More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.2

Awesome54.55%
Worth A Look: 26.03%
Average: 10.33%
Pretty Bad: 2.89%
Total Crap: 6.2%

12 reviews, 170 user ratings


Latest Reviews

#Stuck by Jay Seaver

Fury (2014) by Jay Seaver

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

Art and Craft by Jay Seaver

One Chance by Jay Seaver

St. Vincent by Peter Sobczynski

Wyrmwood by Jay Seaver

Judge, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Others, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"The best 'old-fashioned' horror movie in years."
5 stars

What a refreshing thing to see: a classy, creepy and effective 'ghost story' in this age of CGI poltergeists and fake, hollow scares. If the recent remakes of The Haunting, 13 Ghosts and The House on Haunted Hill have turned you off to the "ghost flick", then this is the movie for you.

Generally when you refer to a movie as "old-fashioned", that's a polite way of saying the film is outdated, campy or trite. But in the case of Alejandro Amenabar's fantastic new film, "old-fashioned" is intended as high praise. Rarely have modern horror films been able to re-capture the "eerie silences" so prevalent in the classic haunted house tales of yesteryear. Thanks to a deft directorial hand, a wonderful attention to detail and some gloriously entertaining performances, The Others ranks among the best movies of the year.

The setting is a massive mansion in the years following WWII. The lady of the house is Grace, a beautiful woman who is waiting patiently for her husband to return home from the war. Grace has two young children (Anne and Nicholas), both of whom suffer from a severe aversion to sunlight. The family has recently been deserted by their staff of servants, and Grace is relieved when a new trio of employees arrive at the house.

As Grace tries to raise and educate her children, Anne proves to be a source of frustration. The young girl claims to have seen 'others' roaming about the cavernous hallways, and this news irritates Grace (and her ultra-religious sensibilities) to no end. Of course the new housekeeper, Mrs. Mills, knows a lot about the house's history that she's not willing to share.

It's uncommon for movies these days to really absorb the viewer, but The Others succeeds at this quite capably. From the opening scenes (in which Grace lets loose with a bone-chilling shriek) you'll be sucked in to the simple, yet somewhat askew, plot threads and there are more than a few good jolts along the way.

Nicole Kidman delivers one of her finest performances to date as the haunted Grace, and the child actors portraying her kids (Alakina Mann and James Bentley) are nothing short of sensational. Christopher Eccleston does a bang-up job in a small role (the less said about in a review the better) and Fionnoula Flanagan is terrific as the mysterious Mrs. Mills.

Perhaps a bit too "slow-moving" for the hardcore hack-and-slash crowd, The Others is simply a fantastic campfire tale of a movie, delivered with impeccable style and solid sense of outright "creepiness". It's a film that delivers a solid bang for those who've paid attention throughout, and is one of the best horror flicks to come out of Hollywood in some time.

And I smell an Oscar nomination for Kidman's work in this one. You heard it here first.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5495&reviewer=128
originally posted: 11/06/01 10:13:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/16/14 wezdks USA 5 stars
6/22/12 Dave Best horror film since Poltergeist or the Changeling 5 stars
12/29/11 David Hollingsworth A creepy masterclass in superb subtlety 5 stars
10/19/09 gal from oz wow, wow and wow. Well directed brilliant cast and little twists everywhere! Fabulous! 5 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. really isn't scary at all, but the story is intriguing. :D 3 stars
12/21/08 Shaun Wallner Scary Film! 5 stars
11/30/08 Sagitelle Nice twist on an old tale 4 stars
11/16/08 Chode Horribly boring. Felt like I was sitting through a tax seminar. 1 stars
5/23/08 PAUL SHORTT COLD, DISTANCING AND MOVES AT A GLACIAL PACE 1 stars
9/08/07 ravenmad truly. this is how to tell a creepy story. And no one's guts feel out. Go figure! 5 stars
7/25/07 MP Bartley Very spooky and beautifully directed. 5 stars
7/22/07 Tyler Sciortino Slightly derivative, but brilliantly made. 4 stars
5/02/07 Tony D great cast great ending great movie!!!!!! 5 stars
3/28/07 fools♫gold Like Pulp Fiction, the number of classics this film nods to is OVERWHELMING! 5 stars
2/13/07 The chode Absolutely horrible. 2 stars
1/22/07 jeannie karlsen nicole kidman is excellent in this first rate thriller, better then "the 6th sense" 5 stars
1/21/07 David A. A superb ghost story--makes you wonder what's real and what isn't. 5 stars
1/15/07 David Pollastrini didn't see that twist coming! 4 stars
9/21/06 Quigley one of the creepiest movies ever made. truly a movie worth the hype. classic ending 5 stars
8/11/06 Gisella Koroknai Engagingly creepy, intelligent, moving 5 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist Not too bad, lots of decent twists. 3 stars
6/08/06 Peggy Doty KEPT ME GUESSING 5 stars
1/31/06 ronald mediocre when compared to the superior ''the sixth sense'' 1 stars
10/12/05 Tom Burns a very good thriller, love the ending. 5 stars
8/25/05 Anthony G so boring I had to whip out my dick to keep entertained. 1 stars
8/18/05 ES Interesting premise, makes you hope it doesn't happen to you 4 stars
8/04/05 ^podo really scary and great! 5 stars
8/01/05 TheOthersFan Beautiful and Terrifying 5 stars
7/20/05 Chris Very interesting 5 stars
6/28/05 i like eggs total bolluks 3 stars
6/28/05 Won Lung So scary I lost my breath 5 stars
6/28/05 Lewis Ball seeing as i have no penis i enjoyed it 5 stars
6/22/05 Wayne Rooney So scary I got really frightened and wet myself 1 stars
6/22/05 Bob Stains total bollukk 1 stars
6/22/05 Big dave Not scary, if you want a thrill try eating a load of vindaloos from a dodgey looking stall 1 stars
6/11/05 Rock-Steady Fucking borefest, more excitement taking a diarrhea shit 1 stars
3/25/05 indrid cold A rare thing: a horror movie that's actually scary. But just barely. 4 stars
3/23/05 Alice Colwell great movie 5 stars
2/23/05 haha when I cant sleep I just pop this movie in, great for insomniacs! 1 stars
2/20/05 John Bale Clever plot after HAUNTED, well acted and a succesful venture into the supernatural 5 stars
11/18/04 chris brilliance pure class 5 stars
11/16/04 Yvette This movie is soo awesome. It is psychologically frightening and makes you think alot 5 stars
11/07/04 nopee the scariest movie i've ever seen 4 stars
11/02/04 Derek P I thought this was the greatest movie ever 5 stars
8/04/04 TheOthersFan Beautiful, terrifying 5 stars
8/02/04 Anthony G fucking borefest, more excitement taking a diarrhea shit 1 stars
7/14/04 Daveman Beautifully photographed with some truely surreal sequences. 4 stars
4/21/04 gabriel a masterpiece !!! 5 stars
3/31/04 true review - correct review everytime great, intimate cast almost like a play, engaging plot completely opens up with twist endin 5 stars
3/15/04 Raymond great acting, clever story, awesome cinematography! 5 stars
1/26/04 Eric When I cant sleep I just pop this in.Who needs sleeping pills when u got this movie 1 stars
1/14/04 pyst haha, Kidman's performance was pathetic 3 stars
1/14/04 Richard Williams First movie I've ever seen that I WASN'T able to predict the ending. F'n GREAT! 5 stars
11/29/03 john great old fashioned ghost story and very scary 5 stars
11/07/03 eisprincess913 It was definaely different 4 stars
11/01/03 Littlepurch Gr8 film. Shame the sixth sense was made first. 4 stars
9/28/03 snowconehead It's been done before, but never better 4 stars
9/18/03 Abby I haven't had one in twenty years, but this movie gave me nightmares! 5 stars
8/27/03 Anastasia Beaverhausen Proves you don't need a drop of blood to scare 5 stars
8/17/03 Summer Psychologically frightening, which is harder than blood and guts. Entire cast is chilling. 5 stars
6/22/03 ashley i think that was the best movie i have ever seen 5 stars
5/24/03 TheOthersFan Beautiful! Terrifying! Best movie of all time! Robbed of the oscars it deserved! 5 stars
5/17/03 Joesco Over-rated - Kidman good but ending telegraphed from when Ecclestone appears 3 stars
5/11/03 Mystique good..... 4 stars
3/27/03 Jen Cool movie, but the ending seemed strangely familiar? (sixth sense) 4 stars
3/25/03 Blabity blah Nicole was great as the flighty mother. Best ending since Sixth Sence. Creepy and cold. 5 stars
2/27/03 Vangela direction is tense and claustrophobic; mirrors the plot. Cool. 4 stars
2/15/03 Chris I knew the ending and I still loved it. 4 stars
2/08/03 mr. Pink Kidman is teriffic. Beatiful and tense. Horror and drama at it's best! 5 stars
2/06/03 Rory Lawford Why don't more filmmakers do this? no overdone CGI, just perfect direction, script & actors 5 stars
2/03/03 Turtle A sad, misguided Sixth Sense rip-off which isn't at all scary. Worst movie in a LOOONG time 1 stars
1/21/03 Leanne Mullins Great ghost story. Makes you wonder about the other side 5 stars
1/12/03 Mitsaso Excellent movie and idea(Nicole was also great) 5 stars
11/02/02 pk excellent 5 stars
10/06/02 TheOthersFan Outstrips "Sixth Sense" and "Haunting" like nobody's business. Bravo, Alejandro Amenabar! 5 stars
9/29/02 Fuze44 Word to the mutha, I likes me some ghosts. 4 stars
7/23/02 Bueller I see dead people. I see lots, and lots, and lots of boring dead people. This must be Hell! 3 stars
7/21/02 Ghost Story fan classic of the genre. unsettling, & a deeply moving tragedy. one of the finest ever. 5 stars
7/09/02 Pussy D. Willow I finally understand what they mean by the most terrifying things being what you imagine... 5 stars
6/24/02 Baal I knew the ending before from imdb, but still was thrilled and entertained. Good movie! 4 stars
6/20/02 Ken Creepy, entertaining, but I saw the "twist" coming for a while. 4 stars
6/18/02 SlyyDaugg Good but not that good? My ass, I swear by this film. on my mamma. 5 stars
6/04/02 David A. Second only to DARK NIGHT OF THE SCARECROW as a horror movie. You won't guess the ending! 5 stars
6/01/02 stud COOL 5 stars
5/31/02 Mo Anand Film was very splendidly done...takes us to the old haunted house story 5 stars
5/28/02 Film Guy Ok it was good but not that good 3 stars
5/27/02 Phoenix Wow! What a twist of an ending. Gripping from beginning to end. 5 stars
5/26/02 spyguy2 A superior film that recalls the classic haunted house movies of the 1930's and 40's. 4 stars
5/24/02 Naomi Psychologically scary with an ending that will make you want to see it twice. 5 stars
5/22/02 Danielle Ophelia Involving "thinking-person's" ghost story...so long as you've nothing against thinking. 5 stars
5/21/02 othree slow to follow at 1st, soft soken, then screaming, loved the susprise ending, Kidman = babe 4 stars
5/15/02 Stud One of the Best Horror films of this year. 5 stars
4/03/02 Mo Anand It's an old ghost story set in a modern thriller genre...I love it! 4 stars
3/26/02 Hanz no comment 4 stars
3/24/02 Brian Collins Brilliant !! A masterpiece 5 stars
2/28/02 Chowie Great film with a great twist-WICKED MATE! 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Spooky. Watch it. You'll be surprised. 4 stars
2/18/02 kitten Alright, could have been better 3 stars
2/17/02 Priscilla I loved this movie it was great 5 stars
1/16/02 David A. Second only to Dark Night of the Scarecrow as a horror film 5 stars
12/29/01 Brian Collins Brilliant !! A masterpiece 5 stars
12/15/01 Sian brillliant film and great twist at the end 5 stars
12/09/01 canoecarrier This could have been a superior film with a better director. See Polanski's "The Tenant" 3 stars
11/28/01 Hum intriguing 4 stars
11/25/01 viking "Sixth Sense" meets "Turn of the Screw" 4 stars
11/21/01 Neil One of the best movies of the year 5 stars
11/21/01 marymac Fabulous!! P-leease!--What Lies Beneath doesn't even hold a candle to this movie. 5 stars
11/21/01 WMunny ESTUPENDA 5 stars
11/20/01 Paulo Best Suspense Movie in Years 5 stars
11/17/01 Flávio Amaral Creepy. 5 stars
11/16/01 Sumixam disapointing to say the least, expected far more 3 stars
11/14/01 Alecia Would have been better if Sixth Sense had't alrady taken teh glorry 2 stars
11/13/01 sd Not as scary as What Lies Beneath. 3 stars
11/12/01 Beeeuuu!!! From what i understood, it was worth a look, too bad i had to see it in italian 4 stars
11/10/01 jawsboy not scary, but entertaining. good cinematography and acting, however a little disjointed. 4 stars
11/09/01 Button Nice old fashioned thriller 4 stars
11/09/01 Belinda Nicole's finest movie to date. What a talent she has become. 4 stars
11/09/01 Matthew Bartley A fine,fine thriller in the vein of Hitchcock 5 stars
11/07/01 Luisa Ramos One of the best movies of the recent years 5 stars
11/06/01 Carlos The others (the best of the year..) 5 stars
11/06/01 Bueller Who ever knew suspense could be so boring? This was like BBC does "The Sixth Sense" BADLY.. 2 stars
11/03/01 daniboy far better than sixth sense 5 stars
11/02/01 Catherine Schneider A suspense/thriller that actually thrills. 5 stars
11/02/01 cherilyn It was fantastic. I was completely hooked from the beginning. It has a wonderful twist! 5 stars
11/01/01 Lucila Cejas a completely unpredictable movie with a great performance by Nicole Kidman 5 stars
10/30/01 carla sanchez it was long...and dark...and darkly long and wait, was this the sequel to the sixth sense? 3 stars
10/10/01 GIBBO Just wonderful - from start to finish ... Nicole was fabulous 5 stars
10/08/01 Mark Davidson The best film of 2001 (along w/Memento); a brilliant, haunting, old-fashioned ghost story. 5 stars
10/04/01 zach this shit ruled, i cant remember the last time my leg hair was standing up 5 stars
9/26/01 M.C.A.S Good 4 stars
9/24/01 sharon loved it but the ending was to much like the 6th sense 4 stars
9/24/01 Koitus One of the better movies I've seen. I guessed the ending, when the husband showed, though. 4 stars
9/22/01 mjm103171 I liked the story line but it wasn't scary 4 stars
9/20/01 Studmaster Pretty bitching, but the view of the afterlife is very depressing. Puts me in the dumper! 4 stars
9/19/01 Gary I found it really boring... 2 stars
9/18/01 Fish Eye Good suspense movie. Gets slow for about 20 minutes though 4 stars
9/17/01 Alejandr Dorado La mejor película del año. Incluso mejor que 6th Sense. 5 stars
9/09/01 Deanna Long Suffers from comparison to 6th Sense, Doesn't obey any internal logic Beautiful to look at. 2 stars
9/06/01 Randy J. Redmond YAWN! 6th Sense rip-off w/PREDICTABLE twist! Fucking BAD! 1 stars
9/05/01 Jim Zzzzzzzzzzzzzz *huh* did something happen yet? No? Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz 3 stars
9/05/01 Unanon Too much Sixth Sense flavor, but nice suspense buildup. Almost worth it. 4 stars
9/01/01 pey really great story. it will change your paradigm of death. 5 stars
8/31/01 spaceworm it grows on you. the housekeepr is terrific 4 stars
8/28/01 Bueller Good movie, despite Kiddman. Suspenseful, but should have been better written. Predictable. 4 stars
8/28/01 mara z. great. 5 stars
8/27/01 empaler sweet 4 stars
8/24/01 Hotaine After the intense boredom I discovered I'd just watched "The Sixth Sense" 1 stars
8/23/01 Baphomet If u liked The Sixth Sense, u'll love this, cuz it's exactly the same... 4 stars
8/22/01 seldom scene suspense, see it in an uncrowded theatre 5 stars
8/20/01 G-Man Whoever wrote this is a fucking genius! 5 stars
8/19/01 Kassidy Damien if you're looking for a scary movie this is a good one 4 stars
8/18/01 vampyre9mm If A&E made a ghost movie, this would be it.... still pretty creepy. 4 stars
8/18/01 nik wicked 5 stars
8/16/01 Faith I loved this movie. Whoever said it was a piece of shit obviously saw a different film. 5 stars
8/16/01 Craig Alan Thompson A new twist on an old style. I loved it. 5 stars
8/15/01 da3dAlus Saw it last night, and I still get goosebumps this morning thinking about it. 5 stars
8/15/01 Heather Very, very scary 5 stars
8/15/01 Fred In the immortal words of Bill Hicks -- PIECE OF SHIT! 1 stars
8/14/01 Jerrrr Moving, beautiful, haunting, wonderfully acted/directed, and just plain SCARY!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/14/01 Zippernek Good subtle spooking with a smattering of in your face pants crapping. Jammin good time. 5 stars
8/14/01 Kurt Huber This is what you go to a theater for 4 stars
8/14/01 puckfreak The ending is a total rip-off of another "thriller" movie 2 stars
8/13/01 Dr. Laura Is A Bitch (Doo dah, doo dah) Scared the crap out of me. The ending is sweet. 5 stars
8/13/01 Greyjack Excellent. Actually sent a woman fleeing from the theater at the showing I attended. 5 stars
8/12/01 toneely cool movie!!! 5 stars
8/12/01 fg long, drawn out and boring, but good ending 2 stars
8/12/01 E-Funk Thrilling, hypnotic and scary as hell! This is Kidman's best performance. 5 stars
8/12/01 Bill H. Very Good! It's your classic ghost film with a very interesting twist at the end 4 stars
8/11/01 malcolm great stuff -- a million times better than any of the "Scream" films 4 stars
8/11/01 Heather Very creepy and scary movie, don't see this movie alone 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Aug-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Nov-2001




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast