More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.32

Awesome55.07%
Worth A Look: 33.33%
Average: 4.35%
Pretty Bad: 2.9%
Total Crap: 4.35%

2 reviews, 57 user ratings



Ghost in the Shell (1996)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by davebo

"'It Found A Voice... Now It Needs A Body'"
4 stars

Anime, except way better than speed racer :)

Mimi Woods does the voice of Kusanagi, a cyborg cop in, like most anime, NEO-TOKYO!!! Also like a lot of anime, there's really big robots with even bigger guns. And yet, this isn't like most other films in its genre, there's a lot of feeling to it. a lot of insight into the minds and evolution of computers' "artificial" intelligence. Section 9 takes on a group of cyber-hackers or whatever the pollitically correct term is for dorks who sit on the computer all day doing something illegal instead of IRC like they should :) The quality of animation in this is top-notch and the action sequences are incredible.

Its a cool flick, even if you're not into anime.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=541&reviewer=30
originally posted: 09/12/98 11:33:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2014 Fantasia International Film Festival For more in the 2014 Fantasia International Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

8/24/16 mr.mike "is noice" (Borat). 4 stars
3/16/12 Sean One of the greatest anime movies ever made in my opinion. It was a true work of art. 5 stars
3/14/11 bored mom The rare anime fillm that doesn't shit on you with retarded preaching. But, no Fuchikoma? 4 stars
5/02/09 Man Out 6 Bucks Unparalleled. Awesome. High water mark of classic cyberpunk 5 stars
9/03/08 Shaun Wallner This one was kinda boring. 2 stars
3/28/07 fools♫gold Just to get it out (and advertise) here, I meant to give "Spriggan" a 4/5. 5 stars
3/18/07 pin terrible acting and stilted dialogue...boring...not up to the hype 1 stars
8/20/06 victor fernandes amazing- excellent story,drawings 5 stars
1/26/06 the laughing man Intriquing in every way. 5 stars
5/10/05 Mark Louis Baumgart You can see where The Matrix ripped off SHELL, great action, characters & plot. Classic!!! 5 stars
3/16/05 Ronin Yes Pete, go watch xXx or one fo the new James Bonds. Good I don't know many like you. 5 stars
12/15/04 Matt F. What is Gray talking about? Bato found her an empty shell, not a real body 5 stars
4/18/04 Pete Jesus was this movie boring. I slap myself awake numerous times 1 stars
3/15/04 Tom M. Excellent movie. Its too slow for some (its not an action film, no matter what people say) 5 stars
12/02/03 J Bird really awsome anime film, a little hard to understand the whole picture at first 5 stars
11/25/03 Sean Thomas Rent it, buy it, bootleg it. Just make sure you watch this beautifully crafted movie. 5 stars
10/15/03 Flounder This is one of the better anime that I have ever seen. 5 stars
9/04/03 Gray does no one have a problem with the kid they kill in the end!!!!!!! 2 stars
7/13/03 Sammy almost as good as "Akira" 5 stars
6/06/03 matthew hoffer one of the best I've ever seen 5 stars
1/22/03 Cato That the-never-sleping-city-atmosphere is just great and really immerses you into the world 5 stars
11/11/02 Versiani Good reflections about, and awesome action sequences 5 stars
10/06/02 Charles Tatum Great action but duller than dirt dialogue and climax 4 stars
12/09/01 CableMage Anime Rulez. American 'cartoons' blow goatse.cx. (except Southpark) 5 stars
11/14/01 Jeff G Not perfect, but about as good as animation gets. 5 stars
10/08/01 Spank Ohhhhhhh baby!!!!!! 5 stars
8/04/01 bloody it not that good ,, but not crap ,, there is deffently better out there 3 stars
8/04/01 Trevor beautiful fascinating anime 5 stars
6/30/01 dex !!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/25/01 J Much better than "Matrix" & it places most anime-haters to shame. 5 stars
4/07/01 Barabbas Great tribute to the comic book series...but I would have liked at least one Fuchicoma... 5 stars
3/29/01 Galimofry one of the best anime I've ever seen 5 stars
3/21/01 M.C.A Fine anime movie. 5 stars
3/13/01 Alex D. This is one of the best animes I have ever watched. Worth watching a thousand times! 5 stars
3/12/01 Jon Cotleur It's physically impossible to understand it completely 1st time round. But worth it. 4 stars
3/12/01 Mike N. Poulsen If you like the movie, then try the PS game ..... 5 stars
3/10/01 theVirtue my favorite anime, from the stellar artwork, to the creativity in the story and voicing.... 5 stars
11/21/00 Son Gokou Great animation, great story, and cool action doesn't get much better 5 stars
10/18/00 Mislav Much better than Matrix, outstanding visuals 5 stars
9/14/00 Jed Good anime movie although it needed a 2nd viewing. 4 stars
6/18/00 Jed If you're me then this'll require a 2nd viewing before you decide. 4 stars
5/20/00 sherman mcclain visually and cerebrally flawless. if this is our future...be afraid. 5 stars
5/19/00 HELL-¹ Yak!yak!yak! 5 stars
5/15/00 BBDollar Amazing. "The Matrix" toatlly ripped this off. 5 stars
4/30/00 Jed Flawed but well-crafted mature anime movie. 3 stars
12/19/99 David Gukin Incredible; deep plot, incredible animation, and by far my favorite movie. 5 stars
11/27/99 Elspeth its the best manga cartoon i have eva seen!!!!!! 5 stars
10/20/99 Lame-Oh not as bad as Akira 4 stars
10/11/99 Weird Andy Alright, but no "Yuroskidoji." 4 stars
7/22/99 whathaveye Not bad. 4 stars
7/17/99 unstrung superb plot, the rest is icing on the cake! 5 stars
12/09/98 Scion of Graveheart Better than Speed Racer, that Kusanagi gal sure has a pretty rack. Kick ass! 4 stars
11/03/98 grunter further proof that "anime" translated to English is "piss-poor animation" 1 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob Enough about this 1. Check out Wicked City, Akira, Arcadia or Ninja Scroll for great anime! 3 stars
10/17/98 Sailor Moon Ate My Balls Even better than those Disney cartoons... anime movies are well worth a look! 4 stars
8/31/98 Mister Whoopee Great anime flick. Very cool. 5 stars
8/30/98 Matt An anime movie, that feels like an independent movie. i loved it 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Mar-1996 (PG-13)
  DVD: 11-Jan-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast