More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.19

Awesome: 26.14%
Worth A Look: 25%
Average: 18.18%
Pretty Bad: 3.41%
Total Crap27.27%

3 reviews, 70 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Not Another Teen Movie
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Gleefully raunchy. Painfully stupid. Pretty damn funny."
3 stars

If there were ever a sub-genre of movies that was overripe for skewering, the recent spate of generic teen flicks is it. Since most of these films feature the exact same plots, characters and messages, the 'teen flick' certainly lends itself perfectly to satire. While it's far from anything resembling a "good film", Not Another Teen Movie manages to be extremely funny...sometimes.

The arrogant jock.
The bitchy cheerleader.
The artistic non-comformist.
The horny freshman.
The token black guy.
The insufferable jerk.
The annoying best friend.
The vampy slut.
The stupid fat guy.


If you've seen any of the recent (or classic) teen movies of the past several years, then you're already quite familiar with these sterotypes. When the movie is at its best, Not Another Teen Movie does a fantastic job of deflating these walking cliches and delivers some solid laughs to those audience members familiar with the source material.

The plot in this vulgar and intermittently hilarious spoof is basically meaningless (although it seems to follow most closely to 1999's She's All That). Since the movie tries to reference as many films as possible, it's only logical that the plot is choppy and episodic. (In this respect, no comedy has yet dethroned Airplane! as The Perfect Spoof Movie.)

In an effort to include seemingly every teen flick of the past 5 years, Not Another Teen Movie pokes fun at American Pie, Varsity Blues, She's All That, Cruel Intentions, Jawbreaker, Can't Hardly Wait, Never Been Kissed, 10 Things I Hate About You, Bring It On, Road Trip, Final Destination, etc. Classic teen movies are lampooned as well, including Risky Business, Sixteen Candles, Porky's, The Breakfast Club, Rudy and Pretty in Pink. (Non-teen movies are fair game, as there are also few barbs pointed towards Almost Famous, American Beauty and several others.)

While director Joel Gallen and his five (yes, I said five) screenwriters certainly earn points for their cinematic research skills, the laughs-to-groans ratio is alarmingly high. A handful of truly uproarious sequences are mired among several jokes that simply flop onto the screen and lie there. You'll have to sit through some truly weak material to get to the good stuff here. Fortunately, the best segments are worth waiting for.

On one hand, a film like Not Another Teen Movie is a real treat for movie critics and film freaks, as we're all extremely familiar with the inner workings of the teen flick. On the other hand, film aficionados will probably be turned off by the film's poor pacing and scattershot delivery. I don't know where the rule "spoofs must be cheap and sloppy" got started, but I've grown weary of satires with the production value of a lemonade stand.

One of Not Another Teen Movie's main assets is its colorful cast. With an 'anything for a laugh' attitude and a delightful affinity for spouting the most disturbing vulgarities, this collection of performers deserves most of the congratulations for the funniest bits. Jaime Pressly (Ringmaster) gets the most mileage out of her character, playing the gorgeous and heartless head cheerleader. Sam Huntington (Detroit Rock City) delivers a dead-on impression of Chris Klein and earns some giggles, while the lovely Mia Kirshner (Mad City) does a nice job with a thanklessly ugly role. (She plays the incestuous "cruel" girl.)

One of this film's bigger problems is that it often recedes back into the very mold it's trying to parody. The American Pie series has seemingly already perfected the "bodily fluids" line of gags, so there's no need for the massive explosion of feces that occurs about halfway into this one. A spoof should be confident enough not to emulate the material that it's trying to humiliate.

While technically (not to mention artistically) a mess, Not Another Teen Movie manages to provide some solid belly laughs. If you have a high tolerance for unblinking gross-out gags and you love making fun of Freddie Prinze Jr. flicks, odds are you'll have a good time with this one. You paid to see the real movies! And most of those flicks are awful!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5489&reviewer=128
originally posted: 12/18/01 14:31:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/08/11 mr.mike A Classic 5 stars
10/13/09 art ACTUALLLY THIS IS A HUNDRED TIME"S BETTER than SHE"S ALL THAT! 3 stars
8/23/09 anonymous i think it was really funny! but it was really unusual eg.she snogged a nanny ? 5 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. stupid and sometimes funny. 3 stars
10/31/08 Shaun Wallner This movie was stupid! 1 stars
9/25/07 Dark Enchantress funy movie from start to finish! 5 stars
7/02/07 johnnyfog I laughed when Mr. T showed up. That's about it. 1 stars
4/28/07 Dark Enchantress really funny...better than the scary movies! 5 stars
10/24/05 J-money Excellent and funny 5 stars
4/17/05 Jeff Anderson Very funny & surprisingly witty at times. MIA KIRSHNER IS SMOKING HOT & TRULY, TRULY ROCKS! 4 stars
1/31/05 New Jersey Rules Terrible, only morons will enjoy this garbage. 1 stars
1/10/05 Feliciano Cinematography, acting and even direction is awesome!!!! 5 stars
12/23/04 Vince Good fun, recommended! 4 stars
12/07/04 Jason Kaul Strange, the lesbian kiss was really HOT! Look for the easteregg of the outtakes on the DVD 4 stars
11/22/04 Allie it was ok 3 stars
11/01/04 jordan this movie is so funny 5 stars
10/23/04 Carly this movie is the funniest eva and is not for old farts they have no sense of humour 5 stars
8/29/04 Dan Hillarious satire mercilessly bashes pretentious teen movies. Underrated Classic 5 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G :D 5 stars
7/26/04 bullit16 THIS is what passes for funny nowadays? Can I give it zero stars? 1 stars
2/09/04 Whatevr The epitome of all awful teen movies. 1 stars
12/14/03 chris this movie kicks ass and screw any one who says different 5 stars
11/03/03 sean Unfunny parts and laughs scattered evenly. At times anticlimatic. 3 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus The Breakfast Club Spoof was funny, but the rest was shit! 2 stars
9/03/03 here a good film 4 stars
9/02/03 Dawn Movies mocking the stupid need wit, not more idiocy. 1 stars
7/30/03 Alex Better than the Average 4 stars
7/20/03 amy This film was very funny for sleepovers 4 stars
6/28/03 Dan_A Come on. It was SUPPOSED to be stupid. 4 stars
6/04/03 mee funny 5 stars
1/05/03 Uncle Salty Absolutely brilliant, a sweet release from the prepackaged teen horseshit out there. 5 stars
12/17/02 cinkcool hahahahahha 5 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano Good therapy for the "real" teenybopper flicks. 3 stars
8/27/02 snowconehead Why do people rate movies with absolutely no standard expectations? 4 stars
6/24/02 Del Pretty funny and the most tits I have seen in a movie in a long time 4 stars
6/22/02 Jake Worst F#$%@*^ movie! Not ANOTHER teenager, more like! Some think Freddy got F, was bad? 1 stars
6/22/02 Prabha Hirntopul Best of cast is girl who takes humongous dump - why no more of her??? 3 stars
5/19/02 Chowie scary movie was funnier, but the jock guy was hot 4 stars
5/16/02 Monday Morning "Scary Movie" was better? JESUS H. CHRIST, kill us now. 1 stars
5/11/02 Butterbean I love stupid parodies,but I only laughed once during this one. Rent Scary Movie II instead 1 stars
5/10/02 spyguy2 Thank God it was loaded with hot chicks or it would have nothing going for it. Mediocre. 2 stars
4/06/02 Dom Corleone Pretty funny 5 stars
4/06/02 spacecowboy expect little and you will not be dissapointed. 4 stars
4/04/02 Film Dude Very surprised. Actually had a couple of good laughs. 4 stars
3/27/02 Chris żĄ Although some of the movie is pretty funny, it's to bad some of the jokes fall flat. 3 stars
2/20/02 Prabha Hirntopul Best of cast is girl who takes humongous dump - why no more of her??? 3 stars
2/10/02 Cat THIS MOVIE SUCKED! WHAT MORE CAN I SAY? 1 stars
1/17/02 Jeff Lee I thought it was hilarious, Make more of these types of movies 5 stars
1/16/02 The Boy In The Designer Bubble I may die alone and single, but at least I didn't have anything to do with making this shit 1 stars
1/12/02 hd very very stupid its not even funny and there trying to copy scarie movie 1 stars
1/12/02 Dink Swab well it sux ya dink hard core!! 1 stars
1/10/02 EK Whats up, the movie was realy good, does anyone have the song where they sing about theprom 5 stars
1/04/02 Crunchyfrog I saw this movie at the theater 3 stars
1/02/02 Robert Halarious, laughed all the way threw it.. 5 stars
12/29/01 @?? i dont know why everyone is bashing this movie, honestly, i thought it was pretty funny!! 4 stars
12/26/01 The Freshmaker A friend of mine asked me to see this movie with her. She's no longer my friend 1 stars
12/23/01 Andrew Carden Quite Funny, Beats The Heck Out Of The Crude and Unfunny Scary Movie. 4 stars
12/21/01 Johnny Walker I was surprised. It was funnier than some of those dumb orginals it satirimanizes 4 stars
12/19/01 brent young somewhat funny... worth 5 bucks if you're bored 3 stars
12/18/01 Good Chung I love teen movies but still enjoyed this nasty, yet oddly likable, spoof. Perfectly cast 5 stars
12/18/01 Rebecca The ox guy (Sam huntington) who made fun of Chris Klien saved this movie!hes hilarious! 5 stars
12/18/01 Visions of It's sad when a satire has the perfect target and they end up blowing it. 2 stars
12/18/01 boner movie sucked, but I would love to fuck the girls in the movie. 1 stars
12/18/01 Rampage not even worth a freaking matinee... pure crap 1 stars
12/17/01 Joe Deblow Not another boring movie 1 stars
12/15/01 NT Chris Evans as Jock Jake Wyler is awesome! 4 stars
12/14/01 P Riddy LOL! 5 stars
12/14/01 truckgirl Had me laughing out loud 5 stars
12/14/01 King of the Bros well I thought it was fucking sweet. 5 stars
12/13/01 john linton roberson I call it crap, and it makes me very irritated. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Dec-2001 (R)
  DVD: 26-Jul-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  21-Mar-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast