More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.87

Awesome40.38%
Worth A Look: 30.77%
Average: 11.54%
Pretty Bad: 9.62%
Total Crap: 7.69%

3 reviews, 34 user ratings



Kids in the Hall: Brain Candy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by rotten f. milk

"Cancer Boy kicks ass"
4 stars

Gays, drugs, rock n' roll, feline fetishes. No, it's not a National Geographic. It's the KITH movie, Brain Candy.

I remember when I was younger, I used to stay up late at night just to watch KITH. I remember I'd get in shit the next day for it, but hell, it was worth it. Dave Foley, Mark McKinney, Bruce McCulloch, Kevin McDonald and Scott Thompson are beyond a doubt fuckin' talented writer/performers. Funny too.

So when I rented BRAIN CANDY, I thought I wouldn't get in shit 'cos I'd be watching it during the day. Boy I was wrong. The subject material in this movie is so damn raunchy and controversial (i.e, a nekkid man masturbating to gay porn, monkeys masturbating to cat porn, etc), that I was laughing...
but my dad was not. Apparently he hadn't heard the word "fuck" said so many times in a row. So I got in shit.

But you know what? It was DAMN worth it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=565&reviewer=3
originally posted: 09/09/98 05:33:13
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

3/22/09 Dane Youssef I laughed TWICE. Otherwise, this is one limp effort. The Kids' weak script is to blame. 1 stars
8/20/05 ES some good parts, some incredibly gay parts (literally) and some crazy parts 2 stars
5/16/05 Dick Edwards a bloody good laugh. 4 stars
3/31/05 anton freakin halarious always have enjoyed kids in the hall. 5 stars
7/28/04 Paul Walker Not the best kids movie, i agree that the wrong guy is a whole lot better, sorry kids 2 stars
7/26/04 george bush it suckx 1 stars
6/15/04 Gerry Ditrich this movie is the apitimy of what the mid 90's were, in a brilliant cuttng and funny way 5 stars
4/27/04 Sam Beddoes Very odd and amusing 4 stars
2/27/03 Nathan Greatest comedy of all time! 5 stars
11/25/02 Doug Blatantly aimed towards Ecstasy use... 5 stars
8/03/02 Kino Amanda, I think you have to be 12 or under, or stupid as hell to be a fan of these fucks. 1 stars
3/15/02 youwishyouwereme This film is fucking awesome. Mike Myers has blatently ripped off Dr Evil from the kids. 5 stars
3/03/02 Unagiboy Really disappointing. See "The Wrong Guy" instead. Dave Foley is classic in it. 2 stars
12/02/01 travis r. sorensen one of the worst movies i've ever seen. i nearly shot myself after viewing it 1 stars
10/19/01 Andrew Carden Pretty Stupid and Almost Totally Laughless Movie That Really Goes Nowhere. 2 stars
9/30/01 Amanda Marsh It was so fucking awesome and I loved David Foley .PS. I'm your only 12 year old fan! 5 stars
9/10/01 Busta The Movie was great but they needed some more characters from the show 4 stars
5/26/01 carissa mmmm david foley 5 stars
11/15/00 MiS^DeMeAnOr The kids in the hall let me down..I like the show better. 2 stars
11/11/00 Rachel it wasnt what i expected, their show was better 4 stars
9/18/00 Dude Like Greg said, Dave Foley was underused. Which sucks since he's the most talented one 4 stars
7/27/00 The Bomb 69 blame canada... for being so god damn funny!!!!!! 5 stars
9/06/99 Emily Absoluty brillient! 5 stars
9/03/99 Myra Pretty cool.. but couldn't been a LOT better. .. Where's Buddy Cole?! 5 stars
5/26/99 iyu Worth seeing just for Cancer Boy. :D) 4 stars
3/18/99 Max Bernstein KITH have kicked ass since their days on HBO - they still got it! 5 stars
2/07/99 roxy just because the KITH are in it, it's good. 5 stars
2/03/99 Michelle Me Belle I LOVE the Kids! But the movie aint that great! But still ya gotta see it if your fans! 4 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Bring back the Kids. No, not the New Kids, the Kids. 5 stars
9/09/98 Bruce Willis' mama. Three words. Cats on ceiling. 5 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy funny movie. KITH fans will love it. great musical scenes. 4 stars
8/28/98 Johny Extremely funny and repeatable 5 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress it's kids in the hall, what more could you ask for?! 4 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Some sloooow moments but overall a surreal, hilarious comedy. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Apr-1996 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast