More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.74

Awesome36.49%
Worth A Look: 28.38%
Average: 20.27%
Pretty Bad: 2.7%
Total Crap: 12.16%

4 reviews, 50 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Life as a House
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Pussing pimples."
1 stars

This year’s loser for most forced and artificial sentimentality.

The mawkish star vehicle for declining star Kevin Kline and wannabe star Hayden Christensen pits the pair as a secretly dying father and a gothic, face-pierced punk, respectively. What to do the summer before pop croaks? Considering that father-and-son have a non-existent relationship, let’s force them to build a (metaphorical) house together and walk away with life-long epiphanies. Director Irwin Winkler rubs this pussing pimple for all the pathos that it will leak. It is worthless pap because not once are the characters made to behave or think or feel like people; the actions are puppeted, the emotions are affected, the dialogue is horribly trite (“I kissed his hair — that was before it was blue” or “With every crash of every wave, I hear something I never heard before”). The characters are all one-line descriptions: Hermetic dying luddite; overly helpful ex-wife; drug-using, hair-dying, suicidal and sexually frustrated bisexual, etc. (Jena Malone’s teenager doesn’t “like” Christensen’s punk, but she’s more than willing to join him nude in the shower and assist him in an orgasm.) It’s everything that Donnie Darko shied away from becoming. (And the latter film contained a much better utilization of Malone.)

With Kristen Scott Thomas and Mary Steenburgen.

[Not to be bothered with.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5583&reviewer=172
originally posted: 10/06/02 12:53:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/20/09 JR Fake. Idiotic. Garbage. Nuff said... 1 stars
6/01/07 ES It's worth the watch 4 stars
3/31/07 alyxandria It's simply amaizing.Hayden looks better then ever and he proved to be arel talent 5 stars
9/14/06 Lori this movie is wicked, fun and touching, Hayden christensen's acting rules in this film 5 stars
2/13/06 KMG the best part is watching Hayden Christenson cum in the shower 4 stars
12/18/05 Tim Spectacular! Critics are nuts! 5 stars
2/02/05 Darryl Fine cast really delivers in this one. Excellent film. 4 stars
12/09/04 Shira Really good, meaningful 5 stars
8/17/04 Jazmin I thought the movie was the BEST! Mary ur the best!!! 5 stars
6/07/04 KMD Wonderful movie! 5 stars
5/11/04 Maria Its an awesome movie its touching i loved it 5 stars
4/30/04 Justine Harty I thought it was a great movie!!! 5 stars
3/26/04 Pinkline Jones Fine acting by Kline - nice quirky but real story 4 stars
9/28/03 Lord Chu Excellent and touching. A bit anticlimatic, but still works. 5 stars
8/12/03 maya leon it so good, i am a huge believer in fate and reason. the storyline and cast were perfect. 5 stars
7/27/03 Kelli great movie, love ya hayden 5 stars
6/20/03 Wendy Carpenter I'm not a fan of tragicomedy, but this is decent + my son liked Mary Steenburgen's pooper. 4 stars
5/21/03 steph This movie was shitty. SHITTY. Avoid it at all costs. 2 stars
3/22/03 Skankin' inThePit awesome movie, i bawl at the end! hayden acted well in this and i like his piercings (hot!) 5 stars
2/01/03 me awesome!!! everyone did a great job!! 5 stars
1/21/03 Hana I've seen it a billion times and every time I love it 5 stars
1/20/03 Kerra Oscar material for sure....good quality and in depth characters 5 stars
1/20/03 Holly Hayden did an awesome job at acting in this movie 5 stars
1/20/03 Melissa I think hayden did an amazing job of acting he should have gotten an oscar nod...best movie 5 stars
1/20/03 Bear Hayden in this movie did awesome.....best movie i have ever seen in my life..... 5 stars
1/12/03 Leah nah we should've seen hayden more in the shower instead. 4 stars
1/08/03 tina excellent 5 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Hayden deserved Oscar nod. More this, less Star Wars. 5 stars
10/12/02 monkey It was a farly decent movie, it would have been better if we got to see Jena in the shower 4 stars
10/10/02 (-(-(--plurthoughts--)-)-) mmm...hayden's all punked out...yummy 5 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock Dery me. American meaningless schmaltz for zombies. 1 stars
9/01/02 Robbie Banfitch decent but flawed, a little too much cliche 4 stars
7/25/02 Cannibus I would love to fuck the ever living shit out of Jena Malone. No accounting for the film. 1 stars
7/11/02 Vitality1 Cried nonstop. So I'm a sap, it's a good movie! 5 stars
6/16/02 steve donaghy one of the greatest movies i have seen, seen it on father day weekend, andi cried and cried 5 stars
6/07/02 TJ Really liked Hayden. Hope his future is full of success! 4 stars
5/22/02 Kelly It was ok,Hayden gives a suprisingly good performance,kline on the other hand,hes no spacey 3 stars
5/20/02 Kristen Hayden was beautiful after he got the hole out of his chin lol 5 stars
5/12/02 dave macdougall made me cry....nuf said 4 stars
3/07/02 Jenny Tullwartz KST should be capable of better; she's been weak link in too many casts, including this one 3 stars
3/03/02 Wendy Carpenter I'm not a fan of tragicomedy, but this is decent + my son liked Mary Steenburgen's pooper. 4 stars
12/08/01 Rahul Abedin Movies dont get anymore meaninful then this 5 stars
11/29/01 Amy The best movie I have seen in 2001...and that's out of about three a week. 5 stars
11/28/01 CoffeeVixen splendid, one everyone can get something out of, performances were awesome! 5 stars
11/26/01 Brenda Very good movie about life, family, and acceptance of death. 4 stars
11/25/01 Suzz kline's butt can be missed as can this exploitative film 3 stars
11/19/01 Greyjack Ham, meet fist. Some good acting, yes, but jeezus, one of the least subtle scripts, EVER. 2 stars
11/14/01 spaceworm We're getting a pretty good young Vader. More Steenbergen in black lace - please! 4 stars
11/12/01 poetchuck Easily a six handkerchief movie 4 stars
11/08/01 tnt very enjoyable 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Nov-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  23-May-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast