More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.19

Awesome: 26.14%
Worth A Look: 25%
Average: 18.18%
Pretty Bad: 3.41%
Total Crap27.27%

3 reviews, 70 user ratings



Not Another Teen Movie
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Not another bad parody movie that has no idea what 'parody' is!"
1 stars

The dictionary says a “parody” is “a literary or artistic work that broadly mimics an author’s style AND holds it up to ridicule” (emphasis mine).

“Not Another Teen Movie” does a fine job mimicking the common plot devices and stock characters of teen movies: the studly guy who turns the “ugliest” girl into the prettiest, the off-beat guy who pursues that girl, the horny freshmen, the vapid cheerleaders, etc., etc.

It also accurately points out the cliques and social distinctions that exist in high school, and rightly observes that whoever is like you, that’s who you’re forced to hang out with.

But guess what. There’s more to being funny than just being accurate. If no one had ever before pointed out the subcultures in high school (and in high school movies), then the “it’s funny because it’s true” theory might work. But since these have already been discussed, noticed and dealt with at length, it becomes “Not Another Teen Movie’s” lot not just to point them out, but to make fun of them. It must mimic what is done in other movies, AND take it a step further by mocking it.

This it does not do. “Not Another Teen Movie” shows us the conventions of the teen genre, but has no idea how to make fun of them. It thinks that re-creating events from famous movies is the same thing as “parody” or “satire,” when in reality, re-creating an event is just re-creating an event.

Putting characters in detention in a room that looks just like the room in “The Breakfast Club,” and then having the SAME ACTOR from that movie (Paul Gleason) show up and engage in pretty much the same dialogue from that movie is NOT A PARODY. It’s a reference. You’re referring to another movie, and if we recognize what you’re referring to, maybe we smile knowingly. But we don’t laugh at it unless you somehow tweak the situation, thus “pointing out the folly, vice or stupidity” of the referrent material (the definition of “satire”).

And how dare a movie make fun of gross-out comedies like “American Pie,” and then indulge in the same excrement-for-laughs behavior as the films they’re mocking! Either you’re saying that sort of humor is worthless, or you’re using it. You can’t have your crap and eat it, too.

“Not Another Teen Movie” does itself another disservice by addressing both classic ‘80s teen movies as well as recent ‘90s ones. The film’s best shot at real parody -- a scene with Molly Ringwald -- is wasted because most of the film’s target audience is too young to fully appreciate the greatness in hearing Molly Ringwald grumble, “[expletive] teen-agers.”

There are cast members in this movie, but none you’ve heard of. They were chosen because they fit the types -- jocks, nerds, sluts, and so on -- and not because they can act.

The movie’s one good scene -- and it borders on greatness -- is an out-of-nowhere musical number just before the prom. This scene says that teen movies amusingly place too much emphasis on the importance of The Big Dance, but it does so without anyone actually saying the words, “Teen movies amusingly place too much emphasis on the importance of The Big Dance.” Throughout the rest of the movie, anytime a satiric point is to be made, it is made by someone saying it point-blank, which generally removes all possible humor from it.

In this movie’s universe, the best way to make fun of the idea of token black characters is not to show the ridiculousness of it, but to have a character say, “I’m the token black guy” and leave it at that. Nothing is implied or subtle. Everything is spelled out in big, stinky letters, and then you’re smacked in the face with it.

“Not Another Teen Movie” is, in fact, just another teen movie. In director Joel Gallen’s attempt to spoof the genre, he has merely added another lame entry to it. This one is stupid, obvious, unfunny, desperate and insulting -- even for people who like teen movies. It was a great idea for a parody, but it was handled just about as badly as it could have been.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5489&reviewer=247
originally posted: 12/12/01 10:41:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/08/11 mr.mike A Classic 5 stars
10/13/09 art ACTUALLLY THIS IS A HUNDRED TIME"S BETTER than SHE"S ALL THAT! 3 stars
8/23/09 anonymous i think it was really funny! but it was really unusual eg.she snogged a nanny ? 5 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. stupid and sometimes funny. 3 stars
10/31/08 Shaun Wallner This movie was stupid! 1 stars
9/25/07 Dark Enchantress funy movie from start to finish! 5 stars
7/02/07 johnnyfog I laughed when Mr. T showed up. That's about it. 1 stars
4/28/07 Dark Enchantress really funny...better than the scary movies! 5 stars
10/24/05 J-money Excellent and funny 5 stars
4/17/05 Jeff Anderson Very funny & surprisingly witty at times. MIA KIRSHNER IS SMOKING HOT & TRULY, TRULY ROCKS! 4 stars
1/31/05 New Jersey Rules Terrible, only morons will enjoy this garbage. 1 stars
1/10/05 Feliciano Cinematography, acting and even direction is awesome!!!! 5 stars
12/23/04 Vince Good fun, recommended! 4 stars
12/07/04 Jason Kaul Strange, the lesbian kiss was really HOT! Look for the easteregg of the outtakes on the DVD 4 stars
11/22/04 Allie it was ok 3 stars
11/01/04 jordan this movie is so funny 5 stars
10/23/04 Carly this movie is the funniest eva and is not for old farts they have no sense of humour 5 stars
8/29/04 Dan Hillarious satire mercilessly bashes pretentious teen movies. Underrated Classic 5 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G :D 5 stars
7/26/04 bullit16 THIS is what passes for funny nowadays? Can I give it zero stars? 1 stars
2/09/04 Whatevr The epitome of all awful teen movies. 1 stars
12/14/03 chris this movie kicks ass and screw any one who says different 5 stars
11/03/03 sean Unfunny parts and laughs scattered evenly. At times anticlimatic. 3 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus The Breakfast Club Spoof was funny, but the rest was shit! 2 stars
9/03/03 here a good film 4 stars
9/02/03 Dawn Movies mocking the stupid need wit, not more idiocy. 1 stars
7/30/03 Alex Better than the Average 4 stars
7/20/03 amy This film was very funny for sleepovers 4 stars
6/28/03 Dan_A Come on. It was SUPPOSED to be stupid. 4 stars
6/04/03 mee funny 5 stars
1/05/03 Uncle Salty Absolutely brilliant, a sweet release from the prepackaged teen horseshit out there. 5 stars
12/17/02 cinkcool hahahahahha 5 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano Good therapy for the "real" teenybopper flicks. 3 stars
8/27/02 snowconehead Why do people rate movies with absolutely no standard expectations? 4 stars
6/24/02 Del Pretty funny and the most tits I have seen in a movie in a long time 4 stars
6/22/02 Jake Worst F#$%@*^ movie! Not ANOTHER teenager, more like! Some think Freddy got F, was bad? 1 stars
6/22/02 Prabha Hirntopul Best of cast is girl who takes humongous dump - why no more of her??? 3 stars
5/19/02 Chowie scary movie was funnier, but the jock guy was hot 4 stars
5/16/02 Monday Morning "Scary Movie" was better? JESUS H. CHRIST, kill us now. 1 stars
5/11/02 Butterbean I love stupid parodies,but I only laughed once during this one. Rent Scary Movie II instead 1 stars
5/10/02 spyguy2 Thank God it was loaded with hot chicks or it would have nothing going for it. Mediocre. 2 stars
4/06/02 Dom Corleone Pretty funny 5 stars
4/06/02 spacecowboy expect little and you will not be dissapointed. 4 stars
4/04/02 Film Dude Very surprised. Actually had a couple of good laughs. 4 stars
3/27/02 Chris ¿¡ Although some of the movie is pretty funny, it's to bad some of the jokes fall flat. 3 stars
2/20/02 Prabha Hirntopul Best of cast is girl who takes humongous dump - why no more of her??? 3 stars
2/10/02 Cat THIS MOVIE SUCKED! WHAT MORE CAN I SAY? 1 stars
1/17/02 Jeff Lee I thought it was hilarious, Make more of these types of movies 5 stars
1/16/02 The Boy In The Designer Bubble I may die alone and single, but at least I didn't have anything to do with making this shit 1 stars
1/12/02 hd very very stupid its not even funny and there trying to copy scarie movie 1 stars
1/12/02 Dink Swab well it sux ya dink hard core!! 1 stars
1/10/02 EK Whats up, the movie was realy good, does anyone have the song where they sing about theprom 5 stars
1/04/02 Crunchyfrog I saw this movie at the theater 3 stars
1/02/02 Robert Halarious, laughed all the way threw it.. 5 stars
12/29/01 @?? i dont know why everyone is bashing this movie, honestly, i thought it was pretty funny!! 4 stars
12/26/01 The Freshmaker A friend of mine asked me to see this movie with her. She's no longer my friend 1 stars
12/23/01 Andrew Carden Quite Funny, Beats The Heck Out Of The Crude and Unfunny Scary Movie. 4 stars
12/21/01 Johnny Walker I was surprised. It was funnier than some of those dumb orginals it satirimanizes 4 stars
12/19/01 brent young somewhat funny... worth 5 bucks if you're bored 3 stars
12/18/01 Good Chung I love teen movies but still enjoyed this nasty, yet oddly likable, spoof. Perfectly cast 5 stars
12/18/01 Rebecca The ox guy (Sam huntington) who made fun of Chris Klien saved this movie!hes hilarious! 5 stars
12/18/01 Visions of It's sad when a satire has the perfect target and they end up blowing it. 2 stars
12/18/01 boner movie sucked, but I would love to fuck the girls in the movie. 1 stars
12/18/01 Rampage not even worth a freaking matinee... pure crap 1 stars
12/17/01 Joe Deblow Not another boring movie 1 stars
12/15/01 NT Chris Evans as Jock Jake Wyler is awesome! 4 stars
12/14/01 P Riddy LOL! 5 stars
12/14/01 truckgirl Had me laughing out loud 5 stars
12/14/01 King of the Bros well I thought it was fucking sweet. 5 stars
12/13/01 john linton roberson I call it crap, and it makes me very irritated. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Dec-2001 (R)
  DVD: 26-Jul-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  21-Mar-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast