More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.08

Awesome61.22%
Worth A Look: 12.24%
Average: 12.24%
Pretty Bad: 2.04%
Total Crap: 12.24%

3 reviews, 31 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Osamu Tezuka's Metropolis
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Animated monopolies."
3 stars

A popular piece of anime booty — dispensable, I would argue, which would suggest that to others, this animated Monopoly Game with CGI backdrops would qualify as “priceless” as the consumer-tailored suggestions on MasterCard commercials.

The take-it-or-leave-it condition arrives on several levels. It has long been my belief that cartoons, no matter where their provenance, should be shown in English here in the U.S. The point of contention, or at least on the side at which I stand, is that a cartoon is always dubbed, simply to give sound to the drawing. So it does not hurt then, that a cartoon could/should be re-dubbed into the language of where it is playing. There is so often an abundance of action progressing within the frame of Metropolis, whereby you are frustratingly observing the action, dropping down to the speedy and flimsy subtitles, and trying to take in as much of the style as possible. I fancy myself a quick reader of subtitles, where I don’t have to fret about missing much visually. But even I had a hard time keeping up here; and for a child, or adolescent, to watch this, the emphasis would be on watching now and explaining later. Obviously, this would have benefited from an English dub like Princess Mononoke. The style of hand-drawn animation is a much sloppier, basic and undefined form utilized with gross exaggerations and inconsistencies. And it was too much of a clash and distraction for the lumbering computer animation to accentuate the nascent sketches. As a cartoon jazzy film noir, it sees as many difficulties, strains and discrepancies as did Blade Runner in terms of storytelling logic. I see no evidence, aside from coincidence, to suggest this “classic manga” is related to Fritz Lang’s Metropolis.

Directed by Rintaro.

[Redeemable.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5624&reviewer=172
originally posted: 09/14/02 16:28:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/12/09 Stephen This movie was intresting and nicely animated plot line a little strange, but sound movie. 4 stars
7/10/07 Jubei That ending!..It screams "classic". 5 stars
1/26/06 the laughing man brilliant 5 stars
1/02/06 Wiseman It took 5 years to make this movie, I gotta say they did one hell of a job! 5 stars
11/21/04 anthony gunnell totally utter shit 1 stars
8/10/04 Largo This movie is so awesome! I loved it so much I have seen it like five times! 5 stars
12/09/03 Rob You suck, Greg Muskewitz. You only hated the film because there was no sex in it. 4 stars
7/04/03 Jim Reminded me of one of the better Final Fantasy Playstation games. 4 stars
4/03/03 Loyd You are blind, There is blood in the movie. You don't know how to recognise a masterpiece. 5 stars
10/14/02 the golden man words cannot describe the feeling 5 stars
9/15/02 y2mckay Great backdrops, but LAME looking characters. fell asleep in it, no nudity or blood. 2 stars
8/30/02 dion I wish i had watched it in japanese!! 4 stars
8/28/02 viking Light years ahead of Final Fantasy and Titan AE 5 stars
8/04/02 Grant S Anyone who has seen this film and rates it as being "total crap" is a complete fool. 5 stars
7/26/02 Cannibus Mesmerizing visuals. 5 stars
7/25/02 palaboy101 Made me play "I Can't Stop Loving You" over and over again. 5 stars
5/10/02 Jennifer I feel so dirty. 1 stars
5/10/02 sarah If I liked really sucky movies, I'd love Metropolis. Horrid! 1 stars
5/10/02 sarah If I liked really sucky movies, I'd love Metropolis. "Total Crap 1 stars
4/26/02 Emery Calame Simple, elegant, brilliant. This is an epic that exceeds even the work of Miyazaki. 5 stars
4/22/02 Brandman This movie takes an awesome visual style and pairs it with a good (although cleched) story. 4 stars
4/22/02 lynn good animation...a little too much cg though...soundtrack is downright fantastic 5 stars
4/10/02 BMF Classic art style belies the incredible story, animation, and direction of this film. 5 stars
4/04/02 Frank Solowczuk Brilliant in every sense. Truly a refreshing piece of film making. 5 stars
3/07/02 ZenMasterFlash Just plain fantastic. Pure cinematic delight. Loved the music. 5 stars
3/06/02 Flix Interesting Story, great soundtrack and awesome visual 5 stars
2/22/02 yongi a great ugly bag of anime cliches with no soul or meaning. I want my Wednesday night back! 1 stars
2/22/02 Tone-Def Snore.... 1 stars
2/05/02 asdfk; Chock full of premium content; Worth seeing on the large screen 5 stars
2/05/02 gwalla Interesting story, great visuals, a bit long. More serious than the art style would suggest 4 stars
12/29/01 BH This is going to be a very hard one to beat... 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Jan-2002 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Jun-2002


Directed by
  Rin Taro

Written by
  Katsuhiro Ôtomo

Cast
  N/A



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast