impressive. 5 stars
4/08/03 Dave Non-stop ultra violence with a wicked sense of humour. Now that's entertainment. 5 stars
4/07/03 Wayne A dark and thrilling fairy tale of modern violence 5 stars
3/31/03 Kyle I'm at a loss for words. Incredible. 5 stars
2/27/03 NOS Watched it pressing the fast forward button of my remote 2 stars
2/14/03 Steve Great 5 stars
2/04/03 Mr Temple It's the dogs bollocks!!! 5 stars
1/11/03 Amanda Norcross Watch out for those transfer students!! 5 stars
1/09/03 Safia One of the best Japanese movies I've seen 5 stars
11/24/02 DRiON MITSUKO KICK'S ASS!!! 5 stars
11/12/02 Fonq35 Simply awesome... you will not see anything like this from Hollywood - treasure it! 5 stars
10/12/02 H3LLSING One of the best Japanese movies I've ever seen next to "Wild Zero". Watch it! Love it! 5 stars
9/29/02 HRaven now..I want the DVD... Worth the bill ! 5 stars
9/27/02 Azhrarn Who's your daddy bitch? 5 stars
9/18/02 DPop Amazing and Thought Provoking 5 stars
9/11/02 Vivek Bansal Shocking, controversial, reminds me of middle school. 5 stars
9/10/02 Reiko twisted beyond words.. I loved it... 5 stars
9/04/02 Patrick Ng One of the best movies I've ever seen! 5 stars
8/16/02 Steve Firstenburg One of the most original and original movies to come out of any country in quite a while. 5 stars
8/08/02 Roy good movie, got me paranoid. 5 stars
8/07/02 Jon Warner A profoundly subversive cult film - horrific, emotionally draining, and funny, too!!?? 5 stars
8/03/02 Andy H it blew my mind, US movies don't take this much risk....so sad 5 stars
7/30/02 edward h. Really disturbing film - powerful. 5 stars
7/26/02 Joe Blow aWESOME! 5 stars
7/17/02 Chronobyte Very Entertaining 5 stars
4/15/02 DNA quite enjoyable 5 stars
4/14/02 Krash i personally think that the law should be passed for real 5 stars
3/27/02 Tom Steer Entered my top 3 all time films 20 mins after it started 5 stars
3/20/02 Sakonchai Jiravanichkul How to survive in the real life is the truly question for our teenager. 3 stars
3/19/02 JoB Kick ass movie!!! 5 stars
3/13/02 cARa perty boring 1 stars
3/12/02 Roy O' Bannon I love it!!!!! Best Movie for Years 5 stars
3/10/02 Sugimura-sama It's violent movie!!I love it!! 5 stars
2/18/02 Andrew Carden Interesting Movie...Good Direction and Screenplay. 4 stars
2/17/02 atom The film is a bloody master peice 5 stars
2/15/02 Buddy Disturbing, ultra-violent...beautifully filmed & acted. 5 stars
2/08/02 Hanna So totally overwhealming...I will have to leave a few days before my next viewing... 5 stars
2/02/02 Death Blackdekker frightening, thought-provoking, exciting and well directed 5 stars
1/31/02 Nosty Violent and shocking, unforgettable! 5 stars
1/27/02 Jonny Mindless brutality coupled with thought-provoking drama 5 stars
1/10/02 DIN Shockingly GOOD!No.1 on my list of EXCELLENT movies........EVER :) 5 stars
12/11/01 Kevin Disturbing but great movie. 5 stars
12/06/01 Zed Totally intriguing. 5 stars
12/02/01 AK Horribly grotesque, yet superb story, most disturbing movie I´ve ever seen. 5 stars
11/30/01 Haley A disturbing, inspiring and astounding film. Cant be beaten. 5 stars
11/27/01 sdfr violent shocker or cautionary fable for our generation? works well as both. 4 stars
11/21/01 Claire Thornley This movie blew me away!! Look beyond the press and find one of the best films of the year 5 stars
11/19/01 KELLY MORRIS Not bad kind of Series 7 meets Cherry falls quite wierd 4 stars
11/08/01 Gopal Natarajan Brutal and disturbing, but darkly funny and poignant. 4 stars
10/28/01 jot027 fuckin' outstanding 5 stars
10/23/01 Ed (www.edshawk.com) Very violent but still a great film. 5 stars
10/21/01 Quentin Stories for the soul...........DISTURBING! 5 stars
10/14/01 Jason Columbine could have been avoided if students had an outlet like this 5 stars
10/10/01 John Kirriemuir Disturbing, compulsive, and confrontational - what would you do? 5 stars
9/29/01 Nyanko-chan Disturbing as all fuck, hell yeah, but just the premise is thoughtprovoking! 5 stars
9/28/01 HyperAkuma what can i say, its a japanese movie. truly twisted...in an interesting way, awesome movie. 5 stars
9/15/01 ym quite nice 4 stars
9/13/01 Ian Davies Quite simply, the best film of the year. 5 stars
8/29/01 Azek This is by far, one of the best movies I've seen in a long time. You need to see this one! 5 stars
8/22/01 Key I don't care how you do it, but you have to get your hands on this movie! 5 stars
8/20/01 k. I wish BR could be real! (my own death is worth a chance to kill mt classmates!) 5 stars
8/19/01 Rave669 Awesome flick! just got it today! worth every cent! 5 stars
8/16/01 AstroKender all I can say is: Whoa...Intense. 3 stars
8/13/01 talent14 A familiar, but COMPLETELY absorbing film. 4 stars
8/11/01 Vienna Unbelievable Amazing Piece of Work 5 stars
8/08/01 Kevin Collison Amazing effects! Halfway through, I realized the kids weren't actually killing eachother! 5 stars
8/06/01 Really Stunned person. SHOCKINGLY GOOD. Watch it. Then think. 5 stars
8/06/01 T Nguyen A powerful fable. Life is that sad? 5 stars
7/11/01 Boomshanka Top notch stuff, too violent for Americans, great for the rest of us. 5 stars
7/06/01 Kyle Druckenmiller Damn movie had me afraid to sleep 5 stars
6/15/01 Bob Johnson Great Film see it if you can 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Jan-2000

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-May-2003


Directed by
  Kinji Fukasaku

Written by
  Kenta Fukasaku
  Koushun Takami

Cast
  Tatsuya Fujiwara
  Aki Maeda
  Taro Yamamoto
  Masanobu Ando



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast