More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.85

Awesome91.22%
Worth A Look: 4.26%
Average: 3.46%
Pretty Bad: 0.27%
Total Crap: 0.8%

2 reviews, 364 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Most Wanted Man, A by Jay Seaver

Let Us Prey by Jay Seaver

Puzzle (2014) by Jay Seaver

Heavenly Sword by Jay Seaver

Haunt by Charles Tatum

Expendables 3, The by Daniel Kelly

Zero Theorem, The by Jay Seaver

Zombie TV by Jay Seaver

Suburban Gothic by Jay Seaver

Admiral: Roaring Currents, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Band of Brothers
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Spielberg, Hanks & HBO Produce The Real Epic War Story of the Year"
5 stars

The new ten-part miniseries, Band of Brothers, isn’t just a follow-up to Saving Private Ryan, but matches the ambition and scope of that project along with HBO’s From the Earth to the Moon, the saga of the space program. Tom Hanks reteams with HBO again and brings along good friend Steven Spielberg to tell the epic tale of Easy Company of the 101st Airborne Division who parachuted into France early on D-Day morning. Crafted by the talents of eight directors (including Hanks) and seven writers (also including Hanks), Band of Brothers is adapted from the best-selling book by Stephen E. Ambrose (who served as a consultant on Private Ryan). At a cost of an estimated $104 million, it’s the most expensive television drama ever made and after viewing only the first two parts, you’ll agree that this a project worthy of you to stand at attention and salute.

Each chapter begins with brief recollections from surviving members of the real Easy Company. One survivor even points out how boys who weren’t allow to sign up eventually committed suicide. “A different time,” he states so poignantly. The first images we then see in Part 1 are of dirty, sullen-looking soldiers. They march as if they’ve been to hell and back, until we slowly come to the realization that they haven’t even gone into battle yet. They may have signed up to help for the good of the nation, but they were still boys, and scared ones at that.

Flashback two years earlier to training camp in Georgia where Capt. Herbert Sobel (David Schwimmer) makes a habit of punishing his soldiers for the slightest of infractions. He also tests their endurance with the daily ritual of running up the nearby hill known as Currahee (“three miles up, three miles down”), a name which becomes their motto. Sobel’s second-in-command, Lt. Richard Winters (Damian Lewis), quietly suggests his disapproval of his commander’s methods, especially when it becomes apparent that Sobel talks the talk, but still isn’t up to walking.

The first part, directed by Phil Alden Robinson (Field of Dreams, Sneakers), ingrains in us the grueling nature of their training and the hardships these men will suffer in the field (the various supplies they have to carry in their packs outweighs most of the men). Robinson also gradually builds up the growing camaraderie between the troops, not the least of which is their hatred and disrespect of Sobel and their increased approval of Lt. Winters. There are so many faces and names to keep track of that it may take you a second to identify them when they reappear throughout the episode. Still, by the end of the first hour, you may feel like a part of this assemblage and begin to understand their fears and what they’ll be willing to do for each other.

The second hour, entitled “Day of Days”, picks up precisely where part one leaves off, with all the various Companies en route to Normandy in the sky. The intrigue of this prologue is not just the horror our boys are in for, but how (or if they will try) to top the 30-minute D-Day invasion that dumbfounded us in Saving Private Ryan. Recall the beginning of that sequence with the terrified soldiers huttled together, listening to the sounds of gunfire and explosions getting louder and closer. Now imagine seeing those blasts light up the distant sky and being forced to parachute into it before your plane gets shot down.

This sequence, while notably shorter than “Ryan”’s opening is just as gripping. In just a few short minutes, the terror and tragedy of this event ranks with far more authority than the forty minutes director Michael Bay played with in this summer’s “Pearl Harbor”. Band of Brothers doesn’t play around with special effects the way that debacle did. While it’s apparent that a great deal of effects work did go into this project, most prominently in this opening onslaught, it never becomes about how “cool” it looks. The appreciation comes from the work of the actors, writers and directors in building up this event and then eviscerating us with sudden, shocking violence and even moments that follow the paratroopers from their first step off the plane and down through the firestorm.

Alongside this opening battle, this episode’s other highlight is a 13-minute extended engagement of Easy Company’s bid to take out the cannons of a German battery. Director Richard Loncraine (Richard III), who also directs Part Four, perfectly executes this operation from the strategy employed, the surroundings of the battlefield and the action itself, serving up what I’m sure is just a astounding prelude of even greater things to come.

The casting of many unknown and lesser-known actors only adds to the realism of the anonymity of the soldiers we may have never known about had it not been for the stories, memoirs and books shared throughout the years. Damian Lewis gets the most screen time thus far and makes the most of it with a quiet dignity as the soft-spoken Lt. Winters. He may not have any “flaws, vices or sense of humor” but Lewis convinces us that this is a man we trust and want to follow into battle.

Other standout performances come from Ron Livingston (Swingers, Office Space) as Winters’ humorous officer friend and Frank John Hughes as hot-blooded Italian, Bill Guarnere, who gets some disturbing news just before he takes off. (Hopefully The American Italian Defense Association will lay off HBO this time and stick their lawsuits somewhere else – and I don’t mean a drawer.) Some may feel a little uneasy at first with watching David Schwimmer playing the hard guy role, but he slides into it nicely eminently when his other character traits come full circle. Major names who either will or have already appeared include (former “New Kid”) Donnie Wahlberg, Dale Dye, Jimmy Fallon (from SNL) and Tom Hanks.

To glaze praise over the continued excellence in HBO’s programming would promote me to the rank of Captain Obvious. In such a bad year for motion pictures, HBO’s 61* would easily make my ten best list come December. What is extraordinary about a project like Band of Brothers however, is that it’s able to tell a story that wouldn’t be possible with the time constraints of a feature film or the moral restrictions of non-pay networks. It also presents a showcase for a gathering of fine, young actors to show off their talents and hopefully give them opportunities to displace the Freddie Prinze Jr.’s of the acting pool. After only the first two chapters of this ten-part, ten-hour miniseries which promises to take us through the Battle of the Bulge as well as the capture of Hitler’s Eagle Nest, Band of Brothers looks to continue that preeminence and is destined to be as good as anything you’ve ever seen on television. (NOTE: The episode’s other directors include former cinematographer Mikael Salomon (Parts 3 & 10, “Hard Rain”), Tom Hanks (Part 5), David Leland (Part 6, “Wish You Were Here”), David Frankel (Parts 7 & 9, “Miami Rhapsody” & “From the Earth to the Moon”) and Tony To (Part 8, “Harsh Realm” television series).

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5520&reviewer=198
originally posted: 09/04/01 08:03:44
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/07/14 Jason chris...you watched it genious lol..not worth time huh..slick..its movie get over yourself 5 stars
9/14/13 jaiven best movie in the world so amazing 5 stars
4/02/13 Julie Link so worth watching - absolutely amazing filmography 5 stars
3/28/13 Anonimous Pretty damn good. granted it has flaws but doesn't every movie have flaws? 5 stars
1/30/13 Alex Gomez good but too long 4 stars
4/16/12 fabregas the movie is fabolous and very nice movie one of my best movies 5 stars
12/30/11 Thomas F. Powers A powerful recreation of the chaotic horror of cobat and the ultimate folly of war. 5 stars
10/18/11 C.M. Chan Excellent. And Patriotic. 5 stars
4/30/11 kate chancy soooooooooo amazing. must see 5 stars
2/27/11 Stephanie Bondlow I'm just not into all that war, can't we all just get along. 2 stars
1/26/11 Devon Simply amazing. 5 stars
1/09/11 Pamela White great WWII movie with wonderful acting 4 stars
9/19/10 Gary D NOT as realistic as you believe 1 stars
6/19/10 Heather very good movie 5 stars
1/04/10 michael best movie ever best ww2 movie i have ever seenbut they need a movie 5 stars
9/26/09 Bill Morrison A salute to the very best we had. 5 stars
9/23/09 Major Spliff Best TV Mini-Series ever 5 stars
1/18/09 dave_c amazing job, very moving 5 stars
12/28/08 Dan I am now a 20 year old soldier, as opposed to that 16 yr old . This series is part of that. 5 stars
9/20/08 L Watt Superbly executed series 5 stars
7/20/08 George Barksdale This is a real look at what WW2 was to the men who fought it. 5 stars
6/22/08 J Black Excellent series. Best WW2 series I have seen. Would love to see more min-series like this. 5 stars
6/02/08 John This is by far as good as any movie or mini series done for TV 5 stars
2/12/08 bosnian guy the best ww2 movie i have ever seen 5 stars
1/30/08 steve makes me sad to see what we have become in the USA 5 stars
12/11/07 David Burrell As real as it gets- Just got the boxed set - A real "keeper" 5 stars
11/14/07 Tony M Hands down the best WWII depiction to date. Soul grabber. 5 stars
11/12/07 G. Brady The best watched many times. Chris get a life 5 stars
10/02/07 Chris What compleat shit! Not worth ANY time 1 stars
9/21/07 Todd D This was an incredible story, I am a WW II reenactor and proud of that generation. 5 stars
5/20/07 Dennis Dyjor An absolute must see, you will emotionally bond with these veterans. 5 stars
5/09/07 7th Child Wonder why they call these gentlemen the 'Greatest Generation'? Watch this and learn. 5 stars
5/08/07 David Kimble I was enthralled with movie from beginning to end, but not usually my kind of movie 5 stars
4/17/07 Heather Emerson Amazing movie all around, highly recommended 5 stars
3/26/07 Eric R Hands down the best piece of work ever produced by HBO. 5 stars
2/22/07 John Roe A must see epic series, excellently directed and hard hitting. 5 stars
1/23/07 MP Bartley Saving Private Ryan-good. Just stunning. 5 stars
1/07/07 Bonnie I clicked by accident & am stunned 5 stars
1/03/07 Barry As an ex soldier who neversaw this level of combat I am in awe at wht this films series hat 5 stars
12/30/06 katie lulu amazing!!! 5 stars
12/29/06 tara neely This is not usually the kind of movie I whatch, but it was amasing. I felt like I was there 5 stars
12/12/06 Malarkey Best series ever! 5 stars
11/04/06 war dude ive only saw the ending,but this movie is so cool!im gonna see rest tomarow 5 stars
8/10/06 Ryan_A Powerful and exceedingly well done. Great performances, especially from Lewis. 5 stars
7/06/06 Brian great series 5 stars
6/01/06 Euan Tubman Absolutely amazing. Best war movie/series ever. 5 stars
5/28/06 D1Skip The best war drama ever made 5 stars
5/19/06 Peter Sperduto Amazing. 5 stars
5/13/06 graeme absoulutley brilliant!!!!! 5 stars ***** 5 stars
5/12/06 SpyV Exceeds 'Ryan' in every way. Fantastic! 5 stars
4/20/06 ES I would have liked to see more character development, who these men were before the war? 3 stars
4/05/06 John Early Having attended the WWII vet. comm. conference last year, I just loved seeing this series. 4 stars
3/29/06 andrey yeh what ever u think 5 stars
2/07/06 Sam Wiskerchen It's THE most dramatic, eye catching, never wanting to stop watching series ever. 5 stars
2/04/06 CD awasome 5 stars
1/08/06 Nathan English Amazing film one of a kind 5 stars
12/28/05 Derek Barber A Masterpiece! 5 stars
11/14/05 Kevin Albertini This enitre series was amazing. I have a deeper appreciation for WWII vets now. 5 stars
11/11/05 Yanle G. Du Another infantry great story 4 stars
11/06/05 Jin Gabrielle A. Foliente It was a heavy drama that touched my heart 5 stars
11/04/05 LAL KRISHAN AMOLI I LIKED THIS MOVIE VERY MUCH. THIS IS A VERY EMOTIONAL MOVIE. 5 stars
11/04/05 A. Wilson (verteran) Excellent movie 5 stars
11/03/05 Alex Hall Brilliant 5 stars
10/25/05 lauren very goood 5 stars
9/13/05 Richard Reed A superb, authentic WWII film 5 stars
8/28/05 2nd liuetenant york i feel that the mini series told the true story about the men of easy company 2nd 506th 5 stars
8/11/05 graym powerful and cool 5 stars
8/01/05 sam bonner The best made for television movie ever 5 stars
7/27/05 CJ A realistic portrait of war, not glorified, but truthfull. Powerful series. 5 stars
7/14/05 me makes ya proud 5 stars
7/11/05 KELLEN MATHERS Superb technically and historically with a good story 5 stars
7/08/05 Gray must watch 5 stars
6/05/05 Dan Who ever says this sucks, does not understand history. Reviews dont know shit about history 5 stars
6/04/05 Mark Maybe the most powerful 10 hours of tv ever. 5 stars
5/21/05 Lucy Colley Extremely well done 5 stars
5/07/05 Gretchen Husband made me watch it, got hooked, not too bad. 3 stars
5/06/05 Spaz Germany actually surendered within a year of d-day, not 2 years as teh review says 5 stars
4/14/05 Phoenix Simply the best mini series ever, even Roots! 5 stars
4/13/05 Tom Hanks Amazing, Simply Amazing 5 stars
3/25/05 craig varney great tom hanks work 5 stars
3/17/05 Colleen Goldrick Excellent 5 stars
3/03/05 Dan I am a 16 yr old kid. I have read the book. This series is purely AWESOME. Best ever. 5 stars
2/17/05 Jay Fuit Super Fantastic Movie! 5 stars
2/12/05 J.Cannes absolutely amazing...the most compelling movie/series i have ever seen 5 stars
2/01/05 DMF Great story (obviously) but lacks the dramatic format of a 'movie'. 3 stars
1/19/05 Rink the best war-series ever. 5 stars
1/12/05 Corey Lock most inspiring ww2 recount ever told 5 stars
12/25/04 DAN WTFPWNT AGAIN! 5 stars
12/09/04 Brock Amazing 5 stars
12/06/04 Stacy This is the best movie about WWII. Must-see! 5 stars
11/10/04 jacqueline It was excellent!! i loved it! Great acting. 5 stars
11/05/04 Stefanie Love it! 5 stars
10/21/04 paul kennett a quite brilliant series 5 stars
10/20/04 Graham Norton Wow! Amazing series, great acting 5 stars
10/06/04 Alberto the movie was great, if you havin't seen it, buy it or rent it. 5 stars
9/16/04 Yuku Very Good 5 stars
9/14/04 Dan WTFPWNT 5 stars
9/13/04 Belle Epps I was a girl during WWll. I was overcome when the abandoned concentration camp was shown. 5 stars
9/13/04 band of brothersman merveilleux,extraordinaire 5 stars
8/24/04 Kathy This is the best World War 2 movie ever! It is a must see mini-series. 5 stars
8/12/04 David Great series 5 stars
7/30/04 DJ this movie WTFPWNT everyone. 5 stars
7/25/04 Rebecca Cottrell Great movie. Factual and interesting at the same time. 5 stars
7/21/04 Joseph the best ever!!! so stunning. brilliant job my speilberg 5 stars
7/13/04 Breanna Gard This movie has to be the best war film i have seen,it is so well done i can watch it over 5 stars
6/25/04 Gray hated by Nazi's 5 stars
6/23/04 kitablu Shane Taylor as Eugene Roe is amazing. His performance is very moving. 5 stars
6/08/04 paul bee awesome 5 stars
6/05/04 Jasmin Marie Gonzalez I Thought the movie was exellent. I would recommend it to everyone 5 stars
6/05/04 Richard very adicting ... continue to watch it and pick up more wach time 5 stars
6/04/04 Michael G So fantastic, I could watch it 100 times over. 5 stars
6/04/04 Hilarium Briliant TV... but it is TV... 3 stars
5/11/04 The More You Know not ez to watch, not entertaining either 3 stars
5/01/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it Realistic depiction of the 101 Airborne in WWII from training to the end of the war 5 stars
4/22/04 davy i was a exlent look in ot out history 5 stars
4/21/04 Moana A very toughing movie 5 stars
4/21/04 R.W. Welch Best docu-drama ever, terrific camera work. 5 stars
4/15/04 Marty Received DVD box set for Christmas, watched it in 3 Nights, am now on the 4th time. 5 stars
4/10/04 IP Freeley Awesome.. Travis and Cali must have shit for brains 5 stars
3/29/04 Kirk Adams Deeply moving film. Most amazing WWII film i've seen. 5 stars
3/03/04 Janine Johnson Awesome, moving, heartwarming, outstanding! 5 stars
2/12/04 WILLIAM SHANKS EXCELLENT PERFORMANE BY ALL OF THE CHARACTERS 5 stars
2/07/04 Caiphn Excellent. 5 stars
2/05/04 Bingo was his name-o A fine piece of docutainment TV, which would have made an awesome film. 4 stars
2/01/04 Scarface Now Pupkin, write to me again so that it makes sense. 5 stars
1/30/04 Tony montana Neverland why cant you stfu and post one review 5 stars
1/24/04 Amber this series was captivating and emotionally gripping 5 stars
1/22/04 Juan Garcia The best depiction of combat experience from the foot soldier view I have ever seen. 5 stars
1/21/04 MetallicA See Dear Hunter if you want to be disappointed! 5 stars
1/19/04 chetan the best..worth waTCHING 5 stars
1/16/04 Dean Wholly encrossing. No war for me thank you. 5 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Well-directed and acted; however, it gets tiredsome after the first few entries. 4 stars
1/01/04 gena excellent! 5 stars
12/26/03 P. Ghee Spielberg will be hard pressed to top this one!! 5 stars
12/17/03 Tim Triangle Disappointing considering hype typical American war film I've seen. Not realistic. 3 stars
12/05/03 John You feel like your with them every moment 5 stars
12/02/03 Anthony B. Cordasco For my peace, I thank those who sacrificed theirs 5 stars
11/30/03 scarlett mc donough i loved the film so much it felt like i was apart of there time! haha 5 stars
11/26/03 Amanda Cheeseman Band of Brothers was a remarkable film. It is definitely the best war film of our time. 5 stars
11/25/03 Caleb Blakeman Great mini series, will watch it over and over 5 stars
11/15/03 Tom Fore I recommend high school students see it. They won't think of war as "cool" anymore. 5 stars
11/13/03 Daniel Stockman A lot of people who reviewed this, didnt know jackshit about WWII, this series was awesome. 5 stars
11/09/03 Kayla GREAT 5 stars
11/04/03 Sammy Better than Saving Private Ryan! 5 stars
10/24/03 Brenda Best I've ever seen 5 stars
10/05/03 Vicious If only we Canandians had such great cinema to recognize our fighting men of WW2. 5 stars
9/22/03 Lord Jiggy SEe it. Own it. Honor it and the men who's stories it tells. 5 stars
9/11/03 hetty It's kind the second Great great Movie, after the old one was "LHOP" I ve ever seen. 5 stars
9/02/03 Rick Yates Amazing, simply amazing. Deserves more than 5 stars! 5 stars
8/28/03 Patrick Marquardt Great group of actors portraying a band of hero's from WWII 5 stars
8/21/03 Dan Beattie an education for everyone, great drama 5 stars
8/09/03 A.S.H. Best war movie ever made 5 stars
7/30/03 Anna Saechao Great WW2 movie!! Definitely deserves 5 stars! 5 stars
7/02/03 Richard Tan moving historical epic 5 stars
6/24/03 Fred The Greatest War Movie Ever Made!!!! 5 stars
6/13/03 AverageJoe Anyone who says this sucks is not worth your time. This is history..it can't suck 5 stars
6/11/03 Lumpy This is the most moving, amazing "film" I have ever seen. Period. Watch it. 5 stars
5/27/03 top great film 5 stars
5/13/03 Michelle West This film is awesome and i could watch it over and over again 5 stars
5/10/03 Laurence Lucke Outstanding series, brilliant acting, first rate special effects 5 stars
5/09/03 Ricky Jones this movie is great than any WW II movie 5 stars
5/08/03 angga i like dick winters alot, BoB is amazing and great movie 5 stars
5/08/03 Shawn it was the greates world war movie ever except medal of honor 5 stars
4/29/03 scott great 5 stars
4/26/03 ern what a briilian film 5 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Better than Saving Private Ryan. 4 stars
4/11/03 Dan By the end of the series, I felt I knew each man and I'm HONORED to have met them. 5 stars
4/02/03 Dzamm"Buck"rb Hhmmm...........Wowwww...............Hiikkkk.......... 5 stars
4/02/03 Winters The best made war movie/series ever 5 stars
3/25/03 wrj hyew 5 stars
3/14/03 ugfkjytkytkuyf wow! a lot of hot guys 5 stars
3/11/03 Erik Karrstrom Simply the best 5 stars
3/01/03 Matt Thiel Very good miniseries. But Parts 1 and 6 are awesome. 4 stars
2/27/03 506th Damn good and really blown others 5 stars
2/20/03 Thorstenthegerman Even i think this movier owns and im a Nazi! 5 stars
2/18/03 ph Great to watch on DVD in one BIG sitting! Engrossing. 5 stars
2/13/03 J.J. Dullink Fantastic 5 stars
2/08/03 Evie Visually stunning, emotionally wrenching, but with humor to make it bearable. 5 stars
1/31/03 before war/Jan2003 takes your breath away awesome-prouder than ever to be an American 5 stars
1/30/03 natasha_theobald shoulders the weight of history with grace 5 stars
1/28/03 The Aussie Film Reviewer Fantastic stuff. 4 stars
1/25/03 JK long time but good time 4 stars
1/16/03 Brian Robinson Terrific Story - Accurate History 5 stars
1/16/03 Morgen This is the best tribute to war veterns ever. If you haven't seen it DO IT then seeit again 5 stars
1/10/03 Tubby This kicks BUTT 5 stars
1/06/03 sdfsdf awesome! 5 stars
1/04/03 Martin Hartman III KICK ASS ONE EVERY AMERICAN SHOULD SEE 5 stars
1/02/03 Bobadier Me just finished the dvd set and I am speechless. recommend everyone see it. 5 stars
1/02/03 Clarance wow 5 stars
12/26/02 betty the best mini film i have ever seen 5 stars
12/22/02 DMS IMO one of the most realistic war movies/series out their. but some parts were fake 5 stars
12/16/02 Matt My favorite piece of work from TV, cinema, you name it. The book is just as good! 5 stars
12/15/02 ben this forum proves one thing, mason is a fag 5 stars
12/14/02 spacecowboy suck it NAZIs! no seriously, asside the slight propaganda - awesome :) 5 stars
12/09/02 Nora impressionant ! 5 stars
12/05/02 charie s it's great. hanks justified the horrors and pains of war. thanks to those brave soldiers. 5 stars
12/03/02 Kate A Best movies ever...they are my favorite! 5 stars
11/28/02 Marjorie Luen M. Pegason quality and effective movie 5 stars
11/22/02 Maria Wilsom Same old WWII flick with alot of inaccuracies. HBO /Hanks/Spielblurp made it to make $$$$$$ 3 stars
11/21/02 Mason don't go near this one at all! 5 stars
11/20/02 George Hsieh It made me change the view of the world we live in, so precious!! And yet we didn't know. 5 stars
11/18/02 Michael Tees Simply superb 5 stars
11/18/02 YES Memorable characters, intense battle scenes, yup, 2nd best WWII film after S. Private Ryan. 5 stars
11/17/02 Manny Vider How do I contact "Dick Winters" 5 stars
11/06/02 brentley I like WWII films, & this is 1 of the best. 5 stars
11/05/02 Vicious The best stuff i ever saw on television. 5 stars
11/05/02 Matt Elder An absolutely amazing drama...shows all the emotion and dedication of WW2 soldiers 5 stars
11/02/02 Nick Most unbelievable production conceived by man 5 stars
10/31/02 slick more anti german sentiment. That's what the world needs. 1 stars
10/31/02 Nellie Thomas A incredible emotional rollercoaster that rarely happens on television. Sensational job! 5 stars
10/30/02 Pat Dunn I just bought 6 copies of the DVD version for my friends that do not have HBO. 5 stars
10/29/02 Jeff Granger The best WWII production I've seen to date. 5 stars
10/26/02 darragh o driscoll inspirational 5 stars
10/21/02 Joanne Should be made compulsary viewing! Dam good show 5 stars
10/11/02 Reece THE BEST SHOW/TV SHOW EVER 5 stars
10/11/02 Mick The one TV show I plan my life around 5 stars
10/08/02 Gaby Beyond excellent!! 5 stars
10/08/02 JORGE HENRIQUE DE OLIVEIRA SANTOS VERY, VERY GOOD. 5 stars
10/07/02 Sheridan Intimate yet epic. Winters is a brilliant Captain. 5 stars
10/03/02 Matilda The best war film ever to be shown on t.v. Steven Spielbegr did an excellent job directing. 5 stars
9/30/02 jules antropov private albert blythe is hot! go watch it! 5 stars
9/19/02 Buddha Really solid stuff. Hell, even Schwimmer was watchable. 4 stars
9/19/02 Scott Collins For once, a movie as great as the book 5 stars
9/17/02 David Marquis Liked it so much, I read the book 5 stars
9/03/02 Tris Juz watched the 1st episode and I m hooked. GREAT show!!! 5 stars
9/02/02 PeterGibbons Best TV ever. The casting was fabulous the acting superb. 5 stars
8/31/02 Sandrine One word: Excellent. 5 stars
8/29/02 Jay Great Cinematography! Excellent plot and authenticity 5 stars
8/20/02 Lee Buncher Fantastic!!! 5 stars
8/18/02 Aaron William Drew Yeah i havent seen it yet (Cause im in Australia, very behind) i think it's gonna be good 4 stars
8/16/02 Julia Jesus, it was beautifull. 5 stars
8/14/02 Turkish the best war series ever made 5 stars
7/25/02 Klute Fantastic TV. 4 stars
7/22/02 J. Lyons Great movie! Can't wait to see it on DVD. 5 stars
6/21/02 Drew incredible...god bless that generation for what they did for the world 5 stars
6/09/02 IAN BEST WAR MOVIE EVER 5 stars
5/27/02 PeterGibbons I have worn out my VHS tapes w/ repeated viewings. Mr. Livingston: you, good sir, rule. 5 stars
5/26/02 J. Powell riviting... we have no idea what that generation went through, but this helps 5 stars
5/24/02 Forde Priogt Highest quatily production anywhere 5 stars
5/19/02 edgar doeksen It's even better than all the war movies I have ever seen!! 5 stars
5/17/02 mike madden the rating description says it all! 5 stars
4/18/02 Jill SPECTACULAR WORTH WATCHING 5 stars
4/18/02 Bus Kees Extremely Impressive 5 stars
4/17/02 josh best mini series ever!!!!! 5 stars
4/11/02 Rina Keaton Probably the best damn war story I have ever seen! 5 stars
4/11/02 Roy Crowdis Jr. Amazing and Profoundly Touching 5 stars
4/08/02 stoolie-bird damn good.....for a tv movie 3 stars
3/30/02 Jeff Really great, the best 5 stars
3/09/02 Jonathan Spuy this impressed me even more than Saving Private Ryan 5 stars
3/06/02 Steve a realistic, fantastic recreation of the missions and experiences of E-Company. 5 stars
3/04/02 Michel Wood Wonderful character development and storytelling. If only there was more! 5 stars
3/03/02 mark Fantastic, a masterful depiction of what our veteran and fallen heros sacrificed for us 5 stars
2/17/02 Sean Roy Realistic, gut wrenching, well acted... Need I say more? A good example of a great war film 5 stars
1/27/02 Andrew Carden Realistic and Dramatic, but Very Limited Good Acting and Very Limitied Script. 3 stars
1/25/02 Jim De Stael Truly awesome but needs sooner DVD release, 1000's of WWII vets pass away every day! 5 stars
1/15/02 Obi Wan This should be extended for more episodes..Series was incredible!! 5 stars
1/02/02 Carol Sandes Loved the mini-series. The book is excellent -- more details. 5 stars
12/20/01 Mimi Profound, stunning, captivating, once you see it, you cannot let go of it. 5 stars
12/16/01 mark the best war miniseries/movie ever 5 stars
12/02/01 Steve superb 5 stars
12/02/01 Matthew Bartley Absolutely fantastic.Penultimate episode was the best 5 stars
12/01/01 jen excellent- very moving. i didnt miss an episode 5 stars
12/01/01 Matt Bonser Best miniseries ever! 5 stars
12/01/01 Lewis Anderson excellent 5 stars
11/30/01 Andrew Carden Excellent Direction and Visuals, but Lacks Interesting Facts and Dull Acting. 3 stars
11/28/01 Blooh Gem Amazingly done! This should win every award out there! 5 stars
11/27/01 Rose Best documentary ever! 5 stars
11/25/01 Naomi EXCELLENT!!! Great acting and a great series! 5 stars
11/24/01 Jonathan Wilson You can not overstate this production!! 5 stars
11/24/01 Stephen White Brilliant, fantastics 5 stars
11/23/01 Jeff Great Mini Series, really showed the hardships, horrors, and glory of war. 5 stars
11/21/01 Pheenster Makes you wonder what our generation has done to earn all that we have. 5 stars
11/21/01 shao chin fucking awesome 5 stars
11/19/01 John Oliver Beyond fucking awesome! 5 stars
11/16/01 Bart Veldhuizen Very good movie hope they soon bring it out on video 5 stars
11/16/01 samuel cruz Excellent performers make this film believable! 5 stars
11/16/01 Mike Gunderson Way better than "Saving Private Ryan!" 5 stars
11/16/01 Tesseract Great production. Sensitive acting. Attention to detail, costume, sets and props. 5 stars
11/14/01 Combat Medic The super-realistic combat sequences make this the best "war movie" ever!! 5 stars
11/14/01 pat very intense 5 stars
11/13/01 steve what a freat series, God Bless the Greatest Generation 5 stars
11/11/01 Bill - my father was a WWII Pilot Everyone must see this to appreciate their freedom. 5 stars
11/11/01 Keri LOVE IT! lol toom uch to say but i got attached to these men, the real guys i mean. :) 5 stars
11/10/01 Captain Sobel Himself Authentic uniform, weapons were used More realistic than those old school cheesy WW2 movies 5 stars
11/09/01 Slim Excellent display of realiam and drama 5 stars
11/09/01 Capt. Mike Reyton Brutally realistic... been there..this is the real thing 5 stars
11/07/01 Yvonne Great Show! Let's hope for an encore! 5 stars
11/07/01 colleen murphy shane taylor's a babe! 5 stars
11/06/01 Jay Sullinger absolutely awesome 5 stars
11/06/01 Bryce I am counting the seconds until I can bring this masterpiece home on DVD. ****** stars. 5 stars
11/06/01 June abso-bloody-lutely amazing 5 stars
11/06/01 Pierre Fitter Damn good job by the whole cast and crew!! 5 stars
11/05/01 Sean Amazing - Their story(s) and many others must not be forgotten 5 stars
11/05/01 Cho Chang Can't wait until the series comes out on DVD! 5 stars
11/05/01 Taizong Band Of Brothers was the greatest piece of work I have ever witnessed on television 5 stars
11/05/01 Brent Chwalek fucking awesome 5 stars
11/04/01 Rob Poort who the f**k is private Ryan 5 stars
11/02/01 Amanda Tarbet BoB is too good to be true 5 stars
11/01/01 Martin Morrow In one war series Spielberg et al make up for all the other crass attempts by Hollywood. 5 stars
10/30/01 Greg Nixon Hands down, BoB is the best made-for-tv production in the history of television. 5 stars
10/30/01 Marc Paulin An ABSOLUTE must to own on DVD when it comes out!!! 5 stars
10/30/01 Brook Collins Ross McCall who plays Joe Liebgott is fucking sexy!!! 5 stars
10/30/01 Ross Dawson absolutly brilliant. 5 stars
10/30/01 Greg Larsen Thank you Easy Company for your courage and sacrifice. 5 stars
10/29/01 Chris What can I say...?......AMAZING! 5 stars
10/29/01 scott cogan why go to movies when the best is right here 5 stars
10/29/01 Robert Cohen Awesome! 5 stars
10/29/01 Fred Mills Jr. Incredible ! 5 stars
10/28/01 PEACH KRONE i am most impressed with the acting of Damian Lewis as laconic Richard Winters. 5 stars
10/28/01 Chris The best ww2 film ever made. Hope to see more from Spielberg and Hanks 5 stars
10/28/01 james l sykes jr Great film, It should make all those who were there proud. 5 stars
10/27/01 Robert Winters Incredibly emotional and powerful 5 stars
10/26/01 brainpan Beautiful and unpretentious. The latter can't be said of just about every war epic Ive seen 5 stars
10/25/01 steve The best thing ever to hit TV, GREAT! 5 stars
10/22/01 Hunter Ekvall Better than Saving Private Ryan with obsolutely amazing acting 5 stars
10/22/01 Ray Wert Unreal...absolutely riveting. I look forward to Sunday evenings... 5 stars
10/22/01 immortal amazing series 5 stars
10/20/01 Moviediva The sound effects are amazing - individual bullets whizzing by. Great cast. 5 stars
10/20/01 TimmyTomorrow Less talk. More action. I already know that war is hell, so what else is new. 3 stars
10/19/01 Thomson D. Nguy Awesome. Captures what's its like to be a soldier 5 stars
10/18/01 Sandra Jones Realistic!! Best performance I have seen in years. 5 stars
10/17/01 Max Great 5 stars
10/17/01 Galadria SWEET!!! Finally the gritty truth. Damian Lewis is so convincing. Deserves an EMMY. 5 stars
10/17/01 TOM DYER ONE OF THE BEST WAR MINISERIES EVER MADE 5 stars
10/17/01 Adalanta No matter how many times I've watched it, I'm always ready to see it again. Worth taping! 5 stars
10/16/01 Gustavo I'm glad it's on several times a week. This is magnificent and gripping story telling. 5 stars
10/15/01 jlasalle@kc.rr.com If bin Laden saw this, he'd be shitting in his robe, that sad ass, towel head motherfucker. 5 stars
10/15/01 tim God, I hope they release this series on video. 5 stars
10/15/01 dave I though it was great how they analyzed the characters and told specific stories. 5 stars
10/12/01 Tanya Haynes Seen the first 3 episodes, can't wait for the rest 5 stars
10/12/01 poor shmuck my cheap ass can't afford HBO, heard it was good 5 stars
10/12/01 Beth Damian Lewis rules 5 stars
10/12/01 Platoon Daddy This series vividly brings to life both the horror and comraderie of soldiers. 5 stars
10/11/01 Ged Doyl Un Missable 5 stars
10/10/01 Michelle A MUST SEE!! 5 stars
10/09/01 Meatloaf Damn Nazis Get there fucking asses kicked in this motherfucker!! 5 stars
10/09/01 Vince Neil Frightening tribute to awesome men 5 stars
10/06/01 Obi Wan Oh Man I love this!!! Like SPR with plenty more action!! Hope they keep this one going!! 5 stars
10/05/01 bob shwalb gotta watch each one twice 5 stars
10/05/01 Pat A Best WW2 thing I've seen. 5 stars
10/05/01 Patty A wonderful history lesson about a group of men that made America what is today. 5 stars
10/05/01 Sarah Jelinek Best show ever! I can't get enough! 5 stars
10/04/01 Rosie Mendez I am hooked... 5 stars
10/04/01 Adam Gotta love it ... 5 stars
10/03/01 Wayne Young A compelling work of art and history 5 stars
10/03/01 Judy Hill Another HBO masterpiece. 5 stars
10/02/01 Neil Absolutely amazing... 5 stars
10/02/01 Mary Takahashi Remarkable and thoroughly watchable. Damian Lewis is fantastic. 5 stars
10/02/01 Spot Amazing color work. Amazing camera movement and placement. Amazing! 5 stars
9/29/01 Amy Hensley Damian Lewis is awesome, as well as the whole series itself. I am telling everyone to watch 5 stars
9/28/01 RK If you love history you'll love this 4 stars
9/23/01 Larry Smith As of this date: All episodes have been SUPERIOR! 5 stars
9/20/01 Monkeyboy Zymbu Very well done. War stripped to the bare elements. Historically accurate. 5 stars
9/11/01 WALTER FLAKUS EXCELLENT=EQUALS, EVEN SURPASES SAVING PRIVATE RYAN 5 stars
9/11/01 To Bubble Boy Easy Company did not have any Black Soldiers, so they are just being factual. 4 stars
9/11/01 Stuart Kirkpatrick Just Like Saving Private Ryan (With slightly fewer lost limbs) 5 stars
9/11/01 whatever David and Boy in Bubble There were no black people in Easy Co. History, Not Racism! 5 stars
9/11/01 Cel Durant Well done, excellent character development. 5 stars
9/11/01 David Ezell they all look alike...messy story telling...and no minorities (btw, I am Caucasian myself). 3 stars
9/10/01 JR Giovino Excellent realism. Great cinematic quality, and thank you HBO for Widescreen and 5.1 sound 5 stars
9/10/01 Alex Milovic Incredible, well worth the hype 5 stars
9/10/01 Carl Marandola Very realistic 4 stars
9/08/01 michael cudlitz part four was directed by David Nutter. (thanks for the great review) 5 stars
9/05/01 The Boy In The Designer Bubble I don't know if the rumor is true, but I've heard that black people fought in that war too! 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Sep-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast