More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.04

Awesome: 8.33%
Worth A Look: 29.17%
Average: 22.22%
Pretty Bad38.89%
Total Crap: 1.39%

8 reviews, 24 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Hearts in Atlantis
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Ill-intentions."
2 stars

Hearts in Atlantis is another impotent sterilization from Scott Hicks (Shine, Snow Falling on Cedars), concerning an on-the-lam government-sanctioned psychic.

He befriends a prepubescent boy whom he “temporarily” passes the gift onto, while the boy deals with the trivial issues forced upon him by his mother, de rigueur. The Stephen King tale has its intriguing and promising aspect, but Hicks plays it for its bathos and phony emotions, overdoing the schmaltz at every turn and exploiting the unintentional affectedness of kid-actor Anton Yelchin. If all the subject matter were not treated like commonplace banalities in the eyes of someone who knows but doesn’t care, with the lumbering detachment Hicks abides by, I could easily see this innocuous tale made more palatable. But even Mychael Danna’s score is used to the ill-effect of carrying out Hicks’ damaging intent.

With Anthony Hopkins, David Morse and Hope Davis.

[Not to be bothered with.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5534&reviewer=172
originally posted: 10/06/02 12:48:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/21/09 scott lee I liked it a lot! 4 stars
11/26/08 Shaun Wallner Friiggin Awesome!! 5 stars
6/11/08 PAUL SHORTT A SOFT-CENTRED FILM, FULL OF GOOD IDEAS THAT NEVER GET PROPERLY DEVELOPED 2 stars
11/17/06 Alyssa Hale Very disappointing movie, not at all good. 2 stars
6/22/06 TB I wish I learn more about the mysterious man, but the story was about a boy 3 stars
12/23/04 Nick Boyd Very heartfelt coming-of-age story 5 stars
4/16/04 A Reader Makes mincemeat of the King book, but is surprisingly heartfelt, and may haunt you later. 4 stars
4/13/04 Chris I was really looking foward to it but it was very dissapointing. Shoulda been better. 2 stars
9/14/03 agustina magic land full of dreams 5 stars
9/13/03 Phil M. Aficionado Nothing special except excellent action and photography. 3 stars
1/11/03 Mitsaso Conventional-but still good. 4 stars
1/08/03 tina crap 1 stars
10/08/02 Rusty The book was great, the movie writer needs to be shot for butchering the book like this!!!! 2 stars
10/23/01 spaceworm Get it right: Olivier was the old Anthony Hopkins. 4 stars
10/14/01 E-Funk The book is a step above this effort, but the effort is respectable. Hopkins is great. 4 stars
10/05/01 Jennifer Hassell I thought it was rather slow-moving, but excellent acting and photography!!! 4 stars
10/03/01 toneely I liked the movie, but Erik the movieman is correct.that's why I am reading the book. 4 stars
10/02/01 travis one of the best films in a long time best picture nomanation 5 stars
10/02/01 Greyjack Erik pretty much nailed it. What was there was nice, but it just felt very incomplete. 3 stars
10/01/01 Suzz A bit of a different take on the coming-of-age theme. Ok for 2 hours of escapism. 4 stars
9/30/01 erik the movieman Ah Yes - The Intelligent Moviegoer and his Comments! Bravo! Go See Glitter - You'll Love It 3 stars
9/29/01 Anders Caught a sneak preview - decent, like a "Stand By Me" on mild hallucinogens. 4 stars
9/28/01 DON'T LISTEN TO THIS MORON "Erik the Movieman" IS A MORON@!! 5 stars
9/28/01 WHICH MORON GAVE IT 3 stars THE MOVIE HASNT COME OUT YET!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Sep-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  31-Jan-2002


Directed by
  Scott Hicks

Written by
  William Goldman

Cast
  Anthony Hopkins
  Anton Yelchin
  Hope Davis
  David Morse
  Mika Boorem
  Will Rothhaar



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast