More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.8

Awesome45.45%
Worth A Look: 18.18%
Average: 11.36%
Pretty Bad: 20.45%
Total Crap: 4.55%

1 review, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Kill Me Later
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Drug me first."
2 stars

A nychthemeron snapshot about a suicidal young girl whose rooftop jump is botched when a robbery takes place in the bank she works for. (Being the hostage of one of the robber’s, he threatens to kill her if she doesn’t comply, which she gladly accepts, but obviously the threat doesn’t help things flow smoother for him.)

The indie romp, directed by Dana Lustig is punctuated by loud rock-n-roll songs (their amateur style properly juxtaposed against Lustig’s amateur directing style) and seems to take after The Limey in its choppy and shuffled narrative form. Lustig also seems to enjoy tweaking with camera coloring tricks as well, things not often left alone enough as they are. Often the silly but self-serving comedy goes in circles in and of itself, but it never ends up gaining much ground. The lackadaisical and quirky cop team is out of a whole different movie, but never once does Kill Me Later feel like it knows how to stand on its own. Selma Blair (Cruel Intentions) tries her hardest to emulate Neve Campbell, but damn it if it doesn’t work. Blair has her own appeal, something palpable I caught ever since her short-run TV series “Zoë, Duncan, Jack & Jane” (née “Zoë”), but nothing has really been done to capitalize or expand on that feel. Her whiny, moaning, chain-smoking, gothic-face-painted character is too annoying. Lochlyn Munro, as the more naïve and mercurial of the cop duo, brings his brand of humor and even allows it to work advantageously. Also, the sound recording during many scenes is pretty shoddy, no matter how amateurish the rest is.

With Max Beesley.

Final Verdict: C.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5525&reviewer=172
originally posted: 10/06/01 16:11:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/22/14 PAUL SHORTT ENERGETIC, QUIRKY COMEDY-DRAMA, WITH SOME GOOD PERFORMANCES 3 stars
2/03/11 claudia Fav scene: Running Beesley and Blair (black trendy outfit w/ killer boots). Cute together! 4 stars
10/12/10 gfdggdfg nIW1x6 pepyaka 2 stars
5/21/10 Jonny 3snRyl Cool lol hey bla bla bla bla 3 stars
10/11/07 Altrevis Its great film with great music 5 stars
5/05/06 Jen I really liked this movie! It seems Blair is being her usual self to me. Worth watching 2X 5 stars
3/13/06 Sam The end song is called Fiction By Yve Adam but good luck trying to get it cause i cant! 5 stars
2/12/06 Sofia loved the movie but whats the name of the final song? 3 stars
11/11/04 Angela Selma Blair is awesome 5 stars
10/23/04 Alie i loved it all the death and love in it, just like my life 5 stars
9/21/04 Ellen Casa This movie is hilarious. Max beesley is handsome and a good actor, Selma is funny as ever. 5 stars
6/27/04 ted Selma is intoxicating in her only lead role. Glad I stayed up till 4 am to catch this on SH 5 stars
6/21/04 Gyte wow! fantastic movie! i want to see it one more time...!! 5 stars
2/17/04 Landgraf Spitzenfilm. Und super schauspielerische Leistung von Selma! 5 stars
2/17/04 Dana It's great!!! 5 stars
1/29/04 JJ i thought it was really good and selma's performance was pretty awsome music was great 2 4 stars
1/25/04 Trizzle This movie sucked, but the ending song was awesome. Selma Blair is shit and can't act! 1 stars
12/20/03 Gonchik SHE IS SOOO DAMN HOT, i ENJOYED THIS MOVIE GREATLY, I WOULD LOVE JUST TO TOUCH HER 5 stars
11/29/03 chris k it was desent better then a lot of dog shit out there 4 stars
11/20/03 stormcrow everytime its on I have to watch it 5 stars
10/21/03 Melinda I loved this movie. At first I thought I wouldn't, but it grew on me...and it kicks ass! 5 stars
10/14/03 Ally Sanchez one of the best movies i have sen in a long time 5 stars
9/21/03 jols excellent movie 5 stars
7/25/03 Kelsey I thought that it was a great movie. The effects and music and all, really great. 5 stars
7/24/03 Jade Keenan I thought it was very good. I enjoyed the songs that accopanied the film as well. 4 stars
7/24/03 christina I thought this movie was excellent. The different camera angles and effects were awesome! 4 stars
7/05/03 jessi i loved the movie max beesley is a great actor and really cute to 5 stars
6/21/03 Lee Ann Max Beesley was so great in that movie. Not only is he a great acter he is good looking . 5 stars
6/05/03 kiley i like it 4 stars
5/21/03 noctem good music 3 stars
5/20/03 John Thought it was entertaining 4 stars
5/06/03 Jussi Thats a very good movie, i love it 5 stars
5/03/03 Pix I actually liked this movie 5 stars
3/06/03 Calli Baldwin I thought it was crude but interseting and felt it lived up to the entertainment i expected 4 stars
2/23/03 joe what a suckfest! 1 stars
2/03/03 Goofy Maxwell Indie insufficiency: color effects are Dullsville and editing done w/ dull razor blades. 2 stars
1/15/03 Weronika Knop good 2 stars
11/21/01 Martins Easy and charming film for entertainment 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Sep-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast