More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.37

Awesome63.41%
Worth A Look: 24.39%
Average: 2.44%
Pretty Bad: 4.88%
Total Crap: 4.88%

10 reviews, 104 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Ghost World
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"Pretty darn good after five minutes...even with a few beers."
5 stars

The previews for "Ghost World" make the film look like an all out weird comedy with intercut images of an Indian music video, set to a dark looking Thora Birch dancing and looking glum. There's weirdness throughout, but surprisingly, "Ghost World" is a deeper and more rewarding experience than I could ever have imagined, which may be one of the best films on adolescence I have ever seen.

Maybe it is because at times I felt my life mirrored Enid's in a way. Played beautifully by Thora Birch ("American Beauty"), Enid is 18 years old, fresh out of high school, with no idea of where she wants to head next. She's sullen and bratty, hating all the wannabes around her and making insulting comments. Without a job or any plans for college, she sort of zones out. Her best friend Rebecca (the luminous Scarlett Johansson from "Lost in Translation") is already thinking ahead, wanting an apartment and holding a job at a coffee shop. Rebecca, herself, doesn't look or sound like Enid, but she has the attitude of hating the world and criticizing everything.

When Enid meets Seymour (Steve Buscemi), things change. At first, Enid tricks him into a date after jokily answering a personal ad of his, but then eventually starts following him and learning that his passion in life is 78rpm records (you know, the REALLY fast ones that existed in the 20's and 30's). Soon enough, a relationship between the two develops, and Enid's relationship with Rebecca is put to the test.

Zwigoff, like Cameron Crowe before him, has a knack for giving three dimensions to his supporting characters. One I loved was Illieana Douglas who is teaching a summer art class Enid must take for credit. Douglas' character rejects the critical aspect of teaching and just loves everything. Another is a shirtless, nunchuck wielding store customer that has his own attitude to the world, and reminds me of that strange guy you see in a store every now and then and never really get to know.

"Ghost World" is a brave, original film that has everything going for it: strong writing, a director with a vision, near perfect performances, a good sense of humour, a terrific soundtrack, all culled together into such an ambitious and mindblowing film that is really about something. And stay for those credits!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5482&reviewer=350
originally posted: 06/13/04 23:55:02
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/20/14 Dane Youssef A really worthwhile film. It scores successfully in every aspect. It's extremely important. 5 stars
11/19/11 netra smith the movie is saying something about not giving into conformity in society 4 stars
7/04/09 hammerin hank Only an idiot would find this movie idiotic. Only a bore would find it boring. 5 stars
6/09/08 Jack Honest, real, hilarious and heartbreaking. BudLite-swilling Blueshammer fans won't get it. 5 stars
4/24/08 beau HAHA "oh my god he just ordered a giant glass of milk"...."uh thats a vanilla milkshake.." 4 stars
2/25/08 SamanthaP i thought this movie was so true to life, thora birch was great! 5 stars
2/12/08 mb Idiotic. Demeaning. Lacking in life. Left after 40 min. 1 stars
11/27/06 mili this movie amazed me, it just touched me in a certain way no movie had before. 5 stars
6/13/06 Hana all time fave, brilliant film! 5 stars
1/26/06 aimless One of the few films that gets better each time you watch it 5 stars
9/09/05 matt great film 5 stars
8/19/05 ES Wow, depressing and boring= this is the new rage hmmm 1 stars
8/05/05 Nate Frary I absolutely adore this movie. 5 stars
6/29/05 Queen Tantrum Absolutely AMAZING! 5 stars
6/10/05 Charlie Pointless, but quite entertaining! 4 stars
6/07/05 Alex St. John If you enjoy dark comedies this movie is definitely for you! 5 stars
4/01/05 failingloser i <3 it 5 stars
3/22/05 Candy I just really love this movie! Its cool and awsome! I love you steve! You have cool movies. 5 stars
9/09/04 Conor Crockford great 5 stars
7/06/04 James Kustes Watch Crumb and American Splendor as well 4 stars
6/26/04 Cynthia Hanna Impressive depiction of reality! 4 stars
5/21/04 Elena this movie is hilarious; not trying to be 'goth' or hip or clever really.it's just natural. 5 stars
4/16/04 A Reader "Jaan Pehechaan Ho" is reason enough to see it. Birch, Johansson, and Buscemi all shine. 5 stars
4/13/04 Jack Sommersby Not half as clever or hip as it purports to be. 2 stars
3/15/04 ToMaSsS! it was alrite 3 stars
2/29/04 jimmy two times great film 5 stars
1/24/04 Eraserhead I personally think this film sucks 1 stars
1/04/04 Ashley Definately my favorite movie! 5 stars
11/23/03 smartmusician Loved the movie 5 stars
9/27/03 Leah Heagy I loved it!!!!! 5 stars
5/23/03 Ryan F. These pseudo goth, antisocial "I just need to find myself" films grate my nerves big time. 2 stars
5/20/03 Britishlover I can totally connect with this film. Buscemi was excellent. 5 stars
5/16/03 Piz depressingly funny and an acting gem. Nice surprise 4 stars
4/11/03 Jack Bourbon One of the few movies I've seen to accurately portray what having friends is really like. 5 stars
4/07/03 Jack Sommersby Overpraised and underwhelming. Thin material not spruced up by attempts at eccentricity. 2 stars
4/01/03 Christopher Boatman What a teen movie should be. 5 stars
3/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" lyrik Funny, dramatic, perfectly acted/casted, brilliantly scripted, my kind of movie. 5 stars
1/26/03 Lord David one of my ultra-faves - totally funny & sad 5 stars
12/22/02 Pigwidgeon Achingly true. The Birch-Buscemi duet tore my heart out and stomped that sucker dead. 5 stars
12/15/02 Kyle One of the best movies I've seen... deserved a wider release. 5 stars
11/16/02 Mike was Here Thoughtful, touching, and ultimately very very sad, despite the optimistic ending. A+ 5 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Thora Birch shoulda been nominated for the Oscar!! 5 stars
11/15/02 JackG One of last years best movies. It's not Hollywood, so therfor it's great. 5 stars
11/06/02 JesseL Thora Birch cannot act. This movie is a dork movie for dork people. 1 stars
10/26/02 Morally Sound Interesting and rebeliously funny movie. 4 stars
8/22/02 MaIniYaK BEST MOVIE 5 stars
8/02/02 chet like all independent films, boring and interesting simultaneously 4 stars
7/31/02 oska was expecting an 'independent' american movie, instead th usual formulaic rubbish 2 stars
7/26/02 Turtle Pretty boring and rarely funny...but it has its moments. 3 stars
7/15/02 Chuck Bittersweet, touching, sad and funny. Wow, what a film! 5 stars
7/11/02 Kristen hilarious 3 stars
7/10/02 willy.gk an affectionate, haunting film. will linger in your head for days 5 stars
5/13/02 Amy Takes a shot and misses 3 stars
5/11/02 Keith good in a "getting-in-touch-with-my-inner-troubled-teen-girl" sort of way 4 stars
4/29/02 Malcolm Masiero If you think this movie sucks, then you just don't understand 5 stars
4/21/02 Akira_773 Very good, despite falling into the same trap all movies like this do 4 stars
4/18/02 Film Dude No Andrew, this IS NOT A BLACK FUCKING COMEDY. YOU'RE A FUCKING DUMBASS. GO TO HELL! 5 stars
4/04/02 lauren mccreight trys to be cynical.....comes off whinny. 2 stars
4/02/02 Monday Morning A waste of time 2 stars
3/31/02 Reini Urban Very cute 4 stars
3/21/02 Mike Perfect for post-high school teens. Thoughtful, realistic, and complicated. No easy answers 5 stars
3/02/02 Butterbean I could relate to Enid to a point. Buscemi was great. Overall, a nice "artsy" movie. 4 stars
2/18/02 Kyle Brilliant. Not at all what I expected- definitely NOT another teen movie. 5 stars
2/17/02 Andrew Carden Well-Done Black Comedy. Some Imagintive Lines and Great Performances. 5 stars
2/17/02 John Lyons What a waste of time! The whole movie was pointless. 1 stars
2/11/02 Michael Grimm slow, little character development, total letdown 2 stars
2/11/02 Spyguy2 Wow, what a gem! I went out and bought it on dvd the next day. Brilliant! 5 stars
2/11/02 Joe This movie really tried my patience. I kept waiting for something significant to happen. 1 stars
2/09/02 A.K. Funny and touching. For once, a real movie about teenagers 5 stars
2/05/02 Nonnon Fabulous. 5 stars
1/19/02 Rego Allegro Great movie - American Independant Cinema at its best and an amazing Steve Buscemi 5 stars
1/15/02 Carly There's material here to make a 5 star movie, but Enid just pissed me off so much. 1 stars
12/30/01 Nicole Enid's my hero... and Seymour's the man I long to meet... 5 stars
12/28/01 Albert Yu Looking for Alex Hirsch!!! EIMer@ Alex I am trying to track your ass down!! email me albertucsb@yahoo.com 5 stars
11/26/01 Tam Excellent characterisation & a witty script. The ending avoided cliche. 5 stars
10/22/01 puckfreak Totally overrated if that's possible...maybe because I'm not a teenage girl? 2 stars
10/11/01 masin wolliams in the last 32 years I've seen close to 100k movies, this is in my top 5. I was blown away. 5 stars
9/29/01 Ben VanDuyvendyk A better transition than could've been hoped for, great movie if you like satirical wit, 5 stars
9/27/01 amir pakdel it was amazing to me 4 stars
9/26/01 Maple Syrup It somehow uses it's sardonic wit and cynical world view to make you feel all gooey inside. 5 stars
9/18/01 Thor-Leo Not the usual Hollywood fare but not the masterpiece that some say it is 4 stars
9/16/01 Alex Hirsch SEE THIS MOVIE 5 stars
9/16/01 Jerry R. Colvin My favorite movie of 2001 5 stars
9/14/01 chloe perfection 5 stars
9/13/01 Lachlan L. A fantastically put together collection of social satire/commentary. Beautiful, sad, insane 5 stars
9/10/01 Professor Matrix I can relate. Low art and high weirdness. Instead of the bus, I hitch hiked. 5 stars
9/09/01 Wilbot Characterization very good. Birch & Buscemi excellent. Rather sad. Ridiculous ending. 4 stars
9/04/01 daniel scarlett johannson is beautiful....check out the ghost world website, it's really well done 5 stars
9/04/01 Chris Harris I think it appeals to a minority. If you happen to be in that minorty it speaks volumes. 5 stars
9/03/01 JUSTIN G T.B. IS BEAUTIFUL IN A BEAUTIFUL MOVIE!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/01/01 JB Great movie. Everthing is nice. It really flows. Buscemi! 5 stars
9/01/01 The D bittersweet 5 stars
8/31/01 Patrick David Barber heartbreakingly beautiful. see it a lot 5 stars
8/28/01 C. MOORE Mise en scene ooks like Clowes's illustrations. 5 stars
8/28/01 edmurder i was the target audience for this movie. 5 stars
8/27/01 Elizabeth super-sarcastic and funny, yet touching 5 stars
8/26/01 hankmekon brilliant insight with an overcast of alienation 5 stars
8/25/01 frank best movie of the summer 5 stars
8/21/01 B Horner A teenage film that was not made just for teenagers. Perfectly cast; go see it! 5 stars
8/14/01 Ryan Jones Bad. Just really really bad. 1 stars
8/06/01 Raiven Very funny, insightful, sexy and emotionally affecting. I totally loved it, and Thora! 5 stars
8/03/01 Kimble superkewl 5 stars
7/27/01 cody a hilarious comedy 5 stars
7/27/01 Heather An offbeat movie full of oddballs, misfits, teen angst, lack of identity etc., good acting 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Aug-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  27-Jun-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast