More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.05

Awesome56.19%
Worth A Look: 18.73%
Average: 8.46%
Pretty Bad: 7.25%
Total Crap: 9.37%

13 reviews, 253 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Guardians of the Galaxy by Lybarger

Guardians of the Galaxy by Brett Gallman

One I Love, The by Jay Seaver

Get On Up by Peter Sobczynski

Guardians of the Galaxy by Peter Sobczynski

Snow White Murder Case, The by Jay Seaver

At the Devil's Door by Jay Seaver

To Be Takei by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Hal by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Mulholland Drive
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Lynch's confusing but restlessly engaging oddity/odyssey."
5 stars

David Lynch's 'Mulholland Drive' was supposed to be an ABC television series, but the network backed out after Lynch delivered the pilot episode. Given some French money to turn the pilot into a theatrical film by shooting new footage to make it self-contained, Lynch, bless his perverse heart, used it as an opportunity to make it ever more tangled in Lynchian symbology and mystery. He doesn't even pretend to bring the film -- or the various subplots designed for a TV season's worth of exploration -- to any conventional or even sensible closure.

I don't think David Lynch will ever work in television again; Mulholland Drive feels like a vicious slap at ABC (the home of his cult hit series Twin Peaks) and any other network that would try to tame his wild-at-heart vision. But I hope his enthusiastic fan base in France and Japan will keep the wheels greased for more movies (since no American studio will back him), because Mulholland Drive, oblique and baffling as it is, is still the only English-language movie this year to use the film medium to challenge, provoke, arouse, and confound, often all at once.

Some dislike being confounded. They will find no solace in the "story," which begins rather network-ishly, as aspiring actress Betty (Naomi Watts) and an amnesiac who's named herself "Rita" (Laura Elena Harring) sift through Los Angeles for clues to Rita's identity. For a while, that's the film's main throughline; we meet other characters -- a frustrated, cuckolded movie director (Justin Theroux), a typical Lynchian Man of Mystery called The Cowboy (Monty Montgomery), two men in a diner discussing ominous dreams -- who are neglected or entirely forgotten; Lynch uses them as divertissements but doesn't bother tying them into the dominant narrative. It's a bit like the European theatrical version of the Twin Peaks pilot, wherein the killer was revealed but subplot threads were left dangling.

Indeed, Mulholland Drive starts out all-American -- it kicks off with images of jitterbugging, for God's sake, and employs a classical American mystery arc -- and then turns on a dime into European territory, complete with lesbian erotica and freak-out surrealism. I can only applaud the moment when the movie quite merrily decides to go lesbian ("We're now into the R-rated portion of the evening," you can almost hear Lynch say); this director specializes in the beautiful/evil sweetness of sin, the attentiveness to breath quickened by lust or dread or both. When lips brush together and hands explore the undiscover'd country of same-sex flesh, the screen trembles and burns.

After that, Lynch goes spelunking in the caves of his own pet obsessions. Rita's identity crisis is also the film's. As we saw in Lost Highway, Lynch has a taste for left-brain/right-brain narrative with no easy connective link -- he wants you to climb into your own head and finish the work yourself, and so there are an infinite number of ways to read Mulholland Drive. I need to see it at least seven more times, armed with interviews with the notoriously unhelpful Lynch (who refuses to kill his mysterious babies by dissecting them), preferably on DVD where Peter Deming's lit-from-within-by-hellflame cinematography and Angelo Badalamenti's sad, menacing score can work their magic on me most efficiently and repeatedly.

As moviemaking -- as pure abstract art writ large -- this is a classic, a thing of dark mystifying beauty. What actually happens during the last half hour, and what does it all mean? I really couldn't tell you (yet). Mulholland Drive demands to be chewed over obsessively, revisited devoutly, until its secrets unlock themselves -- much as Lynch's characters (and their creator) circle around a central mystery only to find an enigma inside.

Those who are willing to put that much effort into a David Lynch film -- or are at least willing to give him the benefit of the doubt -- will enjoy 'Mulholland Drive'; those who aren't, won't.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5544&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/11/07 10:23:30
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/17/14 prdjjubwn USA 2 stars
4/14/14 Pgpihejz USA 5 stars
2/27/14 tujfjcpz USA 2 stars
2/17/14 Vectnitg USA 2 stars
11/01/13 drwdcsulswg USA 5 stars
1/15/12 francisco lopes A wonderful nightmare, with no logic, but high poetry all the time 5 stars
6/11/11 Jack Lantern The best movie of the millenium. 5 stars
12/09/10 David R It does have a storyline very sad and poignant about a tragic and distirbed personality 5 stars
12/07/10 Kyle Brilliant, mind-bending film from David Lynch... simply too intelligent for most. 5 stars
8/16/10 Jake An astounding journey. I was spellbound by this wonderful film. 5 stars
6/03/10 User Name Lynch's film is not about straight storylines and entertainment cues, but ideas and emotion 5 stars
5/27/10 Brady Travesty it only got 3 stars 5 stars
5/03/10 Jen One of the greatest movies ever made -- and the scariest. 5 stars
5/03/10 PAUL SHORTT DREAMY, NIGHTMARISH AND CONTEMPLATIVE 4 stars
3/01/10 BooBots A mental jig-saw puzzle with no picture to complete. 1 stars
2/11/10 LOUISE CAHILL I felt as if I had been had. I felt cheated and misled. 1 stars
7/01/09 Mr Gone Favorite Film Of All Time 5 stars
4/05/09 GRAPELGANGER One of the best movies ever made! 5 stars
4/01/09 PrettyBre I did not understand it. Alone the scenes were fine, but together they didn't make sense. 3 stars
3/17/09 Peter The first part of Mullholland Dr. was shot as a trailer for an ABC show.They stoped funding 1 stars
11/17/08 DeezyPeezy I found myself gigging because it was so confusing I just need to watch it a few more times 4 stars
10/20/08 Monster A Go-Go Lynch's masterpiece! 5 stars
5/01/08 David S If you watch it 11 times and set your mind to it, you can make dark sense of the plot 5 stars
4/10/08 John The greatest movie ever made including the scariest scene in movie history. 5 stars
1/04/08 Bozofreak Anyone who didn't "get it" obviously wasn't paying attention. Greatest fucking movie ever. 5 stars
12/10/07 TigerSlap A pretentious roll of crap. Somebody ´lynch´ David for wasting our time... 2 stars
9/24/07 smrtpants =disney fantasia?(a piece of something-induced possible-poop from a could-be-complacent) 4 stars
9/24/07 Nicholas Maday It took me quite a while to understand what actually happened in this movie, but I liked it 4 stars
9/07/07 Jubei Haven't figured its secrets out.What i know is that this is art.Bergman level. 5 stars
6/16/07 mrsinister Really engaging, but a plot turn at the end left me cold 4 stars
6/10/07 Bob Awesome flick! 5 stars
4/01/07 matthew a profoundly unsettling exercise in psycological intuition. absolutely haunting, a must-see 5 stars
12/31/06 mr.mike my favorite lynch flick 5 stars
12/26/06 johnnyfog Only watched for lesbo scene. Utter crap, but early greatness from Naomi Watts 2 stars
12/08/06 MP Bartley Lynch doing what Lynch does - predictably baffling 3 stars
10/27/06 Isaac Baranoff Raw neo-noir that kicks. 5 stars
10/08/06 Bitchflaps Endlessly fascinating, reminded me of Luis Bunuel and Maya Deren. 4 stars
8/20/06 Vince I dig the acting, as for the plot... what plot? 2 stars
5/29/06 john review hit the mark 5 stars
5/17/06 Paddy I love Lynch, but this was far too convuluted for its own good even for me, a Lynch fan.... 3 stars
4/21/06 Becky Too advant garde for me... pretentious and made no sense. Random lesbianism? Please. 1 stars
3/18/06 Stacy I just kept saying, "What!?" 1 stars
2/23/06 jp david lynch, a true original 4 stars
11/16/05 Adrian As weird as movies can get, but the lesbians scenes are great. 4 stars
8/17/05 ES Lynch is a dud- if you like movies with a plot don't look to him 1 stars
7/12/05 Jake Very good...Even though it makes NO SENSE WHATSOVER! 4 stars
7/12/05 Tom Benton Dark, brillant, nightmarish, yet beautiful; David Lynch is a misunderstood master. 5 stars
6/21/05 R there are too many steves out there, thus, today's cinematic standards. 5 stars
6/13/05 Agent Sands Started the whole dream plot twist craze, almost as popular as the Fight Club schizo twist. 5 stars
5/31/05 Mike Derek Smith's reviews sums it up brilliantly. Lynch's best, even better than Blue Velvet.. 5 stars
4/20/05 captain craig An excellent example of what happens when Hollywood producters do tooooo much druge. A mess 1 stars
4/15/05 Veronika Boyd 3 words: Rebekah Del Rio 5 stars
3/18/05 indrid cold It's excellent David Lynch. Lost Highway + actual emotion = good stuff. 4 stars
3/17/05 steve the dyke scene rocked but i felt like 2 hours of my life had horribly died theyll be missed 1 stars
1/31/05 williamwar The movie is quite strange, but I enjoyed taking it in. Understand it, no. 4 stars
1/15/05 pym A very beautiful film. Lynch,s best work. I had to watch it three times to figure it all ou 5 stars
11/19/04 Tom de Wijs Great Lynch story 5 stars
11/18/04 Gerrit van Terwisga Strange, exiting and tensed till the end 5 stars
11/17/04 Nix Best. Movie. Ever. 5 stars
9/27/04 Gravityy Unrelated scenes strung together under the guise of a dream ( the viewer has to guess this) 2 stars
9/27/04 ALBERT A MASTERPIECE 5 stars
9/15/04 ROBERT E DILLON A SENSOUS HOLLYWOOD MAKE BELIEVE 5 stars
8/18/04 Gustavo Reynoso A hunting movie. The images stay with you 5 stars
8/17/04 Herolder Great actresses, but a dissapointing movie 3 stars
8/14/04 DM Some interesting moments, but it goes nowhere 2 stars
7/17/04 legend Not really my genre of film but I really liked it. Worth catching. 4 stars
7/14/04 Maureen Murtha This movie was one of the finest...it's amazingly original. Quite an achievement in cinema. 5 stars
7/10/04 sampa nice 3 stars
6/22/04 rosy totally surreal and amazing. a true screw with your mind 5 stars
6/13/04 R.W. Welch Sets up well, has a couple funny bits, then drifts into incoherence. 3 stars
6/11/04 pjmgq What a great film! It bends the brain. 5 stars
6/05/04 MyGreenBed Lynch doing a parody of himself (yawn), which is an oxymoron to begin with. Overrated. 2 stars
4/08/04 j-p Fantastic.One thing I gotta say:There IS a plot here,why have so many critics missed it? 5 stars
3/31/04 sansho Deeply sensuous, surreal, mysterious, macabre 5 stars
2/17/04 john intriguing and not quite as confusing as I was led to believe - fascinating 4 stars
1/20/04 Daniél Rocha A mind blowning surrealistic masterpiece 5 stars
1/12/04 monoclast god what an utter waste of time... 1 stars
1/12/04 LIAM JACKSON The Cowboy is someone you wouldn't want to meet in a dark alley! 5 stars
1/04/04 tim wood masterpiece 5 stars
10/21/03 Will Terrific. A real head scratcher. 5 stars
9/27/03 Mr. Hat 100%. Impossible for it to not be original in every way. 5 stars
9/09/03 Pia It was confusing, Watts gives me the shits. 4 stars
9/01/03 ThriceRise This is a goodmovie, it would be great if it had some substance to it, though. 3 stars
8/29/03 dtom beautiful and heartbreaking 5 stars
8/24/03 anusha rajaram very intriguing, surreal 5 stars
8/18/03 I Would The most baffling film ever. I need to watch it again to understand the last half hour. 4 stars
8/10/03 Dean Mansfield Poorly Edited.....lacked cohesion 1 stars
6/10/03 Paul Andrews What can I say? The reviewer has the got the point of the film right. 5 stars
6/03/03 Klarys elegant..... 5 stars
5/27/03 Jack Bourbon I'd bang all four of them. 5 stars
5/25/03 John40 incredible film that features the best performance of the year 5 stars
5/23/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back, Mo'Fos!) Lots of plot tiers not taken care of, but funny, creepy, & hot lesbo fucking. 4 stars
4/19/03 Jack Sommersby Disjointed and joylessly 'vague'. Only Watts' superb perf is worth the effort. 3 stars
3/30/03 Christina Astounding, deep, and a visual masterpiece 5 stars
3/21/03 beth you might have to do some thinking but its definitely worth it 5 stars
2/03/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Holy crap, this was an incredible film. 5 stars
1/16/03 J-bomb Absolutely great. 5 stars
1/14/03 richard a masterpiece of lynch and all thumbs up for watts 5 stars
1/13/03 Tricia Doesn't make sense 2 stars
1/10/03 Mitsaso The film is more intriguing if you haven't read a REVIEW before!!! 5 stars
1/04/03 Ted Grimm Moving 5 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby Artsy Pretentiousness at its Finest 2 stars
12/19/02 .Choadushouse. Simply the most haunting film I've ever seen. Gives me goosebumps just thinking about it. 5 stars
12/11/02 jmyles There is a ton of symbolism. It is a must see for anyone serious about film. 5 stars
12/07/02 Johnny P O'ryan Doesn't tell a story......why watch it?? 1 stars
12/04/02 rob vegas FIRST HALF OF THE FILM WAS HER DREAMING- THE REST OF THE FILM IS REAL 5 stars
11/15/02 Chiendog Outstanding mystery/thriller; those who can't watch a film more than once should stay away. 5 stars
10/27/02 Mr. Hat Nice lesbo action, but "Vanilla Sky" made more sense! 2 stars
10/20/02 Paul It makes no sense 1 stars
9/26/02 Morally Sound Great film, but was totally lost with the ending. 5 stars
9/19/02 Uncle Salty How many times can David Lynch hand us the same "what is reality, what is a dream" garbage? 1 stars
9/02/02 SBD Not for those lazy people out there that just want to see things blown up 5 stars
9/02/02 The Bomb 69 can't figure it out but it was interesting 4 stars
9/01/02 Robbie Banfitch great visuals, great characters, its fun trying to figure out the plot 5 stars
8/31/02 Monster W. Kung Some flaws, but interesting. Naomi Watts was excellent. 4 stars
8/04/02 Edward Perry Great entertainment.. Intra-personal interpreation 5 stars
7/15/02 Sean Patrick Fucking Awsome sums it up 5 stars
7/14/02 sdjfsdkjf Liked it. Bizzare but intriguing. The ending threw me but then I found an analysis for it. 4 stars
7/07/02 Kevin Grimm I must not be enlightened. Because I'm not going to lick Lynchs balls for making this crap! 1 stars
6/27/02 Chuck weird 4 stars
6/26/02 Conman Great style but can Lynch make a movie without screwing everything up at the end? 4 stars
6/15/02 Milan Stefe cant wait to see it again. and again... 5 stars
5/30/02 Elbow It was a "Connect the dots" game with no picture at the end, it was also rather tasteless. 2 stars
5/22/02 officer 412/l in the words of arnie. It's the best mind fuck yet 5 stars
5/20/02 F@rty Bl@st Smells like poo! 1 stars
5/19/02 timbuk2 looks to me like it has been cobbled together from an unwanted "Twin Peaks" type TV series 4 stars
5/16/02 Greta BAD BAD BAD! a poor excuse for a lesbian scence. just rent a porno 1 stars
5/10/02 Butterbean All this shit just to see how "Diana" wished her life was like. I was robbed 2 stars
4/30/02 Phoenix Moronic and incoherent garbage. What the fuck was it about. 1 stars
4/28/02 Kirk I just saw Mullholland last night. First experience with Lynch ever. I admit that I'm only 1 stars
4/28/02 turtle This movie really makes you think. Requires at least 2 viewings!! Great film! 5 stars
4/27/02 Edfink Lombardo A spectacular cinematic achievement...A true mind fuck in every sense; Lynch's best! 5 stars
4/25/02 Bobbie Murphy Fascinating! 5 stars
4/25/02 MrT I pity the fool that lies to themselves about this awful waste of time 1 stars
4/25/02 Colin Camilla I don't think those were her grandparents 5 stars
4/23/02 WoWBoBWoW a blender lots of sticky tape and too much sweet coffee? 4 stars
4/20/02 Film Afficianado Existential garbage. For everyone who says the movie is genius, ask them to explain it. 1 stars
4/18/02 axis go watch 'crossroads',u *,it has a PLOT!andLOGIC!why do u even bother taking a shot at this 5 stars
4/16/02 Scott Bryant Weird for weirdness sake? Lynch made an intoxicating world in B.Velvet and it had a plot 2 stars
4/15/02 Larry Horstman This is definitely not for the beer & chips crowd. This is Lynch at his best! 5 stars
4/15/02 Shawna Best Movie since Lost Highway!!! 5 stars
4/15/02 Sharon Kirk David Lynch is a genius. Naomi Watts mega talented. Loved it. 5 stars
4/14/02 Pete The rosy dream scenes were good, otherwise it blew. 2 stars
4/14/02 Lynn Masssey I thought it was intriguing...very suspenseful,but lacked logic reasoning 3 stars
4/14/02 mahone Lynch brings us more discontinous mush. Hire a screen writer, for God's sake! 1 stars
4/11/02 Spyguy2 Lynch can make a carpet look organic and alive...M.H. 's like a Dan Clowes comic..Unique 5 stars
4/10/02 Tony Accurso ...dreams wide awake...David Lynch captured all the elements of a dream flawlessly. 5 stars
4/09/02 Christian Nyegaard Uhm. Weirdness at its best. It's just that. Weird. But good. But very very very weird. 4 stars
4/05/02 Mariliyn Didn't get it at all. I watched it twice. I have no idea what it's about. 1 stars
3/29/02 farzad haerizadeh one of the best films 4 stars
3/29/02 Chris Quan It's deeeppppppp 5 stars
3/28/02 Joe Stevens You ain't got enough stars... 5 stars
3/25/02 Iztok Heric Awesome!!! Haven't seen so many good movies like this one. (hint: watch it multiple times!) 5 stars
3/12/02 Lauren Maclise I LOOOOVE this movie! 5 stars
3/11/02 Louie G. See this movie! it's a kind of movie that would be a terrible thing to waste!!! 5 stars
3/07/02 Reini Urban Perfectly logic, but more. 4 times seen so far. 5 stars
2/26/02 David A. Top-notch mystery about amnesia and psychoanalytic fugue-there IS a plot! Watch ALL of it!! 5 stars
2/23/02 adam dal pozzo Lynch weaves multifaceted infliction of horrors felt amnesia sufferers. NO-SPOONFEEDING 4 stars
2/12/02 beeniz Meh. Trying too hard. 2 stars
2/01/02 E-Funk One of Lynch's best. This film is insane...it's hard to describe the experience. Lynch=KEWL 5 stars
1/31/02 ^Elendil^ I'll see it a 2nd time, or does the emperor have no clothes? 4 stars
1/26/02 Matthew Peters A great step from "Highway." Lynch leaves you with a lot to work out for yourself. 5 stars
1/25/02 matthew smith a hypnotic experience that you stay with you for many days 5 stars
1/25/02 Slitchard Richmond Wonderfully myserious on first viewing. Dazzling and inspiring upon subsequent viewings. 5 stars
1/23/02 mattski see it twice and then it will all become so much clearer. a film that asks you to think. 5 stars
1/23/02 tobias take a look on it 5 stars
1/14/02 Leysen Creepy !!!!! 5 stars
1/13/02 Forsythia66 A magnified look at how the subconcious deals with unrequited obsessive love 5 stars
1/01/02 Linda D boring 2 stars
12/18/01 grunter Mr. Lynch, your record is skipping. Hollywood is bad, mm'kay? We get it. New subject pleez 2 stars
12/16/01 Bucky Condescending Lynch horseshit 1 stars
12/12/01 slappy jacks like nancy drew on mushrooms certainly some of lynches best work ever 5 stars
12/05/01 Laurent de Soras I was really impressed by this movie, interleaving dreams and realities into a brain-puzzle 5 stars
12/03/01 underworld confusing but fuckin great anyway 5 stars
12/03/01 Caiphn My second Lynch film. I didn't understand this one either. 4 stars
12/02/01 jawsboy24 even though it didn't give an explanation, it still kicked ass, weird ass. 4 stars
11/28/01 cory incredible movie 5 stars
11/27/01 Frenchy Fuckin' confusing no need to watch it, it's useless 1 stars
11/26/01 Terry I didn't like it because it was too episodic without any concieved closure at the end. 1 stars
11/25/01 Rodney Who taught Mark to hold a gun as if it were a pet bunny? 4 stars
11/24/01 Kabby Gotta go with BAM...weird, but actually makes sense after a while. 5 stars
11/19/01 James This movie was one of the best movies I have ever seen 5 stars
11/19/01 Billy Two-feathers So vastly superior to almost all other films showing, no comparison! 5 stars
11/18/01 BAM Thought provoking and weirdly logical 5 stars
11/17/01 Mike Sullens Spellbinding puzzler. Still thinking about it a week later. 5 stars
11/16/01 sez terrifically confusing, but funky and beautiful 4 stars
11/15/01 JD One of the best films I've seen in a long time, I'm still putting the pieces together. 5 stars
11/15/01 P.T. Magee A gripping cinematic experience. I love movies that make me wonder what really happened. 5 stars
11/13/01 Bri ok, babes going at it rule. 4 stars
11/13/01 Alice James great flick 5 stars
11/12/01 b burns Surreal and twisted 4 stars
11/12/01 Jackie Despite the confusion, it was one of the most beautifully made films I've seen 5 stars
11/12/01 Matlock Kicked ass, best lynch film ever 5 stars
11/12/01 t d We're all in a nightmare (we call it reality) from which we are never waking up. 5 stars
11/11/01 Odd Girl Weird but interesting & the lead chicks are CUTE! 4 stars
11/09/01 marC F. it's simple, if you like lynch films you will like M.D. that's all there is to it. duh! 4 stars
11/09/01 Pickle Masterpiece- Not for stupid people 5 stars
11/07/01 Charlotte L. Frye David Lynch is more feminist than most feminists. Jung himself would be pleased! 5 stars
11/07/01 Spencer Hill Free your mind, the rest will follow. 4 stars
11/06/01 Mental Case WARNING: This movie might send you straight to the looney bin. 5 stars
11/06/01 catbert Great movie. Avoid movie if you're stupid. It'll make sense if you open your mind. 5 stars
11/06/01 Sean Liddell This movie SUCKED!!! 1 stars
11/06/01 Lost Boys Calling The best David Lynch yet. AND the answer is in the opening montage BEFORE the car accdent. 5 stars
11/06/01 Ben Doo-wop is great!! 5 stars
11/05/01 Ben Chung this is the movie. 5 stars
11/05/01 hugh jass what the hell was going on in the movie? 1 stars
11/05/01 Larry Reinhart Mixed emotions...High marks for the 1st half, low for the 2nd half. I need some logic. 2 stars
11/04/01 Andrew Hope Best Lynch since Blue Velvet and not so hard to figure out if you open your mind. 5 stars
11/04/01 S. Hamill Horne I thught it was excellent but didn't understand it. I am trying to pick up the pieces. 5 stars
11/04/01 tobematte Brilliant. I love that people don't get this movie. Thank you to those people, for being 5 stars
11/03/01 iph1954.us.terra.sol Worth seeing for the cinematography, although the lack of coherent plot is frustrating. 4 stars
11/03/01 Joe Herde' Silencio!! 5 stars
11/03/01 Philip Campbell Some people's dreams are better than other people's dreams. 4 stars
11/03/01 Jessica Moorleghen Haunting...sticks in your gut like oatmeal. Mmmm. 5 stars
11/03/01 John Harrison Too beautiful, too short - should have been a series! 5 stars
11/02/01 hee hee Soooo good. Beautiful and creepy. Would've been damn good TV. 5 stars
11/02/01 John Leonardo The Ansswer: This is a movie about a naive wannabe star who commits murder and then suicide 5 stars
11/02/01 Cory Worst movie I've ever seen. It made no sense. 1 stars
11/01/01 Seofon Bypasses the rational mind and speaks powerfully to the emotions. Masterful. 5 stars
11/01/01 Renee Chandler Loved it, but am very confused! 5 stars
10/31/01 Seth Quite possibly the greatest film I have ever seen. 5 stars
10/31/01 Astrojohnny A fabulous Film, easily Lynch's best 5 stars
10/31/01 Jon umm...no 2 stars
10/31/01 Angela langowski Best Lynchian interpretation of a dreamlike state passing for a movie. 5 stars
10/31/01 Brandon Money. Like watching a dream. 5 stars
10/31/01 Angela langowski Best Lynchian interpretation of a dreamlike state passing for a movie. 5 stars
10/31/01 marc faris erotic, scary, funny, unnerving - usually all of the above combined. brilliant, i think. 5 stars
10/31/01 Rachel a beautiful mix of the best attributes of blue velvet and erasurehead. 5 stars
10/31/01 Rajinder Lynch is a fucking crack-head... 2.5 hrs of mylife I can never get back!!!! 1 stars
10/31/01 Rajinder Lynch is a fucking crack-head... 2.5 hrs of mylife I can never get back!!!! 1 stars
10/31/01 Liamers Because he dared, and because I remember what I felt. Cinema is special. 5 stars
10/31/01 RICHARD The first two hours are a dying womans distortion of what her life was-could have been. 5 stars
10/30/01 G-Dowg We see people on the screen, yet there are no (real) people. Get it? 5 stars
10/30/01 davEy unsatisfactory tacked-on ending. a letdown to a good movie 4 stars
10/30/01 M- Lynch fan who feels gyped. 2 stars
10/29/01 motorb excellent film. just wish the ending could have been better. new actors and great music. 5 stars
10/27/01 AgentDS Uh... what? *still trying to figure it out* 4 stars
10/27/01 Iggy Just enough juice to keep us mice seeking out that cheese. Confusing and poignant. 4 stars
10/26/01 DJ Smurf What he wanted to do with Lost Highway, but this one works. 4 stars
10/25/01 Joe R. A flat out masterpiece. Lynch's best since Eraserhead. 5 stars
10/24/01 Mike Lewis Strange and interesting but not worthwhile 3 stars
10/23/01 The Alter Ego I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!! This is David Lynch's masterpiece! 5 stars
10/23/01 Nathaniel The possibilities are endless, and so you get more than your admission's worth 4 stars
10/21/01 Robert Very, very entertaining film. Sure, it's not totally comprehensible, but who cares. 5 stars
10/20/01 Thor-Leo Too long, too arbitrary, even for Lynch 2 stars
10/20/01 TimmyTomorrow He acheives in reaching mediocrity. 2 stars
10/16/01 frank incredible. 5 stars
10/16/01 Olive Miller A TRUE ART FILM, VERY BIZARRE AND HYPNOTIC 4 stars
10/14/01 Steve Harrison Pure Lynch - nothing else is worthy 5 stars
10/14/01 REAL critic it was horrible... way too long and nothing made sense... 1 stars
10/13/01 Reverend Krule Holy Fucking shit, that's all i can say to express this 5 stars
10/13/01 Heather Essential for David Lynch fans, absolute mindf*ck of a movie 5 stars
10/05/01 Jackson David Lynch is amazing and an artist in every sense of the word. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Oct-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  31-Jan-2002


Directed by
  David Lynch

Written by
  David Lynch

Cast
  Justin Theroux
  Naomi Watts
  Laura Harring
  Ann Miller
  Dan Hedaya
  Mark Pellegrino



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast