More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Awesome: 14.63%
Worth A Look: 17.07%
Average: 24.39%
Pretty Bad29.27%
Total Crap: 14.63%

2 reviews, 29 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Tehran Taboo by Rob Gonsalves

Final Portrait by Rob Gonsalves

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story by Jay Seaver

Before We Vanish by Jay Seaver

Dear Dictator by Peter Sobczynski

Tomb Raider (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Darken by Jay Seaver

Early Man by Jay Seaver

Beyond Skyline by Jay Seaver

Agent Mr. Chan by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

Rock Star
[] Buy posters from this movie
by the Grinch

"'Hi....I'm Sebastian Bach. Taco Bell cut my hours..can I be in your movie?'"
2 stars

Yeah, so Sebastian Bach isn't in this movie...he was probably working a shift at White Castle and couldn't make the shoot, or he would've been on set. If you've ever wondered what happened to all the hair metal guys that you used to think rocked so hard when you were 13 and masturbating to 'Small Wonder' reruns please, rent 'Rock Star'.

Honestly, this movie would've been alot more interesting to me if it had been a semi-autobiographical work about Mark Wahlberg's Marky Mark days.....the Marky Mark gag makes an appearance or two, but I couldn't help but think that would've been more interesting than this weak pinterplay about not selling out.

I mean, I would've MUCH rather seen Wahlberg square off with Vanilla Ice in a breakdancing contest or setting hotel fires with his older New Kid's frontman brother than the one-time jokes present in this flick. Sure, I'm as thrilled as the next guy that John Bonham's offspring is getting work and that infamous rockstar antics are getting a very subdued send-up, but surely there's paint drying somewhere or a Garrison Keiller program on.

Yes, I'm drunker than a punkrocker at a Pabst Blue Ribbon brewery tour, but this movie just isn't worth your time...hard to believe the same director made Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure, which is an Academy nominee compared to this. Hit fast forward and stop whenever Jennifer Aniston appears on screen....that's about all the advice I can offer.

link directly to this review at
originally posted: 09/22/02 19:34:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/18/11 praveen Itz a good film certainly Ranbirs hit and he did well and A.R.Rahman God I have no words... 5 stars
2/13/10 R Lan It says a lot when thhe best part of the movie are the outtakes they show at the end. 2 stars
6/02/07 gcc a fitting tribute to the greatest decade of rock-the 80's 5 stars
5/07/07 David Pollastrini Great music 4 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist After that entire "Marky Mark" debocle, he definately does'nt have the balls to be a rocker 1 stars
10/17/05 leafur rock below b grade 1 stars
9/27/05 Adam Singer hears fan singing along at Metal concert, yeah right, so lame 2 stars
4/22/04 Deb GOOD OLE MARKY MARK. HE'S AWSOME''' 5 stars
8/27/03 I Would Josie and The Pussycats was much better. 2 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby Decently paced but we've been done this familiar moral road so many times before. 2 stars
1/16/03 PurpleKISSfreak I was in 3 scenes in this film.It was a pleasure to work on.I am proud of how it turned out 5 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi hmmm....i liked this coz of mark dragged on a tad....but othawise, alright 3 stars
4/15/02 Keith ok. similar sap in Almost Famous. nothing new here. 3 stars
4/01/02 KMG The scene where he gets in a fight w/ mom reminded me of Boogie Nights 4 stars
3/19/02 bradgray96 Doesn't live up to comparisons to "Almost Famous." It's easy to feel sorry for J. Aniston. 4 stars
2/26/02 Hewrd Frost I just love Jennifer! She's very talented, not to mention preety! 5 stars
1/28/02 Spyguy2 Decent, couple of funny moments, not enough to totally "rock", though. 4 stars
1/03/02 Andrew Carden Quite Good...Nobody Gives This Any Chance. 4 stars
10/12/01 Miss Marla I liked it. The performances weren't bad, better than POTA by a long shot, worth a rental 3 stars
10/10/01 ajay kinda funny, kinda dumb, the ending is a no-brainer... 4 stars
9/28/01 RK It gave me a headache 2 stars
9/18/01 Gibbo A predictable rock and roll chick flick ... a pleasant enough way to while away an afternoo 4 stars
9/17/01 Rebecca Wahlberg i wanna rock and roll all night, w/ mark wahlberg that is 5 stars
9/11/01 Jake Another mindless Wahlberg vehicle. Can't he evolve? 1 stars
9/11/01 bockharn Wahlberg brings some passion & grit to the otherwise cliched and predictable proceedings 3 stars
9/11/01 ron20003 Crap! Crap! Crap! I want my money back! 1 stars
9/10/01 The Boy In The Designer Bubble Great Goddess, maybe there is a plot to destroy the minds of movie goers everywhere! 1 stars
9/09/01 KCobain What an insult. I'd rather watch Airheads again. 1 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  07-Sep-2001 (R)



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast