More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.22

Awesome: 5.88%
Worth A Look: 5.88%
Average: 33.33%
Pretty Bad: 13.73%
Total Crap41.18%

3 reviews, 33 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Congress, The by Jay Seaver

Love Eternal by Jay Seaver

Ten (2014) by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Peter Sobczynski

Other Woman, The (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Starry Eyes by Jay Seaver

American Jesus by Jay Seaver

Coastlines by Jack Sommersby

Joe by Jay Seaver

Raid 2, The by Brett Gallman

subscribe to this feed


Domestic Disturbance
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Are we all still THRILLED about Travolta's 'comeback'?"
1 stars

Imagine the 15th rerun of Lifetime's oldest TV movie mixed with dialogue cribbed directly from the back of an oatmeal packet and the visual flair of three saltine crackers. You'd still be about 300 miles away from the sheer stupidity that is Travolta's latest film. We can teach dolphins to read braille, yet we can't eradicate insipid filmmaking from our easily-tantalized society. Oh well. At the very least movies like this are good for one thing. And that thing is bashing.

Lots of people in the world take the same exact route to work every single morning. By sheer necessity, they are forced to drive by the same billboards, road signs and skylines every...single..day. If you're familiar with that kind of brain-numbing tedium, then you know how I felt watching Domestic Disturbance. Even the title smacks of meaningless word association laziness, and it only gets worse.

Frank is a nice guy. He has a nice son, a nice life, and a nice job building nice boats for pleasantly nice people. All this niceness is thrown into typically ham-handed hysteria when Rick shows up. Rick is a duplicitious weasel with lots of money and the hots for Frank's ex-wife Susan...who is also nice. Frank's son Danny doesn't like Rick at all, and not just because of all that oh-so-trifling "You're not my Dad!" stepfather angst. Danny witnesses something that proves Rick is a murderer, and that's not nice.

Incidentally, I'd like to nominate this movie for having the most bland character names ever caught on film. It's just something lazy I noticed throughout the nonstop "Where's Rick?" and "Hi, Frank" scenes.

Frank is played by John Travolta. Enough said. As the mean and calculating Rick, Vince Vaughn is just lost. (And this is coming from a person who really digs Vaughn...in about every fourth movie, anyway.) Teri Polo cements her standing as Hollywood's Blandest Blonde with her turn as the clueless Susan, and Steve Buscemi shows up for a few scenes to ooze his trademark slime before getting killed by a much blander character.

If Travolta keeps this up, he'll soon be auditioning for Look Who's Talking 4 any day now. (OK, he wouldn't have to audition.)

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5593&reviewer=128
originally posted: 12/02/01 16:21:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/30/14 karen immitt treri polo and v9ince vaughn sucked 1 stars
3/17/12 Lizzie sucked ass 1 stars
3/23/11 kagomefan4lyfe some films are better others. this is an other film. 1 stars
10/18/09 Jeff Wilder No originality at all. But better than a TV movie. 3 stars
5/28/07 Sugarfoot A lifetime channel movie that snuck into theaters. The pits. 1 stars
2/11/07 romeo + juliet fun one of the worst ever 1 stars
12/29/06 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 4 stars
12/07/06 JM Synth Entertaining variation on an oft-used formula 3 stars
9/14/04 Cracked head Wow, I couldn't sleep the night! That's because I slept already in the theater. 1 stars
8/04/04 Katie This movie is great, and creepy! I couldn't sleep that night! 5 stars
8/02/04 Daveman Unwatchable z-grade shite. 1 stars
6/18/04 R.W. Welch Par-for-the-course thriller. Some good suspense in spots. 3 stars
12/31/03 LIAM JACKSON not bad.vaughn is one creepy fucking psycho. 4 stars
5/09/03 mr. Pink Travolta! If you want to fuckin keep working, than try to avoid this sort of crap!! 1 stars
4/17/03 Dr. Zinn I've seen this story done a million times, and much better! Boring. 2 stars
2/21/03 scott a good film 5 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby Derivative but entertaining; Travolta is remarkable. 3 stars
11/10/02 Daniel Not bad (if it were a Lifetime Original) 3 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 Travolta's performance is too fake and sad. Vince was stellar none-the-less. 3 stars
8/19/02 Del Enjoyed it. Didn't believe that Barbarino could be a boat builder though. 4 stars
8/09/02 KMG IT'S A VERY SHORT 89 MINUTES OF VINCE, STEVE, AND TERI WONDERING WHY THEY'RE DOING TRAVOLTA 1 stars
5/25/02 darkjosh@hotmail.com Throw Travolta a lifesaver, he's drowning in shit. 1 stars
5/12/02 Phil M. Aficiando I agree 100% with EricDSnider's review; actors did a nice job throughout. 3 stars
4/28/02 Magnum Craphole Science's new achievement in curing insomnia. 1 stars
4/19/02 Weedle Travolta Keeps on Sinking 1 stars
4/07/02 Monster W. Kung It looks like a bad made-for-TV movie. So tiresome it's depressing. 1 stars
12/15/01 Ian Barr As Ned Flanders would say: Pre-diddly-ictable. Not to mention boring. 1 stars
12/03/01 El Ron Cupboard (still alive in a galaxy far away) Xenu says: the movie sucks ass; scientologists must come and vote it up. 1 stars
11/18/01 Andrew Carden Excellent. Chilling and Extremly Well Done Movie. Heart-Pounding. 5 stars
11/17/01 LeaLea everthing was set up/ you knew exactly what was next 3 stars
11/09/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) John Travolta is cool and Helent Hunt is hot. 3 stars
11/03/01 Chris Not bad, but nothing new. Suspense thriller 101 here. 3 stars
10/31/01 poetchuck Completely predictable 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Nov-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Feb-2002


Directed by
  Harold Becker

Written by
  Lewis Colick

Cast
  John Travolta
  Vince Vaughn
  Teri Polo
  Steve Buscemi
  Susan Floyd
  Matthew O'Leary



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast