More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.62

Awesome36.59%
Worth A Look: 24.39%
Average: 18.29%
Pretty Bad: 6.1%
Total Crap: 14.63%

3 reviews, 64 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Fear
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Paint by numbers."
3 stars

Nothing more than your typical psycho character obsessed with his would be victim out of pure love, "Fear" has a few nice touches and suspenseful moments, but the ludicrous ending and final segments really emphasize the kooky yarn this always turns out to be.

Reese Witherspoon is a 16-year-old daughter of a newly remarried architect. Houselife is stressful, and though she may dress somewhat risque ("You could have fit inthat dress when you were ten!") her friend Margo (Alyssa Milano) is the real loose wire. They each meet prospective guys, several years older, and at another outing, Witherspoon finds herself wooed by Mark Wahlberg --tough on the outside, gentle on the inside. Their relationship blossoms into love and she stays with him despite her father's prescient bad reception of him. When she does find out about the real him and how crazy he is, it's too late because Wahlberg wants nature to take its toll.

Witherspoon is a good, gentile actress who commands her role well, despite the obvious naivete she wears on her sleeve. She's aplomb in this cast because she never overreaches her character. Wahlberg's handsomeness can't save his inability to act here, as not only is his accent unbuyable, but it was hard to envision him at all as this character. Milano is just a sexy body to toss around for show.

The first half of "Fear" nicely develops and segues. For awhile, despite Wahlberg's overall detriments, there is a continual build of plot. It seems to stay more rooted and graspable, but that effect doesn't last too long. Although certain scenes during the isolated climax are tense and frightening, because of a quasi-realistic sense it emits, there ends up being and equal amount of the totally preposterous and turgid. The involvement of Wahlberg's crew is completely unlikely and ridiculous.

(And the buzz around the "highly erotic" rollercoaster scene, which in fact is a simple fingering/masturbation scene, hardly stirs any eroticism and is as artificial as Witherspoon's climax.)

With Amy Brenneman.

Final Verdict: C.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=567&reviewer=172
originally posted: 10/16/00 08:06:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/21/10 Jeff Wilder Better than most thrillers of this type. 4 stars
4/18/10 PAUL SHORTT PREDICTABLE TEEN THRILLER 1 stars
10/22/07 mark madsen movie was very good 4 stars
6/22/07 movieman utter 1 stars
6/16/07 al smith very enjoyable,suspensful and underatted film 4 stars
6/13/07 mdillon26@cox.net I loved it. 5 stars
5/29/07 ab reese is so gifted! 5 stars
5/12/07 Dave very poor 1 stars
3/05/07 brad a very good thriller with killer rollar coaster scene man. 5 stars
1/02/07 ch a steamy good time movie with a hot reese witherspoon 5 stars
11/05/06 mp a very good suspense movie with good acting, could use more complations, awesome!!! 5 stars
10/30/06 kr a pretty good movie, good acting, suspense, and sense realism to it. 4 stars
10/09/06 carryn Movie was average but O.M.G Mark Wahlberg is the hottest thing EVER!!! 4 stars
8/19/06 patience11 I love everything about this movie, including the actors ,music and the suspenseful story 5 stars
8/14/06 becky a good teen thriller with good performances and hip cast 5 stars
8/13/06 m.p Every mother and father worst nightmare, this movie is edge of your seat and sexy!!!! 5 stars
8/13/06 cody a very good movie with good acting ,story ,and good music. rollarcoaster scene is hot baby! 4 stars
2/09/05 BGREWC To the one reviewer, maybe's it's a guy thing, but the rollercoaster scene is super hot. 3 stars
9/28/04 melanie Hubley Great movie 5 stars
5/29/04 john bale Some real suspense but predictable and finally rediculous 3 stars
2/18/04 me it was great 5 stars
1/15/04 Samuel a decent enough film 3 stars
1/15/04 LIAM JACKSON i'm protective of my girl,but i'm not as nuts as wahlberg.still a great film though. 5 stars
1/02/04 cindy real good movie 4 stars
12/20/03 alicia It was the greatest 5 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby A terrible finale can't erase its above-averageness before that. Petersen is dynamite! 4 stars
3/03/03 !! A GREAT FILM 5 stars
1/25/03 REESE BEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!! TOTALLY RELATES TO !^ YR OLDS IT FRIGEN ROX 5 stars
1/16/03 jen sullivan markyy...it was my favorite movie hunny.. i have wanted u for about 8 yrs now..I LOVE YOU!! 5 stars
12/18/02 Amy I loved FEAR when it came out, and it is still a favorite today!!! 5 stars
12/04/02 Amanda Mark.....O baby what a hottie!!! 5 stars
9/23/02 Tasha I love this movie I wish that I could find pics of Mark from the movie. 5 stars
7/05/02 KMG My only FEAR is that Wahlberg will threaten to act again 2 stars
3/28/02 Megan liked it 5 stars
2/21/02 Hannah Duncan excellent mark whalberg is well sexy and reese suits him like mad. 5 stars
1/18/02 Gaby Mark Whalberg is awesome in this movie, considering the fact that it is his first movie. 5 stars
11/15/01 Glitz_Queen Rating says it all - and Mark Wahlberg is HOT!!! 5 stars
10/06/01 toni I love Mark Wahlburg, he was awesome in fear, this is the best movie ever made. 5 stars
10/02/01 Phoenix Anything that has Mark Wahlberg or William Petersen in it, is a good movie. 4 stars
9/17/01 I luv Mark Wahlberg My name sAYS it ll, I ish I was born w/ that name! Im changing it when i can! 5 stars
8/30/01 kate jones how sexy is mark wahlberg!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/27/01 Rebecca whalberg All he did wa love her! mayb a lil 2much.. I lv Mark! he is a sexy bitch! 5 stars
7/15/01 Amanda I love the flim i think they should have had a 2nd one but i think it was a great flim 5 stars
6/25/01 Meag I liked it.. it was pretty hot in some scenes and mark is very sexy. I though it was good. 4 stars
10/19/00 Elise I loved it. Mark Wahlberg was never sexier! 5 stars
10/17/00 Eugene Worth to see only if you like seeing Mark force Alyssa unto himself 2 stars
9/13/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble My sister had a crazy boyfriend. We liked him, he entertained us with his funny ways. 3 stars
5/15/00 Lauren Scheiterle obviously your not a teen me and i thought this was the best movie when we saw it 5 stars
2/07/00 Kyle Broflovski Stupid title. Completely by-the-numbers. Mark's okay, Reese is better. 3 stars
11/04/99 V. Worth it just to see Marky force Alyssa to smoke crack. 1 stars
6/16/99 Elisa Ryder This was a great movie. Mark Wahlberg does a good job of pleasing the audience. 4 stars
4/20/99 Tim Mark Wahlberg did do much better in Boogie Nights. The rollercoaster scene is sweet 4 stars
4/19/99 jimmy jam Pretty good. Alyssa is a slut what she won't do for a fuck, i mean BUCK 1 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn first time i saw it, I was scared..last 10 times i appreciate it.Mark is great.. 4 stars
3/18/99 AMANDA NEVER SAW IT BUT REESE IS A BIG HAIRY HO ANYWAY 3 stars
2/18/99 Piz Wahlberg was very good here, teeny movie that entertains for a buck thirty 3 stars
11/25/98 Mr.Pink It's crap! But,in a stupid kind of way, also entertaining 3 stars
11/18/98 MinxxDaShorty The only good bit was the fingers on the rollercoaster!!!! Naw that was shit too! 2 stars
11/10/98 Enforcer Poor "thriller" with no tension and a slasher-flick imitative ending. 2 stars
9/17/98 Miss LILI A great, exciting movie.minimal suspense, BUT still..... 5 stars
9/15/98 Badass I am the only one in the world that liked this movie. I'm so ashamed. Well, not really. 4 stars
9/01/98 kooky sal God damned awful. Marky Mark sucked. 1 stars
8/30/98 Matt i think i just have a thing for stalker flicks 3 stars
8/25/98 Pete Bad movie. Bad, bad movie. A raunchy Alyssa was kind of watchable though. Reeoowr. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Apr-1996 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1996




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast